Skip to main content

Online Library Instruction

The following topics are available in tutorial format.  Each tutorial contains a video and a series of questions about the video.

The Research Process

The Research Process: An Overview

  • 4:37 min., 3 questions
  • A brief overview of the steps to go through in conducting research for a paper or project.

Using Sources 

  • 2:52 min., 3 questions
  • A brief overview of how sources are used in research.

Choosing and Narrowing Topics

  • 6:40 min., 3 questions
  • Suggestions for how to choose a topic and a set of methods for narrowing broad topics.

Creating Your Search Strategy

Choosing Keywords 

  • 4:34 min., 3 questions
  • Explains what keywords are and how we determine them.

Boolean Searching

  • 4:14 min., 3 questions
  • The basics of creating searches using AND, OR, and NOT.

Source Evaluation

Why is Good Information Important

  • 2:14 min., 2 questions
  • Explains reasons why using good information for research is important.

Evaluating Sources - the CRAAP Method

  • 8:26 min., 6 questions
  • Explains why we need to evaluate information , and describes one method for doing so.

Detecting Bias

  • 5:05 min., 3 questions
  • Details what bias is and several ways that is manifests.

Types of Sources

  • 4:48 min., 3 questions
  • Discusses the several types of sources available for doing research and their characteristics.

Citation & Plagiarism

Plagiarism

  • 3:55 min., 3 questions
  • Defines plagiarism and makes suggestions for avoiding it.

Examining Plagiarism

  • 15:00 min, 5 questions
  • Defines plagiarism, looks at a case study of plagiarism, and discusses how to avoid plagiarism through proper use of quotes, paraphrases/summaries, and in-text citation.

MLA Citation

  • MLA Style

    • 5:45 min., 4 questions
    • A brief overview of MLA style for papers, works cited, and in-text citation.
  • Citing a Book in MLA Format 

    • 4:04 min., 4 questions
    • Examines how to properly cite a book in MLA format.
  • Citing a Journal Article in MLA Format

    • 8:58 min., 5 questions
    • Examines how to properly cite a journal article in MLA format.
  • Citing a Webpage in MLA Format

    • 6:17 min., 4 questions)
    • Examines how to properly cite a webpage in MLA format.
  • In-Text Citation in MLA Format 

    • 5:26 min., 4 questions
    • Examines how to properly format in-text citations in MLA format.

APA Citation

  • APA Style

    • 5:52 min., 4 questions
    • A brief overview of APA style for papers, works cited, and in-text citation.
  • Citing a Book in APA Format 

    • 4:33 min., 4 questions
    • Examines how to properly cite a book in APA format.
  • Citing a Journal Article in APA Format 

    • 7:50 min., 5 questions
    • Examines how to properly cite a journal article in APA format.
  • Citing a Webpage in APA Format 

    • 4:59 min. 4 questions
    • Examines how to properly cite a webpage in APA format.
  • In-Text Citation in APA Format 

    • 6:03 min., 4 questions
    • Examines how to properly format in-text citations in APA format.

Resource Instructions

The Library Catalog

  • 17:45 min., 6 questions
  • A demonstration of how to use the Library Catalog to find books, articles, and more.

Library Databases

  • 3:35 min, 4 questions
  • A brief overview of what databases are, why we should use them, how to access them, and the tools that most contain.

Academic OneFile and the Gale Databases

  • 11:52 min., 5 questions
  • A demonstration of how to use Academic OneFile and the Gale databases to find articles and more.

OmniFile Full Text Mega and the EBSCO Databases

  • 14:01 min., 5 questions
  • A demonstration of how to use OmniFile Full Text Mega and the EBSCO databases to find articles.

Opposing Viewpoints

  • 17:53 min., 5 questions
  • A demonstration of how to use Opposing Viewpoints to find topics and a variety of resources on those topics.

JSTOR

  • 7:53 min., 4 questions
  • A demonstration of how to use JSTOR to find articles

The eBook Collection from EBSCO

  • 12:44 min., 5 questions
  • A demonstration of how to search and navigate the eBook Collection from EBSCO.

O'Reilly for Higher Education

  • 17:38 min., 5 questions
  • A demonstration of how to search and explore O'Reilly to find Books, Videos, Learning Paths, and Playlists.

Class Specific

EDUC 1030 - College & Lifelong Learning

  • 13:10 min., 5 questions
  • A brief overview of why you use the library, evaluating sources, peer-reviewed article, using the databases and catalog, where to find MLA and APA citation information, and how to get help from Librarians.

Topic Specific

Empirical Research

  • 13:40 min., 3 questions
  • A definition of what empirical research is, and an overview of how to locate empirical research articles in the databases and on PubMed.

Historical Research

  • 38:51 min., 3 questions
  • Looks at how to conduct research on historical topics using both library resources and reliable Internet sources.  Includes source evaluation.

Literary Research

  • 30:15 min., 3 questions
  • Covers searching the Literature databases as well as looking outside of literary criticism for sources for literature papers.

Mythology Research

  • 33:32 min., 3 questions
  • Definition of mythology.  Looks at where you can search for mythology sources in addition to literature databases.  Includes source evaluation.

Career Research

  • 5:06 min., 4 questions
  • Goes through the library's Career Guide to examine some useful websites, and lists helpful databases in the library's collection.

Getting Help

Getting Help from Your Librarians

  • 6:20 min., 2 questions
  • All the ways to contact librarians to get help with research and citations.