Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
If you want to browse the collection, these are some call numbers where you can find books about Computer Science.
This is a list of suggested terms to use in a search for Computer Science resources in the Library Catalog:
The following titles are available on the main (2nd) floor in the Audio/Visual Room:
The Man Who Invented the Computer: the biography of John Atanasoff, digital pioneer by
Traces the originating role of physics professor John Vincent Atanasoff to the invention of the computer, describing his innovative construction of an unpatented electronic device that used binary numbers to ease the lives of burdened scientists.
Operating Systems Demystified by
Hard stuff made easy! Your practical, self-paced guide to operating system fundamentals. Operating Systems DeMYSTiFieD is an easy way to understand how operating systems enable computer hardware and software to communicate successfully with each other.
Raspberry Pi Electronics Projects for the Evil Genius by 
The Rust Programming Language by
The Rust Programming Languageis the official book on Rust; a community-developed, systems programming language that runs blazingly fast, prevents segfaults, and guarantees thread safety. Rust's memory safety guarantees, enforced at compile time, safeguard your programs against the many problems that pervade other systems languages. Rust offers the control and performance of a low-level language with the helpful abstractions of a high level one, and does this all without having a garbage collector. These characteristics make Rust useful for embedding in other languages, programs with specific space and time requirements, and writing low-level code, like device drivers and operating systems. The Rust Programming Languagebegins with a quick hands-on project to introduce the basics, then explores key concepts in depth, such as ownership, the type system, error handling, and fearless concurrency. Detailed explanations of Rust-oriented takes on topics like pattern matching, iterators, and smart pointers combine with examples and exercises to take you from theory to practice. In addition to its thorough coverage of more granular topics, The Rust Programming Languagewill show you how to- rasp important concepts unique to Rust like ownership, borrowing, and lifetimes se Cargo, Rust's built-in package manager, to build your code, including downloading and building dependencies ffectively use Rust's zero-cost abstractions and learn to build your own Developed with help from the community, The Rust Programming Languageis your official guide to becoming a productive Rust programmer.
Beginning Ruby: from novice to professional by
Based on the bestselling first edition, Beginning Ruby: From Novice to Professional, Second Edition is the leading guide for every type of reader who wants to learn Ruby from the ground up. The new edition of this book provides the same excellent introduction to Ruby as the first edition plus updates for the newest version of Ruby, including the addition of the Sinatra and Ramaze web application frameworks and a chapter on GUI development so developers can take advantage of these new trends. Beginning Ruby starts by explaining the principles behind object-oriented programming and within a few chapters builds toward creating a full Ruby application. By the end of the book, in addition to in-depth knowledge of Ruby, you'll also have basic understanding of many ancillary technologies such as SQL, XML, web frameworks, and networking. Introduces readers to the Ruby programming language Takes readers from basic programming skills to web development with topics like Ruby-based frameworks and GUI programming Covers many ancillary technologies in order to provide a broader picture (e.g., databases, XML, network daemons)
Murach's Beginning Java with Eclipse by
Want to learn Java? This beginning book brings an exciting, new approach to Java instruction that eases the learning curve and uses the Eclipse IDE to make you productive as quickly as possible. In fact, in just 22 chapters, you'll grow from beginner to entry-level professional! Along the way, this book presents all of the critical skills that you need to move on to web or mobile development with Java. It presents object-oriented features like inheritance, interfaces, and polymorphism in a way that's both understandable and useful in the real world. It covers the most important features introduced in Java 8 such as lambda expressions and the new date/time API. It provides realistic sample applications that put these skills into context. It provides exercises that you can use to gain valuable hands-on experience. And it's all done in the distinctive Murach style that has been training professional programmers for over 40 years.
The Internet of Things : do-it-yourself projects with Arduino, Raspberry Pi, and BeagleBone Black by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Tap into the Internet of Things (IoT) with innovative projects! The Internet of Things:Do-It-Yourself at Home Projects for Arduino, Raspberry Pi, and BeagleBone Black gets you started working with the most popular processing platforms and wireless communication technologies to connect devices and systems to the Internet using sensors. You'll learn the basics of object-oriented programming and relational databases so you can complete your projects with ease. Each project features a list of required tools and components, how-to explanations with photos and illustrations, and complete programming code. Take advantage of the power and versatility of the IoT with help from this practical, easy-to-follow guide. Inventive DIY projects include: Home temperature monitoring system Raspberry Pi home weather station Webcam and Raspberry Pi camera Internet-enabled, Arduino-powered garage door opener Arduino irrigation control system Arduino lighting controller BeagleBone Black message controller BeagleBone Black temperature sensor with cloud service Machine-to-Machine communications Software downloads for the book are available at www.mhprofessional.com/iot
Beginning Python by
Gain a fundamental understanding of Python's syntax and features with this up-to-date introduction and practical reference. Covering a wide array of Python-related programming topics, including addressing language internals, database integration, network programming, and web services, you'll be guided by sound development principles. Ten accompanying projects will ensure you can get your hands dirty in no time. Updated to reflect the latest in Python programming paradigms and several of the most crucial features found in Python 3, Beginning Python also covers advanced topics such as extending Python and packaging/distributing Python applications. What You'll Learn Become a proficient Python programmer by following along with a friendly, practical guide to the language's key features Write code faster by learning how to take advantage of advanced features such as magic methods, exceptions, and abstraction Gain insight into modern Python programming paradigms including testing, documentation, packaging, and distribution Learn by following along with ten interesting projects, including a P2P file-sharing application, chat client, video game, remote text editor, and more Who This Book Is For Programmers, novice and otherwise, seeking a comprehensive introduction to the Python programming language.
Beginning Ethical Hacking with Python by
Ethical hacking is closely related to Python. For this reason this book is organized in three parts. The first part deals with the basics of ethical hacking; the second part deals with Python 3; and the third part deals with more advanced features of ethical hacking.This book will set you up with a foundation that will help you understand the advanced concepts of hacking in the future. Learn Ethical Hacking with Python 3 touches the core issues of cyber security: in the modern world of interconnected computers and the Internet, security is increasingly becoming one of the most important features of programming.
Practical Web Design for Absolute Beginners by
Learn the fundamentals of modern web design, rather than relying on CMS programs, such as WordPress or Joomla!. You will be introduced to the essentials of good design and how to optimize for search engines. You will discover how to register a domain name and migrate a website to a remote host. Because you will have built the web pages yourself, you will know exactly how HTML and CSS work. You have will complete control over your websites and their maintenance. Practical Website Design for Absolute Beginners centers around introducing small amounts of new code in short practical chapters and provides many website templates that can be easily adapted for your own websites. Each chapter builds on the templates created in the previous chapter. You are provided with a practical project to complete in most chapters, and taught to produce practical web pages right from the start. In the first chapter you will install and configure a free text editor, then you will produce the structure for your first web page. You will then gradually learn to create more sophisticated and increasingly practical web pages and websites. In this book you will be encouraged by means of a series of achievable goals, and you will be rewarded by the knowledge that you are learning something valuable and really worthwhile. You will not have to plow through daunting chapters of disembodied code theory because the code is described and explained in context within each project. Because each project is fully illustrated, you will see clearly what you are expected to achieve as you create each web page. What You'll Learn Provides instructions for installing a text editor for producing HTML and CSS Shows you step-by-step how to build and test web pages and websites Teaches you how to ensure that your websites are attractive and useful Describes how to make the most effective use of color and images Teaches you the essential features of search engine optimization Shows you how to migrate your website to a remote host Who This Book Is For Practical Website Design for Absolute Beginners is for people who want to begin designing their own websites. It uses a highly motivational, easily assimilated step-by-step approach where you will start learning practical skills from the very first chapter. The book is an excellent choice for people who have computer skills but would also like to learn HTML and CSS. For readers who have little or no knowledge of HTML and CSS, the book will teach enough to complete all the projects in the book.
HTML5 and CSS3 for the Real World by
HTML5 and CSS3 for the Real World is your perfect introduction to the latest generation of web technologies. This easy-to-follow guide covers everything you need to know to get started today. You'll master the semantic markup available in HTML5, as well as how to use CSS3 to create amazing-looking websites without resorting to complex workarounds. You'll learn how to: Lose that pesky Flash habit by embracing native HTML5 video Set type that truly supports your message Build intelligent web forms that users will love! Design modern web apps the shine on mobile devices Create dynamic, efficient graphics on the fly with SVG and canvas Use shiny new APIs to add geolocation and offline functionality Build your own full featured HTML5 website, the HTML5 Herald This easy-to-follow guide is illustrated with lots of examples, and leads readers through the process of creating great websites from start to finish using HTML5 and CSS3.
Internet of Things a to Z: Technologies and applications by
A comprehensive overview of the Internet of Things' core concepts, technologies, and applications Internet of Things A to Z offers a holistic approach to the Internet of Things (IoT) model. The Internet of Things refers to uniquely identifiable objects and their virtual representations in an Internet-like structure. Recently, there has been a rapid growth in research on IoT communications and networks, that confirms the scalability and broad reach of the core concepts. With contributions from a panel of international experts, the text offers insight into the ideas, technologies, and applications of this subject. The authors discuss recent developments in the field and the most current and emerging trends in IoT. In addition, the text is filled with examples of innovative applications and real-world case studies. Internet of Things A to Z fills the need for an up-to-date volume on the topic. This important book: Covers in great detail the core concepts, enabling technologies, and implications of the Internet of Things Addresses the business, social, and legal aspects of the Internet of Things Explores the critical topic of security and privacy challenges for both individuals and organizations Includes a discussion of advanced topics such as the need for standards and interoperability Contains contributions from an international group of experts in academia, industry, and research Written for ICT researchers, industry professionals, and lifetime IT learners as well as academics and students, Internet of Things A to Z provides a much-needed and comprehensive resource to this burgeoning field.
Intersectional Tech: Black users in digital gaming by
In Intersectional Tech: Black Users in Digital Gaming, Kishonna L. Gray interrogates blackness in gaming at the intersections of race, gender, sexuality, and (dis)ability. Situating her argument within the context of the concurrent, seemingly unrelated events of Gamergate and the Black Lives Matter movement, Gray highlights the inescapable chains that bind marginalized populations to stereotypical frames and limited narratives in video games. Intersectional Tech explores the ways that the multiple identities of black gamers?some obvious within the context of games, some more easily concealed?affect their experiences of gaming. The normalization of whiteness and masculinity in digital culture inevitably leads to isolation, exclusion, and punishment of marginalized people. Yet, Gray argues, we must also examine the individual struggles of prejudice, discrimination, and microaggressions within larger institutional practices that sustain the oppression. These ?new? racisms and a complementary colorblind ideology are a kind of digital Jim Crow, a new mode of the same strategies of oppression that have targeted black communities throughout American history. Drawing on extensive interviews that engage critically with identity development and justice issues in gaming, Gray explores the capacity for gaming culture to foster critical consciousness, aid in participatory democracy, and effect social change. Intersectional Tech is rooted in concrete situations of marginalized members within gaming culture. It reveals that despite the truths articulated by those who expose the sexism, racism, misogyny, and homophobia that are commonplace within gaming communities, hegemonic narratives continue to be privileged. This text, in contrast, centers the perspectives that are often ignored and provides a critical corrective to notions of gaming as a predominantly white and male space.
Proving Ground: the untold story of the six women who programmed the world's first modern computer by
Discover a fascinating look into the lives of six historic trailblazers in this World War II-era story of the American women who programmed the world's first modern computer. After the end of World War II, the race for technological supremacy sped on. Top-secret research into ballistics and computing, begun during the war to aid those on the front lines, continued across the United States as engineers and programmers rushed to complete their confidential assignments. Among them were six pioneering women, tasked with figuring out how to program the world's first general-purpose, programmable, all-electronic computer--better known as the ENIAC--even though there were no instruction codes or programming languages in existence. While most students of computer history are aware of this innovative machine, the great contributions of the women who programmed it were never told--until now. Over the course of a decade, Kathy Kleiman met with four of the original six ENIAC Programmers and recorded extensive interviews with the women about their work. Proving Ground restores these women to their rightful place as technological revolutionaries. As the tech world continues to struggle with gender imbalance and its far-reaching consequences, the story of the ENIAC Programmers' groundbreaking work is more urgently necessary than ever before, and Proving Ground is the celebration they deserve.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
