Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
If you want to browse the collection, these are some call numbers where you can find books about *ARCHAEOLOGY*
This is a list of suggested terms to use in a search for ARCHAEOLOGY resources in the Library Catalog:
The following titles are available in print on the 3rd floor in the Periodicals Room:
--Archaeology
The following titles are available on the main (2nd) floor in the Audio/Visual Room:
Cracking the Maya CodeThese books are in the circulating collection. You may check them out for five weeks at a time. When you click on the book, it will take you to the catalog, where you can check whether the book is currently available, or when it is due back, as well as where it is located.
The First Africans: African archaeology from the earliest tool makers to most recent foragers by
Africa has the longest record - some 2.5 million years - of human occupation of any continent. For nearly all of this time, its inhabitants have made tools from stone and have acquired their food from its rich wild plant and animal resources. Archaeological research in Africa is crucial for understanding the origins of humans and the diversity of hunter-gatherer ways of life. This book is a synthesis of the record left by Africa's earliest hominin inhabitants and hunter-gatherers, combining the insights of archaeology with those of other disciplines, such as genetics and palaeo-environmental science. African evidence is critical to important debates, such as the origins of stone tool making, the emergence of recognisably modern forms of cognition and behaviour, and the expansion of successive hominins from Africa to other parts of the world.
The World Encyclopedia of Archaeology by
The definitive reference on the art and science of archaeology. The World Encyclopedia of Archaeology is a sweeping exploration of archaeology that spans the globe from the beginning of recorded history and earlier. Here is a comprehensive view of the past as seen through the remnants of civilizations as they emerge and expand. The book begins by defining modern and ancient archaeology and gives the history of archaeology through the centuries. The different types of archaeology are explored, along with the techniques used for each and the problems, concerns and issues archaeologists face today. The main section of the book details each region of the world, with the authoritative text revealing the fascinating history of important archaeological sites. This global perspective includes more than 700 illustrations. The atlas section with detailed maps provides placements throughout history. Accurate, in-depth and up to date, The World Encyclopedia of Archaeology is compelling reading. It serves as an outstanding reference for professionals, researchers, history buffs and general readers. The World Encyclopedia of Archaeology includes: The first humans Early hunter-gatherers and farmers Megalithic builders The Bronze Age The Greeks and Romans The Dark Ages Ancient Mesopotamia The Persian Empire Nomadic states The Indus civilization China's dynasties and empires Japan and Southeast Asian kingdoms Early Mesoamericans The Maya, Aztec and Inca Ancient Egypt and the Upper Nile Iron Age Africa Australian Aborigines. Highlights: Compiled and written by an international team of archaeologists and historians Reveals the most up-to-date findings and their significance Organized geographically by region and key sites Uncovers the world's most important sites and treasures Spans all periods of human settlement Locator guide to sites by country List of World Heritage Sites 18 special features focus on intriguing topics Further readings and a glossary More than 700 color illustrations Attractive maps that show locations of key sites.
Archaeology and the Media by
The public's fascination with archaeology has meant that archaeologists have had to deal with media more regularly than other scholarly disciplines. How archaeologists communicate their research to the public through the media and how the media view archaeologists has become an important feature in the contemporary world of academic and professional archaeologists. In this volume, a group of archaeologists, many with media backgrounds, address the wide range of questions in this intersection of fields. An array of media forms are covered including television, film, photography, the popular press, art, video games, radio and digital media with a focus on the overriding question: What are the long-term implications of the increasing exposure through and reliance upon media forms for archaeology in the contemporary world? The volume will be of interest to archaeologists and those teaching public archaeology courses.
Archaeology Hotspot Great Britain: unearthing the past for armchair archaeologists by
The Archaeology Hotspots series offers reader-friendly and engaging narratives of the archaeology in particular countries. Written by archaeological experts with a general reader in mind, each book in the series focuses on what has been found and by whom, what the controversies and scandals have been, ongoing projects, and how it all fits into a broader view of the history of the country. In Archaeology Hotspot Great Britain, expert Donald Henson first chronicles the deep archaeology of a long settled region--including England, Wales, and Scotland--then explores both the famously ancient finds (cave art at Creswell Crags, Stonehenge) and more recent and iconic historic sites and monuments (such as Westminster Abbey and Ironbridge Gorge). He profiles the often larger-than-life personalities and the previously-marginalized women who have contributed to British archaeology; the controversies influencing how we see the past are also highlighted. Henson considers London's position in the antiquities trade and the safeguarding of heritage sites. As a whole, the book tells a fascinating story of Great Britain's history, culture, national heritage, and ongoing role as a hotspot of archaeology.
The Human Archaeology of Space: lunar, planetary and interstellar relics of exploration by
A catalog of archaeological artifacts that have been left behind in space as a result of human exploration, this work describes the remnants of lost satellites, discarded lunar rovers, depleted rockets, and various abandoned spacecraft. The book is divided into three parts covering distinct but interconnected issues of lunar, planetary, and interstellar archaeology. In Parts I and II, individual chapters cover each space mission and provide technical notes, and, in some cases, images of the artifacts. Part III explores the archaeology of mobile artifacts in the solar system and the wider galaxy, looking particularly at the problems encountered in attempting a traditional archaeological field survey of artifacts that may remain in motion indefinitely.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance: