Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
If you want to browse the collection, these are some call numbers where you can find books censorship:
This is a list of suggested terms to use in a search for Censorship resources in the Library Catalog:
These books are in the circulating collection. You may check them out for five weeks at a time. When you click on the book, it will take you to the catalog, where you can check whether the book is currently available, or when it is due back, as well as where it is located.
Banned Books by
Immerse yourself in the stories behind the most shocking and infamous books ever published! Censorship of one form or another has existed almost as long as the written word, while definitions of what is deemed "acceptable" in published works have shifted over the centuries, and from culture to culture. Banned Books explores why some of the world's most important literary classics and seminal non-fiction titles were once deemed too controversial for the public to read - whether for challenging racial or sexual norms, satirizing public figures, or simply being deemed unfit for young readers. From the banning of All Quiet on the Western Front and the repeated suppression of On the Origin of the Species, to 1984, Fahrenheit 45, Catcher in the Rye and Huckleberry Fin, this must-have volume examines the astonishing role that some banned books have played in changing history. Packed with eye-opening insights into the history of the written word, and the political and social climate during the period of suppression or censorship, this is a must-read for anyone interested in literature; creative writing; politics; history or the law. Delve into this compelling collection of the world's most controversial books to discover: - Covers a broad range of genres and subject areas in fiction and non-fiction, ranging from Alice's Adventures in Wonderland to Spycatcher - Offers informative insights into society, politics, law, and religious beliefs, in different countries around the world - Features images of first editions and specially commissioned illustrations of the books' authors - Includes extracts from the banned books along with key quotations about them - Completely global in scope A must-have volume for avid readers and literary scholars alike, alongside those with an interest in the law, politics and censorship, Banned Books profiles a selection of the most infamous, intriguing and controversial books ever written, whilst offering a unique perspective on the history of the written word, with insights into the often surprising reasons books have been banned throughout history and across the world. Whether as a gift or self-purchase, this brilliant book is a must-have addition to the library of curious thinkers, borrowers and lifelong learners. If you enjoy Banned Books, then why not try Great Loves - the first title in DK's quirky new hardback series, full of insightful and intriguing topics.
Literature Suppressed on Political Grounds by
"Throughout history, tyrants, totalitarian states, church institutions, and democratic governments alike have banned books that challenged their assumptions or questioned their activities. Political suppression also occurs in the name of security and the safeguarding of official secrets and is often used as a weapon in larger cultural or political battles. This title illustrates the extent and frequency of such censorship in nearly every form of writing." --From publisher description
Censorship by
Presents a collection of essays regarding censorship, including censorship of the Internet, worldwide censorship, and the possible limits of free speech.
You Can't Air That: four cases of controversy and censorship in American television programming by
Describes the corporate censorship--as opposed to government censorship--of four television programs that aired on the four major broadcast networks between the 1967 and 2002. These are The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour, The Richard Pryor Show, TV Nation, and Politically Incorrect with Bill Maher. He briefly traces the history of the government, commercial, and pressure-group regulatory forces that led to constraints on commercial network television in the US during the last half of the 20th century. (Booknews)
Shoot the Singer! Music censorship today by
From gangsta rap to narcocorrigos and beyond, this unique book is the first worldwide presentation of contemporary cases of music censorship. With an accompanying CD of banned music from around the world, the book also includes a discussion of the causes, methods and logic behind contemporary attempts by governments, commercial corporations, and religious authorities to prevent people from hearing certain kinds of music and, in particular, the content of particular songs.
Indelible Ink : the trials of John Peter Zenger and the birth of America's free press by 
Free Speech and Unfree News: the paradox of press freedom in America by 
Unlearning Liberty: campus censorship and the end of American debate by 
Silenced in the Library : banned books in America by
Censorship has been an ongoing phenomenon even in "the land of the free." This examination of banned books across U.S. history examines the motivations and effects of censorship, shows us how our view of right and wrong has evolved over the years, and helps readers to understand the tremendous importance of books and films in our society. * Provides readers with a broad understanding of the different levels of censorship * Puts challenges to books into historical context of societal standards and current events * Takes both historical and literary perspectives, recognizing the lasting cultural influences of texts and their literary significance * Presents biographical background of major authors who have been challenged * Identifies the source and explains the result of challenges to the most important or influential banned books * Compares challenges to controversial books against similar challenges to controversial films, television shows, and video games
Attacks on the Press by
The most comprehensive guide to the global state of free press in 2015 Attacks on the Press is the world's most comprehensive guide to international press freedom. Compiled by the Committee to Protect Journalists, this informative guide features analytical essays from CPJ and other experts and provides a platform for direct advocacy with governments and the diplomatic community to give voice to journalists worldwide. Reporters and photographers face a myriad of risks, from highly publicized murder to imprisonment, cyberattacks, harassment, frivolous lawsuits, and censorship. The risks are increasing due to widespread unrest and in response to the broad dissemination of critical information through social media and the Internet. This book gives journalists a seat at the discussions at the United Nations, Organization of American States, European Union, African Union, and more, to protect journalists and the freedom of press that is so essential to human rights. By publicly revealing abuses against the press and acting on behalf of imprisoned and threatened journalists, CPJ effectively warns journalists and news organizations where free press is in danger. This book is their annual guide to where these attacks are occurring, and who is doing the attacking. Assess dangers to freelance journalists in conflict zones Evaluate new forms of censorship in places like Egypt, Hong Kong, and Turkey Contemplate the long-range impacts of the publicized executions of journalists by militant groups Review available cybersecurity measures and the price journalists pay to keep up with spies Analyze the 10 most censored countries in the world Strong press freedom encourages the growth of a robust civil society, which leads to stable, sustainable democracies and healthy social, political, and economic development. Attacks on the Press is the most comprehensive annual survey of global press freedom, and a calling out of those who threaten it.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
