Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
If you want to browse the collection, these are some Call Number areas that may be of interest:
R 121--Medical Dictionaries
RA 645--Emergency Medical Services
RC 86--Medical Emergencies
RD 92--Emergency Surgery
This is a list of suggested terms to use in a search for EMT resources in the Library Catalog:
The following titles are available on the main (2nd) floor in the Audio/Visual Room:
These books are in the circulating collection. You may check them out for three weeks at a time. When you click on the book, it will take you to the catalog, where you can check whether the book is currently available, or when it is due back, as well as where it is located. And please note, this is not a *COMPLETE* list of the books the library has available. It is merely a sampling of what we have to offer. If you want to see other titles you may review the collection, research the library catalog, or consult with a Librarian.
EMT Flash Review by
Whether you're looking to recertify, begin or advance your career, or simply improve your EMT vocabulary, EMT Flash Review has all the keywords and phrases you'll need to achieve your goal. This helpful guide contains essential terms and their definitions, presented in a simple and effective flashcard-style format It's a handy and valuable tool for any current or prospective EMT. Inside, you'll find more than 600 terms that are consistent with National Registry of Emergency Medical Technician Standards and cover the following key topic areas: Airway, Respiratory and Ventilation, Cardiology and Resuscitation, Trauma, Medical/Obstetrics/Gynecology, EMS Operations Helpful charts and diagrams covering the most-referenced concepts-including the axial & appendicular skeleton, the heart, the Rule of Nines, and much more! Book jacket.
60 Second EMT by
Thoroughly updated, the new second edition incorporates the latest ACLS protocols from the AHA and is compatible with the latest DOT curriculum for EMT-Basic. New chapters have been added on the assessment of drug reactions, hazardous waste emergencies, and the AIDS patient. An invaluable tool to the certified EMS provider and a helpful classroom text for the student.
EMT by
More exciting true stories from the frontlines of medicine by two Emergency Medical Technicians and the authors of Trauma Center
EMT - Basic Certification Exams by
Customized study planners, tips on physical and mental preparation, and more.
A Thousand Naked Strangers : a paramedics' wild ride to the edge and back by
A former paramedic's visceral, poignant, and mordantly funny account of a decade spent on Atlanta's mean streets saving lives and connecting with the drama and occasional beauty that lies inside catastrophe. In the aftermath of 9/11 Kevin Hazzard felt that something was missing from his life--his days were too safe, too routine. A failed salesman turned local reporter, he wanted to test himself, see how he might respond to pressure and danger. He signed up for emergency medical training and became, at age twenty-six, a newly minted EMT running calls in the worst sections of Atlanta. His life entered a different realm--one of blood, violence, and amazing grace. Thoroughly intimidated at first and frequently terrified, he experienced on a nightly basis the adrenaline rush of walking into chaos. But in his downtime, Kevin reflected on how people's facades drop away when catastrophe strikes. As his hours on the job piled up, he realized he was beginning to see into the truth of things. There is no pretense five beats into a chest compression, or in an alley next to a crack den, or on a dimly lit highway where cars have collided. Eventually, what had at first seemed impossible happened: Kevin acquired mastery. And in the process he was able to discern the professional differences between his freewheeling peers, what marked each--as he termed them--as "a tourist," "true believer," or "killer." Combining indelible scenes that remind us of life's fragile beauty with laugh-out-loud moments that keep us smiling through the worst, A Thousand Naked Strangers is an absorbing read about one man's journey of self-discovery--a trip that also teaches us about ourselves.
Shocked : adventures in bringing back the recently dead by
Not too long ago, there was no coming back from death. But now, with revolutionary medical advances, death has become just another serious complication. As a young medical student, Dr. David Casarett was inspired by the story of a two-year-old girl named Michelle Funk. Michelle fell into a creek and was underwater for over an hour. When she was found she wasn't breathing, and her pupils were fixed and dilated. That drowning should have been fatal. But after three hours of persistent work, a team of doctors and nurses was able to bring her back. It was a miracle. If Michelle could come back after three hours of being dead, what about twelve hours? Or twentyfour? What would it take to revive someone who had been frozen for one thousand years? And what does blurring the line between 'life' and 'death' mean for society? In Shocked, Casarett chronicles his exploration of the cutting edge of resuscitation and reveals just how far science has come. He begins in the eighteenth century, when early attempts at resuscitation involved public displays of barrel rolling, horseback riding (sort of), and blowing smoke up the patient's various orifices. He then takes us inside a sophisticated cryonics facility in the Arizona desert, a darkroom full of hibernating lemurs in North Carolina, and a laboratory that puts mice into a state of suspended animation. The result is a spectacular tour of the bizarre world of doctors, engineers, animal biologists, and cryogenics enthusiasts trying to bring the recently dead back to life. Fascinating, thought-provoking, and (believe it or not) funny, Shocked is perfect for those looking for a prequel - and a sequel - to Mary Roach's Stiff, or for anyone who likes to ponder the ultimate questions of life and death. 'A fascinating, well-written, and gripping book by a leading physician that takes readers through the incredible journey of resuscitation science. I recommend this book to anyone interested in learning about the new medical 'miracles' that are helping humankind fight death and preserve life.' Sam Parnia, MD, author of Erasing Death 'Shockedis by turns heartbreaking and hilarious. But more than that, it's an important book that should force an urgent discussion of the hairline border between alive and dead, and the incredible ethical (and economic) questions we face as technology redraws that boundary.' David Epstein, author of The Sports Gene 'If you think the line between life and death is a bright one, think again. In Shocked, end-of-life care expert David Casarett takes us on an informative, provocative, and useful tour of the state of the art in attempting to resuscitate the dead and bring them back to life. This is not the stuff of frozen heads, bright lights at the ends of tunnels, and bodies being cloned. It is a review of the best and sometimes worst of what real medicine has to offer and there is a no more lively, engaging, and sensible guide.' Art Caplan, author ofSmart Mice, Not So Smart People 'Dr. Casarett writes from his heart and demystifies the art and science of resuscitation. His humor, poignancy, and intrigue make this book a must-read!' Kathy E. Magliato, MD, MBA, FACS, author ofHeart Matters 'From the early days of CPR to the latest science on the cryogenic preservation of human life, Casarett takes us on an entertaining exploration into the void that separates life and death. Shockedis a great read.' David Dosa, MD, author of Making Rounds with Oscar 'Shocked is a compelling and fascinating account of the history, current practice, and hopes for the future of resuscitation. I enjoyed it immensely.' Mickey Eisenberg, MD, author of Life in the Balance
Hurt : the inspiring, untold story of trauma care by
Trauma is a disease of epidemic proportions that preys on the young, killing more Americans up to age thirty-seven than all other afflictions combined. Every year an estimated 2.8 million people are hospitalized for injuries and more than 180,000 people die. We take for granted that no matter how or where we are injured, someone will call 911 and trained first responders will show up to insert IVs, stop the bleeding, and swiftly deliver us to a hospital staffed by doctors and nurses with the expertise necessary to save our lives. None of this happened on its own. Told through the eyes of a surgeon who has flown on rescue helicopters, resuscitated patients in trauma centers in Houston and Chicago, and operated on hundreds of trauma victims of all ages, Hurt takes us on a tour of the advancements in injury treatment from the battlefields of the Civil War to the state-of-the-art trauma centers of today.
These are available on the third floor in the Reference Room. They are for in-library use only, but you can make copies of pages as needed.
Miller-Keane Encyclopedia and Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health by
Combining the precision of a dictionary with the comprehensive coverage of an encyclopedia, Miller-Keane offers a treasury of useful facts including over 2,370 new terms, over 35,205 entries, more than 1,000 illustrations (including an 18-page, full-color atlas of anatomy), and 44 appendices. Experts in virtually every professional specialty have reviewed Miller-Keane, making it the definitive resource in collaborative health care. It also includes terminology used by professional journals and references, ensuring easy comprehension by every user.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by
So much more than just a bestselling dictionary, Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 9th Edition is a one-stop reference to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. It features over 56,000 authoritative definitions, 45 appendixes, a color atlas of the human body, online resources, and more than 2,450 full-color illustrations - nearly three times more than any other dictionary available - making it an indispensable reference for students and professionals alike. UNIQUE! More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. A Color Atlas of Human Anatomy contains 43 pages of clearly labeled drawings for easy A&P review and reference. Over 56,000 comprehensive, authoritative, high-quality definitions - including expanded definitions for selected entries, particularly major diseases, disorders, and procedures - offer the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. 23 appendixes - 13 in the dictionary and 10 on the companion Evolve website - offer quick access to useful reference information, such as lab values, symbols and abbreviations, language translation guides, pharmacology, infection control standards, conversion tables, and clinical calculations. A strict, common-sense alphabetical organization with no subentries makes it easy to find key terms and definitions. NEW! Over 300 new and updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions and reflect current health care practice and equipment. NEW! Approximately 11,000 new and revised definitions reflect the latest developments in health care, drugs, and nursing terminology. NEW! Editor Marie O'Toole, EdD, RN, FAAN lends her expertise to this new edition, reviewing and revising all definitions and assembling a team of leading consultants and contributors.
Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary by
Medicine is ever changing, and its terminology evolves constantly. If you're involved in health care in any way, you need to know the latest medical terms and what they mean. That's why you need Dorland's! The world's most trusted source on the language of medicine for over 100 years, it delivers more entries and better definitions than any other medical dictionary - so you can master more of the current terminology that you need to know. A wealth of illustrations and a remarkably user-friendly format make reference a snap. Find any medical term you need to know! Over 120,000 entries - more than any other medical dictionary provides - include the latest drugs as well as extensive coverage of complimentary and alternative medicine. Know exactly what each term means with definitions that are the richest, most accurate available. Understand concepts visually by viewing more than 1500 extremely helpful illustrations, many in full color. Find answers faster thanks to the most user-friendly format of any medical dictionary.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary (Thumb-Indexed Version) by
Taber's 22 brings meanings to life! In hand, online, or on your mobile device--anywhere and everywhere, Taber's 22 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants, representing nearly every health care profession, ensures that the content reflects the most current healthcare information. A wealth of resources puts the language of nursing, medicine and the healthcare professions at your fingertips... FREE, 1-year subscription to Taber's Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, and now with annual updates--puts all of the knowledge of Taber's at your fingertips. FREE, Taber's Flash, a flash card app--simplifies studying. Web, mobile, and print platforms--ensure access in any setting. Crossword puzzles, flashcards, and listen-and-learn activities--meet the needs of visual, kinesthetic, and auditory learners. Over 30,000 audio pronunciations--build speaking confidence.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing by
Featuring more than 56,000 entries, this thoroughly updated Seventh Edition contains the medical terminology used in more than 30 of today's fastest growing health profession areas--plus comprehensive inclusion of entries suited for the nursing field. The book includes 1,000 enriched color images and photographs, a glossy insert with detailed images by Anatomical Chart Company, more than 65 appendices, and cut thumb tabs for quick A-to-Z reference. More than 70 leading consultants from health professions and nursing contributed to the enhancements of this edition. Also included with the purchase is a free one-year subscription to Stedman's Online: Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing , which includes all the content from the print dictionary, as well as access to 5,600 images, more than 48,000 audio pronunciations, and 48 live action videos; along with a free version of Stedman's Plus Medical/Pharmaceutical Spellchecker (a $99.00 value).
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
