Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowArticles on scientific and technical topics such as aeronautics, applied mathematics, automotive engineering, chemical engineering, electrical and electronic engineering, geology, machinery, nuclear engineering, physics, robotics, textile industry, etc. Includes graphs, charts, diagrams, photographs, and illustrations. The content in this database is also part of OmniFile Full Text Mega.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Check out our Automotive Engineering Journals, available online!
These books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
Automotive Sensors by
Sensors are the eyes, ears, and more, Of the modern engineered product or system. The modern automobile would not be what it is today without an entire battery of sensors that monitor, and control, everything from engine performance to passenger safety and comfort. This authoritative reference work, part of Momentum Press's new Sensors Technology series, edited by Dr. Joe Watson, will offer a complete review of all sensors and their associated controls systems typically found in the modern automotive vehicle. Readers will find invaluable data and guidance on: -- Automotive 'telematics' -- Both on-vehicle sensors as well as outdoor highway sensors for traffic control -- Power train, ignition control, fuel control, emission control, suspension control, braking and traction control -- Use of capacitive sensors for proximity monitoring
Safety Standards of Automotive Electronic Systems by
On 6 July 2012, the President signed into law a new two-year transportation reauthorisation bill, the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act (MAP-21.) This bill authorises funds for Federal-aid highways, highway safety programs, transit programs, and for other purposes. This book responds to the MAP-21 requirement that the Secretary of Transportation to complete an examination of the need for safety standards with regard to electronic systems in passenger motor vehicles. Moreover, the book reviews security and privacy gaps that put American drivers at risk.
How to Fabricate Automotive Fiberglass and Carbon Fiber Parts by
Fiberglass and composite parts are commonly used in many collector cars, hot rods, Corvettes, and even late-model vehicles. Body panels, interior components, and engine parts are fabricated from fiberglass and composite materials (plastic molded or carbon fiber). While other fiberglass and composite material books have been published, few are focused on fabricating and repairing automotive parts, and this book concentrates on completing common and advanced projects at home in the garage. The reader is shown how to use glass strand mat, woven fiberglass cloth, carbon fiber cloth, and hybrid fabrics for particular applications. The strength of these mats and ideal uses are covered in detail. Also shown is how to correctly mix the typical resins (polyester, epoxy), hardeners, and gels. Core materials, such as wood, foam, and honeycomb Nomex, are often used to add strength to various parts. All the relevant tools, including mixing containers, holding containers, saws, scissors, files, and shaping tools, are discussed. Constructing patterns to exacting standards from wood, Formica, aluminum, and other materials is essential and covered in detail. Whether repairing existing components, fabricating new ones, building a race car, or restoring a classic, this is the one book to guide the reader through each critical stage.
Practical Engine Airflow: Performance Theory and Applications by
The efficient flow of air through an engine is instrumental for producing maximum power. To maximize performance, engine builders seek to understand how air flows through components and ultimately through the entire engine. Engine builders use this knowledge and apply specific practices and principles to unlock horsepower within an engine; this applies to all engine types, including V-8s, V-6s, and imported 4-cylinder engines. Former Hot Rod magazine editor and founder of Westech Performance Group John Baechtel explains airflow dynamics through an engine in layman's terms so you can easily absorb it and apply it. The principles of airflow are explained; specifically, the physics of air and how it flows through major engine components, including the intake, heads, cylinders, and exhaust system. The most efficient and least restricted path through an engine is the key to high performance. To get to this higher level, the author explains atmospheric pressure, air density, and brake specific fuel consumption so you understand the properties of fuel for tuning. Baechtel covers the primary factors for optimizing the airflow path. This includes the fundamentals of air motion, air velocity, and boundary layers; obstructions; and pressure changes. Flowing air through the heads and the combustion chamber is key and is comprehensively explained. Also comprehensively explored is the exhaust system's airflow, in particular primary tube size and length, collector function, and scavenging. Chapters also include flowbench testing, evaluating flow numbers, and using airflow software. In the simplest terms, an engine is an air pump. Whether you're a professional engine builder or a serious amateur engine builder, you must understand engine airflow dynamics and must apply these principles if you want to optimize performance. If you want to achieve ultimate engine performance, you need this book.
The Evolution of Automotive Technology by
This book covers one and a quarter century of the automobile, conceived as a cultural history of its technology, aimed at engineering students and all those who wish to have a concise introduction into the basics of automotive technology and its long-term development. Its approach is systemic and includes the behaviour of drivers, producers, nonusers, victims, and other ""stakeholders"" as well as the discourse around mobility. Nowadays, students of innovation prefer the term co-evolution, emphasizing the parallel and mutually dependent development of technology and society. This acknowledges the importance of contingency and of the impact of the past upon the present, the very reason why The Evolution of Automotive Technology: A Handbook looks at car technology from a long-term perspective. Often we will conclude that the innovation was in the (re)arrangement of existing technologies. Since its beginnings, car manufacturers have brought a total of 1 billion automobiles to the market. We are currently witnessing an explosion toward the second billion. Looking back, we can see this history evolve through five distinctive phases: Emergence (1880-1917) Persistence (1917-1940) Exuberance (1945-1973) Doom (1973-2000) Confusion (2001-present) The Evolution of Automotive Technology: A Handbook helps us understand how these phases impacted society and, in turn, shows us how car technology was influenced by car users themselves.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
