Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
Users can access a comprehensive scope of content covering over 50 nursing specialties as well as allied health subjects including speech and language pathology, nutrition, physical therapy and much more. Access materials on topics such as biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and more. Additionally, access health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, over 130 evidence-based care sheets, almost 170 quick lessons on disease overviews, 170 continuing education modules, and 360 research instrument records.
Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. Search articles for information on topics such as: treatment techniques, experimental research, women in sports, physical therapy, fitness, unique applications for specific sports, and more.
Contains up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Health and Wellness is a comprehensive consumer health database offering access to authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Features include topic portals with curated content on diseases and conditions; drugs; diagnostics and tests; and therapies, treatments, and surgeries; as well as a broad collection of premier full-text reference works, including Gale exclusives such as The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, and The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets.
Check out our Anatomy and Physiology Journals, available online!
These books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
Anatomy of the Organs by
No anatomical reference is as inexpensive and as loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated structures of the human organs, clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification. There are over 10 million QuickStudy anatomy guides in print, all with Illustrations by award-winning and best-selling medical illustrator Vincent Perez, whose life mission is cataloging the beauty and detail of our complicated body systems for the medical professional, the formative student and the inquisitive layperson. 6-page laminated guide includes illustrated and labeled: Organs - Full Torso Anterior Respiratory & Urinary Male & Female Urogenital Systems Respiratory Tracts Right Kidney Left Adrenal Gland Anterior Digestive Hepatic Portal Veins Stomach Small Intestine (Schematic), Large Intestine Anterior Circulatory System Thoracic, Neck & Head Veins/Arteries Anterior Heart & Vessels Posterior Heart Anterior Thoracic Nerves Phrenic & Vagus Nerves Spinal Nerves, Spinal Chord Lymphatic System Deep Abdominal & Inguinal Nodes Dorsal Spleen Stomach & Pancreas Large Intestine Lymphatics Arm Axilla & Thorax Lymphatics Heart & Lungs Suggested uses: Students - handy reference that is compact and easily reviewed on a daily basis Administrative - use for billing and coding Doctors - use guide to educate patients or for reference with staff
Imaging Anatomy of the Human Brain: A Comprehensive Atlas Including Adjacent Structures by
" A] very fine and detailed anatomic atlas... Dr. Borden et al. present an excellent atlas done basically by neuroradiologists' but with a very rich content, which is highly instructive also for neurologists and neurosurgeons, given the major importance of neuroradiological imaging in both practices." --Guilherme Carvalhal Ribas, MD, University of S√ o Paulo Medical School, Neurosurgery " A]n outstanding anatomic reference textbook... do yourself a favor and either purchase this book for your own library or select it for your department' s library. For proof of its value, examine it at the next ASNR or RSNA. You will be convinced. The bulk of the information in the book will never be out of date." --American Journal of Neuroradiology "I was very happy to be able to review this wonderful resource, which is packed with information and illustrations... The illustrations in this atlas are remarkable...I believe this text would be a valuable reference for any neurodiagnostic laboratory as neurodiagnostic techs move into more collaborative roles as part of the patient care team. I would highly recommend it." --Kathy Johnson, R. EEG/EP T., RPSGT, FASET, The Neurodiagnostic Journal "This atlas provides high quality images of the brain and adjacent structures in MR, CT, and neonatal ultrasound. The images are clearly labeled with a thorough index to allow for cross referencing between modalities... the inclusion of higher-end imaging such as fMRI, diffusion tensor imaging (DTI), and CT perfusion makes for a complete neuroanatomy atlas that will be useful for a long time... Weighted Numerical Score: 99 - 5 Stars " -- Joel M Fritz, MD, Baystate Medical Center, Doody's Reviews "This volume presents a detailed and beautifully illustrated tour of neuroanatomy, employing' standard and advanced modalities' Ample use of color illustrates fiber tracts and differentiates different nuclei and other structures. The sections are amply labeled and easy to follow, allowing the reader to become familiar with cognate areas on images of multiple techniques." -- Carl E. Stafstrom, Division of Pediatric Neurology, Johns Hopkins Hospital, Journal of Pediatric Epilepsy An Atlas for the 21st Century The most precise, cutting-edge images of normal cerebral anatomy available today are the centerpiece of this spectacular atlas for clinicians, trainees, and students in the neurologically-based medical and non-medical specialties. Truly an "atlas for the 21st century," this comprehensive visual reference presents a detailed overview of cerebral anatomy acquired through the use of multiple imaging modalities including advanced techniques that allow visualization of structures not possible with conventional MRI or CT. Beautiful color illustrations using 3-D modeling techniques based upon 3D MR volume data sets further enhances understanding of cerebral anatomy and spatial relationships. The anatomy in these color illustrations mirror the black and white anatomic MR images presented in this atlas. Written by two neuroradiologists and an anatomist who are also prominent educators, along with more than a dozen contributors, the atlas begins with a brief introduction to the development, organization, and function of the human brain. What follows is more than 1,000 meticulously presented and labelled images acquired with the full complement of standard and advanced modalities currently used to visualize the human brain and adjacent structures, including MRI, CT, diffusion tensor imaging (DTI) with tractography, functional MRI, CTA, CTV, MRA, MRV, conventional 2-D catheter angiography, 3-D rotational catheter angiography, MR spectroscopy, and ultrasound of the neonatal brain. The vast array of data that these modes of imaging provide o
Anatomy and Physiology Made Incredibly Visual! by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Anatomy & Physiology Made Incredibly Visual is an innovative new reference that brings clinical subjects to life using a vivid, graphic presentation. Like the Incredibly Easy series, the Incredibly Visual series takes difficult clinical topics and presents them in a clear, concise, easy-to-understand manner. The highly visual nature of this book makes anatomy and physiology fundamentals accessible to the reader in a unique and interesting way that enables quick review and comprehension as well as practical application. For each body system, the book logically first presents anatomic fundamentals necessary to understand the complex physiology of the body. Then physiologic processes are presented more visually than ever before. This new approach to clinical content maximizes the power of visual thinking by getting readers as close to the clinical content as they can get without actually being in the room with a patient. Complex ideas are broken down into their component parts, with each component made unmistakably simple in appealingly colorful and graphic ways. Readers will read less, understand more, and see things more clearly than ever before. A companion website is available with fully-searchable text.
Adventures in Human Being: A Grand Tour From the Cranium to the Calcaneum by
"Adventures in Human Being, with its deft mix of the clinical and the lyrical, is a triumph of the eloquent brain and the compassionate heart." --Wall Street Journal We assume we know our bodies intimately, but for many of us they remain uncharted territory, an enigma of bone and muscle, neurons and synapses. How many of us understand the way seizures affect the brain, how the heart is connected to well-being, or the why the foot holds the key to our humanity? In Adventures in Human Being, award-winning author Gavin Francis leads readers on a journey into the human body, offering a guide to its inner workings and a celebration of its marvels. Drawing on his experiences as a surgeon, ER specialist, and family physician, Francis blends stories from the clinic with episodes from medical history, philosophy, and literature to describe the body in sickness and in health, in living and in dying. At its heart, Adventures in Human Being is a meditation on what it means to be human. Poetic, eloquent, and profoundly perceptive, this book will transform the way you view your body.
Human Anatomy and Physiology: Based on Schaum's Outline of Theory and Problems of Human Anatomy and Physiology by
Schaum's Easy Outline series consists of concise, easy-to-use versions of the biggest and best-selling classics in the Schaum's Outlines series. Every book is a pared-down, simplified and tightly-focussed version a Schaum's Outline, extracting the absolute essense of the subject, presenting it in concise and readily understandable form, and emphasizing clarity and brevity. Graphic elements like sidebars, reader-alert icons and boxed highlights will feature selected points from the text, highlighting keys to learning and giving students quick pointers to the essentials.
Our Intelligent Bodies by
Human intelligence isn't just located in the brain. Our bodies are marvelously sophisticated and complex, with a variety of autonomic systems that help maintain our health without us ever having to think about them. But how exactly do all these physiological structures actually work? In Our Intelligent Bodies, physiology professor Gary F. Merrill takes you on a guided tour through the human body. You'll learn how our eyes are designed to detect unimaginably small bursts of light and how our ears contain bundles of tiny hairs, each one attuned to different sound frequencies. You'll also discover how our hearts are smart enough to compensate for skipped beats and irregular rhythms and how our pulmonary system adjusts for low oxygen levels. You'll even find out why the gut is sometimes called the 'second brain,' its reflexes controlled by millions of neurons. Written in a fun, easy-to-comprehend style and filled with illuminating analogies, Our Intelligent Bodies also brings readers up to date on cutting-edge research into the wonders of human physiology. It will give you a new appreciation for the smart decisions our bodies are making when our brains aren't paying attention.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
