Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
This link opens in a new windowBrings together information found in hundreds of journals. Articles covering all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, marketing, public relations, linguistics, graphic arts, photography, writers, editors, publishers, journalists, engineering and technology, broadcasting, and more.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.<br /> Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
This link opens in a new windowThis database contains the most searched magazines, with a strong focus on current events, sports, science, and health. Search for articles on celebrity gossip, home improvement, national news, automobiles, exercise, computers, and more.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Check out our Communications Journals, available online!
These books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
Public Speaking by
From the organization of a speech to knowing your audience, your vocals, and the delivery, this essential guide covers an entire course on public speaking yet is handy enough to reference throughout your speech preparation. With more preparation comes more confidence and with added inspiration throughout this guide you will stand to deliver.
The Book on Public Speaking by
If you look at the trends of over 30 years ago in fashion, technology, architecture, and any other industry, what was cutting edge back then has become cliché and grossly out of date now. But in the speaking industry, most people get up and still walk, talk, and sound like the 1980's motivational speakers of yesteryear. The Book on Public Speaking takes a head-on approach and challenges the status quo for business leaders that speak in front of their staff, board of directors, and the public. After reading this book you will be privy to the most current methods for speaking to an audience for maximum impact in today's more sophisticated and skeptical culture. If you are the type of business leader who has achieved a level of success in life and feel compelled to share your story with the world, don't lessen that impact by imitating out-dated speaking techniques. Instead, break the mold of the speaker cliché and tap into a speaking style that is authentic, packs a punch, and leaves the audience wanting more.
An Asperger's Guide to Public Speaking: How to Excel at Public Speaking for Professionals with Autism Spectrum Disorder by
This practical guide to effective public speaking for professionals with Asperger Syndrome (Autism Spectrum Disorder) provides tailored advice on using your Asperger strengths to your advantage and overcoming areas of challenge to find your public speaking voice. Written by a business leader with Asperger Syndrome, it includes guidance and hands-on tools for preparation, research and delivery of successful speeches and presentations. It addresses all the key areas that can cause particular difficulty for people with Asperger Syndrome such as coping with anxiety, interpreting the facial expressions of your audience, awareness of your own body language as projected to others, sensory overload issues caused by the speaking environment, and surviving post-speech networking and social events. Whether giving a presentation at a meeting, hosting a corporate event, or delivering an autism awareness speech, this book provides all the guidance that professionals with Asperger Syndrome need to master public speaking.
Delivering Powerful Speeches by
A step-by-step guide for acquiring confident speaking skills, Delivering Powerful Speeches provides the key to delivering a dazzling speech everytime. Readers will learn the techniques to express their ideas with authority, develop leadership and communicate with charisma. Filled with easy steps, charts and exercises to achieve speaking success, this book will eliminate the barriers that inhibit self-expression. The six parts of this book will lead readers to deliver powerful speeches, boost confidence, and it cofers all aspects of public speakingâfrom a speech at a family function to a professional event.
Speaking to Influence: Mastering Your Leadership Voice by
When you speak, whether on stage, in a meeting or on the telephone, ask yourself: Do you feel confident and captivate your audience? Do you command the room naturally, and feel like you are completely connecting with your audience? Do you feel like you get the full respect you deserve and the results you want? Are you recognized as a leader that people genuinely want to follow and support? Have you built a positive, sustainable corporate culture center around loyal, cooperative and effective teams, and strong, lasting client relationships? Have you reached your greatest potential? If you're like most people, your response to many and even most of these questions is, No, but I want to! If that's the case, then this book is for you. Speaking to Influence is all about helping you understand how the way that you speak has a powerful effect on your ability to influence your surroundings, your relationships, your reputation, and your potential to succeed. If you feel stuck, like you've hit a plateau in life then this book will show you how to take a step back and assess how your current style of communication is keeping you from achieving the results you want and maximizing your powers of influence. We all suffer from a fatal Blindspot: that Blindspot is the distinction between how we think we come across when we speak, and how other people actually perceive us and interpret what we've said. Want proof? Have you ever had an argument where one person says, Why are you mad? What did I say?And the response is,It's not what you said, it's how you said it! Well, the truth is that both what you say and how you say it are critically important to having people understand not only your content, but also your intent. It crystallizes how you actually feel about what you're saying, and as a result, how others should feel about it and respond. The disconnect between the words you use and the way you deliver them sabotages productive conversation and leads you and the other person into a downward spiral of miscommunication, frustration and even hurt feelings. Nevertheless, one thing remains consistent: Whether you think it's because they weren't listening, they're too sensitive, they are just plain rude, or they simply don't care, you're quick to assume that it's the other person's fault. But what if there was something in the way you were communicating that allowed that to happen, facilitated it, or even caused it? In Speaking to Influence, Dr. Laura Sicola walks you through the three key channels of speech communication and how they need to work together for people not just to get itwhen you talk, but also toget you.You'll explore strategies in storytelling for impact, how people canseewhat you look like even when you're talking on the telephone, hiddenfillersto avoid, and how to identify and control common vocal habits that creep into your speech and undermine your credibility.
Empowering Business Owners to Overcome Speaking Fears Whether You're Talking with 1 Person Or 1,000 by
The fear of public speaking is common. Even the most confident public speakers in the world experience failures and rejections. Speaking -- whether it's in person, on stage, online, or on the phone; to just one person or to many -- is the lifeblood of your business. When you let fear of public speaking keep you from effectively communicating, it can wreak havoc in your career or in your business. Marjorie Saulson has been named both Top Speaking Coach of the Year and the Top Motivational Speaker of the Year by the International Association of Top Professionals. She is the go-to public speaking coach and keynote speaker. It is her vision to give the right support to business owners who want to overcome their fears. In this book, Marjorie shares specific strategies on how to sound like a pro and master the art of public speaking. Unleash your marketing, business, and communication skills from the expert herself. Each of us has a unique message inside that we yearn to deliver -- a message that enables us to share our gifts with the world. When you conquer your fear of public speaking, you will be able to open doors of opportunities for you and your business. Empowering Business Owners to Overcome Speaking Fears Whether You're Talking with 1 Person or 1,000 is part of the THiNKaha series, whose slim and handy books contain 140 well-thought-out AHA messages. Increase your online influence by picking up AHAthat, and easily share quotes from this book on Twitter, Facebook, and Google+ via this link: http: //aha.pub/OvercomeSpeakingFears
Advocacy and Public Speaking: A Student's Introduction by
This book is intended to give practical advice to anyone embarking upon a career involving advocacy or public speaking. The authors' extensive experience informs topics such as speaking in public, preparing a case for court, examination in chief, ethics and professional conduct and alternative dispute resolution.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
