Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
Straight Talk for Veterans: a guide to success in college Creator Vacchi, David. Jones, Kevin. by
Straight Talk for Veterans: A Guide to Success in College answers the call by veterans and practitioners to move away from academic volumes that don't resonate with the reader and frankly fall short of really helping veterans succeed in college. Veteran-friendliness is a straightforward concept that is, in most contexts, more lip-service than action and is rarely achieved. Conceptualizing veteran-friendliness is best done in plain language, the way veterans talk to each other, and is about improving the cultural competency of non-veterans. Too many volumes written by people that either aren't veterans or do not really understand veterans have left the field wanting for a text that can both inform practitioners who intend to help veterans succeed and speak in no-nonsense language that veterans prefer. Straight Talk for Veterans is a straight-forward guide primarily intended for those transitioning from the military to higher education, but also for general veteran transitions to civilian life. Designed as a companion text aligned with veteran transition curricula, it serves the dual purpose of guiding veterans through the initial culture shock that can come with joining and academic community directly from the military and guiding practitioners to be able to support veterans through a more culturally competent lens. Straight talk's diverse chapter authors deliver a comprehensive array of accessible information that covers concepts of negotiating transitions, navigating higher education, skills assessment and translation, and a series of fresh perspectives on concepts frequently misunderstood or mischaracterized by civilians. This text is most valuable to the student veteran or the campus that wants to focus their energies on the real success of student veterans: graduating and finding a job. Written in a style that speaks directly to the student, this is not an attempt to over analyze student veterans with anecdotal observations and small-scale research. Expert chapter authors come from positions of extensive experience as either veterans, those who have served veterans for a long time, those who have conducted meaningful research on the experiences of student veterans, or a combination of these. These elite scholars include Kevin Jones, Janine Wert, Aynsley Diamond, Adam Fullerton, Sharon Young, Michael Kirchner, Sarah Minnis, Glenn Phillips, and Sosanya Jones. The end-state of attending college for veterans is not simply to earn a degree, but to improve prospects for a career that will move a veteran forward to increasing economic prosperity. As such, the book takes a progressive approach from transitioning out of the military, into and through higher education and out into the work world. The reader's time is not spent rehashing the original GI Bill and its history, or education benefits - topics that have been well-trodden in the field. This book combines proven research, best practices and first-hand experience to deliver on what every student veteran needs: solid advice on how to succeed in the transition through college to the workplace.
See Me for Who I Am : student veterans' stories of war and coming home by
See Me for Who I Am is a powerful collection of 20 thought-provoking essays by student veterans. Their stories aim to undermine stereotypes created by popular media, and bridge the gap dividing them from those they fought to protect.
Student Veterans and Service Members in Higher Education by
Student Veterans and Service Members in Higher Education bridges theory to practice in order to better prepare practitioners in their efforts to increase the success of veteran and military service members in higher education. Bringing together perspectives from a researcher, practitioner, and student veteran, this unique author team provides a comprehensive but manageable text reviewing relevant research literature and presenting accessible strategies for working with students. This book explores the facilitators and barriers of student veteran learning and engagement, how culture informs the current student veteran experience, and best practices for creating and maintaining a campus that allows for the success of these students. The latest to publish in the Key Issues on Diverse College Students series, this volume is a valuable resource for student affairs and higher education professionals to better serve veteran and military service members in higher education.
Called to Serve : a handbook on student veterans and higher education by
Called to Serve Over the past several years, veteran enrollment in universities, community colleges, and vocational programs has increased dramatically. Called to Serve offers academics and administrators a handbook highlighting the most current research, program initiatives, and recommendations for creating policies and services that can help student veterans and service members succeed, including: Strategies for organizing and staffing services for veterans and service members Suggestions for creating institutional infrastructures and policies related to enrollment, transfer, and degree completion Frameworks for working with service members with physical, emotional, and learning disabilities Praise for Called to Serve "An excellent resource tool for key university leadership who desire to support the success of incoming and current student veterans." --Renee T. Finnegan, colonel (retired), executive director, Military Initiatives and Partnerships, Office of the President, University of Louisville "One of the more compelling issues of our time is the integration of returning veterans and service members into our society following their service to our country. This handbook will be a critical tool in guiding higher education professionals in developing strategies to ensure their success in college." --Kevin Kruger, president, NASPA-Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education "This timely book explains and presents a new meaning of 'called to service.' The issues and vignettes bring to life real situations that will be facing all campuses. I highly recommend this valuable resource to those looking forward and not back." --Gregory Roberts, executive director, ACPA-College Student Educators International "I have waited over forty years for such a comprehensive handbook to be written about the challenges, opportunities, and rewards that are associated with providing higher education to America's veterans--our future leaders. Well done." --Robert E. Wallace, Vietnam veteran and executive director, Veterans of Foreign Wars of the U.S., Washington Office
Fields of Combat : understanding PTSD among veterans of Iraq and Afghanistan by
For many of the 1.6 million U.S. service members who have served in Iraq and Afghanistan since 2001, the trip home is only the beginning of a longer journey. Many undergo an awkward period of readjustment to civilian life after long deployments. Some veterans may find themselves drinking too much, unable to sleep or waking from unspeakable dreams, lashing out at friends and loved ones. Over time, some will struggle so profoundly that they eventually are diagnosed with post-traumatic stress Disorder (PTSD). Both heartbreaking and hopeful, Fields of Combat tells the story of how American veterans and their families navigate the return home. Following a group of veterans and their their personal stories of war, trauma, and recovery, Erin P. Finley illustrates the devastating impact PTSD can have on veterans and their families. Finley sensitively explores issues of substance abuse, failed relationships, domestic violence, and even suicide and also challenges popular ideas of PTSD as incurable and permanently debilitating. Drawing on rich, often searing ethnographic material, Finley examines the cultural, political, and historical influences that shape individual experiences of PTSD and how its sufferers are perceived by the military, medical personnel, and society at large. Despite widespread media coverage and public controversy over the military's response to wounded and traumatized service members, debate continues over how best to provide treatment and compensation for service-related disabilities. Meanwhile, new and highly effective treatments are revolutionizing how the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) provides trauma care, redefining the way PTSD itself is understood in the process. Carefully and compassionately untangling each of these conflicts, Fields of Combat reveals the very real implications they have for veterans living with PTSD and offers recommendations to improve how we care for this vulnerable but resilient population.
The Wounded Warrior Handbook: a resource guide for returning veterans by
The typical wounded soldier must complete and file twenty-two forms after an active-duty injury. To soldiers and their families coping with the shock and reality of the injuries, figuring out what to do next--even completing tasks that seem easy like submitting paperwork--can be overwhelming and confusing. The second edition of this popular resource guide has been thoroughly revised to reflect new policies, additional benefits, updated procedures, and changes to insurance, including traumatic injury insurance and social security disability insurance. New chapters cover veterans' benefits in depth--which have seen significant changes in the last two years--and returning to active duty after an injury. As in the previous edition, this guide directs you to answers and resources for the most pressing and difficult questions that wounded veterans face, such as: -Where can I find information on symptoms and treatments of injuries? -How do I get through all this paperwork? -Where can I get legal assistance? -What can I do for employment? -How do I get back into everyday life? -How can I return to active duty? -How do I deal with insurance? -What benefits are available to me, and how do I claim them? -What about my family? How can they help me? This trusted resource is both comprehensive and easy to use, and now the most up-to-date guide for wounded veterans and their families dealing with active-duty injuries.
Life after the Military : a handbook for transitioning veterans by
Hundreds of thousands of military members are making the transition to civilian life each year. This transition is a move into unfamiliar territory and can be an extremely uncomfortable process. However, there are resources in place that can relieve much of the stress of the challenging situations that may arise. In Life After the Military: A Handbook for Transitioning Veterans, authors Janelle Hill, Don Philpott, and Cheryl Lawhorne-Scott collect all the information needed to settle into life after the military in one volume.The book discusses the many issues that transitioning veterans are faced with such as finding employment, going back to school, managing finances, special benefits available to veterans, and a host of other issues the transitioning veteran is likely to face when making the move to civilian life. It also discusses the emotional and psychological challenges that come with leaving the military and settling into life as a civilian. This book is essential for all who are transitioning out of the military, as well as their loved ones.
Haunted by Combat: understanding PTSD in war veterans including women, reservists, and those coming back from Iraq by
Across history, the condition has been called soldier's heart, shell shock, or combat fatigue. It is now increasingly common as our service men and women return from Iraq, Afghanistan, and other ongoing combat zones. Since 1990, Veterans' centers here have treated more than 1.6 million affected men and women, including an estimated 100,000 from the Gulf War and an untallied total from the Iraq front and fighting in Afghanistan. The number also includes some 35,000 World War II veterans, because PTSD does not fade easily. Regardless of the months, years, and even decades that have passed, the traumatic events can flash back as seemingly real as they were when they occurred.In Haunted by Combat Paulson and Krippner range across history and into current experiences and treatments for this haunting disorder. They take us into the minds of PTSD-affected veterans, as they struggle against the traumatic events lingering in their minds, sometimes exploding into violent behavior. The authors explain how and why PTSD develops--and how we can help service members take the steps to heal today.
Business Networking for Veterans: a guidebook for a successful transition from the military to the civilian workforce by
Your military skills and experience will be invaluable to you in civilian life. But your successful transition won't just happen. You need a network of people who can help you decide where you want to go[md]and then help you get there. Don't know how to build that network? No problem: Business Networking for Veterans will help you. Not comfortable drawing attention to yourself? Don't worry: networking is about service, not showing off. And service is something you've already mastered. Authored by two former U.S. Marines and a world-renowned business consultant, Business Networking for Veterans will teach you everything you need to know to succeed. From start to finish, it focuses on the unique challenges you face as a transitioning veteran[md]and the unique skills and resources you bring to the table. You've already proven yourself as a leader in service to your country. This book will help you do it as a civilian, too. #65533; Why networking is even more important for transitioning veterans Employers won't just hire you, because they may not understand you #65533; How to network well even if you're not comfortable doing it Not a natural talker? Use your powerful listening skills #65533; How to use online social networks to support your in-person networking Magnify your impact with LinkedIn, Facebook, and other online services #65533; Where to start today A complete plan that starts with the network you already have
Combat-Related Traumatic Brain Injury and PTSD : a resource and recovery guide by
As more veterans return from deployments in Iraq and Afghanistan, more are needing care for posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and combat-related traumatic brain injuries (TBI). While there are several treatment and recovery options, outlets for support, and other resources, understanding and gaining access to them is often difficult or confusing. In Combat-Related Traumatic Brain Injury and PTSD: A Resource and Recovery Guide, authors Cheryl Lawhorne and Don Philpott offer guidance for returning veterans, from treatment options, to diagnostic criteria and techniques, to resources for rehabilitation and support. The authors begin discussions of TBI and PTSD by offering definitions of each, outlining the risk factors, and exploring the relationship between the two. They then move on to provide explanations of diagnostic criteria, treatment options, prevention techniques, and barriers to seeking care. Sections on the important role that insurance and health care plays, and on the support of family and friends, round out this useful and accessible volume. This is an essential guide for returning veterans, their families, and all who work with veterans suffering from PTSD and TBI.
Camo to Career: The veteran's guide to career success by 
Field Exercises : how veterans are healing themselves through farming and outdoor activities by
How connecting with nature is helping veterans reintegrate into civilian life and recover from PTSD. There are nearly twenty-five million veterans and active-duty soldiers in North America. Some experts estimate that more than one quarter of these men and women suffer from post-traumatic distress, and many other military persons experience difficulty reintegrating into civilian life. While conventionally prescribed treatments primarily involve medication and therapy, many people are discovering additional ways to manage their injuries and reduce their suffering. Field Exercises: How Veterans Are Healing Themselves through Farming and Outdoor Activities shares the compelling stories of men and women who are finding relief from stressful and traumatic military experiences, while also establishing community networks and other peer support initiatives. Stephanie Westlund examines: The deep and far-reaching connections between nature and human health The tremendous impact of stress and trauma on survivors' lives Resources and groups providing opportunities in the emerging field of "Green Care". Field Exercises offers hope for veterans searching for methods to ease the transition to civilian life and recover from military stress and trauma. This book will appeal to millions of North American soldiers, veterans, and their loved ones, doctors, psychiatrists, social workers and other caregivers, other groups struggling with high rates of stress and post-traumatic experience, and all those interested in the relationship between nature and human health. Stephanie Westlund holds a PhD in peace and conflict studies. She has been conducting research with veterans since 2009, and continues to be inspired by their courage and personal resolve to move through pain toward recovery, and their unrelenting desire to serve their communities.
Understanding Combat Related Post Traumatic Stress Disorder by
This introduction to the invisible wound of war, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, explains the historical development of PTSD, its myriad symptoms and the most effective psychological and medical treatments. Combining the basic tenets of cognitive psychotherapy and his own military experience, the author explores such topics as PTSD's effects on families and spouses, fear and anxiety, memory difficulties, feelings of guilt or anger, depression and suicidal thoughts, and others. Because it is a hidden, psychological wound, veterans afflicted with PTSD may find it difficult to understand their symptoms. Veterans and their families can better understand PTSD by reading this book.
Tribe : on homecoming and belonging by
We have a strong instinct to belong to small groups defined by clear purpose and understanding--"tribes." This tribal connection has been largely lost in modern society, but regaining it may be the key to our psychological survival. Decades before the American Revolution, Benjamin Franklin lamented that English settlers were constantly fleeing over to the Indians-but Indians almost never did the same. Tribal society has been exerting an almost gravitational pull on Westerners for hundreds of years, and the reason lies deep in our evolutionary past as a communal species. The most recent example of that attraction is combat veterans who come home to find themselves missing the incredibly intimate bonds of platoon life. The loss of closeness that comes at the end of deployment may explain the high rates of post-traumatic stress disorder suffered by military veterans today. Combining history, psychology, and anthropology, Tribe explores what we can learn from tribal societies about loyalty, belonging, and the eternal human quest for meaning. It explains the irony that-for many veterans as well as civilians-war feels better than peace, adversity can turn out to be a blessing, and disasters are sometimes remembered more fondly than weddings or tropical vacations. Tribe explains why we are stronger when we come together, and how that can be achieved even in today's divided world.
Combat to College: applying the military mentality to the classroom : how to succeed as a student veteran by
Combat to College is the book for veterans who want to win the college battle. Veterans must utilize the unique skills and discipline gained in the military to succeed in higher education. Your experiences make you capable of not only graduating but creating the life you want after your military service. When veterans get out of the military, their plan of action often determines whether they live out their dreams or their nightmares. How well you do in college often dictates how well you do in life. Rise up to your potential and navigate college with these straightforward lessons. Maintain your military bearing, confidence and unwavering determination into your next chapter. Make your college success non-negotiable, you earned your GI Bill and its time to grit your teeth and use it.
Coming Back Together: a guide to successful reintegration after your partner returns from military deployment by
When a partner or spouse returns from war, it is a time of joy; but it is also a time of transition, challenges, and uncertainty. The truth is that the process of reintegration can last for years, and it can be a particularly difficult time for both returning heroes and their families. If your partner has recently returned from war, or if they will be returning soon, you should be prepared for the unique challenges that lay ahead. Your loved one may suffer from psychological and physical wounds, experience "battlemind," a condition that leaves them constantly anxious and on-edge, and they may even have post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). If they are uncommunicative, you may feel like you are living with a stranger, and struggle to recreate the bond of intimacy you once shared. In Coming Back Together, clinical psychologist Steven L. Sayers offers real tools to help you reestablish family routines and build a stronger sense of intimacy with your partner after a military deployment, even if they are resistant to help. The challenges of reintegration can come as a surprise, but you can arm yourself with the skills needed to face this difficult time and help your partner build the resilience needed to heal. This book will be your guide.
Veterans: Benefits, Issues, Policies, and Programs. Volume 5 by
This book provides an overview of the benefits, issues, policies and programs relating to our military service members. Topics discussed in this issue include veterans' exposure to Agent Orange; disability compensation; military sexual trauma; VA benefits; and a program to assist veterans to acquire commercial driver's licenses.
Veterans: Political, Social and Health Issues by
This book provides insights into the political, social and health issues for Veterans in today's society. Chapter One explores the emotions of shame and guilt in Veterans based on research examining moral injury, survivor guilt, military sexual trauma, and stigma. Chapter Two provides an overview of agricultural initiatives in the transition and reintegration of Veterans. Chapter Three explores the political, social, and health management changes that have occurred in the field of chronic, non-cancer pain in order to provide world class service for our nation's Veterans. Chapter Four reviews the Emotional Freedom Technique to treat Veterans with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). Chapter Five offers suggestions based on clinical experiences for when and how to include family members in Prolonged Exposure (PE) therapy for PTSD, while maintaining fidelity to the treatment protocol. Chapter Six explores research that has been conducted upon the oral health of veterans since 2000. Chapter Seven examines potentially mutually exclusive objectives utilising the principles of beneficence and nonmaleficence in relationship to bioethics and the concept of need. Chapter Eight discusses the continued existence of ethnic disparities in health care for U.S. Veterans Affairs Emergency Departments.
Evaluation of the Disability Determination Process for Traumatic Brain Injury in Veterans by
The Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA) provides disability compensation to veterans with a service-connected injury, and to receive disability compensation from the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), a veteran must submit a claim or have a claim submitted on his or her behalf. Evaluation of the Disability Determination Process for Traumatic Brain Injury in Veterans reviews the process by which the VA assesses impairments resulting from traumatic brain injury for purposes of awarding disability compensation. This report also provides recommendations for legislative or administrative action for improving the adjudication of veterans (TM) claims seeking entitlement to compensation for all impairments arising from a traumatic brain injury.
What's Next for Student Veterans? Moving from Transition to Academic Success by
With the passage of the Post-9/11 GI Bill in 2008, more than 1.4 million service members and their families became eligible for higher education benefits, and veterans from the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan enrolled in colleges and universities in record numbers. The first wave of research about these new student veterans focused primarily on describing their characteristics and the transition from military service to civilian life and the college campus. This new edited collection presents findings from the second wave of research about student veterans, with a focus on data-driven evidence of academic success factors, including persistence, retention, degree completion, and employment after college. An invaluable resource for educators poised to enter the next phase of supporting military-connected college students.
Veteran Employment: Lessons from the 100,000 Jobs Mission by
Eleven companies cofounded the 100,000 Jobs Mission in 2011 to promote veteran employment. The coalition has grown to more than 175 member companies, representing almost every U.S. industry. These companies have hired more than 190,000 veterans as of September 2014, already far exceeding the original goal. RAND interviewed member companies to capture lessons and experiences and to identify further improvements to veteran employment opportunities.
Veterans: Health Issues, Coping Strategies and Benefits by
In this book, the authors discuss topical issues relating to veterans including transfusion therapy for veteran patients; low serum vitamin D and its association with metabolic syndrome in African American and Caucasian American male veterans; eye care issues in veterans; substandard and lack of affordable housing in the veteran population; the rehabilitation of shaken soldier syndrome; and genetic markers in suicidal and non-suicidal veterans with combat-related post-traumatic stress disorder.
Health Care for Veterans: Background, Education, System Reform and Improvements by
The federal government's role in providing health care to the nation's veterans can be traced back to World War I. The VA provides health care and health-related services through the Veterans Health Administration (VHA). VHA's primary mission is to provide health care services to eligible veterans and some family members. The VHA is also statutorily required to conduct medical research, to train health care professionals, to serve as a contingency backup to the Department of Defense (DOD) medical system during a national security emergency, and to provide support to the National Disaster Medical System and the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) as necessary. This book provide information about veterans' health care.
Claim Denied! How to Appeal a VA Denial of Benefits by
"The VA is not your loving Uncle Sam who opens his wallet and says, 'Here you are, nephew--a $1,000 check per month for the rest of your life. That should take the pain out of your service injuries,' " writes John D. Roche. Far from it, he reveals. Though the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 requires Veterans Affairs to assist veterans in developing the foundation to support their claims, in reality if you rely on the VA to find and develop the evidence necessary to grant benefits then your claim is likely to be denied. Claim Denied! will help those veterans whose benefits have been denied correct the mistakes they made when they submitted their original claims. Appealing a VA decision is not an impossible feat, Roche says, but a veteran's story must be presented in a well-organized and logical format, so any reviewing authority is able to understand the issues as they relate to the laws. This book explains in detail how to develop and present a successful appeal.
The Veteran's Survival Guide: How to File and Collect on VA Claims by
"Claim denied!" All too often millions of veterans have received this response to their legitimate claims for federal benefits. In most cases, writes veterans' advocate John D. Roche, the claimant didn't understand the procedures needed to meet the myriad requirements of the Department of Veterans Affairs. With the appeals process requiring years to resolve disputes, deserving veterans and their dependents are left confused and frustrated by the agency and a system that was created to serve them. The answer is to submit a well-grounded claim initially, which The Veteran's Survival Guide, now in a revised, second edition, analyzes in detail. This unique book, written in an accessible self-help style, will be required reading for any veteran or veteran's dependent who wishes to obtain his or her well-earned benefits and for those officials of veterans' service organizations who assist veterans with their claims.
When the Warrior Returns: Making the Transition at Home by
Nearly two million soldiers, sailors, marines, and airmen have been deployed in recent conflicts. When the Warrior Returns addresses the practical and psychological needs of the families of these transitioning service members and provides a convenient list of key resources. Combining the knowledge of fifty experts, the book provides answers to questions about the post-deployment transition process, how it affects families, and how family members can help their service members and themselves navigate the transition successfully as a family. These experts provide straightforward answers to questions about the transition process and how it impacts the warrior and their children. A one-stop source of information filled with useful advice, this book is unequalled. The book features a foreword by Patty Shinseki and is published in cooperation with the Association of the United States Army.
Adapt and Overcome: Essays on the Student Veteran Experience by
The essays in Adapt and Overcome: Essays on the Student Veteran Experience explore issues faced by veteran-students when they confront the demands of college. Written for students, faculty and staff, and university administrators, the text helps readers gain a deeper understanding of the veteran-student experience and addresses how to support these students in order to maximize their chances for success.In the essays veterans discuss their reasons for joining the military and how their military experiences contributed to their decisions to attend college, as well as things they found stressful about pursuing further education. They write about strategies that worked for them as college students and share their ideas about how colleges and universities can be more supportive. Other topics include their need to acquire completely new skill sets to succeed academically and the reluctance they often experience in asking for help. Faculty and other university staff also write about helping student veterans succeed in academia.Adapt and Overcome is for those involved in veteran success initiatives and those wishing to understand and support the veteran in their own lives. Readers enhance their abilities to help veteran-students transition from the military to college and on to enriching and successful professional lives.