Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
If you want to browse the collection, these are some call numbers where you can find books about Culinary Arts.
This is a list of suggested terms to use in a search for Culinary Arts resources in the Library Catalog:
The following title is available in print on the 3rd floor in the Periodicals Room:
The following titles are available on the main (2nd) floor in the Audio/Visual Room:
These books are in the circulating collection. You may check them out for five weeks at a time. When you click on the book, it will take you to the catalog, where you can check whether the book is currently available, or when it is due back, as well as where it is located.
Ice Carving Made Easy
by
"With this new edition of Ice Carving Made Easy, Second Edition, Joe Amendola shares with all present and future ice carvers the resurgence of this historic art form. This book will guide and inspire thousands of chefs and artists to enjoy the artistic fulfillment, professionalism, and camaraderie of the exciting art of ice carving." --Larry Malchick, President, National Ice Carving Association "The information on the history, tools and accessories, different methods, types of ice blocks, and the safety and precautionary measures in ice carving will be of tremendous help to many young enthusiasts in their goal to become professional ice sculptors." --Hiroshi Noguchi, C.E.C., A.A.C., Executive Chef, Stouffer Orlando Resort Here is the first new American ice carving manual to be released in ten years! Written by a culinary master, Joe Amendola, it addresses current developments in the field of ice carving. It emphasizes American and European subjects and designs in an attempt to offset the exclusivity of oriental designs in available Japanese books. The organization of Ice Carving Made Easy, Second Edition allows for carvers of every proficiency to use the book with success--each stage of creating a carving is discussed, from manufacturing of ice to the final presentation. Such introductory topics as the handling of ice, hand and power tools, and templates are described in as much detail and given as much attention as the more complex sections about carving faces, fusing, and developing multiple block sculptures. Each of the 34 ice sculptures that Amendola presents is supported by step-by-step instructions that allow the novice and expert alike to create show-pieces that will add a special touch to banquets, buffets, and special events.
Ice Sculpting the Modern Way
by
If you long to create the stunning ice sculptures that are the focus of attention on cruise ships, special events and other displays and want to learn the very latest in modern techniques, this is the book for you. This is the newest book published on ice sculpting in the last decade, Ice Sculpting the Modern Way is the definitive reference and training manual on the market today. Brimming with carefully orchestrated step-by-step photographs that take the reader through each sequential step in producing highly innovative, but practical, ice sculptures, the book is a must for the modern ice sculptor. Whether you are a novice or an accomplished artist, this book features the most current techniques in the industry including power tools and ice fusion for a unique presentation. The authors discuss the art of sculpting in an insightful and instructive manner with exercises for the you to improve your technique. A comprehensive glossary of terms helps the reader learn the jargon of the field. Written by a team of leading culinary educators and ice sculpting professionals, this is "must-have" for serious students, ice artisans, professional chefs and culinary educators interested in the sub-zero art.
Nutrition for Foodservice and Culinary Professionals
by
Combine the insights of an experienced dietitian and a renowned chef in this practical guide to nutrition and food In the newly revised 10th Edition of Nutrition for Foodservice and Culinary Professionals, registered nutritionist Karen E. Drummond and executive chef Lisa M. Brefere deliver an insightful guide to incorporating healthy, balanced dietary techniques into everyday practice. From national nutrition guidelines to food preparation and labeling standards, the authors cover every relevant aspect of planning, preparing, and serving healthy meals. They include updated 2020-2025 Dietary Guidelines for Americans from the USDA, the latest nutrition research, culinary trends, ingredients, and planning menus to meet the diverse nutritional needs of today's customers. This book also includes: A thorough introduction to the fundamentals of nutrition and foods, including why nutrition is important, what constitutes a healthy diet, and discussions of calories and nutrients A comprehensive exploration of balanced cooking and menus, including how to build flavor, balanced baking, modifying recipes, and gluten-free baking Practical discussions of applied nutrition, including how to handle customers' special nutrition requests, weight management, and nutrition for people of all ages Several appendices including serving sizes for MyPlate food groups and dietary reference intakes An enhanced e-book with links to technique videos, interactive games, quizzes, and glossary entries Perfect for students completing a culinary arts or foodservice management curriculum, Nutrition for Foodservice and Culinary Professionals, Tenth Edition is also an indispensable resource for chefs, cooks, and anyone else who professionally prepares food.
The Book of Yields
by
The Book of Yields: Accuracy in Food Costing and Purchasing now in its eighth edition is a chef's best resource for planning and preparing food more quickly and accurately. It is the foodservice manager's most powerful tool for controlling costs. This new edition combines yield information with information on wholesale food prices, worksheets for costing ingredients, and worksheets for planning food purchases. It is constructed with a durable comb binding that allows it to lay flat while readers work in the kitchen. This hands-on reference provides a substantial collection of accurate food measurements for more than 1,400 raw food ingredients. Measurements are given in weight-to-volume equivalents, trim yields, and cooking yields. Completely up to date with helpful information relating to new food trends, The Book of Yields, Eighth Edition will be the best the tool in your kitchen.
ServSafe Coursebook
by
"A message from The National Restaurant Association. Congratulations! By opening this book, you are joining millions of foodservice professionals and students in taking the first step in a commitment to food safety. ServSafe training helps you understand all the food safety risks faced by an operation. In the foodservice industry, once you're aware of these risks, you can find ways to reduce them, keeping the operation, staff, and customers safe. Created by foodservice industry leaders. The ServSafe program was created by leaders in the foodservice industry. The topics you will learn in this book were determined by those who deal with the same food safety issues restaurant professionals face every day. From the basics of handwashing to more complex topics such as foodborne pathogens, your industry peers have provided you with the building blocks to keep food safe throughout your operation."
Servsafe Study Guide 2024-2025: Servsafe Manager Book. for Food Managers and Food Handlers. All in One ServSafe Exam Prep 2024 with 420 Practice Test Questions and Exam Review Test Prep Material
by
"Servsafe [sic] manager book. For food managers and food handlers. All in one ServSafe exam prep 2024 with 400 practice test questions and exam review test prep material"
Culinary Fundamentals
by
For Introductory Cooking, Cooking Skills or Food Prep courses in Culinary Arts, Food and Nutrition and Hospitality Management departments. A comprehensive, technique-based cooking principles text which uses benchmark recipes to form the building blocks necessary for a career in the culinary arts.
On Food and Cooking
by
An award-winning kitchen classic for over 35 years, and hailed by Time magazine as "a minor masterpiece" when it first appeared in 1984, On Food and Cooking is the bible which food lovers and professional chefs worldwide turn to for an understanding of where our foods come from, what exactly they're made of, and how cooking transforms them into something new and delicious. For its twentieth anniversary, Harold McGee prepared a new, fully revised and updated edition of On Food and Cooking. He has rewritten the text almost completely, expanded it by two-thirds, and commissioned more than 100 new illustrations. As compulsively readable and engaging as ever, the new On Food and Cooking provides countless eye-opening insights into food, its preparation, and its enjoyment. On Food and Cooking pioneered the translation of technical food science into cook-friendly kitchen science and helped birth the inventive culinary movement known as "molecular gastronomy." Though other books have been written about kitchen science, On Food and Cooking remains unmatched in the accuracy, clarity, and thoroughness of its explanations, and the intriguing way in which it blends science with the historical evolution of foods and cooking techniques. Among the major themes addressed throughout the new edition are: · Traditional and modern methods of food production and their influences on food quality · The great diversity of methods by which people in different places and times have prepared the same ingredients · Tips for selecting the best ingredients and preparing them successfully · The particular substances that give foods their flavors, and that give us pleasure · Our evolving knowledge of the health benefits and risks of foods On Food and Cooking is an invaluable and monumental compendium of basic information about ingredients, cooking methods, and the pleasures of eating. It will delight and fascinate anyone who has ever cooked, savored, or wondered about food.
Escoffier
by
The culinary bible that first codified French cuisine--now in an updated English translation with Forewords from Chefs Heston Blumenthal and Tim Ryan When Georges Auguste Escoffier published the first edition of Le Guide Culinaire in 1903, it instantly became the must-have resource for understanding and preparing French cuisine. More than a century later, it remains the classic reference for professional chefs. This book is the only completely authentic, unabridged English translation of Escoffier's classic work. Translated from the 1921 Fourth Edition, this revision includes all-new Forewords by Heston Blumenthal, chef-owner of the Michelin three-star-rated Fat Duck restaurant, and Chef Tim Ryan, President of The Culinary Institute of America, along with Escoffier's original Forewords, a memoir of the great chef by his grandson Pierre, and more than 5,000 narrative recipes for all the staples of French cuisine. Includes more than 5,000 recipes in narrative form for everything from sauces, soups, garnishes, and hors d?oeuvres to fish, meats, poultry, and desserts Ideal for professional chefs, culinary students, serious home cooks, food history buffs, and unrepentant foodies The only unabridged English translation of Escoffier's original text, in a sleek, modern design For anyone who is serious about French food, modern cooking, or culinary history, Escoffier's Complete Guide to the Art of Modern Cookery is the ultimate guide and cookbook.
The Elements of Baking
by
WINNER OF THE GUILD OF FOOD WRITERS AWARD 2025 - SPECIALIST COOKERY BOOK AWARD SHORTLISTED FOR THE FORTNUM & MASON FOOD AND DRINK AWARDS 2025 - COOKERY BOOK OF THE YEAR NOMINATED FOR THE 2025 JAMES BEARD FOUNDATION BOOK AWARD - BAKING AND DESSERTS 'As soon as I read The Elements of Baking, I knew it would have a permanent spot on my kitchen bookshelf.' Dorie Greenspan, New York Times bestselling author of Baking with Dorie Armed with a PhD in Inorganic Chemistry, Katarina Cermelj lays out the science behind baking and the ingredients that make it work, so you can easily adapt your baking to your diet and lifestyle, and still make sure it tastes spectacular. With an abundance of mouth-watering recipes together with quantitative modification rules that you can use to convert any recipe into whatever version you fancy, The Elements of Baking will transform the way you think about ingredients. It will be a constant companion in the kitchen and the book you refer to every time you want to bake.
The Advanced Art of Baking and Pastry
by
The main goal of Advanced Baking and Pastry is to present the right balance of topics and depth of coverage, encompassing items produced in the bakeshop, including breads, Viennoiserie, creams, pies, tarts, cakes, and decorative work in a professional manner that is easily approachable for the advanced baking and pastry student and professional. This is accomplished by providing theoretical information along with tested recipes and detailed step-by-step procedures. This approach to learning builds the student's confidence and skills, as well as an increased understanding of the material. In addition, a supplemental recipe database will provide students with a foundation of recipes and techniques that they can then apply throughout their career. Professionals will also benefit from the wide variety of recipes and the techniques presented.
Baking Fundamentals
by
For courses in Introduction to Baking, Basic Baking and Pastry Skills and Professional Baking. Drawing on the authors' expertise, The Principles of Baking: Baking Fundamentals explores the basics of baking and pastry using real-life examples, learning activities, and four founding principles. Ideal for beginning students, it focuses on the basic principles behind formulas-ratios, sequence, time and temperature-and how these factors impact all quality-baked products. Divided into units, it begins with a historical sketch of the industry, offers a separate chapter on formula yields and baking math, and ends with interesting interviews and industry profiles. Rich with photographs and illustrations, it provides numerous hands-on exercises and shows how mastering a few basic concepts can yield thousands of signature recipes. Pearson Education is proud to bring world-renowned Dorling Kindersley (DK) products to your classroom. Instantly recognized by their fascinating, full-color photographs and illustrations on every page, DK titles will add meaning to expository text and make learning accessible and, fun.Other DK hallmarks include cross-section views, 3D models, and text to visual call-outs to help readers comprehend and enjoy the wealth of information each book provides. With Pearson, you can see DK in a whole new way For a complete listing of titles, please visit: http: //us.dk.com/pearso
Cake Decorating for Beginners
by
Decorate dazzling cakes with this step-by-step guide for beginners! Decorating cakes at home is easy and fun, thanks to Rose Atwater's clear and detailed cake decorating guide. Rose started her "accidental cake business" in late 2009 with more than 20 practice cakes she made for her brother's wedding. By the following year, her prototypes had caught the attention of friends and family and turned into a steady stream of orders. Since then, she has turned her talents into a thriving business, decorating more than 1,500 cakes for her blog, Rose Bakes. Now, with Cake Decorating for Beginners, she turns her years of knowledge and experience into a comprehensive cake cookbook for any aspiring cake decorator! Get the ultimate cake decorating book for beginners: Getting started -- Begin with basic recipes for baking the cakes you'll decorate and get an overview of the decorating tools and ingredients you'll need. Essential techniques -- Learn how to decorate with frosting, piping, fondant, and chocolate so you can create cakes for any occasion, from baby showers to birthdays. Instructional cakes -- Find 10 complete cake tutorials to help you put your new skills into practice, like a Shades of Blue Hexagon Cake, a Sweet Flowers Wedding Cake, and a Bright & Happy Sprinkles Cake. This cake decorating book for beginners contains everything you need to create your own gorgeous, photo-worthy confections!
Professional Baking
by
A comprehensive and reliable approach to the foundations of baking, ideal for students and early-career professionals In the newly revised Eighth Edition to Professional Baking, best-selling author, Wayne Gisslen, delivers a comprehensive and accessible introduction to baking practices, including the selection of ingredients and proper mixing and baking techniques. The book discusses makeup and assembly, as well as skilled and imaginative decoration and presentation, in a straightforward and learner-friendly style. Each recipe and formula still includes US and metric measurements. The metric measurements have been updated and revised based on the baker's percentages of each ingredient; the strong technique instruction of the formulas and recipes remain unchanged from previous editions. The clear narrative is accompanied by links to technique videos, glossaries and audio pronunciations, math tutorials, and quizzes to assist the student and professional baker in the development of both foundational and more advanced skills. THE NEW EDITION INCLUDES: Updates to the art program, including new photos, tables, and illustrations throughout the book Revised and updated formulas and recipes, including new material on emulsions, revisions to the text explaining mixing techniques, no-knead breads, and double hydration New material and recipes on the construction of entremets and revised material on the Joconde Method and dough lamination This latest edition of Professional Baking is an indispensable resource for both students of baking and professional chefs seeking a sound theoretical and practical foundation in baking practices.
The Cake Bible, 35th Anniversary Edition
by
The legendary IACP Culinary Classic The Cake Bible--found in the kitchen of every serious baker and beloved for decades--with classic recipes thoroughly updated and including about 30% new recipes and methods and the latest ingredient and equipment information The original Cake Bible is a guiding light in the world's baking literature, with Rose Levy Beranbaum's deep knowledge and respect for craft to be found on every page. It's for home and professional bakers who want to make glorious, technically perfect cakes and understand why the ingredients in cakes work the way they do. The book was hugely influential from the moment it first came out in 1988, selling hundreds of thousands of copies and going through sixty printings. It introduced the reverse creaming method, incorporating flour and butter first instead of butter and sugar. This makes mixing faster and easier, helps cakes rise more evenly, and results in a finer and more tender cake texture. And it's among the first United States cookbooks to offer measurements in weights, highlighting the superiority of the metric system, which has become the gold standard in baking books. But a lot has changed in thirty-five years--and The Cake Bible has changed with it! This striking new edition--with new photographs in an expanded section--contains recipes for classic and innovative cakes and complementary adornments of all types, instructions for making stunning decorations, and flavor variations for every craving and occasion, with foundational recipes like All-Occasion Downy Yellow Butter Cake and Angel Food Cake and showstoppers like the Strawberry Maria, which brings together Génoise au Chocolat, Grand Marnier-flavored syrup, and Strawberry Cloud Cream. Rose also provides instructions for baking for special occasions, such as weddings, with recipes to serve 150 people as well as formulas to scale the recipes for any number of desired servings. For thirty-five years, Rose has been tweaking and reworking her methods based on reader feedback and constant conversations with other bakers and food and equipment professionals. Rose's fans, professional and amateur alike, will love this perfect distillation of her decades of experience and the pure joy of creation.
Professional Cake Decorating
by
Cake Decorating is a required course in the Baking and Pastry curriculum offered in proprietary colleges and two-year community colleges. Baking and pastry students take this course typically in the second year of their curriculum. Gisslen's Professional Baking, 3e serves the needs of the fundamental baking course. However, in Baking and Pastry programs, students are more focused on decorating and design. This underscores the need for a book with complete and detailed instructions on decorating methods and techniques.
100 Buttercream Flowers
by
Learn to pipe 100 different buttercream flowers to showcase on your cakes with this complete visual reference to piping flowers - each flower is demonstrated on a cupcake, with five full scale projects to show you how to combine your flowers into a masterpiece cake. Described by Chef Duff Goldman of Ace of Cakes as "hugely aspirational yet completely approachable," the authors demonstrate how to build up each flower using simple piping techniques that even the novice cake decorator will be able to achieve! All the basics are covered to get you started - how to make stable buttercream icing, advice on coloring and flavor as well as essentials such as how to fill a piping bag and the basic techniques you need. Valerie & Christina then demonstrate in step-by-step photographic detail how to create each flower and how to use your new found skills to create stunning cake designs. The flowers are presented through the color spectrum so when you look through the book you'll see the lovely rainbow effect. Written by the world's leading lights in buttercream art with an international following and over 60,000 Facebook fans!
The Professional Pastry Chef
by
Professional chefs are instructed on basic baking and pastry skills during two courses in culinary school, and many culinary schools now offer baking and pastry degree programs. In the professional kitchen, pastry chefs are responsible for the pro-duction of all baked goods, including desserts and breads. Pastry chefs create the dessert menu, which complements the chefs' style and gives the diner a grand finale after the main meal. Also of interest is the ever-increasing popularity for breads, home-style desserts and elegant designed desserts, all of which are covered in Friberg's basic book.
Just Add Sauce
by
Boost the Flavor of Everything You Cook! Let sauce be your secret weapon in the kitchen with this unique new cookbook from America's Test Kitchen. From dolloping on vegetables to drizzling on steak, simmering up curries, and stir-frying noodles, instantly make everything you cook taste better with hundreds of flavorful, modern sauces paired with easy recipes that use them in creative, inspired ways. Just Add Sauce is structured to help you find and make exactly what you're in the mood for. Start with sauce and then plan your meal, or start with your protein and find the perfect sauce with our pairing suggestions. Sauce recipes include Foolproof Hollandaise, Lemon-Basil Salsa Verde, Vodka Cream Marinara Sauce, Onion-Balsamic Relish, Ginger-Scallion Stir-Fry Sauce, Mole Poblano, Rosemary-Red Wine Sauce, and Honey-Mustard Glaze. More than 100 recipe pairings include Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto-Rubbed Chicken Breasts with Ratatouille, Garlic-Roasted Top Sirloin with Tarragon-Sherry Gravy, and Green Bean Salad with Asiago-Bacon Caesar Dressing.
Sauces
by
The acclaimed authority on sauce making, completely updated and, for the first time, featuring invaluable step-by-step color photographs. Every good cook knows that a great sauce is one of the easiest ways to make an exemplary dish. Since its James Beard Award-winning first edition, James Peterson's Sauces has remained the go-to reference for professionals and sophisticated home cooks, with nearly 500 recipes and detailed explanations of every kind of sauce. This new edition, published nearly ten years after the previous one, tacks with today's movement toward lighter, fresher flavors and preparations and modern cooking methods, while also elucidating the classic sauces and techniques that remain a foundation of excellence in the kitchen. The updated, streamlined design also features, for the first time, full-color photos that clearly show these essential sauces at every step--bringing the author's expertise to life like never before.
The Professional Chef
by
The Professional Chef is the quintessential kitchen companion from The Culinary Institute of America, used by hundreds of America's top chefs. This updated 10th Edition presents the skills and quality standards needed to master the fundamentals of cooking. A refreshed, modern design features simplified definitions and techniques streamlined into step-by-step instructions to support aspiring chefs and culinary students of any level. Revisions in the 10th edition include using modern plant-forward ingredients, in line with the CIA and Harvard's Menus of Change initiative, highlighting that vegetables can also be the star at the center of the plate. The authors merged meat and vegetable cookery chapters, and updated some recipes to feature plant-based ingredients, all revised in the CIA's own test kitchen. Chapters are reorganized to follow the CIA Culinary Fundamentals course more closely, with new troubleshooting sections based on frequent classroom questions, to help students and chefs solve problems before they occur, with updated text and photo examples. Updates for instructors and students include: "Method at a Glance" and "Method in Details" features provide overviews and in-depth step-by-step guidance "Beyond the Basics" sections offer ideas for expanding and improving upon techniques and recipes, with "Tips of the Trade" advice from real world kitchens "Preserving the Flavor" provides finishing instructions for each recipe and suggestions for reusing recipe byproduct Techniques now include two sections of recipes: base examples, and "More to Try" variations for further exploration, plus "Quality Criteria" that describe the expected results from each technique Includes even more recipes, illustrated with over 100 new full-color photos of ingredients, techniques, and plated dishes. Over 300 photos in total With focus on the simplicity and freshness of food and perfect kitchen technique, The Professional Chef, Tenth Edition is an essential introduction for students, and reference for every professional and home cook.
Techniques of Healthy Cooking
by
Choosing a healthy eating pattern is vitally important, as diet directly influences health. From The Culinary Institute of America, Techniques of Healthy Cooking is a comprehensive kitchen reference for understanding nutrition concepts, creating healthy eating patterns, developing healthy recipes and menus, and cooking healthy recipes. From soups, salads, and appetizers to main dishes for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, there are nearly 500 recipes with more than 150 four-color photographs of ingredients, techniques, and finished dishes.
Garde Manger
by
The leading guide to the professional kitchen's cold food station, now fully revised and updated Garde Manger: The Art and Craft of the Cold Kitchen has been the market's leading textbook for culinary students and a key reference for professional chefs since its original publication in 1999. This new edition improves on the last with the most up-to-date recipes, plating techniques, and flavor profiles being used in the field today. New information on topics like artisanal cheeses, contemporary styles of pickles and vinegars, and contemporary cooking methods has been added to reflect the most current industry trends. And the fourth edition includes hundreds of all-new photographs by award-winning photographer Ben Fink, as well as approximately 450 recipes, more than 100 of which are all-new to this edition. Knowledge of garde manger is an essential part of every culinary student's training, and many of the world's most celebrated chefs started in garde manger as apprentices or cooks. The art of garde manger includes a broad base of culinary skills, from basic cold food preparations to roasting, poaching, simmering, and sautéing meats, fish, poultry, vegetables, and legumes. This comprehensive guide includes detailed information on cold sauces and soups; salads; sandwiches; cured and smoked foods; sausages; terrines, pâtes, galantines, and roulades; cheese; appetizers and hors d'oeuvre; condiments, crackers, and pickles; and buffet development and presentation.
Garde Manger
by
ACF's Cold Kitchen Fundamentals covers all aspects of the garde manger, from simple salad prep, to dressing and sauce making, to appetizers, soups and sandwiches, to charcuterie, cheese making, and ice carving. Each chapter is rich with photos, chef's tips, and recipes and each unit includes learning activities and benchmark formulas that encourage specific learning outcomes. Offering unique coverage of competition and food technology, the book helps students understand the underlying principals of the cold kitchen and develop the skills needed to produce their own signature sauces, salads, and more! Some additional features include: An ACF endorsement--makes this text unique. Chef's Tips-provide invaluable how-to information from seasoned professionals Over 600 illustrative photographs--appear throughout the book. Supportive Recipes-include those tested in the working kitchen and culinary schools.
Cost Control in Foodservice Operations
by
Cost Control in Foodservice Operations Control operating costs and move your foodservice business forward The key to a foodservice business surviving and thriving is to properly understand the relationship between revenue, expenses, and profits. Controlling operating costs--that is, controlling expenses without reducing revenue--is a key tool in creating a profitable business. Owners, managers, and staff all play an essential role in controlling operating costs, and it's critical for every member of a foodservice team to understand how to be successful. Cost Control in Foodservice Operations outlines key mechanisms and tools in a clear, accessible presentation. Emphasizing the importance of the subject before moving to specific methods for managing and reducing costs, it's an indispensable tool for anyone in the foodservice industry looking to gain a competitive edge. The book also includes: A thorough introduction to controlling food and beverage product costs Detailed coverage of effective cost management methods including creating a sales forecast, controlling labor costs, pricing menu items, and more Advice based on the authors' decades of combined experience in both foodservice business and education/research Cost Control in Foodservice Operations is ideal for students in foodservice-related courses, as well as professionals and owners looking to take their business to the next level.
The Professional Restaurant Manager
by
The Professional Restaurant Manager covers the topics all restaurant managers must know to be successful in the industry. Organized in a quick-read, four-part format, the book offers a fresh look at the restaurant business, back-of-house management, front-of-house management, and financial management. Discussion prompts are built right in so students can respond to real case studies and illustrations. Financial documents reference the newest version of the Uniform System of Accounts for Restaurants. An extensive glossary is provided and authors review important trends in sustainability, green practices and farm-to-fork movements.
Supervision in the Hospitality Industry
by
A thorough, accessible handbook for leadership in a vital industry Supervision in the Hospitality Industry: Leading Human Resources, Tenth Edition, is a comprehensive primer designed for beginning leaders, new supervisors promoted from an hourly job, and students planning for careers in the hospitality industry. Covering each essential aspect of first-line supervision, this market-leading textbook helps readers develop the practical skills and knowledge necessary for effectively supervising hospitality workers at all levels of an organization, including cooks, servers, bartenders, front desk clerks, porters, housekeepers, and janitorial staff. The text's unique approach to leading human resources -- combining fundamental leadership theory and the firsthand expertise of hospitality industry professionals -- enables readers to master concrete, results-driven leadership methods and overcome the everyday challenges faced in the real world. The Tenth edition covers: The impact of the COVID pandemic, the importance of culinary ethics, DEI considerations, organizational excellence, and much more The importance of recognizing and practicing cross-cultural diversity and interaction A balanced and informed view of management and supervision in the hospitality industry by considering the viewpoints of supervisors and all levels of associates Employee assistance programs A wealth of real-world case studies, illustrative examples, and "Industry Profiles" sections offering perspectives on leadership and supervision issues from hospitality professionals Aligned to the American Culinary Federation (ACF) accreditation requirements, Supervision in the Hospitality Industry provides resources for students in hospitality courses, and early-career leaders and managers.
ServSafe Manager Book 2024-2025
by
Test Prep Books' ServSafe Manager Book 2024-2025: 2 Practice Tests and ServSafe Study Guide for Food Handler Certification Prep [2nd Edition] Made by Test Prep Books experts for test takers trying to achieve a great score on the ServSafe Manager exam. Comprehensive Study Guide Includes: Quick Overview Find out what's inside this guide! Test-Taking Strategies Learn the best tips to help overcome your exam! Introduction Get a thorough breakdown of what the test is and what's on it! Management of Food Safety Practices Hygiene and Health Safe Receipt, Storage, Transportation, and Disposal of Food Safe Preparation and Cooking of Food Safe Service and Display of Food Cleanliness and Sanitation Facilities and Equipment 2 Practice Tests: Practice Test #1 Practice Test #2 Detailed Answer Explanations for Every Question Key Features and Benefits: Comprehensive Review: Each section of the test has a comprehensive review created by Test Prep Books that goes into detail to cover all of the content likely to appear on the test. ServSafe Manager Practice Test Questions: We want to give you the best practice you can find. That's why the Test Prep Books practice questions are as close as you can get to the actual test. Answer Explanations: Every single problem is followed by an answer explanation. We know it's frustrating to miss a question and not understand why. The answer explanations will help you learn from your mistakes. That way, you can avoid missing it again in the future. Test-Taking Strategies: A test taker has to understand the material that is being covered and be familiar with the latest test-taking strategies. These strategies are necessary to properly use the time provided. They also help test takers complete the test without making any errors. Test Prep Books has provided the top test-taking tips. Customer Service: We love taking care of our test takers. We make sure that you interact with a real human being when you email your comments or concerns. Get started on your studying journey today!
The American Culinary Federation's Guide to Culinary Certification
by
There are many opportunities to specialize in the culinary field, but having broad skills, varied experiences, and a diverse knowledge of food and drinks facilitates a career of success and achievement. American Culinary Federation Guide to Certification is the essential guide to obtaining a valuable credential awarded to cooks and chefs, as well as pastry cooks and pastry chefs, denoting a sophisticated level of industry experience and professional education rigorously evaluated by the American Culinary Federation (ACF). American Culinary Federation Guide to Certification holds essential knowledge to gaining acceptance into the only comprehensive certification program for chefs in the United States, which is registered with the U.S. Department of Labor. It's a must-have for career-minded cooks and chefs hungry for notoriety in the industry.
Essentials of Food Safety and Sanitation
by
If you deal with food in any capacity, whether in a deli, hotel, day care center, healthcare facility, catering, food service operation or restaurant, it's your responsibility to make sure the food is safe to eat. Protect yourself and others by knowing the code, The Food Code. Essentials of Food Safety and Sanitation, Fourth Edition is compliant with the 2003 Supplement to the 2001 FDA Food Code and is designed to serve as a workplace reference guide to safe food handling procedures. Fully colorized, this edition features stories, and examples, expanded appendices, index and chapter references including related websites. Questions at the end of each chapter can help students prepare for exams and tests in the classroom. Use this book to prepare for any one of the national certification exams or as a teaching tool for training everyone on the basics of food safety. information on these important topics: *Management of food safety and sanitation *Hazards to food safety *Factors affecting foodborne illness *Food flow *Seven steps of HACCP *Choosing tools and equipment *Cleaning and sanitizing *Accident prevention and crisis management *Training and education for line employees and management *Food safety regulations Remember, there's never been a case of foodborne illness that could not have been prevented
Catering: A Guide to Managing a Successful Business Operation
by
From launching the business, establishing pricing, setting up a kitchen, staffing, and marketing to planning events, organizing service, preparing food, managing the dining room and beverages, and developing menus, Catering: A Guide to Managing a Successful Business Operation, Second Edition, provides detailed guidance on every aspect of the catering business. This Second Edition is thoroughly revised and updated to include information on catering for dietary restrictions and food allergies, contemporary techniques such as sous-vide technology, and plating and presentation. Included is a new chapter of practical mainstream and on-trend recipes and sample menus for a variety of catered events from brunches to black-tie affairs
Culinary Math
by
Written by two former instructors at The Culinary Institute of America, the revised and updated Culinary Math, 4th Edition is an indispensable math resource for foodservice professionals everywhere. Covering topics such as calculating yield percent, determining portion costs, changing recipe yields, and converting between metric and U.S. measures, it offers a review of math basics, easy-to-follow lessons, detailed examples, and newly revised practice problems in every chapter. Used by culinary professionals and students around the country, this book presents proven step-by-step methods for understanding foodservice math and using it appropriately in the kitchen. It is filled with examples and sample problems that connect math skills to real-world situations. This edition of Culinary Math also includes more practice problems in each chapter to help readers develop and practice their problem-solving skills.
The Spice and Herb Bible
by
The new edition of the IACP-award-winning book on spice. Cooks everywhere use spices and herbs to enhance food flavors and to create new taste combinations and sensations. From bay leaves to lemongrass to vanilla beans, a well-stocked kitchen must have a wide selection of herbs and spices. This expanded and completely revised new edition is the culmination of Ian Hemphill's lifelong experience in the spice industry. It is a fascinating and authoritative guide. Hemphill describes a wide range of global herbs and spices used in modern kitchens either alone or in wonderful blends. He completely demystifies the art of combining herbs and spices and home cooks can meet and enjoy a world of flavors previously found only at internationally inspired restaurants. He provides the "inside story" based on his extensive experience in this ancient and stimulating industry. The third edition features 6 new spice entries (for a total of 97), 102 new recipes, 33 new curry spice blends and 17 new spice blends. There is also a new and fascinating section, "Travels in the Spice Trade," that includes his personal anecdotes and travel stories. The interior pages have been completely redesigned and reorganized with full color throughout. All the entries are listed alphabetically with a detailed color photo of every herb and spice. There are also comprehensive and handy storage suggestions with details for every herb and spice. A full-circle culinary experience in the world of herbs and spices, this new edition is still the definitive reference in its field.
Breakfasts and Brunches
by
Breakfasts and Brunches is full of scrumptious recipes sure to please your entire family. Step-by-step instructions and helpful preparation tips from the classrooms of the CIA, along with over 100 full-colour photographs, make Breakfasts and Brunches a wonderful addition to your cookbook library. Brunches also includes a variety of recipes that can be prepared in advance so they're readily available to ensure that you and your family have a nutritious start.
Exploring Wine: the Culinary Institute of America's complete guide to wines of the world
by
Written by the experts who train today's leading chefs and sommeliers, this invaluable guide thoroughly demystifies wine, from the basics of wine production to the nuances of wine lists, wine marketing, and wine service. Revised to reflect the many recent changes in the worldwide wine industry, the Second Edition of this critically acclaimed guide features an expanded American wines section, coverage of the latest developments in Italian wine and the new face of German and South American wine trades, and more.
Gordon Ramsay's Uncharted: a culinary adventure with 60 recipes from around the globe
by
In the National Geographic television series Uncharted, celebrity chef Gordon Ramsay travels to fascinating locations around the world in search of culinary inspiration and epic adventures. This beautifully illustrated collection highlights 60 mouthwatering recipes from his travels and explores the cultures and foodways of destinations from Peru to Louisiana. From the heights of the Peruvian Andes to the banks of the Mekong River Delta in Laos, celebrity chef Gordon Ramsay has traveled far and wide to find culinary inspiration in some of the world's most remote locations. In this travelogue-meets-cookbook, Ramsay reveals the rich food traditions and cultures he's found in 25 remarkable destinations from his explorations on the National Geographic Channel's Gordon Ramsay- Uncharted. Within these stunning pages, you'll find insights into some of the world's richest cultures, behind-the-scenes stories from filming, tips from top chefs around the world, and must-try adventures in places near and far. Best of all, you'll be served 60 authentic recipes for adventurous home cooks to try at home, including- Steamed Pudding from New Zealand's Maori Spicy Grilled Lobster with Coconut and Breadfruit from Hawaii's Hana Coast Smoked Cod Chowder Chowder from Norway's Viking Country Spice-Rubbed Steaks with Pele Pele Sauce from South Africa Pandi Curry from India's spice hub Braised Pork and Mole-Stuffed Chiles Rellenos from Oaxaca, Mexico New Orleans-Style Barbecue Shrimp from Louisiana Black Risotto from Istria, Croatia And more! Both exotic and inspiring, this cookbook is perfect for travel inspiration, cultural insight, and an extra-special kitchen repertoire!
Molecular Gastronomy at Home: taking culinary physics out of the lab and into your kitchen
by
Molecular Gastronomy, Microgastronomy, Bistronomy, Avant Garde Cuisine, Multi-Sensory Dining all mean the same thing -- using food science to bring flavor, texture, taste and aromas to recipes in new ways. This book teaches the experienced home cook how to practice dozens of the most common methods used in molecular gastronomy. Clear and easy-to-follow step-by-step photographs demonstrate each technique so cooks can practice the unique skills and presentation concepts. Techniques that require special equipment are shown with their closest domestic equivalents. In addition to a brief history of molecular gastronomy, how it works, ingredients used and important safety rules, the book includes techniques and recipes as follow: Sous-Vide -- "Under vacuum" cooking, e.g., Confit salmon with pomme puree and squid ink Transglutaminase -- "meat glue" e.g., Salmon and lemon sole terrine Dehydration -- e.g., Beet powder and black olive "soil" Centrifugal Cooking -- e.g., Clarified watermelon cocktail Evaporation -- How to make mouth-watering syrups and beverages without artificial flavorings Rapid Infusion -- How to infuse flavors into liquids, e.g., Celery ice cream Adding Smoke -- e.g., Smoked chocolate mousse Spherification -- e.g., Sweet chili bubbles with roast duck Carbonation -- How to intensify the flavors and aromas of foods Foams and Airs -- e.g., Shellfish bisque with a lemongrass foam Hydrocolloids (gels, gums) -- Cured salmon with cucumber jelly Liquid Nitrogen -- For super-smooth sweet and savory ice creams Food Pairing -- An essential skill in molecular gastronomy Avant-Garde Presentation -- Inspiration and tips Multi-sensory Taste Perception - The five senses in molecular gastronomy. Molecular Gastronomy at Home shows how with clear technical guidance, delicious and easy-to-follow recipes plus a generous dose of patience, home cooks can take culinary physics out of the lab and into their home kitchen.
Nutrition for Foodservice and Culinary Professionals
by
Catering Solutions: for the culinary student, foodservice operator, and caterer
by
Geared to the introductory Culinary student, but very useful to food service operators and professional caterers alike, this book uses a clear, concise approach to connect the basics of culinary catering. It guides readers step-by-step through the entire rigorous process of catering a gourmet event—from food safety, cooking, and beverage selection all the way to background music and napkin folding.
The Kitchen As Laboratory: reflections on the science of food and cooking
by
Eating is a multisensory experience, yet chefs and scientists have only recently begun to deconstruct food's components, setting the stage for science-based cooking. In this global collaboration of essays, chefs and scientists advance culinary knowledge by testing hypotheses rooted in the physical and chemical properties of food. Using traditional and cutting-edge tools, ingredients, and techniques, these pioneers create, and sometimes revamp, dishes that respond to specific desires and serve up an original encounter with gastronomic practice. From the seemingly mundane to the food fantastic--from grilled cheese sandwiches, pizzas, and soft-boiled eggs to Turkish ice cream, sugar glasses, and jellified beads--the essays in The Kitchen as Laboratory cover a range of creations and their history and culture. They consider the significance of an eater's background and dining atmosphere and the importance of a chef's methods, as well as the strategies used to create a great diversity of foods and dishes. This collection will delight experts and amateurs alike, especially as restaurants rely more on science-based cooking and recreational cooks increasingly explore the physics and chemistry behind their art. Contributors end each essay with their personal thoughts on food, cooking, and science, offering rare insight into a professional's passion for playing with food.
Edible Structures: the basic science of what we eat
by
Nature converts molecules into edible structures, most of which are then transformed into products in factories and kitchens. Tasty food structures enter our mouths and different sensations invade our bodies. By the time these structures reach our cells, they have been broken back down into molecules that serve as fuel and raw materials for our bodies. Drawing from the physical and engineering sciences, food technology, nutrition, and gastronomy, Edible Structures: The Basic Science of What We Eat examines the importance of food structures--the supramolecular assemblies and matrices that are created by nature and when we cook--rather than the basic chemical compounds that are the more traditional focus of study. The central objectives of this book are to address the pressing food trends of this century, including: Growing evidence that flavorful food structures are important for the delivery of the nutritious and healthful food molecules from which they are made A need to understand and control how food structures are created and presented as products that respond to nutritional requirements Opportunities to design certain foods to better suit the needs of modern lifestyles The empowerment of consumers and the appearance of the axis that connects the food we eat with our brain, digestive system, and the cells in our body The separation between a knowledgeable gourmet "elite" and the rest of the population who simply want to eat quick meals as cheaply as possible Entertaining and informative, Edible Structures: The Basic Science of What We Eat uses scientific yet understandable terms throughout to facilitate the communication between experts and the educated public, especially those who are curious, love to cook and innovate in the kitchen and/or want to enjoy good food. The language and concepts presented in this book give the reader some access to specialized texts and scientific journals, and above all, to the best and most current information available on the Internet and other media.
Umami: unlocking the secrets of the fifth taste
by
In the West, we have identified only four basic tastes--sour, sweet, salty, and bitter--that, through skillful combination and technique, create delicious foods. Yet in many parts of East Asia over the past century, an additional flavor has entered the culinary lexicon: umami, a fifth taste impression that is savory, complex, and wholly distinct. Combining culinary history with recent research into the chemistry, preparation, nutrition, and culture of food, Mouritsen and Styrbæk encapsulate what we know to date about the concept of umami, from ancient times to today. Umami can be found in soup stocks, meat dishes, air-dried ham, shellfish, aged cheeses, mushrooms, and ripe tomatoes, and it can enhance other taste substances to produce a transformative gustatory experience. Researchers have also discovered which substances in foodstuffs bring out umami, a breakthrough that allows any casual cook to prepare delicious and more nutritious meals with less fat, salt, and sugar. The implications of harnessing umami are both sensuous and social, enabling us to become more intimate with the subtleties of human taste while making better food choices for ourselves and our families. This volume, the product of an ongoing collaboration between a chef and a scientist, won the Danish national Mad+Medier-Prisen (Food and Media Award) in the category of academic food communication.
Call Me Chef, Dammit! A veteran's journey from the rural South to the White House
by
What does it take to go from growing up in a Mississippi housing project to becoming a master sergeant and a celebrity chef serving in the White House under four United States presidents Call Me Chef, Dammit! is the inspiring story of Andre Rush, who became an overnight sensation in 2018, after a photograph of his now-famous twenty-four-inch biceps went viral. However, his journey to that moment could never be captured in a fleeting moment. From his childhood working on a farm, to his developing into a gifted athlete and artist to his joining the Army, Rush has dedicated his life to serving others. During his twenty-four-year military career, his reputation as an award-winning cook eventually led him to the Pentagon. His presence in the building when the plane struck on 9/11/2001 led to his suffering from PTSD, and he has become an outspoken advocate for the military and especially for wounded warriors. Every step of the way, Chef Rush has overcome tremendous obstacles, including battling stereotypes and racism. And in this memoir, he shares not only his wounds and what he experienced along the road to recovery but also the optimism, hope, and hard-earned wisdom that have encouraged countless others.
Knife Skills: how to carve, chop, slice, fillet
by
The lightning pace of professional chefs' knife skills can be both intriguing and intimidating to home chefs. With, DK's Knife Skills, cooks can learn to chop, slice, dice, carve, and fillet with the best. Written by three Michelin-starred chefs — Marcus Wareing, Shaun Hill, and Charlie Trotter — and food writer and cooking instructor Lyn Hall from the renowned La Petite Cuisine School of Cooking — aspiring cooks will learn to cut every relevant type of material — from vegetables and herbs, to fish, meat, breads, and fruits. Including step-by-step color photographs that help a wide variety of cutting techniques easy to understand and simple to master, this practical guide — enables enthusiasts to learn lifelong skills at their own pace.
Science and Cooking: physics meets food, from homemade to haute cuisine
by
Based on the popular Harvard University and edX course, Science and Cooking explores the scientific basis of why recipes work. The spectacular culinary creations of modern cuisine are the stuff of countless articles and social media feeds. But to a scientist they are also perfect pedagogical explorations into the basic scientific principles of cooking. In Science and Cooking, Harvard professors Michael Brenner, Pia Sörensen, and David Weitz bring the classroom to your kitchen to teach the physics and chemistry underlying every recipe. Why do we knead bread? What determines the temperature at which we cook a steak, or the amount of time our chocolate chip cookies spend in the oven? Science and Cooking answers these questions and more through hands-on experiments and recipes from renowned chefs such as Christina Tosi, Joanne Chang, and Wylie Dufresne, all beautifully illustrated in full color. With engaging introductions from revolutionary chefs and collaborators Ferran Adrià and José Andrés, Science and Cooking will change the way you approach both subjects--in your kitchen and beyond.
The Wok: recipes and techniques
by
From J. Kenji López-Alt, the author of the best-selling cookbook The Food Lab: the definitive guide to the science and technique of cooking in a wok. J. Kenji López-Alt's debut cookbook, The Food Lab, revolutionized home cooking, selling more than half a million copies with its science-based approach to everyday foods. And for fast, fresh cooking for his family, there's one pan López-Alt reaches for more than any other: the wok. Whether stir-frying, deep frying, steaming, simmering, or braising, the wok is the most versatile pan in the kitchen. Once you master the basics--the mechanics of a stir-fry, and how to get smoky wok hei at home--you're ready to cook home-style and restaurant-style dishes from across Asia and the United States, including Kung Pao Chicken, Pad Thai, and San Francisco-Style Garlic Noodles. López-Alt also breaks down the science behind beloved Beef Chow Fun, fried rice, dumplings, tempura vegetables or seafood, and dashi-simmered dishes. Featuring more than 200 recipes--including simple no-cook sides--explanations of knife skills and how to stock a pantry, and more than 1,000 color photographs, The Wok provides endless ideas for brightening up dinner.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance: