Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
This link opens in a new windowUsers can access a comprehensive scope of content covering over 50 nursing specialties as well as allied health subjects including speech and language pathology, nutrition, physical therapy and much more. Access materials on topics such as biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and more. Additionally, access health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, over 130 evidence-based care sheets, almost 170 quick lessons on disease overviews, 170 continuing education modules, and 360 research instrument records.
Coverage: 1969 - 2018
This database of medical information contains journals, multimedia videos, and images. In addition, results include high quality, peer-reviewed, open access articles from international publishers Medknow Publications with over 190 journals and PubMed Central with over 1,000 journals. The content will not be updated as of June 2018.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowProvides full text articles from scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines including: Nursing & Allied Heath, Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowDesigned for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides full text of journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
This link opens in a new windowContains up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowAccess articles from peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific journals from the American Psychological Association (APA), the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), the Canadian Psychological Association, and others. Includes all journal articles, book reviews, and letters to the editor from each journal.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Check out our Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing Journals, available online!
These books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing by
Thoroughly updated to correlate with DSM-5 diagnostic descriptions and QSEN guidelines, the second edition of this highly acclaimed undergraduate psychiatric nursing text features concrete strategies for establishing interpersonal relationships as the basis not only for working with the psychiatric patient population, but as a timeless foundation for all nursing practice. The text guides students through the essential phases of self-discovery necessary to integrate interpersonal nursing theory into practice. Modules designed to foster growth in therapeutic use of self, including the importance of boundary management, are integrated with psychodynamic and current neurobiological theories to provide sturdy theoretical underpinnings for practice. A wealth of descriptive psychiatric diagnoses of DSM-5, QSEN criteria, and NANDA-based care plans, case scenarios, evidence-based practice, patient and family education tips, drug summary lists, and complementary and alternative therapy approaches populate the text. The main body of the book focuses on common mental illnesses and weaves both the psychodynamic and neurobiological concepts into evidence-based strategies for nursing interventions. Additional features, such as examples of therapeutic dialogue and a Consumer Perspective featuring an actual consumer voice relating personal experience about living with a specific illness, provide further guidance in understanding and adopting a relationship-based approach to nursing. Web links facilitate quick access to additional information and NCLEX-style review questions prepare students for passing the NCLEX exam. New to the Second Edition: Revisions correlate to DSM-5 descriptions, QSEN criteria, and NANDA nursing diagnosesProvides new information on psychopharmacology, compassion fatigue and a recovery model, use of informed consent, and cognitive behavioral therapy Presents updates on complementary and alternative interventionsIncludes expanded content on cultural and life span considerations related to mental health care worldwide Key Features: Focuses on interpersonal relationships and boundary navigation as the foundation for practicePromotes psychodynamic and neurobiological perspectives within ISPN curricular guidelinesWritten by national and international experts in nursing education and psychiatric-mental heath practiceIncludes a digital student companion with key chapter concepts and critical thinking questions for practice situations Provides digital faculty resources including PowerPoint slides, an expanded test bank, case studies, and critical thinking exercisesIncludes free e-book with purchase of the print book
Rapid Mental Health Nursing by
A concise, pocket-sized, A-Z rapid reference handbook on all the essential areas of mental health nursing, aimed at nursing students and newly qualified practitioners. Covers a broad range of mental health disorders, approaches interventions and conditions Easy to locate practical information quickly in a pocket sized, rapid reference format The topics and structure are mapped on to the NMC's (2010) Standards for Pre-registration Nursing Education and their required essential skills and knowledge.
Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nursing, Second Edition by
This text reinvigorates the emphasis on the therapeutic relationship that is the core of nursing practice. It also relies on our strong history as therapists and introduces a need for integration of all aspects of care, a true holistic approach that characterizes the nursing perspective...The book should serve as a review for nurses who are studying for certification exams and is] very useful for coursework in DNP programs as well as the masters programs in psychiatric mental health nursing. -Grayce M. Sills, PhD, RN, FAAN Professor Emerita, Ohio State University From the Foreword Now in its second edition, this groundbreaking text and reference continues to be the only resource for APRNs to focus on integrative interventions forindividuals with mental health problems across the lifespan. Combining theory and practice, it provides a clear framework for integratingpsychopharmacology, psychotherapy, and Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) into advanced practice nursing. The second edition is thoroughlyupdated to reflect current research, new classifications in DSM 5, genetic testing, and increased use of telemental health delivery. It builds upon itslifespan focus and updates quick-access pediatric pointers and aging alerts. Additionally, the resource incorporates the 2014 publication of the ANA Scopeand Standards of Practice for Psychiatric Nurses, offers a new focus on QSEN requirements, and responds to the need to reduce health disparities andaddress cultural considerations. Organized around psychiatric syndromes, the text covers neurobiology, theory and research evidence related to psychopharmacology, psychotherapy, and CAMinterventions. It provides a virtual buffet of clear treatment options in the form of well-designed decision trees and accompanying explanatory narratives.The text also includes a section on such special considerations as substance misuse, medical problems, pregnancy, and forensic issues that often co-occurwith psychiatric syndromes. Concise, clear language and abundant charts, graphs, and algorithms enhance the books' value in supporting sound clinicalreasoning. New to the Second Edition: Thoroughly updated, evidence-based content Encompasses new research Presents three completely new chapters on Integrative Management of Impulse Control, Telehealth, and Quality Improvement and Evidence-BasedPractice Includes the expertise of new contributors Reflects DSM 5 updates, ANA Standard of Practice for Psychiatric Nurses, and QSEN standards Updates quick-access Pediatric Pointers and Aging Alerts Key Features: Integrates theory and practice Simplifies complex concepts using clear language while retaining depth of information Supports clinical decision-making skills through easy-to-follow Decision Trees Organized around psychiatric syndromes Edited by internationally acclaimed practitioner/educators
Child Behavioral and Parenting Challenges for Advanced Practice Nurses by
Delivers the most comprehensive information available for APNs on dealing with child behavioral and parenting challenge Front-line nurse practitioners are increasingly required to assess, identify, manage, and refer the complex and often significant childhood behavioral challenges occurring among children and adolescents. This authoritative and comprehensive behavior management reference provides nursing health care providers and students with the evidence-based information and strategies they need to identify and appropriately intervene with such behavioral challenges and to assist parents in dealing appropriately and effectively with their child. In an accessible and easy-to-read format, the text examines the primary health care professional's role in screening behavioral issues, identifies a great variety of problems they are likely to encounter, and educates the provider on how to assess difficult and challenging behaviors. Each problem is consistently organized to include a description; assessment: diagnosis; levels of prevention/intervention; primary, secondary, and tertiary strategies for dealing with the behavior; and additional resources. Not only does the book provide a clear indication of when and how to refer the youth to the appropriate mental health professional or other specialist, but delineates strategies for what to do while awaiting referral and how to maintain a primary care role during the psychiatric intervention process. Important legal issues are addressed along with protocols that are accepted by health care and legal agencies. The text also provides an overview of the integration of behavioral health into primary care along with EBP guidelines and parent teaching guides. Key Features: Provides APNs with the basic foundations to understand, identify, and manage significant behavioral challenges of childhood Examines the primary care health care professional's role in working with these issues Delivers evidence-based information and strategies for assessment and intervention Provides clear indication of when and how to refer to appropriate mental health professional or other specialist Addresses protocols to follow that are accepted by the health care and legal population
Where There Is No Psychiatrist by
Mental illnesses are common and cause great suffering to individuals and communities everywhere in the world, but many health workers are more comfortable dealing with physical illness. This practical manual of mental health care is vital for community health workers, primary care nurses, social workers and primary care doctors, particularly in low-resource settings. This guide gives the reader a basic understanding of mental illness by describing more than thirty clinical problems associated with mental illness and uses a problem-solving approach to guide the reader through their assessment and management. Mental health issues as they arise in specific contexts are described - in refugee camps, in school health programmes, as well as in mental health promotion. The final section helps the reader to personalise for a particular location, for example, by entering local information on voluntary agencies, the names and costs of medicines and words in the local language for symptoms. This product is also available as Open Access.
Neeb's Fundamentals of Mental Health Nursing by
Here's the must-know information LPN/LVN students need to care for patients with mental health disorders where they'll encounter them - in general patient care settings. An easy-to-read, conversational writing style shows you how to recognize and respond to the most important mental health issues. You'll also explore important communication techniques, ethical and legal issues, and alternative and complementary treatments. Coverage of nursing interventions, basic psychiatric nursing skills, and psychopharmacology prepares you for the NCLEX-PN® exam and clinical practice. See what students are saying online... Five stars. "Very good and easy to read."--Robert Great buy. "Exactly what I wanted."--Nathan
Bipolar II Disorder by
Unlike its cousin, bipolar I disorder, which has been extensively studied and depicted in popular literature and on screen, bipolar II disorder is poorly understood, underdiagnosed, and insufficiently treated. Bipolar II Disorder: Recognition, Understanding, and Treatment is the only text on the market that examines every aspect of the disorder in an up-to-date, rigorous, and clinically oriented manner. The editors, experts on the diagnosis and treatment of this neglected illness, have gathered a group of contributors who together advance the reader's knowledge of the disease in a systematic, accessible way, identifying and addressing the challenges of diagnosis and treatment and exploring current thinking on the biological determinants of the disorder. Acknowledging potential pitfalls of differential diagnosis, the book examines psychiatric comorbidities that most typically co-occur with bipolar II, such as anxiety disorders, impulse-control disorders, and borderline personality disorder. Next, the book focuses on the growing body of evidence that suggests that the underlying biology of bipolar II is distinct from that of other mood disorders and discusses the increasingly important role that neuroimaging plays in the diagnosis and understanding of bipolar II disorder as research progresses. Finally, the text explores how to manage bipolar II disorder, providing an up-to-date review of medication options and psychosocial treatments. The book's strengths are many and compelling: * Individual chapters are written by experts in the fields of phenomenology, genetics, neuroimaging, psychopharmacology, psychotherapy, child psychiatry, and reproductive mental health who review what is currently known about bipolar II disorder and its management.* A special chapter on suicide describes a framework for understanding risk and a clinical model for conducting suicide risk assessment specific to individuals with bipolar II disorder. The chapter underscores factors associated with increased risk in bipolar II disorder and identifies strategies to mitigate that risk.* Written for a professional audience, the book may also be of interest to patients who want to learn more about their own diagnosis and to those who wish to support them.* Fascinating case vignettes and concise key points are provided throughout the text, helping readers to understand and contextualize the most important information in each chapter for easy reference and review.* Although advances have been made in understanding bipolar II disorder since the diagnosis was first codified in 1994, many gaps remain in the evidence base, particularly related to optimal treatments and neurobiology, and the book examines future directions for inquiry. For years, clinicians had little guidance for diagnosing and treating bipolar II disorder, relying on treatment options for bipolar I disorder, which were inadequate and of limited efficacy. Bipolar II Disorder: Recognition, Understanding, and Treatment responds to these frustrations with evidence-based, substantive, and up-to-the-minute information, demystifying the disorder and equipping the reader to provide the highest standard of care.
PTSD: A Short History by
A comprehensive history of PTSD. Post-traumatic stress disorder--and its predecessor diagnoses, including soldier's heart, railroad spine, and shell shock--was recognized as a psychiatric disorder in the latter part of the nineteenth century. The psychic impacts of train crashes, wars, and sexual shocks among children first drew psychiatric attention. Later, enormous numbers of soldiers suffering from battlefield traumas returned from the world wars. It was not until the 1980s that PTSD became a formal diagnosis, in part to recognize the intense psychic suffering of Vietnam War veterans and women with trauma-related personality disorders. PTSD now occupies a dominant place in not only the mental health professions but also major social institutions and mainstream culture, making it the signature mental disorder of the early twenty-first century. In PTSD, Allan V. Horwitz traces the fluctuations in definitions of and responses to traumatic psychic conditions. Arguing that PTSD, perhaps more than any other diagnostic category, is a lens for showing major historical changes in conceptions of mental illness, he surveys the conditions most likely to produce traumas, the results of those traumas, and how to evaluate the claims of trauma victims. Illuminating a number of central issues about psychic disturbances more generally--including the relative importance of external stressors and internal vulnerabilities in causing mental illness, the benefits and costs of mental illness labels, and the influence of gender on expressions of mental disturbance--PTSD is a compact yet comprehensive survey. The book will appeal to diverse audiences, including the educated public, students across the psychological and social sciences, and trauma victims who are interested in socio-historical approaches to their condition. Praise for Allan V. Horwitz's Anxiety: A Short History "The definitive overview of the history of anxiety."--Bulletin of the History of Medicine "A lucid, erudite and brisk intellectual history driven by a clear and persuasive central argument."--Social History of Medicine "An enlightening tour of anxiety, set at a sensible pace, with an exceptional scholar and writer leading the way."--Library Journal
Treatment of Personality Disorders by
In Treatment of Severe Personality Disorders: Resolution of Aggression and Recovery of Eroticism, the influential psychoanalyst and psychiatrist Otto Kernberg presents an integrated update of the current knowledge of personality disorders, their neurobiological and psychodynamic determinants, and a specific psychodynamic psychotherapy geared to resolve the psychopathology of these conditions--namely, the syndrome of identity diffusion and its influence on the capacity for emotional wellbeing and gratifying relationships with significant others. The author updates the findings of the Personality Disorders Institute of the Weill Cornell Medical College Department of Psychiatry, which are derived from the empirical research and clinical investigation of severe personality disorders, and addresses the effectiveness of transference-focused psychotherapy, a specific psychodynamic treatment for these disorders developed at the Institute. The volume focuses particularly on an essential group of techniques common to all psychoanalytically derived treatments and clarifies the corresponding differential features of various psychodynamic treatment approaches. In prose both precise and evocative, the author: * Examines the classification of personality disorders, the way competing viewpoints have influenced the evolution of DSM-III and DSM-IV, and the impact of new knowledge on the classification of DSM-5, with emphasis on how conflicts between scientific and political considerations have hindered the classification of personality disorders in the past.* Illustrates in detail how present knowledge of neurobiological structures and neurotransmitters intertwines with the psychodynamic determinants of how psychic experience is organized.* Explores psychodynamic psychotherapies and contemporary developments and controversies in the field. For example, the role of interpretation in borderline pathology is examined using a clinical case, and a new formulation of supportive psychodynamic psychotherapy is described.* Addresses severe narcissistic pathology--its diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment. Specifically, the book presents an overview of treatment options for severe narcissistic personality disorder, explores the distortions in verbal communication that may arise during psychotherapy with these patients, and focuses on the differential diagnosis of antisocial behavior.* Examines the diagnosis and treatment of sexual pathology, and explores the vicissitudes of the love lives of patients with severe personality disorders.* Concludes with a chapter on the essential preconditions in the education of psychodynamic psychotherapists to carry out the challenging and complex psychotherapeutic work in this field. In describing both the limits and the advances in therapeutic effectiveness, the Treatment of Severe Personality Disorders: Resolution of Aggression and Recovery of Eroticism performs a great service, and it will surely become a classic of the psychoanalytic literature.
Clinical Handbook for the Diagnosis and Treatment of Pediatric Mood Disorders by
Mental health clinicians have become increasingly aware that mood disorders often first manifest in childhood and adolescence. As the only reference for mental health professionals and trainees on the topic, Clinical Handbook for the Diagnosis and Treatment of Pediatric Mood Disorders fills a critical gap in the literature and addresses a critical need for the growing number of affected youth. The editor has recruited a roster of first-class contributors, and together, they have created an up-to-date resource that captures the rapid and dramatic advances in the field, offers practical solutions to common diagnostic and treatment challenges, and provides an evidence-based framework that encourages easy integration into practice. Designed to reach a broad audience of learners by providing authoritative and accessible information that is relevant and applicable to real-world clinical practice, the handbook also aims to be a useful compendium to clinicians in training, who can refer to it for expert consultation or augment their learning in clinical and academic settings. Useful features abound: * The chapter-opening cases engage the reader and create a down-to-earth, clinical framework for understanding the chapter's content. Readers will also find "clinical pearls" at the end of each chapter that distill the information presented and constitute an easy-to-use summary.* To further optimize learning, the book employs numerous graphical formats to illustrate, explain, and summarize chapter content, and supplements key content areas with an appendix of resources for those interested in expanding their knowledge.* The book was designed to appeal to learners along a wide continuum, and for trainees and practitioners in all stages of their careers--from the novice seeking a jump start in working with youth populations to the experienced clinician interested in brushing up on the most state-of-the-art evidence. In addition, the book will be of great interest to professionals from multiple disciplines, including general and subspecialty psychiatrists, nurses, social workers, psychologists, pediatricians, and other primary care specialties and allied health professionals.* The content is available in multiple formats, published with the latest information-sharing platforms in mind to ensure that readers can enjoy both in print and e-versions. Comprehensive, yet concise enough to be readily usable, Clinical Handbook for the Diagnosis and Treatment of Pediatric Mood Disorders provides professionals with the practical information needed to balance benefits, risks, and alternatives to state-of-the-art treatment approaches.
Treating ADHD/ADD in Children and Adolescents: solutions for parents and clinicians by
TREATING ADHD/ADD IN CHILDREN AND ADOLESCENTS: Solutions for Parents and Clinicians was written for parents, clinicians, and teachers to learn a deeper understanding of ADHD and implement specific, clear, and effective ways to successfully evaluate and treat ADHD problems at home and school. Readers will learn not only research-based and traditional approaches for treating ADHD, but also proven newer and alternative methods. This book provides the tools for readers to feel more informed and competent in addressing the many challenges that children and adolescents with ADHD experience. Whether new or previously exposed to ADHD, readers should find the information to be very useful and effective in transforming ADHD. This book is comprehensive in addressing the complete range of challenges that ADHD presents to children, teens, and families, including accurately diagnosing ADHD and identifying the frequent co-existing conditions, better understandings of the condition, powerful parental behavioral management skills for home and school difficulties, ways to improve family and peer challenges, enhancing homework and learning problems, obtaining appropriate school services and addressing classroom issues, better partnerships with physicians for effective ADHD medication treatments, and utilizing a number of additional and alternative approaches to decrease and treat ADHD. The book has three main aims. The first is to provide a deeper understanding of ADHD. Without accurate perspectives, families may not address the difficulties and challenges appropriately, and treatment approaches may not be as successful or can fail. The second goal is to learn the fundamentals about managing and treating the many ADHD challenges at home and school. The third is for readers to learn a number of additional and alternative approaches to help treat ADHD symptoms and challenges. Some of these proven approaches are newer, while others have a history of effectiveness.
Obsessive-Compulsive Personality Disorder by
Complete yet concise, Obsessive-Compulsive Personality Disorder provides an up-to-date analysis of this widespread, multi-faceted disorder. Estimated to be twice as common as any other personality disorder, OCPD is nevertheless both underrepresented in the literature and frequently misunderstood by clinicians and the patients who grapple with its effects. Misdiagnosis, failure to diagnose, and ignorance of treatment options are common. This text represents the collective contributions of some of the foremost authorities in the field under the leadership of editors who are determined to raise awareness and educate practitioners and patients alike about the phenomenology, neurobiology, and psychology of this disorder. The book begins with the history and epidemiology of the disorder before proceeding to the clinical features, which are presented using case examples. From there, the text addresses the developmental aspects of OCPD and then considers other related personality disorders that frequently co-occur with or may be mistaken for OCPD. Additional chapters address the developmental aspects of OCPD, the neurobiology and cognitive underpinnings of OCPD, and available treatment approaches. The following coverage is especially noteworthy: * Four chapters focus on common mental health disorders that can be difficult to differentiate from OCPD, with the most common misdiagnoses being obsessive-compulsive disorder and hoarding disorder. OCPD has also been linked with eating disorders, impulse disorders, and aggression, and the book helps the reader understand the relationship between and among these disorders.* Gender and/or cultural factors may influence the presentation of psychiatric disorders, including OCPD, and the book explores the potentially heterogeneous etiology of the disorder and the danger of assuming that one size fits all in terms of treatment.* Both psychotherapeutic and pharmacological treatment approaches are examined in detail, including cognitive-behavioral therapies (the rationale behind their use, estimated effectiveness, and limitations of current interventions) and the current state of drug treatment.* OCPD can be trying for family members and others who care about the patient, and the book offers a chapter examining what loved ones can do to help, including how to recognize when a personality trait within the OCPD criteria rises to the level of a disorder.* Although OCPD can be disabling, there can be positive aspects to having an obsessional personality, and the book discusses the situations under which these traits can be advantageous. Down-to-earth, clinically rich, and unique, Obsessive-Compulsive Personality Disorder will help clinicians navigate the thorny OCPD assessment, diagnosis, and treatment path while providing information and comfort to patients and their families.
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Anxiety, Trauma, and OCD-Related Disorders by
Designed for clinicians at every level, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Anxiety, Trauma, and OCD-Related Disorders addresses the origin, assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of these disorders in a comprehensive, up-to-date, and compelling manner. Fresh voices are everywhere in this authoritative revision of the classic text, as more than 60% of the contributors are new. They join stalwarts from the previous edition--experts who bring stellar credentials and a discerning eye to the task of revising the text to reflect cutting-edge scholarship and evidence-based clinical knowledge. Following a comprehensive overview of core principles, the book provides detailed coverage of specific DSM-5 diagnoses: generalized anxiety disorder, obsessive-compulsive and related disorders, panic disorder and agoraphobia, social anxiety disorder, specific phobia, and trauma- and stressor-related disorders. Each section presents the latest thinking on phenomenology and pathogenesis, then provides evidence-based clinical recommendations for pharmacotherapy and psychotherapy. New and noteworthy material includes the following: * Two new chapters focus on the features, phenomenology, and course of acute and integrated grief, as well as the epidemiology, clinical features, evaluation, and pathophysiology of complicated grief (CG), which affects a significant minority. Proper treatment of CG is critical, because once it persists beyond 6 months, impairment may last for years, if not a lifetime. Accordingly, a separate chapter is devoted to treatment options, including a hybrid of cognitive-behavioral, interpersonal, motivational interviewing, and psychodynamic methods.* The Unified Protocol (UP) for Transdiagnostic Treatment of Emotional Disorders is examined in a fascinating new chapter. The UP is a promising treatment with empirical support for reduction of both symptoms and higher-order temperamental changes, such as changes in neuroticism, an underlying mechanism associated with onset and maintenance of emotional disorders.* The chapter on anxiety disorders in late life is completely new and emphasizes the prevalence of anxiety in this population and its likelihood of remaining undetected and untreated. The epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of these disorders are examined in detail so that the reader will recognize the clinical features, be able to differentiate them from depression, and can identify appropriate treatment, whether pharmacological or psychotherapeutic.* Each chapter features a concise list of key clinical points to help the reader focus on the most important material for study, as well as a list of recommended reading for those who wish to learn more. Grounded in the latest research, clinically rich, and pedagogically strong, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Anxiety, Trauma, and OCD-Related Disorders is the go-to text for mental health clinicians looking for evidence-based knowledge and support.
Eating Disorders: A Comprehensive Guide to Medical Care and Complications by
A comprehensive guide on how to diagnose, treat, and care for those with eating disorders. Eating disorders, which include such conditions as anorexia, bulimia, binge eating, and pica, represent a challenge to both patients and health care providers alike. For more than 20 years, health care providers have turned to the expert advice found in Eating Disordersto keep up to date with the latest research in the field and to help them provide the best care available for their patients. In this new, thoroughly revised and expanded edition of their best-selling work, Drs. Philip S. Mehler and Arnold E. Andersen provide a user-friendly and comprehensive guide to treating and managing eating disorders for primary care physicians, mental health professionals, worried family members and friends, and nonmedical professionals (such as teachers and coaches). Mehler and Andersen * identify common medical complications faced by people who have eating disorders * answer questions about how to treat both physical and behavioral aspects of eating disorders * discuss serious complications, including cardiac arrhythmia, electrolyte abnormalities, and gastrointestinal problems * incorporate all-new information on avoidant restrictive food intake disorder (ARFID), binge eating disorder, and the role of social media in promoting disordered eating * offer targeted advice for working with specialists * include four new chapters on eating disorders in children and adolescents; atypical anorexia; eating disorders in transgender individuals; and family therapy * feature engaging clinical vignettes * answer a list of common questions practitioners may have in each chapter The most comprehensive work on the market and the only book that covers eating disorders in transgender individuals, Eating Disordersis a compassionate, evidence-based, and essential guide. Contributors: Arnold E. Andersen, Ovidio Bermudez, Jeana Cost, Meghan Foley, Dennis Gibson, Neville Golden, Sacha Gorell, Jeffrey Hollis, Mori J. Krantz, Daniel Le Grange, Russell Marx, Jennifer McBride, Philip S. Mehler, Leah Puckett, Katherine Sachs, Michael Spaulding-Barclay, Anna Tanner, Nathalia Trees, Jessica Tse, Kenneth Weiner, Patricia Westmoreland
Tipping the Scales: Ethical and Legal Dilemmas in Managing Severe Eating Disorders by
Tipping the Scales: Ethical and Legal Dilemmas in Managing Severe Eating Disorders centers on the complex and at times wrenching medicolegal and ethical challenges encountered in treating patients with severe and enduring eating disorders (SEEDs). Unlike other mental health disorders, for which the care of a medical physician is typically unnecessary, patients with eating disorders have many significant medical complications that demand careful oversight by a physician knowledgeable in treating these disorders. The tragic dearth of such expertise is made more alarming by the fact that anorexia nervosa has the highest mortality rate of any mental disorder aside from opioid abuse. Accordingly, the book addresses the medical consequences of SEEDs and explores that subgroup of patients whose illness appears intractable--people who are no longer seeking a "cure" but, rather, enough improvement to afford them a reasonable quality of life. For such patients, depending on their age, treatment history, and support system, treatment teams may either commit to achieving a full recovery or engage in a harm reduction model. In empathic, accessible prose, the book * Examines ethical conflicts that arise in SEEDs, in particular the critical dilemma between saving a life and reducing suffering. Although both are core values of medicine--and eating disorders have an exceedingly high mortality rate--relief of suffering through refeeding and other treatments can bring about both physical and emotional discomfort. * Reviews the issues of patient autonomy and mental capacity in the question of who ultimately gets to establish treatment goals. The assignment and role of medical guardianship for patients deemed incapacitated is described in detail. * Explores the perception of "futility," which may reflect burnout of the treatment team for these very challenging patients rather than no hope of success. In particular, perceived futility may contribute to the increased emergence of physician-assisted death and euthanasia in this population both internationally and in the United States. * Devotes several chapters to the differences between palliative care, harm reduction, and futility. Patients sometimes leave treatment and request palliative care, and the book addresses the role of psychiatry in such cases as well as advance care planning and other essential topics.* Describes the medical complexities and comorbidities inherent in caring for patients with SEEDs, including bone density loss, gastrointestinal complaints, and cardiac irregularities, which can result in death.* Presents numerous case studies for comparison, elucidating the thorny ethical and legal issues attendant upon caring for these patients. Tipping the Scales assists physicians, mental health professionals, and patients in making decisions that are in the patient's best interests, whether they lead to healing and recovery or a dignified passage within the bounds of our current knowledge and the ethics of palliative end-of life care.
Preventing Suicide : The Solution Focused Approach by
New edition of an acclaimed manual which uses the solution focused approach to take an empathetic and validating approach to working with individuals considering suicide. Offers invaluable guidance for suicide prevention by showing "what works" in treating those struggling with suicidal thoughts Provides straightforward ways to deal frankly with the subject of suicide, along with a range of tools and techniques that are helpful to clients Includes actual dialogue between practitioners and clients to allow readers to gain a better understanding of how to work with suicidal clients Compares and contrasts a ground-breaking approach to suicide prevention with more traditional approaches to risk assessment and management Features numerous updates and revisions along with brand new sections dealing with the international landscape, blaming the suicided person, Dr Alys Cole-King's 'Connecting with People', and telephone work with the suicidal, Human Givens Therapy, and zero suicide
Improving Care to Prevent Suicide among People with Serious Mental Illness by
Suicide prevention initiatives are part of much broader systems connected to activities such as the diagnosis of mental illness, the recognition of clinical risk, improving access to care, and coordinating with a broad range of outside agencies and entities around both prevention and public health efforts. Yet suicide is also an intensely personal issue that continues to be surrounded by stigma. On September 11-12, 2018, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine held a workshop in Washington, DC, to discuss preventing suicide among people with serious mental illness. The workshop was designed to illustrate and discuss what is known, what is currently being done, and what needs to be done to identify and reduce suicide risk. Improving Care to Prevent Suicide Among People with Serious Mental Illness summarizes presentations and discussions of the workshop.
Substance and Non Substance Related Addiction Disorders by
Substance and Non substance Related Addiction Disorders: Diagnosis and Treatment is an accessible handbook with substance and non subsatance addiction disorders. It is divided into three sections which cover 1) general topics, the scientific underpinnings of addiction disorders (neurobiology, addiction neural reward pathways, genetic and psychosocial basis of addiction, drug screening and treatment of cooccuring psychaitric disorders), 2) information about substances commonly used by individuals with addiction (pharmacology, diagnostics and treatment considerations) and 3) current understandings of the diagnosis and treatment of behavioral addictions (such as gambling), respectively.Key features: -covers both substance and behavioral addictions-uses a reader friendly format with a patient education handout style-includes key learning points listed in each chapter -includes clinical vignettes which outline brief history, evaluation, diagnostic considerations with successful pharmacological, psychological and social interventions-includes references in each chapterThe handbook meets the information needs of medical students and professionals (family physicians, nurses, addiction therapists, psychiatry residents, and other health care professionals) interested in the care of patients afflicted with addiction disorders.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance: