Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
This link opens in a new windowProvides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories throughout the business world. The database is updated daily and includes access to active, full-text periodicals including: Beverage Industry, Black Enterprise, Economist, Entrepreneurship: Theory and Practice, HR Magazine, Real Estate Weekly, Restaurant Business, Tea & Coffee Trade Journal, and more.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. It combines authoritative periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs as well as business students. The database features a variety of resources for entrepreneurs, including the entire Business Plans Handbook series; a tightly indexed collection of small business-focused eBooks from Gale, John Wiley & Sons, and other publishing partners; articles from journals and magazines like The Economist, Inc., Financial Management and The Tax Adviser; and content from local and national newspapers. Users also have access to downloadable podcasts and radio shows, directories, glossaries, and websites to keep up to date with today's industries. The Gale Business: Entrepreneurship interface is mapped to four key stages of building a business-plan, fund, start, and manage-to fit researchers' needs at any point in their business's development.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowThe O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes book titles and video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowThese books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
Fundamentals of Medical Practice Management by
Consolidations and mergers have dramatically changed the face of the physician practice. From governance issues to information technology, today¿s practice managers face a host of new complexities and competing priorities that demand more robust skills and knowledge.Fundamentals of Medical Practice Management is one of the few, if not only, texts that addresses the educational needs of the modern practice manager. Author Stephen L. Wagner, who studied under quality guru W. Edwards Deming, combines a focus on quality and excellence with an important thesis: working together and putting people first is the best way to be successful in healthcare.This book appeals to a wide range of learners, including in organizational programs, MHA and undergraduate health administration programs, and practice management certificate programs. It is also an effective supplement for healthcare management classes. Not only will the book¿s insights prepare those new to the field, but it will help current practice managers to retool and refocus.Fundamentals of Medical Practice Management covers these areas and more:¿ Information Technology and Management¿ Regulatory Issues, the Law, and Practice Management¿ Third-Party Payers, the Revenue Cycle, and the Medical Practice¿ Leading, Managing, Governance, and Organizational Dynamics¿ Quality Management in the Physician Practice Although this text delves into many practical topics, its main focus is people. The author argues that ¿win-lose games and quick-fix solutions¿ have begun to deliver diminished returns in healthcare¿not only economically, but emotionally and societally. He aims to shape the reader¿s mindset for a new era of people-focused practice management.
Practice Management for Healthcare Professionals by
Healthcare remains a field of growth within the US and abroad, according to the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. As the youngest baby boomers continue to ascent in age, the need to employ qualified health care personnel to both prevent and treat medical issues increases. There will be continued substantial growth in the healthcare field from practitioners to operations personnel including administration and technology. To that end, many practitioners to not want to work in hospitals and clinics, as pay at these locations is limited, and many such as SSM Healthcare place compensatory values on pay. Therefore, many will venture on their own, but herein lies the issue--many medical programs and schools place so much emphasis on symptoms and cures, there is very little training for practitioners that want to operate their own practice.
Focus in the Age of Distraction : 35 Tips to Focus More and Work Less by
The world of work has changed but our ways of working haven't kept pace. We are now working even harder, longer and at a faster pace than ever before. Longer hours and harder work aren't going to give us the career and life that we want. Today's work where you're selling your brain power and creativity, then your focus, attention, mindset and engagement are what will make the difference. 35 practical and pragmatic tips based on latest research in positive psychology, neuroscience, and common sense, will help you be more focused, creative and productive. Be more focused while at work, get more done, learn to switch off, get on and enjoy your life.
Dare to Scale : How to Grow Your Business Gracefully by
YOUR VISION IS ACHIEVABLE Have you ever sat at your desk holding your head in your hands, stressed and wondering what to do next in your business? Do you feel your dreams are on hold due to the constant firefighting? • Feeling lonely at the top • Being close to burnout • Hitting a stress ceiling while scaling your business • Getting the right people • Never-ending task lists Stop. Take a deep breath and open the book because help is at hand. Inside are simple and easy-to-follow concepts to take that next step in your business. Dare to Scale is a milestone book to enable business owners, entrepreneurs, founders, you, to dare to dream big and achieve those dreams.
From Discord to Harmony: Making Your Workplace Hum by
Conflicts happen, and the workplace can be a cacophony for competing interests. Consider that organizational culture is an ensemble of shared values, beliefs, assumptions, perceptions, and norms. Organizations are not solos. They are an accompaniment of individuals, departments, and divisions, and each is competing for scarce resources. Measure in a little power imbalance and organizational political posturing. Then, scale in the fact that today's managers are faced with diversity and cultural issues ranging from race and gender to individual ethnicity, principles, and philosophies, about which employees are more vocal. All this discord can strike a sharp note of dissonance. However, effective resolutions can change this discord to harmony. Consider that music is not a single note. Rather, it is the silence between the notes that makes beautiful music, and conflict is that silence. Unfortunately, conflict has a bad reputation, and it is often labeled as disagreement, fighting, or arguing that leads to stress, retaliation, and resentment. Some managers spend a disproportionate amount of their workdays dealing with conflicts. They have not learned what causes conflicts or how to productively manage them. As a result, they often avoid or force outcomes causing discord, fractured relationships, loss of productivity, and even lawsuits. Learning to fine tune inevitable conflicts will help managers orchestrate a more harmonious workplace. From Discord to Harmony: Making the Workplace Hum is largely evidence-based, and many of the chapters contain cutting-edge research by experts in their respective fields.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
