Skip to main content

In-Person Library Instruction Program

Basic Research Skills

Choosing and Narrowing Topics

  • 20 minutes
  • Suggestions for how to choose a topic and a set of methods for narrowing broad topics.

Choosing Key Words

  • 15-20 minutes
  • Explains what key words are and how we determine them, and has students do a brief activity to find keywords on a topic

Types of Sources

  • 15-20 minutes
  • Explains the different types of sources and how to distinguish them from one another

Evaluating Sources

  • 35-40 minutes
  • Walks students through one method of evaluating sources 

Plagiarism

  • 20 minutes
  • Defines plagiarism, looks at a case study of plagiarism, and discusses how to avoid plagiarism through proper use of quotes, paraphrases/summaries, and in-text citation.

Library Resources

Library Databases

  • 25-30 minutes
  • An examination of what the databases are, why they are useful, how to access them, and the tools you will find in them.

Using the Catalog

  • 25 minutes
  • A demonstration and practice of how to use the Library Catalog to find books, articles, and more.

Using eBooks

  • 20 minutes
  • A demonstration of how to search and navigate the eBook Collection from EBSCO

Citation

MLA Citation

  • 40-45 Minutes
  • An overview of MLA paper format, Works Cited citation format, and in-text citation, with guided practice.

APA Citation

  • 40-45 Minutes
  • An overview of APA paper format, Reference citation format, and in-text citation, with guided practice.

Class Specific

EDUC 1030

  • 65-70 minutes
  • An overview of using the library for research which includes why use the library, evaluating sources, peer-reviewed articles and the databases, the library catalog, citation resources, and getting help from Librarians.

Topic Specific

Literary Research

  • 30-40 minutes
  • Covers searching the Literature databases as well as looking outside of literary criticism for sources for literature papers.

Empirical Research

  • 20 minutes
  • A definition of what empirical research is, and an overview of how to locate empirical research articles in the databases and on PubMed.

Historical Research

  • 35 minutes
  • Looks at conducting research on historical topics using both Library sources and Internet sources.  Includes source evaluation.

Mythology Research

  • 35-40 minutes
  • Definition of mythology.  Looks at where you can search for mythology sources in addition to literature databases.  Includes source evaluation.

Career Research

  • 25 minutes
  • Goes through the library's Career Guide to examine some useful websites, and looks at helpful databases in the library's collection.