Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
Access articles from peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific journals from the American Psychological Association (APA), the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), the Canadian Psychological Association, and others. Includes all journal articles, book reviews, and letters to the editor from each journal.
Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology - abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection. Topics include: the study and development of the mind, emotions, academic skills disorder, cluster suicides, community health, young adults, and more.
Check out our Psychology Journals, available online!
These books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
Applied Social Psychology: Understanding and Addressing Social and Practical Problems by
This student-friendly introduction to the field focuses on understanding social and practical problems and developing intervention strategies to address them. Offering a balance of theory, research, and application, the updated Third Edition includes the latest research, as well as new, detailed examples of qualitative research throughout. The book begins with separate chapters that define the field, examine social psychological theory, review research methods, and consider the design and evaluation of interventions. Subsequent content chapters focus on the application of social psychological theory and knowledge to such areas as counseling, sports, media, health, education, organizations, criminal justice, community, environment, and diversity.
Psychology of Women: A Handbook of Issues and Theories, 3rd Edition by
Updated with findings from the latest research, this contributed work on the psychology of women covers global initiatives, theories, and practical applications in various settings. It also addresses best practices of feminist methodologies and teaching psychology of women courses. * Presents the latest empirical research findings, global initiatives, and theories on women's psychology * Dispels myths about women's career development, mental illness, women leaders, and women's achievements * Challenges traditional views of women's mental health and physical health by presenting objective data in these areas * Offers recommendations for feminist therapy and physical health issues
Leadership Psychology: How the Best Leaders Inspire Their People by
A better understanding of the psychological relationships at play within current working environments will enable leaders to achieve greater success for themselves and their organizations. Leadership Psychology outlines how inspirational leaders across a range of award-winning companies of all sizes understand their employees' psychological needs and use that knowledge to affect behaviour and enhance performance. The book showcases examples of leadership best practice in businesses featured in The Sunday Times 100 Best Companies to Work for Survey. Exclusive information gained through interviews with the most highly regarded leaders of a special selection of these winning companies is analyzed and critically evaluated, using the underpinning principles of occupational psychology to reveal modern trends in working practice. Leadership Psychology also includes unique information based on the author's discussions with military professionals at Sandhurst, sharing one-of-a-kind insights about what makes a strong leader under pressure. With updated looks at the unwritten 'psychological contract,' between employers and employees and a new analysis of Herzberg's motivational hygiene theory, Leadership Psychology is an original and timely addition to studies of leadership in the context of motivational factors. This book provides up-to-the-minute practical guidance, based upon a rigorous psychological foundation, to executives holding operational or strategic leadership positions in businesses of all shapes and sizes.
Cognitive Psychology by
Cognitive processes enable us to experience the world around us: to recognise a friendly face in a crowd, to communicate our passions, to recall memories from the past. When these processes stop working, it can turn friends into strangers, render speech impossible, and make history a confusionof truth and lies. Cognitive Psychology, Second Edition unravels these complex ideas, introducing the concepts behind them and looking at how techniques, such as neuroimaging, can provide answers to questions that may at first seem unanswerable.The chapters - covering a broad range of topics, including attention, perception, and neuropsychiatry - are written to inspire students, and come complete with helpful resources, including in-chapter summaries to consolidate learning, 'Activity' boxes to help students engage in the content, and'Research study' boxes to encourage an awareness of scientific method.With chapters written by experts in their fields and edited by professors with a wealth of experience in teaching and learning, Cognitive Psychology, Second Edition is the ideal course companion for all psychology students.The Online Resource Centre to accompany Cognitive Psychology, Second Edition includes:For lecturers:DT Figures from the book available to download.DT A text bank of multiple choice questions.DT Chapters from the Methods Companion to the first edition.For students:DT Software simulations.
The Integration of Psychology and Christianity: A Domain-Based Approach by
Over the course of recent decades, scholars and practitioners have been working to integrate contemporary psychology-related fields and Christianity. This project continues to move forward, evidenced in associations, publications, degree programs, and conferences around the world. While much progress has been made, there are still foundational issues to be worked out and aspects of integration the community is just now venturing into. In this expert overview, psychologists William L. Hathaway and Mark A. Yarhouse take stock of the integration project to date, provide an introduction for those who wish to come on board, highlight work yet to be done, and offer a framework to strategically organize next steps. The authors' attention encompasses five domains: worldview integration theoretical integration applied integration role integration personal integration Their comprehensive approach yields insights relevant for non-clinical areas of psychological science as well as for counseling, social work, and other related mental health fields. Done properly, integration enriches our understanding of both Christianity and psychology. Through biblical and theological grounding and numerous examples, Hathaway and Yarhouse demonstrate how synthesis can continue to serve the field and make a difference in caring for individual lives. Christian Association for Psychological Studies (CAPS) Books explore how Christianity relates to mental health and behavioral sciences including psychology, counseling, social work, and marriage and family therapy in order to equip Christian clinicians to support the well-being of their clients.
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology by
"Provides a survey of topics covering the entire spectrum of psychology, including notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information"--
Applied Psychology: Thinking Critically : A Conversation with Stephen Kosslyn by
This book is based on an in-depth conversation with Stephen Kosslyn, psychologist and Founder, President and Chief Academic Officer of Foundry College. This conversation explores Kosslyn's extensive analysis of research results on the differences between the functions of the top parts and the bottom parts of the brain and what the implications of those results are for everyday life which led to a new theory of personality to better understand the way we think and behave, the so-called "Theory of Cognitive Modes". In addition the discussion covers how pedagogical principles were applied in the real world of learning and teaching by establishing Minerva Schools at KGI.This carefully-edited book includes a detailed introduction, questions for discussion at the end of each chapter and connections with other books in the Ideas Roadshow Conversations series.
California School of Professional Psychology Handbook of Juvenile Forensic Psychology by
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
