Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
If you want to browse the collection, these are some call numbers where you can find books about Humanities.
This is a list of suggested terms to use in a search for Humanities resources in the Library Catalog:
The following titles are available in print on the 3rd floor in the Periodicals Room:
The following titles are available on the main (2nd) floor in the Audio/Visual Room:
These books are in the circulating collection. You may check them out for three weeks at a time. When you click on the book, it will take you to the catalog, where you can check whether the book is currently available, or when it is due back, as well as where it is located.
The Oxford History of Classical Art by
The art and architecture of Greece and Rome lie at the heart of the classical tradition of the western world. Their legacy is so familiar as to have become commonplace, yet despite appearing straightforward, the development of classical art in antiquity was complex and remarkably swift. It ranfrom near abstraction in eighth-century BC Greece, through years of observation and learning from the arts of the non-Greek world to the east and in Egypt, to the brilliance of the classical revolution of the fifth century, which revealed attitudes and styles undreamt of by other cultures. AfterAlexander the Great this became the art of an empire, readily learned by Rome and further developed according to the Romans' special character and needs, until it provided the idiom for the imaging of Christianity.Here, five leading scholars tell the story of this pageant of the arts over some 1500 years, through a rich succession of illustrations on to which the narrative is woven. They demonstrate how the arts served very different societies and patrons - tyrannies, democracies, empires; the roles andobjectives of the artists; the way in which the classical style was disseminated far beyond the borders of the Greek and Roman world; but especially the splendour and quality of the arts themselves.
Islamic Art and Culture: a visual history by
"Now more then ever, Islam and Islamic culture is a topic that is as misunderstood as it is fascinating. In this exquisite oversized volume spanning 1200 years of history, celebrated scholar Professor Nasser D. Khalili presents a benchmark visual history of the peoples, the cultures, and the artworks that have defined the Islamic world. From Spain to Indonesia, North Africa to China, more than fifty of the world's nations are of the Muslim faith. The material culture of the Muslim people is accordingly rich and varied, ranging from huge architectural projects to minutely detailed miniature paintings, exquisitely patterned silk textiles and bold calligraphy." "Histories of the art of the Islamic lands have, until now, either been very general or highly focused on particular regions or types of artifacts. The oversized format of Islamic Art and Culture provides the reader with the magnificent sweep of the arts of Islam in a unique and accessible way. Diverse developments throughout the Islamic world are compared simultaneously across time and place, and specific objects and buildings seen in the light of key events in Muslim history. From calligraphy to carpets, armor to architecture, this book voluptuously reveals the immense heritage handed down through Islamic artists over the centuries and examines their relationship to their Western peers."--BOOK JACKET.
The Birth of Classical Europe: a history from Troy to Augustine by
An innovative and intriguing look at the foundations of Western civilization from two leading historians. The influence of ancient Greece and Rome can be seen in every aspect of our lives. From calendars to democracy to the very languages we speak, Western civilization owes a debt to these classical societies. Yet the Greeks and Romans did not emerge fully formed; their culture grew from an active engagement with a deeper past, drawing on ancient myths and figures to shape vibrant civilizations. In The Birth of Classical Europe, the latest entry in the Penguin History of Europe, historians Simon Price and Peter Thonemann present a fresh perspective on classical culture in a book full of revelations about civilizations we thought we knew. In this impeccably researched and immensely readable history we see the ancient world unfold before us, with its grand cast of characters stretching from the great Greeks of myth to the world-shaping Caesars. A landmark achievement, The Birth of Classical Europe provides insight into an epoch that is both incredibly foreign and surprisingly familiar.
The Pursuit of Power: Europe 1815-1914 by
An Economist Best Book of the Year "Sweeping . . . an ambitious synthesis . . . [Evans] writes with admirable narrative power and possesses a wonderful eye for local color . . . Fascinating."--Stephen Schuker, The Wall Street Journal From the bestselling author of The Third Reich at War, a masterly account of Europe in the age of its global hegemony; the latest volume in the Penguin History of Europe series Richard J. Evans, bestselling historian of Nazi Germany, returns with a monumental new addition to the acclaimed Penguin History of Europe series, covering the period from the fall of Napoleon to the outbreak of World War I. Evans's gripping narrative ranges across a century of social and national conflicts, from the revolutions of 1830 and 1848 to the unification of both Germany and Italy, from the Russo-Turkish wars to the Balkan upheavals that brought this era of relative peace and growing prosperity to an end. Among the great themes it discusses are the decline of religious belief and the rise of secular science and medicine, the journey of art, music, and literature from Romanticism to Modernism, the replacement of old-regime punishments by the modern prison, the end of aristocratic domination and the emergence of industrial society, and the dramatic struggle of feminists for women's equality and emancipation. Uniting the era's broad-ranging transformations was the pursuit of power in all segments of life, from the banker striving for economic power to the serf seeking to escape the power of his landlord, from the engineer asserting society's power over the environment to the psychiatrist attempting to exert science's power over human nature itself. The first single-volume history of the century, this comprehensive and sweeping account gives the reader a magnificently human picture of Europe in the age when it dominated the rest of the globe.
American History 101 by
Beginning with America's struggle to rebuild after a harrowing Civil War to a burst of growth, both physical and industrial, that led to it becoming a world superpower, this visually engaging and informative book gives the reader everything one needs to know about American History from the Reconstruction to the end of the 20th Century. From 1880, AMERICAN HISTORY 101 follows the transformation of the United States from a relatively small, remote, and isolated outpost to the richest, most powerful, and most influential nation in the world. It also covers a period that produced some of the world's most unforgettable characters-and some of America's proudest (and not so proud) moments. AMERICAN HISTORY 101 is crammed with special features, including lists of who's who, biographical and little-known facts, and a host of photo's, cartoons, and vintage illustrations. As the author, Richard Rubin says about AMERICAN HISTORY 101, "What happens to you today has a great deal to do with what happened to other people a century ago; what you do tomorrow is influenced, whether you know it or not, by what other people did yesterday. In learning about our history, we invariably learn a lot about ourselves too."
Religion by
This must-have volume explores current trends in religion around the world, such as the spread of Pentecostal Christianity, a religious revival in China, growth of Buddhism in New Zealand, and U.S. efforts toward Jewish-Muslim understanding. Readers will learn about religion in relation to science, education, and politics. This book also discusses violence and religious practice, including China's oppression of Tibetan Buddhists, and religious strife in Northern Ireland. Stirring essays sources include His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama, the World Council of Churches, Christian Conference of Asia, and South Asian Councils of Churches.
The Religion of the Romans by
The gods were the true heroes of Rome. In this major newcontribution to our understanding of ancient history, JörgRüpke guides the reader through the fascinating world of Romanreligion, describing its unique characteristics and bringing itspeculiarities into stark relief. Rüpke gives a thorough and engaging account of themultiplicity of cults worshipped by peasant and aristocrat alike,the many varied rites and rituals daily observed, and thesacrifices and offerings regularly brought to these immortals bythe population of Ancient Rome and its imperial colonies. This important study provides the perfect introduction to Romanreligion for students of Ancient Rome and ClassicalCivilization.
The Story of Philosophy by
Comprehensive, highly visual and filled with insightful observations, The Story of Philosophyopens up the world of philosophical ideas in a way that is easily understood by everyone. Bryan Magee embarks on an entertaining and enlightening journey and addresses such influential questions as "What is Philosophy?", "What is Being?" and "Can the existence of God be proved?".
The Best Guide to Eastern Philosophy and Religion by
The Best Guide to Eastern Philosophy & Religionprovides a thorough discussion of the most widely practices belief systems of the East. Author Diane Morgan understands how to direct the materialistic, linear way of Western thinking toward a comprehension of the cyclical, metaphysical essence of Eastern philosophy. With an emphasis on the tenets and customs that Wester seekers find most compelling, this text is accessible to the novice yet sophisticated enough for the experienced reader. Inside, you'll find complete coverage of Hinduism, Buddhism, Confucianism, and Taoism, as well as the less-widely practiced faiths of Shintoism, Jainism, Sikhism, and Zoroastrainism. Learn the fundamentals of the tantric path to liberation and the relationship between sex and seeking. Discover the true meaning of Feng Shui, the philosophical underpinnings of Hatha Yoga and Taoist connection to the martial art of Tai chi chuan. And if you've ever wondered: whatis the sound of one hand clapping'. this book will get you started on finding that answer. The Eastern traditions, with their emphasis on harmony and oneness, have much to offer us in our hectic, demanding lives. For a comprehensive, entertaining exploration of the beliefs of Asia,The Best Guide to Eastern Philosophy & Religion is the essential manual for the seeker in all of us.
Literature by
This anthology presents a generous selection works in fiction, poetry, and drama along with minimal apparatus. The individual short stories, poems, and plays are presented without editorial interpretation or commentary but each genre section features a substantive introduction to the specific genre and a discussion of the appropriate literary elements.
These are available on the third floor in the Reference Room. They are for in-library use only, but you can make copies of pages as needed.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Among Library Journal's selections of the most important reference works of the millennium - with the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia - Mircea Eliade's Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, will include almost all of the 2750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 (1.2M words) entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition will be the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of a classic work to make it relevant to the questions and interests of readers, whether students, specialists, or laypersons. The result is an essential purchase for libraries of all kinds. Every article from the first edition was evaluated by our board of scholars. of study are given their own entries. New composite entries present overarching themes - for example, gender and religion, politics and religion - with each article within the composite covering a different religious tradition. Many of the reprinted articles from the first-edition have updated bibliographies. This is an indispensable resource for any school with a department or programme in religious studies. Additionally, articles support the curriculum and general research in history, gender studies, language and literature, music, the visual arts, history, politics, ecology, health and medicine, law, sociology and anthropology. Three Colour inserts serve as pictorial essays illuminating themes such as pilgrimage, prayer, healing, and how these concepts are displayed in various religions throughout the world. Illustrations go beyond the typical stock imagery and present images of authentic value not readily available elsewhere.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America by
A multidisciplinary examination of religion in American life Encyclopedia of Religion in America examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America. This authoritative four-volume reference work explains the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States. Edited by well-known experts in the field, the Encyclopedia covers all the significant religious denominations and movements that have originated or flourished in North America, from the beginning of European settlement to the present day. The broad multidisciplinary coverage includes the religious life of indigenous peoples, specific aspects of religious life, and the relationship of political, social, economic, and cultural spheres. Topics include: Religion as an influential force in the U.S. Methods of worship Religion and politics Homosexuality and religion African American religion Arts and architecture Church-state issues Education Environment and ecology Ethnicity Evangelicals Faiths Gay and lesbian issues Historical overviews Immigration Media (new and old) Megachurches Movements and denominations New religious movements Popular religion and culture Race and racism Religious thought Religious Right Rites Role of women Terrorism and war Encyclopedia of Religion in America is an essential resource for students and scholars researching issues in a wide variety of social science disciplines, from American history to cultural studies, political science, gender studies, psychology of religion, and more. It reflects new scholarly research and interpretation that have emerged over the last two decades, as well as significant new areas of study, such as post-9/11 America, the role of gays and lesbians in church, gender, and the role of the evangelicals in American political life.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by
Written by the most authoritative scholars from around the world, a massive treasurehouse of information on all aspects of archaeology, from prehistory to the present day. Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries explores the archaeologists, sites, debates, techniques, methods, and issues that are central to the global practice of archaeology. Three richly illustrated volumes trace the development of the field from the ancient Greeks to the present day. Through detailed tours of major excavation sites from all over the world--Chichen Itza, Machu Picchu, Ephesus, Pompeii, the tomb of Tutankhamun--as well as more obscure sites like Brzesc Kujawski in Poland, readers gain an appreciation for the inherent challenges all archeologists share in locating, recovering and making sense of evidence of past human lives. The Histories and Discoveries volumes profile significant archaeologists, such as the indefatigable Gertrude Bell, an expert on Arab affairs during World War I and Iraq's director of antiquities in the 1920s. Additional entries ranging from the Dead Sea scrolls and rock art to techniques like dating and remote sensing round out this watershed in the history of archaeology. * Includes 500+ A-Z entries on pioneers such as J. Desmond Clark, sites including Chichén Itzá in Mexico, remote sensing and other concepts and techniques, periods, regions, organizations, and museums * Contributors include some of the world's most eminent archaeologists * Includes maps depicting key points of reference like ethnic groups in the West Indies at the time of Columbus * Contains photographs of excavation sites such as an ancient burial ground in Chile, shields, petroglyphs, and other artifacts
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by
Oxford University Press presents a major new edition of the definitive philosophical reference work for readers at all levels. For ten years the original volume has served as a stimulating introduction for general readers and as an indispensable guide for students; its breadth and depth ofcoverage have ensured that it is also read with pleasure and interest by those working at a higher level in philosophy and related disciplines. A distinguished international assembly of 249 philosophers contributed almost 2,000 entries, and many of these have now been considerably revised andupdated; to these are added over 300 brand-new pieces on a fascinating range of current topics. This new edition offers enlightening and enjoyable discussions of all aspects of philosophy, and of the lives and work of the great philosophers from antiquity to the present day.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by
TheRoutledge Encyclopedia of Philosophyis the most ambitious international philosophy project in many years. Edited by Edward Craig and assisted by thirty specialist subject editors, the REP consists of ten volumes of the world's most eminent philosophers writing for the needs of students and teachers of philosophy internationally. The REP is a project on an unparalleled scale: Over 2000 entries ranging from 500 to 15,000 words in length - thematic, biographical and national 10 volumes consisting of over 5 million words of text plus considerable bibliographic material A Chief Editor and thirty specialist Subject Editors from across the world Over 1200 authors from all over the world. The importance of the REP is not to be found just in the sheer size of the project but also in its breadth of subject matter. It covers: The core of most Anglo-American philosophy - the metaphysical, epistemological and logical questions The usual menu of ethics, political philosophy and the history of philosophy The philosophy of other cultures - from Chinese, Arabic and Jewish philosophy to the philosophy of Africa and Latin America The most impressive range of authors have been gathered together on this unique project: William Alston, Roderick Chisolm, Fred Dretske, Joel Feinberg, Sandra Harding, Larry Laudan, Martha Nussbaum, Richard Popkin, Richard Rorty, Alan Ryan, Gyatri Chakravorty Spivak, Stephen Stich, Patrick Suppes and Bernard Williams, to name just a few. Also available online: www.rep.routledge.com ;lt;LI>The core of most Anglo-American philosophy - the metaphysical, epistemological and logical questions The usual menu of ethics, political philosophy and the history of philosophy The philosophy of other cultures - from Chinese, Arabic and Jewish philosophy to the philosophy of Africa and Latin America The most impressive range of authors have been gathered together on this unique project: William Alston, Roderick Chisolm, Fred Dretske, Joel Feinberg, Sandra Harding, Larry Laudan, Martha Nussbaum, Richard Popkin, Richard Rorty, Alan Ryan, Gyatri Chakravorty Spivak, Stephen Stich, Patrick Suppes and Bernard Williams, to name just a few. Also available online: www.rep.routledge.com
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance: