Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowUse this database to find articles on many subjects concerning business such as: accounting, acquisitions & mergers, advertising, banking, building & construction, computers, economics, entertainment industry, finance, health care, insurance, international business, marketing, real estate, small business, technology, etc. The content in this database is also part of OmniFile Full Text Mega.
This link opens in a new windowWith over 460,000 company profiles, including 2,000 with deep links to related content and statistical data, Gale Business Insights: Global provides daily updates to keep up with the ever-changing corporate landscape. Includes: Profiles of every U.N. recognized country including 90+ Economist Intelligence Unit reports; SWOT reports (quarterly updates), GlobalData industry research reports; Plunkett industry reports; market share and business rankings; company histories and chronologies; global company, country, and business topic overviews with quick links; full-text articles; case studies; business executive video interviews; interactive LiveCharts; and more.
This link opens in a new windowContains articles from journals and magazines focusing primarily on economic topics. Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.
This link opens in a new windowProvides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories throughout the business world. The database is updated daily and includes access to active, full-text periodicals including: Beverage Industry, Black Enterprise, Economist, Entrepreneurship: Theory and Practice, HR Magazine, Real Estate Weekly, Restaurant Business, Tea & Coffee Trade Journal, and more.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. It combines authoritative periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs as well as business students. The database features a variety of resources for entrepreneurs, including the entire Business Plans Handbook series; a tightly indexed collection of small business-focused eBooks from Gale, John Wiley & Sons, and other publishing partners; articles from journals and magazines like The Economist, Inc., Financial Management and The Tax Adviser; and content from local and national newspapers. Users also have access to downloadable podcasts and radio shows, directories, glossaries, and websites to keep up to date with today's industries. The Gale Business: Entrepreneurship interface is mapped to four key stages of building a business-plan, fund, start, and manage-to fit researchers' needs at any point in their business's development.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Check out our Business Journals, available online!
These books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
The AMA Handbook of Business Documents by
From business plans and sales presentations to newsletters and email marketing, The AMA Handbook of Business Documents gives readers the tips, tricks, and specific words they need to make their company come across on page or screen in a way that leads to its success. This versatile guide to preparing first-class written pieces provides readers with dozens of sample documents and practical tips to give them a strategic and creative advantage when crafting proposals, memos, emails, press releases, collection letters, speeches, reports, sales letters, policies and procedures, warning letters, announcements, and much more. You'll learn about the various types of business documents and the parts of a document that spell either big success or big trouble. Suited equally to executives, entrepreneurs, managers, administrative staff, and anyone else charged with putting a business's intentions into words, this handy guide will forever transform the way you communicate your company's identity, products, services, and strengths in written communication.
Business Confidential by
A critical figure in America's Cold War intelligence operations, Peter Earnest knows the surprising similarities between what the Central Intelligence Agency does to coordinate operations and protect the country and what any smart organization can do to protect its bottom line. Now, in this unprecedented book, he's partnering with bestselling author Maryann Karinch to demonstrate what you and your organization can learn from how the CIA does business. Filled with fascinating and instructive examples from CIA operations and the business world, Business Confidential offers insights into the Agency's extraordinary screening, testing, and training practices; methods for supporting employee retention; creative and agile problem-solving strategies; and methods for establishing mission-focused outcomes. You'll learn skills like how to build trust, communicate clearly, work as a team, make tough decisions, succeed in both friendly and hostile territory, and--sometimes--cut your losses.Rather than drawing from restrictive blueprints, the book vividly illustrates the value of the intelligence mindset in today's unpredictable corporate landscape. With insider strategies from one of the world's smartest intelligence organizations, you'll be equipped with the intel you need to propel your team to success.
The Convenience Revolution: How to Deliver a Customer Service Experience That Disrupts the Competition and Creates Fierce Loyalty by
Whether you're trying to out-service a competitor or disrupt an entire industry, creating less friction and being more convenient for your customers should be your strategy. When you raise the convenience bar, you create the next level of amazing customer experience. And, when you do, your customers will reward you with their money, their loyalty and their referrals. That's the advantage of joining The Convenience Revolution. Book jacket.
Benefits of Coaching in Management in Terms of Social Intelligence Enhancement by
Are you a manager who wants to have a satisfied and happy team to work with? Are you training to become one? Are you a business coach or aiming to become one? Are you a management or business student trying hard to learn how to be successful in the field? Are you an academician, a researcher, or a psychologist? Or are you simply someone who wants or has to work with people and thus needs to know how to do so effectively? If you answer yes to at least one of these questions, then the presented publication is designed particularly for you. It contains essential information on what managerial coaching is, how it works, how it can help in social interactions, and how it can enhance the social intelligence of managers as well as their subordinates. The book further presents information on what social intelligence is, how it can be developed and measured, and how it can be enhanced not only by successful managerial coaching, but also corporate training. It includes the results of several research studies dedicated to these matters, and provides two complete methodologies for measurement of social intelligence (MESI Measuring Social Intelligence) and coaching (AC Assessment of Coaching) as effective managerial tools.
Growing Yourself As a Leader: Technical Leadership Capabilities by
The development of technical leadership capabilities is often overlooked as a training requirement in organisations but these are key to business success.In this book, management experts Brian Sutton and Robina Chatham describe six management techniques to help you develop your leadership capabilities and grow as a leader. With real life examples, tips and mini exercises, you'll also boost your soft skills as you progress your personal and professional development.
Make It Right : 5 Steps to Align Your Manufacturing Business From the Frontline to the Bottom Line by
Leading a manufacturing business does not need to be so difficult! Manufacturing can be frustrating because of endless people challenges, equipment failures, schedule interruptions, and the looming threat of major quality issues. Labor costs rise, employee and customer expectations increase, manufacturing budgets are cut – and you're required to deliver more with less. In this groundbreaking book, Kevin Snook reveals how the manufacturing leader can be instrumental in making it right. He shares simple but powerful practices for rapidly turning a manufacturing division around, distilling his 30 years of frontline experience with managing hundreds of the world's best (and worst) manufacturing companies into a step-by-step alignment process that you can use to implement change that's effective in days rather than years. Kevin has led companies around the world based on the methods of management legends like Peter F. Drucker, and has implemented lean, high-performance work systems. In the era of Industry 4.0, Kevin has built on those foundations to formulate a highly effective process for aligning your manufacturing organization to deliver sustainable growth. Thes message in Make It Right is clear: Leading a highly successful manufacturing company can be simple, enjoyable, and thoroughly rewarding – if you align the process from the frontline to the bottom line.
Disrupters : Success Strategies From Women Who Break the Mold by
Only 4% of women are CEOs and women make up only 18% of board seats around the globe. But if all the research shows that the odds are stacked against women, what can we learn from the women who managed to reach the pinnacle of success despite the obstacles of systemic bias in corporate America? Disrupters: Success Strategies from Women Who Break the Mold explores what has enabled some women to not just break the glass ceiling but to shatter it against all odds. Dr. Patti Fletcher includes in her book first-person in-depth interviews with dozens of trailblazing women executives and board members. This exciting and uplifting book demystifies what it takes to go where so few have gone before by: Exploring the mindsets that help or hinder success against all odds Discovering the right time to begin the journey to a role that feels too big and too hard to obtain Learning the secrets to success that separate those who succeed from those who do not Building a personal board of directors to help you catapult yourself to the boardroom Case studies and interviews will include women of diverse races, ages, backgrounds, and industries -- all sharing what it means to achieve their own version of success
The Essential Guide to Workplace Investigations by
Learn how to conduct a full and fair workplace investigation Workplace complaints carry serious legal and financial risks to a company, so it's essential to act fast when you receive an employee complaint. But an ineffective or poorly handled investigation can land your company in even more trouble than not performing one at all. In the era of #MeToo, it's more important than ever to ensure your investigation is complete, impartial, and timely. The Essential Guide to Workplace Investigations shows you how to legally and successfully investigate and resolve any type of complaint or problem. It covers common workplace issues such as harassment, discrimination, violence, drug and alcohol use, and employee theft. The book guides you through each step of an effective investigation, including: deciding whether to investigate taking immediate action, if necessary choosing an investigator planning the investigation interviewing witnesses gathering and evaluating the evidence taking action documenting the investigation, and following up. With Downloadable Forms You can download all the forms you need, including sample policies, checklists, templates, and resources at Nolo.com
Minds at Work: Managing for Success in the Knowledge Economy by
In their book, Minds at Work, management authorities David Grebow and Stephen J. Gill share what happens when managers empower and inspire people to seek out learning at a moment's notice. They capture this turning point as managers transition from a "command and control" position to become advocates of communication and collaboration. To motivate a modern workforce, managers must encourage uninhibited, freeform learning, and nurture communities of learning, practice, and cooperation that allow people to come together and produce meaningful work. Minds at Work features success stories from forward-looking companies that have redefined norms, made knowledge sharing flat, and created a workplace culture built to last.
The 99 Day Diversity Challenge: Creating an Inclusive Workplace by
Is it really possible for an individual or an organization to develop an inclusion and diversity mindset within the proverbial 99 days? Award-winning social entrepreneur Dr Saundarya Rajesh, one of India's most prominent diversity strategists who is credited with having ushered in the 'second-career' revolution for women professionals, believes it is. In an engaging, gentle, often light-hearted way, Dr Rajesh demystifies this vast subject of Diversity & Inclusion (D&I) for the business leader, the diversity enthusiast and even the young professional who is curious about this topic. Over a set of 99 stories, anecdotes and thought blogs, this book sequentially uncovers what inclusion and diversity means and how this can be absorbed by just about everyone. At the core of The 99 Day Diversity Challengeis the belief that the organizational practice of inclusion actually results in us becoming better human beings. For when we break down differences and create greater connectedness between people, we are building a better world. What is The 99 Day Diversity Challenge? * A never-before account of the nascent experiences of implementing the culture of D&I at the Indian workplace * A precise explanation on the different strands of diversity, how to leverage each strand and the future of the D&I thought * A handy guide to set organizational inclusion goals, design a methodology to accomplish them and track your progress * An interesting 'user manual' to unlock the diverse human potential at your workplace
Employee Confidence : The New Rules of Engagement by
SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2019 BUSINESS BOOK AWARDS Are your people the change you want to see? Employee Engagement figures are flagging. Employees are disgruntled, stressed or underutilised, or all three. The world is changing faster than ever before, and companies and entire industries are fighting for survival. Employees have never been more needed and valuable. So why are we pursuing the same old unsuccessful Engagement models when accessing the full potential of our human capital has never been more critical? Karen J Hewitt urges us to look at Employee Engagement from a whole new level, with a methodology to bring out a company's real leadership potential, and within every single employee. A whole host of practical techniques (the new rules of Engagement) bring Employee Confidence to life, showing us how to create workplaces where employees thrive and drive company performance.
Dynamic Communication: 27 Strategies to Grow, Lead, and Manage Your Business by
You’d be hard pressed to find a job advertisement where "effective communication skills” wasn’t somewhere in the description. Yet communication is one of the biggest problems plaguing businesses today. One reason is because communication training is often done in isolation--working on one skill at a time, but never connecting it to the bigger picture. This book is that bigger picture--where all the pieces come together for dynamic communication to exist and help business owners lead, manage, and sell. Dynamic Communication combines the author's business experience and theoretical background as a university communications instructor to create this model--an equation with three variables that encompasses what you need for dynamic and successful communication that moves people to action. Dynamic Communication contains three variables: connect, listen, and articulate. The proposed book takes each variable, explains it, applies it in the three main business audience types--internal audiences, external audiences, and consumer audiences--and shows the reader how to identify which variable is missing and how to correct it. It’s an action-oriented model that drives results for the user, thus producing better managed, better connected, better articulated, and therefore better producing businesses.
Encyclopedia of Management
Covers numerous topics in management theories and applications, such as aggregate planning, benchmarking, logistics, diversification strategy, non-traditional work arrangements, performance measurement, productivity measures, supply chain management, and much more.
These books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
A Dictionary of Business and Management by
This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary contains over 7,100 entries covering all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behaviour, business strategy, law, and taxation. In its sixth edition, it features the very latest developments, such as those relatingto information technology (including mobile technology), and the financial crisis and the subsequent sovereign debt crisis. Entries have been updated to refer to recent events and news in the field, for example the LIBOR scandal.Over 100 new entries have been added including bitcoin, Cog's Ladder, mobile commerce, Six Sigma, social media, theory of institutional deficiencies, and zero-hours contract. Furthermore, there is expanded coverage of areas such as financial regulation and corporate social responsibility, with anumber of new entries offering insight into these topics, including aw-shucks defence and Financial Conduct Authority.The new edition of this established bestselling dictionary elucidates modern financial and management jargon, defining entries in a clear, concise, and accessible manner. With recommended web links for many entries, accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Business and Managementcompanion website, this edition is more informative than ever. This A--Z reference work is essential for business students, teachers and professionals, and useful for anyone needing a guide to business terminology.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
