Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
This link opens in a new windowCurated for library science students and information science and technology professionals. The database is updated daily with articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, and more.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowUse this database to find articles on topics in library & information science such as: automation, care & restoration of books, cataloging, censorship, children's literature, classification, copyright, electronic searching, indexing, internet software, library associations, library equipment, preservation, rare books, web sites, and more. Many articles are full-text. The content in this database is also part of OmniFile Full Text Mega.
This link opens in a new windowBrings together information found in hundreds of journals. Articles covering all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, marketing, public relations, linguistics, graphic arts, photography, writers, editors, publishers, journalists, engineering and technology, broadcasting, and more.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowUse this database to find articles on topics in education such as: adult education, arts, athletics, comparative education, computers in education, distance education, educational technology, elementary education, government funding, higher education, instructional media, language arts, library science, literacy standards, multicultural education, preschool education, school administration, secondary education, special education, teaching methods, vocational education, and more. Many articles are full-text. The content in this database is also part of OmniFile Full Text Mega.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowThese books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
Censored: A Literary History of Subversion and Control by
When Henry Vizetelly was imprisoned in 1889 for publishing the novels of Émile Zola in English, the problem was not just Zola?s French candour about sex ? it was that Vizetelly?s books were cheap, and ordinary people could read them. Censored exposes the role that power plays in censorship. In twenty-five chapters focusing on a wide range of texts, including the Bible, slave narratives, modernist classics, comic books, and Chicana/o literature, Matthew Fellion and Katherine Inglis chart the forces that have driven censorship in the United Kingdom and the United States for over six hundred years, from fears of civil unrest and corruptible youth to the oppression of various groups ? religious and political dissidents, same-sex lovers, the working class, immigrants, women, racialized people, and those who have been incarcerated or enslaved. The authors also consider the weight of speech, and when restraints might be justified. Rich with illustrations that bring to life the personalities and the books that feature in its stories, Censored takes readers behind the scenes into the courtroom battles, legislative debates, public campaigns, and private exchanges that have shaped the course of literature. A vital reminder that the freedom of speech has always been fragile and never enjoyed equally by all, Censored offers lessons from the past to guard against threats to literature in a new political era.
Free Speech and Censorship Around the Globe by
This book focuses on regulatory challenges of creating and sustaining freedom of speech and freedom of information two decades after the fall of the Berlin wall, in global, comparative context. Some chapters overview, others address specific issues, or describe country case studies. Instead of trying to provide an exhaustive assessment which in one volume might not reach deeper analyzes of contextual details, this book will shed light on and help better understanding of general challenges for freedom of speech and information through varying comparative examples and highlighting important regulatory questions.
Censorship and Cultural Regulation in the Modern Age by
Censorship' has become a fashionable topic, not only because of newly available archival material from Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union, but also because the new censorship' (inspired by the works of Foucault and Bourdieu) has widened the very concept of censorhip beyond its conventional boundaries. This volume uses these new materials and perspectives to address the relationship of censorship to cultural selection processes (such as canon formation), economic forces, social exclusion, professional marginalization, silencing through specialized discourses, communicative norms, and other forms of control and regulation.Two articles in this collection investigate these issue theoretically. The remaining eight contributions address the issues by investigating censorial practice across time and space.
Behind the Carbon Curtain: The Energy Industry, Political Censorship, and Free Speech by
Exploring censorship imposed by corporate wealth and power, this book focuses on the energy industry in Wyoming, where coal, oil, and gas are pillars of the economy. The author examines how governmental bodies and public institutions have suppressed the expression of ideas that conflict with the financial interests of those who profit from fossil fuels. He reveals the ways in which university administrations, art museums, education boards, and research institutes have been coerced into destroying artwork, abandoning studies, modifying curricula, and firing employees. His book is an eloquent story of the conflict between private wealth and free speech. Providing more of the nation's energy than any other state, Wyoming is a sociopolitical lens that magnifies the conflicts in the American West. But the issues are relevant to any community that is dependent on a dominant industry--and wherever the liberties of citizens and the ethics of public officials are at risk.
Unlearning Liberty: Campus Censorship and the End of American Debate by
For over a generation, shocking cases of censorship at America's colleges and universities have taught students the wrong lessons about living in a free society. Drawing on a decade of experience battling for freedom of speech on campus, First Amendment lawyer Greg Lukianoff reveals how higher education fails to teach students to become critical thinkers: by stifling open debate, our campuses are supercharging ideological divisions, promoting groupthink, and encouraging an unscholarly certainty about complex issues. Lukianoff walks readers through the life of a modern-day college student, from orientation to the end of freshman year. Through this lens, he describes startling violations of free speech rights: a student in Indiana punished for publicly reading a book, a student in Georgia expelled for a pro-environment collage he posted on Facebook, students at Yale banned from putting an F. Scott Fitzgerald quote on a T shirt, and students across the country corralled into tiny "free speech zones" when they wanted to express their views. But Lukianoff goes further, demonstrating how this culture of censorship is bleeding into the larger society. As he explores public controversies involving Juan Williams, Rush Limbaugh, Bill Maher, Richard Dawkins, Larry Summers--even Dave Barry and Jon Stewart--Lukianoff paints a stark picture of our ability as a nation to discuss important issues rationally. Unlearning Liberty: Campus Censorship and the End of American Debate illuminates how intolerance for dissent and debate on today's campus threatens the freedom of every citizen and makes us all just a little bit dumber.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
