Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Admission Assessment Exam Review
by
The library has HESI exam books on reserve on all four campuses of Northeast State. HESI Books have a checkout period of 14 days
HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination
by
The library has a copy on reserve at the Blountville campus.
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination
by
This book is on Reserve at the Basler Library and at KCHE.
Introductory Maternity and Pediatric Nursing
by
Provides an overview of Maternity and Pediatric Nursing along with test prep questions for the NCLEX-RN
Physical Examination and Health Assessment
by
HESI Prep
NCLEX-RN Prep
HESI A2 Test Prep
NCLEX-RN Test Prep
Medical Nursing
by
This Medical Nursing book covers many acute and chronic diseases that affect adult health. The first part of the book begins with a section on "medical nursing practice" where students can learn about the scope of medical nursing. The second part of the book deals with "homeostasis," which consists of basic information that allows students to understand the disorders associated with body systems. The next eleven parts of the book deal with the diseases of each body system such as hematological diseases, cardiovascular diseases, respiratory diseases, endocrine diseases, gastrointestinal diseases, urinary diseases, neurological diseases, oncological diseases, musculoskeletal diseases, immunological diseases, and skin diseases. Each part begins with the assessment chapter and then continues with some important diseases related to the system that that are important to health care professionals as they become more prevalent and important worldwide. Chapters dealing with the assessment of a body system include a brief overview of anatomy and physiology (with emphasis on information that promotes understanding of signs and symptoms), health history, and the impact of disease on functional health patterns (Gordon model). However, the methods of physical examination to evaluate diseases of the appropriate systems and the expected findings are also covered. The chapter also covers common diagnostic tests, expected findings, and related nursing tasks. The chapters on disease begin with a brief introduction that includes disease definition, pathophysiology, and epidemiology. The chapter then continues with clinical manifestations, diagnostic studies, and care management. If patient education is an important aspect for the disease, the chapter also includes patient education. In addition, the book contains two other parts: Integrative Therapies and Medical Nursing Specialties. It is now common knowledge that integrative therapies are offered in health care facilities alongside conventional medicine, and there is a great demand for them. Especially in Asian societies where these methods are widely used, nurses should have a solid knowledge base on the subject. In the part about the specialties of medical nursing, the sub-specialties of medical nursing are discussed. The fact that our faculty, which was founded in 1961 and is one of the most prestigious nursing schools in Turkey and has educated numerous nurses at both the bachelor's and master's and doctoral levels, is introducing an English-language nursing program in 2020 motivated us to write this book. When we were looking for books to use as textbooks for our program, we found that although there were many books on medical-surgical nursing on the market, they were mostly intended for graduate students and the amount of knowledge was challenging for undergraduate students. We wanted to create a more compact and student-friendly book (a shorter book with basic information). Thank you to the support of many faculty members working in nursing schools in many regions of Turkey, we were able to realize this vision. We thank each and every one of them. Although the goal of this book is to create course material for students in our own program, we think that students around the world will benefit from this book.
Fundamentals of Nursing
by
This text covers the basic principles and practices of nursing. It explores various topics such as patient care, nursing theories, communication, pharmacology, and ethical and legal issues in nursing. The book is written to provide students with a solid foundation in the fundamentals of nursing, and to help them develop the knowledge and skills necessary for a successful nursing career. With its emphasis on evidence-based practice and patient-centered care, this book is an essential resource for nursing students and professionals alike.
The Many Roles of the Registered Nurse
by
Nurses are the largest population of healthcare providers practicing in both urban and remote areas across the globe. Currently, the nursing profession is in the midst of a significant shortage as aging baby boomers retire and a nursing faculty shortage forces many colleges and universities to turn away qualified applicants. As healthcare needs of the population become more complex and technologies advance, our world needs nurses now more than at any other time in history. This book provides the reader with a wide overview of the many vast roles within the nursing profession, showing that the responsibilities are complex, challenging and rewarding. It will allow the reader to understand the current job market for nurses and perhaps even persuade some to choose this rewarding profession.
