It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic OneFile is a multi-subject general database. You can use it to find academic journal articles (including peer-reviewed), magazine articles, and newspaper articles. It also has some books, videos, audio files, and images. It covers a wide range of topics, and is a good place to start your search.
Key Search Features
Full Text - finds articles available to you in full text - this is the default
Peer-reviewed - check this box to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles
Subject Guide Search (found on the home page)- can help you find the specific wording used for the subject you need
Limiting Your Results
Source Type -The default view shows Academic Journal, but you can also choose Magazines, Books, News, Videos, and Audios, depending on what is available for your particular search.
Subjects - You can use this to limit your results to only those with a specific subject
Document Types - This can help you narrow by article, brief article, review, etc.
Date Published - You can use this to limit to specific time frames - you will often want only more current information
Search Within - Allows you to further search within the set of results you have
The following videos will give you a general idea of how to use Academic OneFile and the Gale databases. The interface has been updated since the videos were made, so it does look different, and a few functionalities have changed. But overall, you can still learn how to use the databases. New videos will be added as soon as they are available.
The library has several subject-specific databases provided by Gale. The information provided on this page, as well as the video, is applicable to most of these databases. Exceptions include Gale Opposing Viewpoints, and Literature Criticism Online.