Wayne G. Basler Library: African American History and Culture: Internet Resources

Recommended Sites & Pages

National Museum of African American History and Culture
Black in Appalachia The Black Community History Project digital archive is a public, searchable archive of digital materials related to African American history in Eastern Tennessee and Southwest Virginia. This archive is a project of Black in Appalachia and the items on this site are sourced from a mix of local institutions and community members who have generously lent digital copies of their resources for the digital archive. Black in Appalachia's mission is to highlight and preserve the history of African Americans in the development of our region and its culture. Through research, local narratives, public engagement and exhibition, this project aims to raise the visibility and contributions of the Black communities in the Mountain South.
1963: The Struggle for Civil Rights
Amistad Research Center Digital Projects
The Civil Rights Act of 1964: A Long Struggle for Freedom
The Civil Rights Digital Library
Voices from the Southern Civil Rights Movement
Wisconsin Historical Society: Freedom Summer Collection
Umbra Search: African American History
685,857 items from more than 1,000 U.S. archives, libraries, and museums.
BlackPast
10 Black Inventors Who Changed Your Life
Black History Month
Archives of African American Music and Culture
African American History from the National Archives
African American History Digital Collections from the Library of Congress
Race and Power
a quarterly updated assortment of book chapters and journal articles that explores the intertwining concepts of race and power, on a global scale, from an interdisciplinary perspective.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
LANGSTON HERITAGE GROUP COLLECTION, 1869-2022
Black History Collection in the Archives of Appalachia at ETSU
Periodical Poets
Periodical Poets is a digital humanities project containing over 500 poems printed in New York-based, nineteenth-century periodicals run by Black editors.

Associations & Organizations

Hours and Information

Hours of Operation
View the current hours at the Basler Library in Blountville or the Center for Higher Education in Kingsport.

Submit a Question

Call us: 423.354.2429

Text us: 423-933-1929

Email Us: libmail@northeaststate.libanswers.com

Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:

Northeast State Driving Directions
Driving directions to the main campus in Blountville.