Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*EDUC 1030: Intro to the Library and Research Sources*

The Databases

The Databases

You have access to over 100 databases through the Basler Library at Northeast State.  They are available through the Online Databases link on the library homepage.  

There are several options for choosing databases.  

  • If you know the name of the database you need, you can use the alphabet links to narrow the list.  
  • You can use the subject drop-down menu to retrieve a list of databases recommended for that subject.  The first results in the list are Best Bets, the ones the librarians think are the most useful, and other databases that may prove helpful follow those.
  • On the left side of the A-Z Databases page is a box of Broad Coverage Databases.  
    • Academic OneFile and OmniFile Full Text Mega are our largest databases.  They have coverage of the widest range of subjects and are often good starting points for research.
    • eBook Collection (EBSCO) is our main eBook collection with over 350,000 books covering a wide variety of subjects and topics.
    • Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context and SIRS Issues Researcher are both excellent resources for pro-con and current issues topics.  They are also great to use when trying to choose a topic.

 

Accessing the Databases from Off Campus

The online databases are accessible 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from computers and devices with an Internet connection. If you are off campus, on some of the wireless networks, or on some of the campuses other than Blountville, you will need to log in to get access.  Your username is the same as the one you use to log into MyNortheast and D2L.  Your password is your 6-digit birthdate (MMDDYY).  If that doesn't work, use your Office 365/stumail account password. 

If you have trouble accessing the databases, please contact the library, and we will help troubleshoot with you.  If possible, call the library while using a computer where you are unable to log in so we can work through the process with you.

 

Using the Databases

The vast majority of the databases use one of two interfaces: EBSCOhost or Gale.  OnmiFile Full Test Mega is an EBSCOhost database, while Academic OneFile is Gale.  View the tutorials below to get an overview how to use each interface.


EBSCOhost


EBSCOhost Basic Search

EBSCO Tutorials. EBSCOhost Basic Search - Tutorial. YouTube.


EBSCOhost Advanced Search

EBSCO Tutorials. EBSCOhost Advanced Searching - Tutorial. YouTube.


Reading an Article on EBSCOhost

EBSCO Tutorials. Reading an Article on EBSCOhost - Tutorial. YouTube.

Gale

 

Gale. Gale Academic OneFile - For Higher Ed Users. Vidyard.

 

Gale. Gale Tools - Cite. Vidyard.