Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowUse this database to find articles on many science subjects such as: astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, environment, food & nutrition, genetics, health & medicine, mathematics, microbiology, oceanography, physics, physiology, zoology, etc. Many articles are full-text. The content in this database is also part of OmniFile Full Text Mega.
This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from magazines, journals and reference materials on all aspects of the sciences. Topics include: agriculture, aerospace engineering, architecture, computer-aided design and engineering, electronics, biology and microbiology, physics, botany, psychology, zoology, technology, computing, and more.
Articles from journals and books on a variety of topics, including: physical sciences and engineering (chemistry, earth and space sciences, engineering, mathematics and computers, physics and astronomy), life sciences (agriculture, biochemistry, biology, immunology and microbiology, neuroscience), health sciences (nursing, medicine, pharmacology, dentistry, health professions, veterinary medicine), and social sciences and humanities (arts and humanities, business, economics, psychology, social sciences).
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Check out our Earth Science Journals, available online!
These books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
Earth Science: Decade by Decade by
The Earth science field began in the 20th century, but humans have been grappling with the nature of the planet on which they live since the dawn of their imagination. Although Earth science is typically seen as an ""umbrella"" term for a number of sciences, the 20th century ushered in the development of such fields as geochemistry, biogeochemistry, marine geology, and paleoceanography, forever changing and enhancing the study of Earth science. ""Earth Science: Decade by Decade"" explores this amazing and expansive field and examines the scientific and technologic advances that occurred during the 20th century. Chronicling such key events as Arthur Holmes' establishment of the geologic timescale, Alfred Wegener's theory of continental drift, the scientific discovery of plate tectonics, seismological discoveries that revealed Earth's inner structures, and geologic and paleontological discoveries that have changed how Earth scientists view the evolution of life on this planet, this essential volume monitors the progress of geoscientists as they continue to piece together Earth's vast history.
Project Earth Science: Meteorology by
Project Earth Science: Meteorology, Revised 2nd Edition, involves students in activities that focus on the origin and composition of EarthOCOs atmosphere, factors that contribute to weather, and the concept of air masses and how they interact to produce weather. With 19 hands-on, teacher-tested classroom activities, 11 background readings, and a supplemental resource guide, this new edition provides teachers and students with the necessary tools to bring the atmosphere right into the classroomOCowithout blowing the budget."
Four Revolutions in the Earth Sciences: From Heresy to Truth by
Over the course of the twentieth century, scientists came to accept four counterintuitive yet fundamental facts about the Earth: deep time, continental drift, meteorite impact, and global warming. When first suggested, each proposition violated scientific orthodoxy and was quickly denounced as scientific--and sometimes religious--heresy. Nevertheless, after decades of rejection, scientists came to accept each theory. The stories behind these four discoveries reflect more than the fascinating push and pull of scientific work. They reveal the provocative nature of science and how it raises profound and sometimes uncomfortable truths as it advances. For example, counter to common sense, the Earth and the solar system are older than all of human existence; the interactions among the moving plates and the continents they carry account for nearly all of the Earth's surface features; and nearly every important feature of our solar system results from the chance collision of objects in space. Most surprising of all, we humans have altered the climate of an entire planet and now threaten the future of civilization. This absorbing scientific history is the only book to describe the evolution of these four ideas from heresy to truth, showing how science works in practice and how it inevitably corrects the mistakes of its practitioners. Scientists can be wrong, but they do not stay wrong. In the process, astonishing ideas are born, tested, and over time take root.
Advances in Earth Science: From Earthquakes To Global Warming by
Advances in Earth Science outlines the latest developments and new research directions currently being made world-wide in the earth sciences. It contains invited and refereed articles by leading younger researchers on their cutting-edge research, but aimed at a general scientific audience.This exciting volume explains how powerful methodologies such as satellite remote sensing and supercomputing simulations are now profoundly changing research in the earth sciences; how the earth system is increasingly being viewed in a holistic way, linking the atmosphere, ocean and solid earth; and how the societal impact of the research in the earth sciences has never been more important.Published by Imperial College Press in collaboration with the Royal Society of London, the book features many articles originating from invited papers published in the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society. Eleven of the distinguished contributors hold prestigious Royal Society Research Fellowships.
The Story of the Earth in 25 Rocks: Tales of Important Geological Puzzles and the People Who Solved Them by
Every rock is a tangible trace of the earth's past. The Story of the Earth in 25 Rocks tells the fascinating stories behind the discoveries that shook the foundations of geology. In twenty-five chapters--each about a particular rock, outcrop, or geologic phenomenon--Donald R. Prothero recounts the scientific detective work that shaped our understanding of geology, from the unearthing of exemplary specimens to tectonic shifts in how we view the inner workings of our planet. Prothero follows in the footsteps of the scientists who asked--and answered--geology's biggest questions: How do we know how old the earth is? What happened to the supercontinent Pangea? How did ocean rocks end up at the top of Mount Everest? What can we learn about our planet from meteorites and moon rocks? He answers these questions through expertly chosen case studies, such as Pliny the Younger's firsthand account of the eruption of Vesuvius; the granite outcrops that led a Scottish scientist to theorize that the landscapes he witnessed were far older than Noah's Flood; the salt and gypsum deposits under the Mediterranean Sea that indicate that it was once a desert; and how trying to date the age of meteorites revealed the dangers of lead poisoning. Each of these breakthroughs filled in a piece of the greater puzzle that is the earth, with scientific discoveries dovetailing with each other to offer an increasingly coherent image of the geologic past. Summarizing a wealth of information in an entertaining, approachable style, The Story of the Earth in 25 Rocks is essential reading for the armchair geologist, the rock hound, and all who are curious about the earth beneath their feet.
The Earth As a Cradle for Life: The Origin, Evolution And Future Of The Environment by 
The Handbook of Geoscience by
Written in an engaging and highly readable style, The Handbook of Geoscience is ideal for students, administrators, legal professionals, non-scientific professionals, and general readers with little or no science background. This handbook is a user-friendly overview of our physical, biological, and ecological environment, one that offers up-to-date coverage of the major scientific fields that form the structure of geoscience. Students who are enrolled in a geoscience course or one of its many subdisciplines will find this work an invaluable resource to support and supplement classroom instruction. The emphasis is on readability, with clear, example-driven explanations refined by more than 35 years of experience of instruction and student feedback.
Making Sense of Weather and Climate: The Science Behind the Forecasts by
How do meteorologists design forecasts for the next day's, the next week's, or the next month's weather? Are some forecasts more likely to be accurate than others, and why? Making Sense of Weather and Climate takes readers through key topics in atmospheric physics and presents a cogent view of how weather relates to climate, particularly climate-change science. It is the perfect book for amateur meteorologists and weather enthusiasts, and for anyone whose livelihood depends on navigating the weather's twists and turns. Making Sense of Weather and Climate begins by explaining the essential mechanics and characteristics of this fascinating science. The noted physics author Mark Denny also defines the crucial differences between weather and climate, and then develops from this basic knowledge a sophisticated yet clear portrait of their relation. Throughout, Denny elaborates on the role of weather forecasting in guiding politics and other aspects of human civilization. He also follows forecasting's effect on the economy. Denny's exploration of the science and history of a phenomenon we have long tried to master makes this book a unique companion for anyone who wants a complete picture of the environment's individual, societal, and planetary impact.
The Weather Observer's Handbook by
The Weather Observer's Handbook provides a comprehensive, practical and independent guide to all aspects of making weather observations. Automatic weather stations today form the mainstay of both amateur and professional weather observing networks around the world and yet - prior to this book - there existed no independent guide to their selection and use. Traditional and modern weather instruments are covered, including how best to choose and to site a weather station, how to get the best out of your equipment, how to store and analyse your records and how to share your observations with other people and across the Internet. From amateur observers looking for help in choosing their first weather instruments on a tight budget to professional observers looking for a comprehensive and up-to-date guide covering World Meteorological Organization recommendations on observing methods and practices, all will welcome this handbook.
Geomorphology and Plate Tectonics by
Geomorphology is the scientific study of landforms and the processes that shape them whereas plate tectonics specifically describes the large scale motions of Earth's lithosphere. This book presents theory, methodology and applications, as well as studies of specific geographic regions. A model to evaluate the effect of groundwater fluctuations on the development of gullies and hence, on landscape evolution is analysed. The use of cosmogenic nuclides in geomorphology and earth-surface processes is also reviewed and uncertainties and limitations related to current understanding of the physical properties of cosmogenic nuclides are summarised. In addition, this book studies plate tectonics in several regions of the world, including Siberia, Western North America, North Africa, India, and Northwest Australia.
Breakthroughs in Geology: Ideas That Transformed Earth Science by
Geological research does not flow steadily onwards by means of small incremental advances but can be better understood as a series of significant discoveries or changes in interpretation that transformed the way we understand the Earth. Each of these changes or new ideas encouraged a burst of activity as researchers attempted to apply them more widely in order to test their universality, and thereby their validity as a scientific theory. Probably the best example of such a transformative idea is Plate Tectonics, which, although questioned at the time it was introduced, is now universally accepted as a general principle. A large number of the subsequent advances in geological understanding have been based upon this breakthrough. Each of the 12 chapters in this book represents a new idea or discovery, which is discussed in its historical context. In each case the salient features of these ideas are described, together with some biographical details of the individual scientists credited with them - but also mentioning others whose role in the generation of the idea is perhaps not so obvious.Of instant appeal to geologists and other earth scientists interested in how their science evolved over time by means of a number of revolutionary ideas, this book also serves as a paradigm for the history of science across many disciplines.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance: