Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
You may access the full-text electronic books (eBooks) from any Internet-connected computer or device, twenty-four hours a day, on- or off-campus.
Go to the Library website (https://library.northeaststate.edu), then choose eBooks, next to the catalog search box. Select eBook Collection (EBSCO), eBook Central, Libby/OverDrive, Gale Virtual Reference Library, National Academies Press, Oxford Reference Online, or O'Reilly Books Online.
To use the eBooks off campus, you will need to log in when prompted. Faculty should use their normal login credentials. For students, their username is their Northeast State email username - the part before @stumail.northeaststate.edu. Their password is the same as the one they use to get into MyNortheast and D2L..
**If you have any difficulty accessing the online resources, please contact the Northeast State library (354-2429) and ask to speak to a librarian.**
To view eBooks from Libby/OverDrive on smartphones and tablets, you will need to download and install a free app. For more information, see our directional guide:
Community Nursing Services in England : An Historical Policy Analysis by
This open access book provides an historical account of the ways in which community nursing services in England have been shaped by policy changes, from the inception of the NHS in 1948 to the present day. Focusing on policies regarding the organisation and provision of community nursing services, it offers an important assessment of how community nursing has evolved under successive governments. The book also provides reflections on how historic policies have influenced the service of today, and how lessons learnt from the past can inform organisation and delivery of current and future community nursing services. It is an important resource for those researching community nursing and health services, as well as practitioners and policy makers.
How Can we Use Simulation to Improve Competencies in Nursing? by
This open access book offers an overview of theories related to simulation and describes different simulation areas within nursing. It illustrates how simulation may be used in different levels in professional education. The book deals with the role of the Simulation Facilitator, peer learning and the use of Virtual Reality in simulation. It provides new insights and paths to the development of the use of simulation within nursing and healthcare and contributes with new knowledge from research and experiences of implementation of different simulating scenarios within nursing and midwifery. It is intended to teachers in nursing and other healthcare professionals with an interest in the use of active learning methods.
Innovative Nursing Care: education and research by
Higher life expectancy on a global level requires complex nursing care as poor education and a lack of knowledge can lead to mistakes. There is a need for nurses who can provide high quality and advanced nursing practice. A mix of well-grounded education and innovative research is needed, where the first provides an understanding of best nursing practice care delivery and the second helps nurses determine best practices and improve nursing care.
Inpatient Psychiatric Nursing: Clinical Strategies and Practical Interventions by
First edition named a Doody's Core Title and winner of an AJN Book of the Year Award! "This is truly a contribution to the hands-on clinical literature....This book can serve as a resource for nurses working in inpatient psychiatry, nursing students, and nursing faculty who teach undergraduate psychiatric nursing."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries "[A] great book for inpatient psychiatric nurses."--Doody's Medical Reviews Psychiatric nursing practice has changed dramatically to accommodate increasing patient acuity and an evolving healthcare landscape. In addition, the inter-relationship of medical illness and psychiatric symptoms can make treatment and care challenging for nurses regardless of where they practice. Inpatient Psychiatric Nursing: Clinical Strategies, Medical Considerations, and Practical Interventions reflects these factors by focusing on four particularly challenging aspects: keeping the patient safe, stabilizing symptoms, promoting engagement in treatment, and discharge planning. In a systematic, easy-to-access format, it offers evidence-based interventions and concrete strategies that can be used alleviate patient distress and effectively deliver care. This expanded and updated second edition is organized according to patient behaviors and interventions that nurses can employ to manage those behaviors. Each behavioral-focused chapter follows a consistent format so that readers can easily locate key information at point of care and concludes with a quick-reference table that summarizes goals, patient assessment, maintenance of safety, appropriate interventions, and next steps. The book also addresses a variety of medical conditions that may be complicated by psychiatric illness or have symptoms that may be erroneously attributed to mental illness. This symptomatic approach provides guidance for nurses and other healthcare professionals working with patients with behavioral disturbances--regardless of the cause or the practice setting. New to This Edition: Expanded coverage of the inter-relationship of medical illness and psychiatric symptoms Expanded coverage on the management of barriers to being therapeutic New chapter on key medical considerations for the psychiatric patient Key Features: Provides evidence-based interventions designed to modify and manage challenging and disruptive patient behavior in all practice settings Addresses psychiatric issues in medical settings and medical issues in psychiatric settings Features quick-reference tables that summarize goals, patient assessment, maintenance of safety, appropriate interventions, and next steps Demonstrates application to practice with real-life scenarios Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Importing Care, Faithful Service: Filipino and Indian American Nurses at a Veterans Hospital by
Every year thousands of foreign-born Filipino and Indian nurses immigrate to the United States. Despite being well trained and desperately needed, they enter the country at a time, not unlike the past, when the American social and political climate is once again increasingly unwelcoming to them as immigrants. Drawing on rich ethnographic and survey data, collected over a four-year period, this study explores the role Catholicism plays in shaping the professional and community lives of foreign-born Filipino and Indian American nurses in the face of these challenges, while working at a Veterans hospital. Their stories provide unique insights into the often-unseen roles race, religion and gender play in the daily lives of new immigrants employed in American healthcare. In many ways, these nurses find themselves foreign in more ways than just their nativity. Seeing nursing as a religious calling, they care for their patients, both at the hospital and in the wider community, with a sense of divine purpose but must also confront the cultural tensions and disconnects between how they were raised and trained in another country and the legal separation of church and state. How they cope with and engage these tensions and disconnects plays an important role in not only shaping how they see themselves as Catholic nurses but their place in the new American story.
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by
Awarded third place in the 2021 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Professional Development! The dynamic and competitive US healthcare environment requires healthcare professionals who are accountable to provide efficient and effective care. New evidence is continually surfacing in nursing and medical environments. Consumer pressure and increased patient expectations place an even greater emphasis on the need for healthcare professionals to deliver true evidence-based care in their daily practice. Johns Hopkins Nursing is steadfastly dedicated to making it easy for frontline nurses, health professionals, and students to use best evidence in their everyday practice. With each edition, we revise based on the honest, frank, and generous feedback we receive from frontline users of the Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice Model from across the globe. In this fourth edition, we are excited to be able to share these changes. The 2021 revised JHEBP Model underscores the need for organizations to cultivate both a spirit of inquiry and an environment of learning that encourages questioning and seeking best evidence and its implementation and adoption in practice. Although our model was developed, tested, and implemented by and for nurses, we have had numerous requests and feedback from other health professionals to use the Hopkins model. Thus, we introduce the fourth edition with a new title-Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals. This change reflects the growing evidence base of the importance for interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, particularly when addressing complex care issues such as those often tackled by EBP teams. In this edition, our overarching aim is to provide practical and pragmatic explanations, approaches, and tools to guide and support teams engaging in EBP projects: We explicitly reflected the interprofessional nature of the EBP process and its use by all disciplines who serve, interact with, and care for those who seek services.We revised the flow of the book chapters across the sections to reflect the progression of steps in the EBP process.We included a new introduction for the evidence section that includes background on the use of evidence hierarchies, tips for differentiating research from quality improvement, and further explanation of the summary and synthesis steps in the evidence process.We provided real-world examples for how to complete all tools using feedback from our global users as well as tried and tested helpful hints.We added a new chapter to expand and amplify strategies for dissemination that includes how to create a dissemination plan, audience-specific recommendations for internal and external dissemination venues, details of the pros and cons of different types of dissemination, guidance on submitting manuscripts for publication, and an overview of the journal review process.Chapter-specific enhancements: Chapter 3: Defines critical thinking and clinical reasoning and differentiates their use in the PET process.Chapter 4: Outlines stakeholder selection criteria and an algorithm to determine the need for an EBP project.Chapter 5: Includes new information on the literature screening process to navigate a large number of results Chapter 6: Provides useful clarifications of research approaches, designs, and methods with a focus on frontline staff as the target audienceChapter 8: Includes revised synthesis and translation steps; assesses risk prior to translation; prioritizes translation models accessible to frontline staff with a focus on the QI methodology and PDSA; and describes an expanded list of outcome measures to determine the success of an EPB project.
Florence Nightingale and the Medical Men: Working Together for Health Care Reform by
Florence Nightingale is known as a hospital reformer, a social reformer, and the founder of professional nursing; few realize that she worked closely with doctors on these issues. As Nightingale's first supporters and colleagues, doctors contributed to reducing the high death rates in Crimean War hospitals and learned from the consequential reforms. Beginning with an overview of Nightingale's life and continuing with an exploration of her Crimean War work with army doctors, her post-Crimea work with civilian doctors, and her collaborations with the peacetime army and with army doctors in later wars, Lynn McDonald details the involvement of doctors in Nightingale's legacy. At a time when hospitals' death rates were universally high (including at top teaching hospitals), Nightingale formed connections with leading public health doctors and produced heavily cited work on safer hospital design. Her later writings cover her relations with early women doctors and the controversy over state regulation of nurses, bacteriology, and germ theory; here, McDonald argues against flawed secondary literature and the myth of Nightingale's lifelong opposition to germ theory. The final chapter discusses the legendary nurse's enduring legacy. Florence Nightingale and the Medical Men provides timely insight into Nightingale's principles of disease prevention, data visualization, and the impacts of high disease and death rates - issues that persist in the global health crises of the twenty-first century.
Soviet Nightingales: Care under Communism by
In Soviet Nightingales, Susan Grant tracks nursing care in the Soviet Union from its nineteenth-century origins in Russia through the end of the Soviet state. With the advent of the USSR, nurses were instrumental in helping to build the New Soviet Person and in constructing a socialist society. Disease and illness were rampant in the early 1920s after years of war, revolution, and famine. The demand for nurses was great, but how might these workers best serve the country's needs? By examining living and working conditions, nurse-patient relations, education, and attempts at international nursing cooperation, Grant recounts the history of the Bolshevik effort to define the "Soviet" nurse and organize a new system of socialist care for the masses. Although the Bolsheviks aimed to transform healthcare along socialist lines, they ultimately failed as the struggle to train skilled medical workers became entangled in politics. Soviet Nightingales draws on rich archival research from Russia, the United States, and Britain to describe how ideology reinvented the role of the nurse and shaped the profession.
Nursing Diagnosis Manual: Planning, Individualizing, and Documenting Client Care by 
Delivering Quality Healthcare for People with Disability by
Awarded first place in the 2021 AJN Book of the Year Awards in History and Public Policy! Those with disability-be it mild and a mere inconvenience, or one that necessitates the use of high-tech support for survival-have repeatedly reported that their healthcare needs are not adequately addressed by healthcare providers. Most healthcare professionals, including nurses, are unfamiliar with the consequences of disabling conditions in the lives of individuals with disability. They lack knowledge about how to communicate effectively with those with all types of disability, do not consider the effect of individuals' disability on their ability to participate in health-promotion efforts, harbor negative attitudes and bias toward them, stereotype them, and often perceive them as unable (or unwilling) to take an active part in their own care. Ineffective communication on the part of healthcare professionals when interacting with individuals with disability has broad implications and repercussions. Healthcare providers who believe they know best, and are the experts on disability, will continue to ignore the wishes and preferences of individuals with disability and their desire to make decisions about their own lives and healthcare. Many healthcare professionals presume people with disability are reluctant to participate in health promotion. Individuals with disability have reported that healthcare providers are uncomfortable and unwilling to discuss issues related to sex and sexuality with them. They have further reported that healthcare providers assume that they are uninterested (or perhaps believe that they should be uninterested) in sexual relationships, intimacy, pregnancy, and childbearing. Women with disability who have elected to become mothers and have sought out prenatal care have reported that their healthcare providers' first assumption was that the reason individuals with disability; these agencies and organizations have identified changing the educational preparation of healthcare professionals as a primary strategy and an important first step. Several organizations, with input from individuals with disability, have developed competencies that should be expected of all healthcare professionals who interact with individuals with disability. The Alli-ance for Disability in Health Care Education has urged nursing, medicine, and other healthcare professions to endorse these competencies with the goal of moving forward in the effort to improve the healthcare of individuals with disability. Nurses have been very involved in the development of these competencies from the beginning of the process. Several nursing organizations, including Sigma, have endorsed the cross-discipline competencies developed by the Alliance for Disability in Health Care Education (2019). This book is based on the principle and belief that all healthcare professionals regardless of discipline, level of education, or role within the healthcare system have a role in caring for individuals with disability. As such, they need a basic understanding of the issue of disability to provide appropriate, optimal, and sensitive healthcare to those with disability. These issues and more are addressed in the chapters of this book. It is intended to provide information to nurses, nursing students, and other healthcare professionals to enable them to communicate with and provide quality healthcare to individuals with disability.
Nursing the Nation: Building the Nurse Labor Force by
Modern health care cannot exist without professional nurses. Throughout the twentieth century, there was seldom a sustained period when the supply of nurses was equal to demand. Nursing the Nation offers a historical analysis of the relationship between the development of nurse employment arrangements with patients and institutions and the appearance of nurse shortages from 1890 to 1950. The response to nursing supply and demand problems by health care institutions and policy-making organizations failed to address nurse workforce issues adequately, and this failure resulted in, at times, profound and lengthy nurse shortages. Nurses also lost the ability to control their own destiny within health care institutions while nevertheless establishing themselves as the most critical part of health care provision today.
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fourth Edition by
Highly anticipated and fully updated, Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fourth Edition, is a practical and useful guide for nurses who need to bridge the gap from incomplete sentences to a published manuscript. Lead Author and Editor Cynthia Saver removes the fear and confusion most nurses have about the writing and publishing process. Along the way, 25 of nursing's top writing experts and decision makers share important insights to increase the likelihood that your manuscript is accepted for publication. In this book, you will learn how to: ? Collaborate and coauthor with professionals in other healthcare disciplines ? Navigate interprofessional continuing education (IPCE) Write qualitative studies and report the different instruments used ? Avoid being the victim of predatory publishing? Turn your dissertation or capstone project into a published article? Write a letter to the editor or write a book review? Work with and manage contributors when writing a book? Understand open access, SQUIRE, APA, and more
Health Promotion in Health Care - Vital Theories and Research by
This open access textbook represents a vital contribution to global health education, offering insights into health promotion as part of patient care for bachelor's and master's students in health care (nurses, occupational therapists, physiotherapists, radiotherapists, social care workers etc.) as well as health care professionals, and providing an overview of the field of health science and health promotion for PhD students and researchers. Written by leading experts from seven countries in Europe, America, Africa and Asia, it first discusses the theory of health promotion and vital concepts. It then presents updated evidence-based health promotion approaches in different populations (people with chronic diseases, cancer, heart failure, dementia, mental disorders, long-term ICU patients, elderly individuals, families with newborn babies, palliative care patients) and examines different health promotion approaches integrated into primary care services. This edited scientific anthology provides much-needed knowledge, translating research into guidelines for practice. Today's medical approaches are highly developed; however, patients are human beings with a wholeness of body-mind-spirit. As such, providing high-quality and effective health care requires a holistic physical-psychological-social-spiritual model of health care is required. A great number of patients, both in hospitals and in primary health care, suffer from the lack of a holistic oriented health approach: Their condition is treated, but they feel scared, helpless and lonely. Health promotion focuses on improving people's health in spite of illnesses. Accordingly, health care that supports/promotes patients' health by identifying their health resources will result in better patient outcomes: shorter hospital stays, less re-hospitalization, being better able to cope at home and improved well-being, which in turn lead to lower health-care costs. This scientific anthology is the first of its kind, in that it connects health promotion with the salutogenic theory of health throughout the chapters. the authors here expand the understanding of health promotion beyond health protection and disease prevention. The book focuses on describing and explaining salutogenesis as an umbrella concept, not only as the key concept of sense of coherence.
Organising Care Around Patients: Stories from the frontline of the NHS by
Organising care around patients is not for the fainthearted. Naomi Chambers and Jeremy Taylors have curated twenty-five accounts from people who agreed to tell the story of what happened when they or their loved ones came into contact with the NHS. The authors defy you not to laugh or cry, or hold your breath in disbelief, at some point when reading this book. In these true and compelling accounts, we learn the experiences - good and bad - of people grappling with birth and death, caring for loved ones, living with mental illness, coping with long-term conditions, and struggling in older age. This book is a call to action aimed at healthcare professionals, managers and politicians: a manifesto for more patient-centred care. These stories show the NHS at its very best - and also when it falls significantly short. Patients or carers currently battling with the system will derive some hope and encouragement, and clues about what to expect, what to ask for, and from whom.
Take Charge of Your Nursing Career, Second Edition by
Awarded second place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Nursing Education/Continuing Education/Professional Development! The essential theme of the book is the notion of career as a fluid process. A career is not stagnant or simply a job. It is a process that must be nurtured-constantly grown and managed. A career is an opportunity to find one's voice and use it to promote both the individual and professional impact of one's expertise. A career should be challenging, always giving way to more learning and mentoring opportunities. Career is a global concept; the intricacies of career development and management across the globe cannot be overlooked. A career journey ebbs and flows-one of the great characteristics of a professional nursing career. There are always options to consider on one's career path-opportunities to gain experience and expertise in diverse areas, often never considered by professional nurses. Take Charge of Your Nursing Career provides the reader with a unique and distinct perspective on career development and management. It covers timely and relevant topics, strategies, tips, and examples for professional nurses to use to develop and manage their careers from beginning to end. It also provides resources and websites that they can access as needed as they define their personal career trajectory. The topics discussed throughout the book are ones that professional nurses at all points on their career journey are asking about and dealing with in their careers, now and in the future. Professional nurses can turn to this user-friendly book through the entirety of their career.
Improving Nurse Retention and Healthcare Outcomes: Innovating With the IMPACT Model by
Nurse retention is a key focus for healthcare organizations-particularly the retention of clinical nurses, who provide direct patient care. Each percent change in nurse turnover (or retention) will cost (or save) the average hospital hundreds of thousands of dollars per year. But nurse turnover doesn't just have financial implications. It also has a direct impact on the remaining clinical nurses themselves, which then trickles down to patient care. To address the long-term impact of turnover at our hospital, we opted to create a program to motivate nurses to remain as frontline staff. We envisioned a proactive program that would enable us to empower nurses, engage them, and ultimately retain them. We had long observed that empowerment and engagement were closely linked-and that a lack of empowerment created a lack of engagement. This in turn caused a vicious cycle that ultimately led clinical nurses to leave the organization or the nursing profession altogether.We designed the IMPACT Program to stimulate empowerment and professional growth. Simply put, we wanted our clinical nurses to thrive in their role. We wanted them to know that they had not only made a difference in their day-to-day shift but also had an effect on the future care of patients they serve. That's what the IMPACT Program is all about.This book outlines what the IMPACT Program is, how it works, and what it has achieved. No matter your role-whether you are an executive or a clinical nurse-this book will resonate with you. If you are a clinical nurse, you will gain a clear understanding of how you can elevate your practice as a frontline direct patient care provider. You will be inspired to create change-not only in your unit or area but across your organization. Your job will be about being empowered to improve patient care and your work environment, and helping lead your organization into the future of healthcare. If you are an executive/leader, this book will open your eyes to a new way of approaching clinical nurse retention that will also positively influence your strategic initiatives.
Solution Focused Interactions in Nursing : Growth and Change by
Nursing is about growth, yet it spends so much time focusing on disease and entropy. While the nursing role is expanding into advanced practice roles, and twenty-first century nursing is almost unrecognisable compared to its nineteenth century roots, at the heart of nursing is growth. Sometimes called "caring", growth requires nurturing, and, while it is difficult to define, without it nurses are merely medical technicians. In the context of nursing, health is about change, change from a less healthy state to a more healthy state and the nurse's role is to promote that change whenever possible. However, change is difficult; we are creatures of habit, afraid of change, and preferring the illusion of safety with the "devil we know rather than the devil we don't know". However, when someone is ready to change, they have already grown.This book combines the author's twenty-five years of experience in Solution Focused Interactions and empirical evidence derived from his PhD research to argue that Solution Focused Interactions provide a means for nurses, in all domains of nursing and midwifery, to provide care that promotes growth and change in the people they work with, while restoring and maintaining their enthusiasm for practice. This book serves as an eminently practical introduction to how Solution Focused Interactions can be used across nursing practice, making use of transcripts and case studies to illustrate the ways in which nurses can help their patients to grow and change, while also growing and changing themselves.
Mental Health : A Non-specialist Introduction for Nursing and Health Care by
Mental Health is an accessible introductory textbook aimed primarily at nursing and health care students who are not in the mental health field of practice but are seeking to understand mental health and become rounded practitioners. It will also be useful as a broad introduction for mental health nursing students. Through clear explanations, examples and activities, the book will help you to recognise and support people with mental health issues whenever they are encountered in your practice. You will learn: What mental health is and how it interacts with physical health About different theories and models that are applied to understanding mental illness How to relate to and communicate with people experiencing mental health problems How to recognise the common diagnosable mental health disorders and understand the treatments and interventions that are applied to them About the impact that mental health issues can have on people at different stages of life, from childhood to adulthood and later life How to apply legal and ethical frameworks and to assess risk when supporting people with mental health issues. Written by a team of highly experienced mental health academics and practitioners, this book will help you to develop the underpinning knowledge and skills you need and to apply them in your own field of practice.
Clinical Skills: An Introduction for Nursing and Healthcare by
Clinical Skills: an introduction for nursing and healthcare covers the essential clinical skills required by nurses. It offers an ideal introduction to clinical skills for adult nursing students, and it will also be useful for student nurses in other fields of practice, for trainee nursing associates and for other healthcare students who need to carry out clinical procedures when caring for people in a healthcare environment. Written in an engaging and accessible style, the book will help students to: develop their proficiency in carrying out the nursing procedures required to qualify as a Registered Nurse understand when and how to provide nursing intervention and support to people in their care broaden and deepen their knowledge through the use of realistic scenarios apply their knowledge in a person-centred and compassionate way reflect on their own values and learning experiences to enhance their nursing practice improve their nursing skills by using the 'hints for practice' and 'alerts' The clear, reader-friendly presentation will help students develop the underpinning knowledge and understanding of the clinical skills they will need throughout their healthcare career. "The clinical skills book is a gem, easy to follow, eye catching, and relevant to all skills modules across all years of the nursing programme." Lecturer in Adult Nursing, School of Health, Science and Wellbeing, Staffordshire University
A Dictionary of Nursing by
The new edition of this bestselling and trusted dictionary has been fully revised to take account of recent developments in nursing practice and related fields. Updates to this edition cover many areas, with a particular focus on radiography, public health and the NHS, theoretical conceptsfamiliar in nursing education, and key vocabulary used in the 2018 Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) Standards of Proficiency for Registered Nurses.Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,500 clear and concise entries on nursing theory and practice, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also manyentries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, dentistry, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 16 appendices covering the calculation of drug dosages, religion and nursing practice, recommended alcohol intake, and muchmore, help to make this an essential reference tool for all nursing students and professionals.
Reflecting on Presence in Nursing : A Guide for Practice and Research by
Presence is essential in nursing. It means to connect with, and attune to, another person for the purpose of healing and enrichment. This book explores the importance of presence in nursing, gathering together various personal accounts of its use in both research and practice. It will allow the reader to reflect on presence, connecting, attuning, finding meaning and joy, and delivering care in a relational way. This book will also be of particular interest to nurse educators and trainers interested in guiding others to acquire presence, in addition to healthcare managers, who will benefit from the chapter on promoting quality in healthcare through relational leadership. The text also has valuable new information to offer to the researcher interested in presence and related concepts such as relational care and relational leadership in healthcare.
Supervising and Assessing Student Nurses and Midwives in Clinical Practice : A Practical Guide by
Supervising and Assessing Student Nurses and Midwives in Clinical Practice is a practical guide for healthcare practitioners responsible for the supervision and assessment of students. The book is designed to help practice supervisors and practice assessors: to identify and plan for a range of learning opportunities to consider what is possible for learning and assessment in their area to get ready for and deliver the best learning experiences that they can to prepare students for their role as future nurses and midwives. Activities, top tips, examples and scenarios all help the reader to set the principles in context and to support students in achieving the NMC's standards of proficiency. Covering the learning environment and culture, interprofessional supervision, coaching models and feedback, methods and types of assessment, simulation-based learning, and the future of practice learning, the book aims to help individuals and organisations to create the best environment for supporting, supervising and assessing students in practice.
The PEACE Model Evidence-Based Practice Guide for Clinical Nurses by
Nurses are in charge of the patients and their families throughout the hospital and health system experience. They assist patients through illness to achieve higher levels of health. They coordinate the care throughout the patients' experiences with the healthcare system. Nurses are the leaders of patient care at the bedside and beyond. It is important that as clinical leaders, nurses have the most accurate, most up-to-date, and evidence-based information available so that they can always do the right thing. The PEACE model develops clinical nurses as leaders in care of both patients and their families. Clinical nurses, those at the point of care, have embraced this model for guiding their practice. The PEACE model helps clinical nurses solve challenging problems through a rigorous evidence-based practice process-from problem identification to evaluation and dissemination. The crux of the PEACE model is the mnemonic that simplifies the evidence-based practice (EBP) process for clinical nurses. The PEACE model is used across NewYork-Presbyterian (NYP), one of the nation's most comprehensive academic healthcare delivery systems. NYP is composed of 10 hospitals in New York and employs more than 11,000 nurses across the enterprise. One striking advantage of the model is that it emerged from the work of clinical nurses who were struggling to find a way to remember and apply the components of other EBP models. Clinical nurses have indicated that the components of the PEACE model make the model memorable and useful: P for problem identification E for evidence review A for appraising the evidence C for changing practice or conducting research E for evaluating and disseminating the findings The last stage of the PEACE model is particularly important to advancing nursing practice across institutions. We have found that unless the model results are disseminated through scholarly presentations and publications, the clinical challenges continue to be present across sites and institutions. We emphasize this phase and conduct publication workshops to help clinical nurses shape the dissemination of their EBP work. Nurses' active participation in EBP and research is critical to improving the care we provide to patients and furthering nursing science. It is important to note that the design of the PEACE model intentionally linked EBP, quality improvement (QI), and research. The mnemonic PEACE promotes understanding and application by clinical nurses, providing a way to easily remember the EBP component stages. The uniqueness of the PEACE model is its simplicity. This relevance leads to continued application in day-to-day nursing practice. As we strive for peace at many levels of our lives and work, the mnemonic is easy to remember. The PEACE model may be adapted to any setting where nurses practice.
Cardiac Nursing by
Awarded Third Place in the 2021 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Critical Care/Emergency, and 5-Star Review from Doody's Review Service Need to develop strong cardiac nursing skills or advance your practice to a higher level? The newly updated Cardiac Nursing, 7th Edition is the gold standard reference and on-the-unit resource, offering crucial guidance and direction for nurses looking to provide up-to-date, evidence-based cardiac care. Designed for both new and experienced nurses, this is top-level, expert direction on developing care plans, performing assessments, interpreting labs, diagnosis, and more, making this the vital road map to safe, positive cardiac patient outcomes. Delve into the seasoned expertise of this primary reference for cardiac nursing: NEW and updated easy-to-read content that reflects the newest developments and best practices in cardiac nursing NEW chapters include: Women and Heart Disease; Palliative Care in Cardiology; Quality, Economics and Policy in Cardiovascular Care; and Advanced Practice Cardiac Nursing NEW four-color design aids visual comprehension Chapter features include: Objectives, Clinical Questions and Key Questions, Key Takeaways, Case-Based Learning, ready-to-reference tables, figures, algorithms, and more Case Studies in each chapter - assist in developing critical thinking and clinical decision-making Checklists for basic cardiac care skills - taking accurate blood pressure measurement, developing care plans, patient teaching, and more Quick-reference tables that emphasize important concepts Lists the Standards of Cardiovascular Nursing Practice - assessment, diagnosis, outcomes Identification, planning, coordination of care, health promotion, consultation, ethics, and more Sections offer specific guidance on different aspects of care: Fundamentals of Cardiac Nursing - includes cardiac anatomy and physiology, systemic and pulmonary circulation and oxygen delivery, regulation of cardiac output and blood pressure Evaluation of the Heart and Heart Disease - includes history and physical exam, lab studies, radiologic exam, electrocardiography and cardiac rhythm, cardiac stress testing, and more Risk Assessment and Prevention of Heart Disease - includes psychosocial risk factors, obesity overview, exercise and activity, smoking cessation and effective treatment, hypertension, diabetes and more Pathophysiology and Management of Heart Disease - includes ischemic heart disease, peripheral vascular disease, valvular heart disease, adult congenital heart disease, cardiac arrhythmias, and more Expanding the role of the Cardiac Nurse - therapeutic intervention; disease management; global and population health; quality, policy and economics of cardiovascular care; leadership and team-based care Excellent teaching tool for training new cardiac nurses About the Clinical Editors Elizabeth Perpetua, DNP, ACNP-BC, ANP-BC, AACC, is Founder of Empath Health Services LLC and Adjunct Professor for Seattle Pacific University School of Health Sciences and School of Nursing in Seattle, Washington. Patricia Keegan, DNP, NP-C, AACC, is Director of Strategic and Programmatic Initiatives for Emory Heart and Vascular, and the Lead Nurse Practitioner at the Structural Heart and Valve Center for Emory Healthcare in Atlanta, Georgia. She is also Adjunct Faculty at the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing at Emory University.
Wound Care Essentials: Practice Principles by
Awards Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Awarded First Place in the 2020 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Medical-Surgical Nursing Category Awarded Second Place in the 2020 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Advance Practice Nursing Category. Looking for an up-to-date, how-to, evidence-based wound care reference? The newly revised Wound Care Essentials, 5th Edition is the comprehensive seminal resource, offering the latest evidence, guidelines and information to assist the interprofessional skin and wound care team translate knowledge into practice. A crucial guide for all skin and wound care professionals, this essential resource provides authoritative science and practical instruction on wound care best practices. This must-have guide offers the latest, skin and wound care research-backed insights on prevention and management strategies... Three New Chapters--Skin, Challenging Skin Conditions and Lymphedema More chapter contributions from global wound care opinion leaders More (now 50) helpful color photos in the wound gallery Comprehensive end-of-book certification practice exam, including new review questions Chapter features that include: All chapters have been updated with the latest available research and educational enablers Visual aids, mnemonics, tables boxes, diagrams. and charts to highlight key concepts Practice Point Boxes - quick summaries of knowledge for best practices that assist in retaining knowledge Show What You Know - review questions at the end of each chapter and answers with explanations at the end of the book Patient Scenario - case studies that illustrate clinical data and discuss application of information Skin and Wound Care Concepts--every chapter has been updated with the most current international guidelines especially for pressure injuries and skin tears Essential content for training staff at wound centers and in every healthcare practice setting - ideal for updating skin and wound care policies and procedures About the Authors Sharon Baranoski, MSN, RN, CCNS-APN, CWCN, MAPWCA, FAAN, is a Board-certified, Advanced Practice Nurse specializing in skin & wound care. Her experience crosses all health care setting. She is a well-known consultant, lecturer, author and educator. She is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing. She is a former President of the International Skin Tear Advisory Board and the National Pressure Injury Advisory Panel and remains an active member of both organizations. Sharon has received numerous accolades and awards for her 35 plus years of work in the field of wound care. Elizabeth A. Ayello, PhD, MS, BSN, RN, CWON, ETN, MAPWCA, FAAN, is a Board-certified wound and ostomy nurse who believes in the interprofessional team approach to skin and wound care practice and education. A fellow in the American Academy of Nursing, she is an internationally known prolific author, editor, researcher, consultant (including to CMS) and innovative, interactive educator who is the current Co- Editor in Chief of Advances in Skin and Wound Care, President of the World Council of Enterostomal.
The Many Roles of the Registered Nurse by
Nurses are the largest population of healthcare providers practicing in both urban and remote areas across the globe. Currently, the nursing profession is in the midst of a significant shortage as aging baby boomers retire and a nursing faculty shortage forces many colleges and universities to turn away qualified applicants. As healthcare needs of the population become more complex and technologies advance, our world needs nurses now more than at any other time in history. This book provides the reader with a wide overview of the many vast roles within the nursing profession, showing that the responsibilities are complex, challenging and rewarding. It will allow the reader to understand the current job market for nurses and perhaps even persuade some to choose this rewarding profession.
Critical Care Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! by
Feeling unsure about your critical care nursing skills? Time to gain some confident know-how, with the freshly updated Critical Care Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!®, 5th Edition. This friendly, fully illustrated guide offers clear, concise direction on treating numerous acute and life-threatening issues. Absorb current best practices on critical care basics and specialized areas such as advanced life support measures, multisystem trauma, and treating specialized needs. This is ideal guidance for students, nurses new to clinical care, and those preparing for the Critical Care (CCRN) certification exam. Let this expert review text guide you to exam and on-the-unit success: NEW end-of-book practice exam Expansive, systems-based review of acute care conditions for all body systems Guidance on treating multisystem disorders - burns, hyperthermia, hypothermia, hypovolemic shock, multiple organ dysfunction syndrome (MODS), septic shock, trauma and more Expert guidance on nursing skills - blood and fluid replacement, rapid assessment and interventions, emergency measures, fluid replacement/resuscitation, drug therapy, pressure ulcer management, moderate sedation, CPR and emergency cardiac care, and more Numerous images and charts demonstrate clinical use of IV fluids, interpreting serum electrolyte test results, drug therapy for multisystem disorders, and more Step-by-step direction on performing blood transfusions with a guide to transfusion reactions Top-level instruction in areas including oncology, acute care surgery, drug overdose and poisoning, palliative care and pain management, nutrition, prevention and screening, professional roles and ethics, test-taking strategies Ideal review text for grasping the components required to master the CCRN certification exam Chapter features include: Just the facts - a quick summary of content at the start of each chapter Advice from experts - tips and tricks and key troubleshooting techniques Take charge! - potentially lethal situations and steps to take when they occur Handle with care - identifies concerns and actions related to elderly, pediatric, and bariatric patients Weighing the evidence - highlights research that guides practice Memory joggers - memory aids to help you grasp and remember difficult concepts Certification tips - draws out the most important concepts from each chapter in relation to the CCRN exam Quick quiz - end-of-chapter multiple choice questions, with answers and rationales Practice makes perfect - extensive end-of-book practice exam to test knowledge in preparation for NCLEX and certification About the Clinical Editor David W. Woodruff, PhD, APRN, CNE, CCRN-K, FNAP, is Faculty Development Specialist at the Center for Faculty Excellence at the Chamberlain College of Nursing in Cleveland, Ohio.
Promoting Health and Wellbeing: For Nursing and Healthcare Students by
Promoting Health and Wellbeingis an introductory textbook for nursing and healthcare students seeking to understand how to promote health and prevent ill health. Through clear explanations, case studies and activities, the book will help you to understand the principles of health promotion and how to apply them in your practice. You will learn: Theoretical perspectives of health promotion, health education and public health How to identify and apply models to support behaviour change and overcome barriers to change How health inequalities and social determinants of health affect public health practice How to enable, mediate and advocate in promoting physical and mental health and wellbeing How to understand and implement evidence-based health promotion in practice This book will help you to develop the underpinning knowledge and skills you require to carry out your role in promoting health and wellbeing. Essentialsis a series of accessible, introductory textbooks for students in nursing, health and social care. The books feature clear explanations, scenarios, activities and case studies to help students get to grips with the subject quickly and easily. New and forthcoming titles in the series: The Care Process Communication Skills Leadership Mental Health Promoting Health and Wellbeing Study Skills **Please note that the pdf ebook version of this title is a print replica version and you may not be able to add notes to it**
Psychiatric Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! by
Need an insightful, real-world guide to mental health care concepts? The newly updated Psychiatric Nursing made Incredibly Easy, 3rd Edition addresses numerous mental health nursing issues, defining disorders and management strategies and offering down-to-earth guidance on a range of care issues -- all in the enjoyable Made Incredibly Easy® style. With guidance that applies to any healthcare setting, this colorfully illustrated guide walks you through the vital skills needed for psychiatric mental health nursing care, offering solid support for being exam-ready and for handling a range of mental health and substance use concerns while on the job. Provide an informed, holistic approach to mental health care ... NEW and updated content in an quick-read format that mirrors the layout of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition (DSM-5) NEW current, key information on the opioid crisis, including relevant screening tools and interventions that help you identify concerns at any point of care NEW Practice Makes Perfect practice test - ideal for NCLEX examination study Quick-scan tables, flow charts and illustrations that help you grasp the material more fully Provides a valuable, fundamental overview of psychiatric mental health conditions - structured to help nurses in all settings provide patients with optimal care Chapters address numerous disorders, including neurodevelopmental, bipolar, depressive, anxiety, obsessive-compulsive, trauma and stressor-related, dissociative, neurocognitive, personality, somatic symptom, sleep-wake, and psychotic disorders, as well as sexual dysfunction, gender dysphoria, and more Offers crucial care guidance on issues including patient and family advocacy, health promotion and teaching, psychopharmacology, interprofessional collaboration, and ethical and legal issues in mental health care Chapter features include: Advice from the Experts - tips and how-to''s from experienced psychiatric nurses Myth Busters - distinguishes facts from myths about mental health issues and focuses on appropriate care approaches Bridging the Gap - overviews of unique beliefs and needs within specific groups Meds Matters - psychopharmacologic treatments for psychiatric concerns Quick Quiz - multiple-choice questions after each chapter that help you retain knowledge Memory Joggers - memory tricks and other aids that help you understand and remember difficult concepts "Nurse Joy and Nurse Jake" - emphasize important care concepts Practice Makes Perfect - end-of-book, NCLEX-style practice questions About the Clinical Editors Cherie R. Rebar, PhD, MBA, RN, COI, is a Nursing Education Strategist at Connect: RN2ED in Beavercreek, Ohio, a Professor of Nursing at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio, and adjunct faculty at Mercy College School of Nursing in Toledo, Ohio, and Indiana Wesleyan University in Marion, Indiana. Nicole Heimgartner, DNP, MSN, RN, COI, is a Nursing Education Strategist at Connect: RN2ED in Beavercreek, Ohio, and is Adjunct Faculty at Mercy College School of Nursing in Toledo, Ohio and American Sentinel University in Denver, Colorado. Carolyn Gersch, PhD, RN, CNE, is a Nursing Education Strategist at Connect: RN2ED, in Beavercreek, Ohio, and Curriculum Coordinator at Ohio Medical Career College in Dayton, Ohio.
Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual! by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Build a solid knowledge base in hemodynamic nursing skills, with the newly updated Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual!®, 4th Edition. Full of colorful images that illustrate monitoring concepts and processes, this concise, enjoyable guide sorts through the complexities of hemodynamics and clarifies them in easy-to-follow ways. Grasp the structures and functions of pulmonary and cardiac systems and the vital skills of hemodynamics, with this vital reference--a must-have for all nursing students, new nurses, and nurses returning to critical care. Get clear, concise direction on the concepts, devices, and nursing skills used in hemodynamic monitoring: NEW and updated content, photos and graphics that demonstrate nursing skills and responsibilities Hundreds of colorful images that guide you through the ins and outs of hemodynamics - detailed photos, diagrams, charts and other visual aids that clarify cardiopulmonary anatomy and physiology Illustrates vital practice issues, such as how to confirm the lungs are getting enough oxygen, and how well the heart is pumping -- explains and reinforces key concepts in easy-to-remember ways Explains the fundamentals and current best practices in hemodynamic monitoring in easy-to-retain terms Ideal for visual learners -images demonstrate step-by-step, expert guidance on monitoring skills, physiology and devices: Understanding cardiopulmonary anatomy and physiology Understanding a pressure monitoring system Vascular access Pressure monitoring - arterial, central venous, and pulmonary artery pressure monitoring Cardiac output monitoring Tissue oxygenation monitoring Minimally invasive hemodynamic monitoring Circulatory assist devices Step-by-step guidance on thermodilution methods, analyzing thermodilution curves, measuring cardiac function and output, maintaining artery catheters, and more Ideal on-the-spot reference and review for nursing students and new nurses - addresses the physiology behind each learning objective and provides vital nursing considerations Chapter features: On the level - defines normal and abnormal pressure readings for different patient conditions Q&A - illustrated riddles, diagrams, and questions and answers at the end of each chapter that help you fully integrate new knowledge Matchmaker - matching terms and conditions to their correct definition Memory board - learning aids and memory cues that help you retain important definitions and processes Ride the wave - explains the actions of waveforms, including how to recognize abnormal waveforms "Nurse Joy and Jake" - expert insights and encouraging advice About the Clinical Editor Rose Knapp, DNP, RN, APN-BC, is an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, and Associate Graduate Faculty and MSN Program Director/APN Program Coordinator at the Marjorie K. Unterberg School of Nursing and Health Studies at Monmouth University in West Long Branch, New Jersey
Intellectual Disability Nursing: An Oral History Project by
This unique monograph, based on empirical research, used the oral history approach to explore the careers of 31 intellectual disability nurses from England and the Republic of Ireland; each with at least 30 years' experience. We sought to understand motives for such long service to nursing practice. Some had worked in the intellectual disability hospitals of the 19th and 20th Centuries. In both jurisdictions these have almost closed and been replaced with smaller living configurations; subsequently few such nurses have experience of these institutions. This makes it important to hear their stories, which were digitally recorded; now forming a unique collection in the Royal College of Nursing's archives. These oral histories when synthesised with prevailing discourse of intellectual disability nursing from literature, and research put into perspective contemporary nursing workforce challenges faced by these nurses in both jurisdictions. Their stories are testament, amongst other things, to a strong 'sense of justice... doing the right thing and making a difference'. Some reported a 'very early interest in working with people with intellectual disabilities'.And at 'journey's end'sadly, almost universally, they reported a sense of being 'undervalued'. Their narratives articulate enormous health and social care change witnessed over three decades or more. But above all else they give voice to commitment, dedication, and kindness to a vulnerable, and often marginalised people, those with intellectual disabilities, as such it gives voice to otherwise 'Untold Stories'.
How Nurses Can Facilitate Meaning-Making and Dialogue : Reflections on Narrative and Photo Stories by
In healthcare, nurses often have a great deal of contact with patients on a 24-hour basis. They are in a position to hear the patient's stories not only while giving care, but also during more informal communication throughout the day. This puts them in a position to use their response to patients in a more conscious manner and realize therapeutic aims by exploiting narrative means in a methodological way. This book extensively describes how this can be accomplished, not only through a theoretical exposé, but also using case studies. In addition to this pragmatic focus, it explains how narrative relates to larger concepts such as self-management, shared decision making, recovery and person-centred care, and shows that narrative can be a vehicle to these desired outcomes. The book also considers organizational aspects of narrative-oriented healthcare by introducing a model in which narrative plays an important role. As such, it will allow nurses in the field to make a paradigmatic switch from a perspective dominated by delivery of care to one that is person-centred, recovery-oriented and dialogic in nature.
Unfolding Health Assessment Case Studies for the Student Nurse by
This book was designed with student nurses in mind. It is intended to serve as a tool to provide practice, enhance learning, and increase the propensity for retention and application of basic concepts of health and physical assessment. The book can be used by early-career nursing students who have just begun to cover its concepts as well as by pre-licensure exam students who may benefit from reiteration and reinforcement of concepts learned early on in nursing school--and from practicing applying these concepts to more complex scenarios. The book is divided into 13 chapters, all of which are geared toward a particular subject matter. Chapters 1 and 2 introduce the concept of an unfolding case study and the nursing process. Chapter 3 provides an in-depth guide to answering NCLEX-style questions. There are several NCLEX-style questions broken down and analyzed within this chapter and several practice questions for your benefit. The remainder of the chapters are subject-based and cover assessment of the major body systems in a systematic and learner-friendly way. Readers will notice that while each chapter covers different content matter, the chapters are structured in similar ways so the reader can begin to develop a feel for and familiarity with an unfolding case study analysis. Goals for the book are: *Increased comfort level and confidence in analyzing patient scenarios in regards to basic health assessment *A more in-depth knowledge of basic health assessment concepts *Ample chances to practice applying concepts learned in your health assessment course to solidify the information you have learned *Increased confidence in answering NCLEX-style questions *Increased knowledge, skill levels, and confidence in assessing and managing patients with a variety of healthcare needs The chapters of the book do not have to be completed in any particular order, as they are each individualized to certain subject matter categories. The authors recommend you use these unfolding case studies as a means of evaluating the ability to think critically and apply the concepts learned in health assessment classes to realistic patient scenarios. The book can be used as a study tool during health assessment classes, a health assessment refresher tool during other classes, and an NCLEX study tool after finishing nursing school.
Telephone Triage Protocols for Nurses by
Assess the nature and severity of callers'' symptoms quickly and confidently, with Telephone Triage Protocols for Nurses, 6th Edition. More than 200 alpha-organized protocols address a wide range of symptoms, disorders and medical emergencies, while the flow chart format leads callers to provide vital Yes or No answers to appropriate questions. This comprehensive manual - a must-have for nurses both new and experienced - offers accurate care recommendations even when client information is limited. Follow expert direction and make quick, accurate assessments ... NEW and updated protocols offer current best practices and reflect changes in access to medications and health care Protocols address adult, pediatric, geriatric, maternal/child, home health concerns, current health issues, and communicable disease outbreaks NEW protocols include arthritis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), elder abuse, stroke symptoms, and Zika virus Post-operative conditions and considerations have been added to numerous protocols Expanded appendices include altered mental status, PTSD, suicide prevention, and emergency preparedness Alpha-organized protocols help you quickly locate topics by symptom or condition Table of contents by body system helps you quickly locate topics by body system, body part or set of related symptoms Peer-reviewed by nursing experts Easy-to-follow question-asking flow chart - Yes or No answers lead to specific care recommendations Ideal guidance for all nurses, particularly those in triage and ambulatory practice Sorts life-threatening problems from those not requiring physician or emergency care Increases consistency of advice and documentation Nurse Alerts - help the nurse identify potentially life-threatening conditions related to the symptoms and provides additional information to consider when choosing a protocol or triaging the caller''s concern Symptoms alpha-organized and grouped by level of urgency, addressing injuries, trauma, pain, swelling and other symptoms for: Body part problems Body system problems Chronic and infectious diseases Behavioral problems Pediatric-specific problems Maternal/obstetric specific problems or conditions Sections under every symptom or condition include: Key Questions to ask caller Other Protocols to Consider Reminder - what to note for proper documentation Assessment - Yes or No questions to determine the urgency of symptoms or conditions Actions - clear direction following Yes or No answers to questions Immediate actions - proven protocols that refer caller to emergency, physician, or at-home care instructions Home Care Instructions - comprehensive actions to take before emergency care, before appointment, or at-home care Emergency Instructions - in-the-moment first aid Report the Following Problems - what caller should tell their personal or ER physician Seek Emergency Care Immediately - if certain symptoms occur Reminder to determine if caller agrees with the advice provided and if not, reevaluate Must-have resource for medical offices, clinics, schools, community referrals, emergency departments, urgent care centers, home health agencies and managed healthcare providers About the Author Julie Briggs, RN, BSN, MHA, has an extensive background in Emergency Nursing, Management, Telephone Triage, Emergency Preparedness, Utilization Review and Quality Management. She is currently providing consulting and training services. She has been employed by Providence Health and Services in Portland, Oregon for the past 15 years in the capacity of Medical Management RN Care Coordinator and as the Manager of the Emergency Department at Providence St. Vincent Medical Center. Additionally, she served in the role of Director for multiple units including the Emergency Department, Critical Care, Cardiac Cath Lab, Ambulatory Care, and Radiology for 13 years at Good Samaritan Medical Center in Puyallup, Washington. She has authored numerous books in Telephone Triage, Emergency Nursing Triage, and Homemaker/Home Health Aide Training.
AWHONN's Perinatal Nursing by
Leave the self-doubt behind -- get fully grounded in effective perinatal care, with Perinatal Nursing, 5th Edition, an official publication of the Association of Women''s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN). This freshly updated, comprehensive resource offers expert guidelines and best practices for the full range of patient care issues, from cultural practices and pregnancy complications to newborn assessments and nutrition. Stay current with this must-have, evidence-based support for both perinatal and labor and delivery nursing. Strengthen and upgrade your perinatal nursing strengths and expertise: NEW and expanded content on pregnancy complications - Bleeding in pregnancy, preterm labor and birth, diabetes, cardiac disease, pulmonary complications, multiple gestation, obesity and more NEW content on newborn nutrition - The infant feeding decision, breastfeeding benefits, nutritional components, and preterm milk and lactation NEW and updated content on patient safety and maternal morbidity and mortality in the United States - Instructions on how to make maternity units safer based on the most current evidence, and through application of various care bundles Evidence-based information on clinical conditions - Includes chapter on obesity that covers risks to the mother and fetus, care from preconception to postpartum, and bariatric surgery Text boxes emphasize crucial care standards and guidelines Practical guidance and current best practices for areas including: Perinatal patient safety and quality care Integrating patient cultural beliefs and practices into perinatal care Physiologic changes of pregnancy Antenatal care Hypertensive disorders of pregnancy Pregnancy complications Multiple gestation Maternal-fetal transport Labor and birth Fetal assessment Managing pain during labor Postpartum care Newborn care - Adaptation to extrauterine life, physical assessment and nutrition Common neonatal complications All chapters written by expert nurse clinicians and researchers to support positive perinatal outcomes Nursing staffing standards are included as they apply to each patient population Ideal for those seeking certification in obstetrics nursing (RNC-OB) and maternal newborn nursing (RN-MNN, RNC-LRN) Perfect on-the-job resource and review text for all perinatal nurses, maternal units, and students Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource® eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity, as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editors Kathleen Rice Simpson, PhD, RNC, FAAN is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist and Editor-in-Chief MCN, The American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing in Saint Louis, Missouri. Patricia A. Creehan, MSN, RNC is Manager of Clinical Operations, Labor and Delivery at Advocate Christ Medical Center in Oak Lawn, Illinois. Nancy O''Brien-Abel, MSN, RNC is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist at Perinatal Consulting, LLC and Affiliate Instructor at the School of Nursing, University of Washington in Seattle, Washington. Cheryl K. Roth, PhD, WHNP-BC, RNC-OB, RNFA is a Nurse Practitioner, Labor and Delivery at HonorHealth Scottsdale Shea/Osborn Medical Centers in Scottsdale, Arizona. Annie J. Rohan, PhD, RN, NNP-BC, CPNP-PC,FAANP is Director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program and Director of Pediatric Research at the School of Nursing, Office of Nursing Research and Innovation at Stony Brook University (SUNY at Stony Brook) in Stony Brook, New York.
Interdisciplinary Nutritional Management and Care for Older Adults by
This open access book aims to primarily support nurses as leaders and champions of multimodal, Interdisciplinary nutrition care for older adults. A structured approach to fundamentals of nutrition care across Interdisciplinary settings is combined with additional short chapters about special topics in geriatric nutrition. The book is designed to provide highly accessible information on evidence-based management and care for older adults, with a focus on practical guidance and advice across acute, rehabilitation, and primary and secondary malnutrition prevention settings.The cost of malnutrition in England alone has been estimated to be £19.6 billion per year, or more than 15% of the total public expenditure on health and social care. ^65 years. The importance and benefit of specialised nutrition care, delivered by experts in field, is well established for those with complex nutrition care needs. However, despite the substantial adverse impact of malnutrition on patient and healthcare outcomes, specialised management of this condition is often under-resourced, overlooked and under-prioritised by both older adults and their treating teams. As an alternative, timely, efficient, and effective supportive nutrition care opportunities may be appropriately implemented by nurses and non-specialist Interdisciplinary healthcare team members, working together with nutrition specialists and the older adults they care for. Practical, low-risk opportunities should be considered across nutrition screening, assessment, intervention, and monitoring domains for many patients with, or at risk of malnutrition. Whilst a variety of team members may contribute to supportive nutrition care, the nursing profession provide a clear focal point. Nurses across diverse settings provide the backbone for Interdisciplinary teamwork and essential patient care. The nursing profession should consequently be considered best placed to administer Interdisciplinary, multimodal nutrition care, wherever specialist nutrition care referrals are unlikely to add value or are simply not available. As such, the book is a valuable resource for all healthcare providers dedicated to working with older patients to improve nutrition care.
Cardiac Electrophysiology: A Visual Guide for Nurses, Techs, and Fellows, Second Edition by
The Essential Visual Guide to Basic Cardiac Electrophysiology Cardiac Electrophysiology: A Visual Guide for Nurses, Techs, and Fellows, Second Edition fulfills the need of allied health personnel and new fellows for a practical, hands-on pictorial guide that clearly illustrates the essential concepts of clinical cardiac electrophysiology. More than 85 high-quality tracings, diagrams, fluoroscopic images, and electroanatomic maps, accompanied by detailed discussions of each image, offer a fundamental understanding of cardiac electrophysiology equipment, principles, and procedures: • Catheter placement, hardware connections, and intracardiac signals • Normal electrogram sequences associated with sinus rhythm • Methodologies used to uncover the mechanisms of common clinical tachycardias Authored by a team of experts, Cardiac Electrophysiology: A Visual Guide for Nurses, Techs, and Fellows, Second Edition is an invaluable resource for a complex technology, providing superb guidance in acclimating new trainees and personnel to the EP laboratory and empowering them with the knowledge and skills needed to practice clinical electrophysiology.
Self-Care for New and Student Nurses by
Awarded second place in the 2021 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Professional Development! Self-care. Well-being. Resilience. Happiness. Self-compassion. These are among today's self-help buzzwords. There are countless books, articles, and podcasts on these topics, and many of them are essential resources for anyone seeking solid footing in the world today. Self-care remains an imperative for nurses and other healthcare professionals as burnout, high attrition rates, emotional fatigue, and moral distress loom large over us, especially in the age of COVID-19. The people who so compassionately care for others are in dire need of care themselves. Self-care practices are important because we need you. We need all the gifts that you bring to the nursing profession. Your future patients need you. Your future colleagues need you. We need you to become the best nurse you can possibly be so that you can support other young nurses as they, too, enter this profession. Nursing will afford you daily interactions that will change the lives of your patients, strengthen the resolve of your colleagues, and ripple beyond your immediate circle to surprising places. The gifts that you bring are beyond measure. Imagine for a moment a patient who is a young mother. Perhaps she is facing her health challenges while trying to be strong for her children and partner. The kindness, wisdom, and support that you bring to your interactions with her will have a downstream impact on her children and family. Even her children's children. Think about yourself or your nursing school peers who, when asked why they wanted to become a nurse, tell a story about growing up and seeing a nurse who cared for them or a loved one during a health crisis. So many nurses are nurses because they experienced the compassion of someone like you when they were in need. These nurses' compassion may have started you on your own journey to nursing, even though they may never know the impact they had on you. That is one of the superpowers of nursing: the impact you have on others. You will matter in ways big and small, in ways that the universe may never even be able to reveal to you. But here is the hard, honest truth: while you have chosen one of the most noble professions, you have also chosen one of the most difficult. In your career, you will face challenges big and small, whether it is a problematic coworker, the death of a favorite patient, or a global pandemic. You will have bad days or weeks when you ask yourself why you didn't choose a less demanding path in life. You will experience exhaustion, frustration, and grief. You will balance not only your nursing responsibilities, but also your commitments to your family and community. But as you question your life choices and wonder how you can take one more step forward, that voice inside you will whisper, "You are a nurse." Our goal in writing this book is that you never have to betray that voice. No matter what comes your way, you will have the strength, skills, and resilience to keep moving forward. But let us be clear: we do not want you to move forward at the expense of yourself or your well-being. We want you to move forward with wisdom and clarity of purpose by using every resource you can muster. We hope that what is contained in this book will become a valuable resource throughout the early years of your career, and even beyond. We welcome you on this journey, and we hope you welcome the opportunity to explore the concept of self-care, what it means, what works best for you, and how it can help you flourish in good times and help you grow in difficult ones. We are especially grateful, and humbled, that we can do it with you.
The Care Process : Assessment, Planning, Implementation and Evaluation in Healthcare by
An accessible introductory textbook that covers the four stages of the care process. The Care Process is an accessible textbook for nursing, health and social care students that covers the fundamental principles and practice of the care process. Using clear explanations, scenarios, activities, and an overarching case study that runs through every chapter, the book will help you to understand the four stages of the care process – Assessment, Planning, Implementation, and Review and Evaluation. You will learn: How communication underpins all stages of the care process and how to develop your own communication skills. How to use decision-making models and tools in the care process. How, why and when to use different tools and approaches in assessing service users'needs. How to apply the principles of care planning to your practice. How to ensure that the care you provide is person-centred and holistic. How to evaluate care interventions and how review and evaluation can assure the quality of care. An Appendix provides a detailed mapping of the new NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses against each chapter. This concise and practical book will help you to understand the care process and to incorporate the skills and techniques you have learnt into your own care practice.
Medicine Women: The Story of the First Native American Nursing School by
Winner of the 2019 Southwest Book Award from the Border Regional Library Association Winner of the 2020 New Mexico-Arizona Book Award for History-Arizona After the Indian wars, many Americans still believed that the only good Indian was a dead Indian. But at Ganado Mission in the Navajo country of northern Arizona, a group of missionaries and doctors--who cared less about saving souls and more about saving lives--chose a different way and persuaded the local parents and medicine men to allow them to educate their daughters as nurses. The young women struggled to step into the world of modern medicine, but they knew they might become nurses who could build a bridge between the old ways and the new. In this detailed history, Jim Kristofic traces the story of Ganado Mission on the Navajo Indian Reservation. Kristofic's personal connection with the community creates a nuanced historical understanding that blends engaging narrative with careful scholarship to share the stories of the people and their commitment to this place.
The Moulster and Griffiths Nursing Model: A Framework for Practice by
The Moulster and Griffiths nursing model is the first developed specifically for learning disability nurses. This book describes the model and offers a solid framework to assess, plan, reflect on and evaluate person-centred care. With approximately 1.5 million people in Britain living with a learning disability and a proven correlation between the use of models of care and the achievements of outcomes for those supported, this book is the perfect tool for learning disability nurses. It ensures that there is a shared vision for learning disability nursing practice, and helps nurses address a wide variety of heath care needs. By providing an in-depth description of the model, the book provides a dedicated structure for learning disability nursing, and remains unique in its transferability to different clinical settings.
Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Easy! by
Stressed about the ins and outs of pathophysiology? Gain confidence, with the newly updated Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Easy! ®, 6th Edition . Offering helpful learning aids that boost your understanding and retention, this colorfully illustrated, enjoyable text offers all the vitals: cell development, the infection process, cancer warning signs, abnormal cell growth, and more. Packed with easy-to-remember definitions and plentiful illustrations, this supportive guide is the ideal study partner and on-the-job reference for new nurses, students, and all healthcare practitioners. Be expertly guided into a solid foundation in pathophysiology, with: NEW and updated content in a quick-read, bulleted format End-of-book learning support that includes a "Practice Makes Perfect" practice test Dozens of colorful diagrams and illustrations that outline core terms and concepts, with easy-to-retain definitions for: Pathophysiology basics - cellular structure; how cells reproduce, age, and die; adaptive cell changes; the concept of homeostasis and how it affects the body; the causes of disease; and the disease development process Infection, cancer, and genetics - the body's defense mechanisms against infection, types of infective microorganisms and how they invade the body, common infectious disease pathophysiology, classifications of cancer, warning signs of cancer, the cancer metastasis process, the role of genes and chromosomes, how cells divide, and genetic abnormalities Cancer as it affects individual body systems - cardiovascular, respiratory, neurologic, gastrointestinal, endocrine, renal system, hematologic, immune, integumentary, sensory, and reproductive system Special chapter features include: Just the facts - a quick summary of content at the start of each chapter "Nurse Joy and Jake" - expert insights that explain key concepts, provide important care reminders, and offer reassurance Now I get it! - illustrations and flowcharts that explain difficult concepts Battling illness - the latest treatments for diseases and disorders The genetic link - connections between genetics and many common disorders Memory joggers - memory tricks and other aids that help you understand and remember difficult concepts That's a wrap ! - a quick review of chapter content Quick quiz - multiple-choice questions after each chapter that help you retain knowledge About the Clinical Editors Cherie R. Rebar, PhD, MBA, RN, COI, is Vice President for Communication and Marketing at Connect: RN2ED in Beavercreek, Ohio and Professor of Nursing at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio. Nicole Heimgartner, DNP, RN, COI, is Vice President for Business and Finance at Connect: RN2ED in Beavercreek, Ohio, and is Adjunct Faculty at Mercy College School of Nursing in Toledo, Ohio. Carolyn Gersch, PhD, RN, CNE, is Vice President for Operations and Procedures at Connect: RN2ED, in Beavercreek, Ohio, and Director of Nursing Education at Ohio Institute of Allied Health in Dayton, Ohio.
Nursing Documentation Made Incredibly Easy! by
Packed with colorful images and clear-as-day guidance, this friendly reference guides you through meeting documentation requirements, working with electronic medical records systems, complying with legal requirements, following care planning guidelines, and more. Whether you are a nursing student or a new or experienced nurse, this on-the-spot study and clinical guide is your ticket to ensuring your charting is timely, accurate, and watertight. Let the experts walk you through up-to-date best practices for nursing documentation, with: NEW and updated , fully illustrated content in quick-read, bulleted format NEW discussion of the necessary documentation process outside of charting--informed consent, advanced directives, medication reconciliation Easy-to-retain guidance on using the electronic medical records / electronic health records (EMR/EHR) documentation systems, and required charting and documentation practices Easy-to-read, easy-to-remember content that provides helpful charting examples demonstrating what to document in different patient situations, while addressing the different styles of charting Outlines the Do's and Don'ts of charting - a common sense approach that addresses a wide range of topics, including: Documentation and the nursing process--assessment, nursing diagnosis, planning care/outcomes, implementation, evaluation Documenting the patient's health history and physical examination The Joint Commission standards for assessment Patient rights and safety Care plan guidelines Enhancing documentation Avoiding legal problems Documenting procedures Documentation practices in a variety of settings--acute care, home healthcare, and long-term care Documenting special situations--release of patient information after death, nonreleasable information, searching for contraband, documenting inappropriate behavior Special features include: Just the facts - a quick summary of each chapter's content Advice from the experts - seasoned input on vital charting skills, such as interviewing the patient, writing outcome standards, creating top-notch care plans "Nurse Joy" and "Jake" - expert insights on the nursing process and problem-solving That's a wrap! - a review of the topics covered in that chapter About the Clinical Editor Kate Stout, RN, MSN, is a Post Anesthesia Care Staff Nurse at Dosher Memorial Hospital in Southport, North Carolina.
The Influence of Psychological Trauma in Nursing by
As nurses know firsthand, the impact of psychological trauma is not limited to those who experience it. Others--including nurses and caregivers--are indirectly affected. In healthcare, patients' psychological trauma may manifest in odd, uncomfortable, or confusing behaviors. Nurses and healthcare workers must recognize that patients may be feeling unsafe or struggling with low self-esteem, anxiety, grief, loneliness, or depression born from trauma. As nurses listen to, empathize with, and sometimes grieve with the people they care for, they need to comprehend the "why" behind these feelings and actions. The Influence of Psychological Trauma in Nursing helps nurses gain awareness and knowledge about trauma and recovery so they can heal and bring holistic healing to others. Authors Karen J. Foli and John R. Thompson provide a primer on psychological trauma, helping readers identify and understand the common forms of trauma in society. Filled with examples, tools, assessments, and learning objectives, this book helps nurses move forward as trauma-informed caregivers.
RNotes®: Nurse's Clinical Pocket Guide by
A Davis's Notes title! Your one-stop source for class, clinical, and practice! Access the clinically oriented content you need to deliver safe and effective health care in hospital and home settings for all of your patients. Its handy pocket size and waterproof pages are great for students and educators on the go, while NCLEX tips, highlighted throughout, make it perfect for those preparing for the licensure exam. See what students and practitioners are saying online about the previous edition... Five Stars. "Perfect and fits right in your scrubs pockets! Recommend for any nursing student or RN in the field."--Rachel Seaver Essential for first year nursing. "This flipbook is perfect for first year nurses because it presents valuable information in an easy to flip, erasable pad. The book has everything from lab values, CPR techniques, assessment data, insulin regimens, tables of meds that counteract each other, and I/O figures for measurement."--B. Emory Great reference without lugging heavy books around. "Worth every penny."--Brittany Bleu Has all the essential things you need for clinical... "All the info that you've learned but may not remember on the spot, has helped me immensely in clinical."--Kathryn Mathews
Core Curriculum for Ambulatory Care Nursing by
The potential impact of this Core Curriculum for Ambulatory Care Nursing (4th edition) is timely and far reaching. It serves as a foundation for ambulatory care practice, a current state overview, a resource for training and continuing education, a guide for nurse leaders, and a catalyst for future innovation and research. This edition of the Core Curriculum has been organized and expanded to address the educational needs of nurses either new to the specialty or those experienced, as well as to provide a review for those who seek specialty certification as an ambulatory care nurse. This Core Curriculum will influence and inspire your professional practice. If you are a current or future ambulatory care nurse, an ambulatory care nurse leader or emerging leader, or a nursing school faculty member looking to understand and navigate ambulatory care nursing, keep this Core Curriculum within your reach.