Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
Articles from journals and books on a variety of topics, including: physical sciences and engineering (chemistry, earth and space sciences, engineering, mathematics and computers, physics and astronomy), life sciences (agriculture, biochemistry, biology, immunology and microbiology, neuroscience), health sciences (nursing, medicine, pharmacology, dentistry, health professions, veterinary medicine), and social sciences and humanities (arts and humanities, business, economics, psychology, social sciences).
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowThe O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes book titles and video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Check out our Computer Science Journals, available online!
These books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
Learning Perl 8th Edition by
If you're just getting started with Perl, this is the book you want--whether you're a programmer, system administrator, or web hacker. Nicknamed "the Llama" by two generations of users, this best seller closely follows the popular introductory Perl course taught by the authors since 1991. This eighth edition covers recent changes to the language up to version 5.34. Perl is suitable for almost any task on almost any platform, from short fixes to complete web applications. Learning Perl teaches you the basics and shows you how to write simple, single-file programs--roughly 90% of the Perl programs in use today. And each chapter includes exercises to help you practice what you've just learned. Other books may teach you to program in Perl, but this book will turn you into a Perl programmer. Topics include: Perl data and variable types Subroutines File operations Regular expressions String manipulation (including Unicode) Lists and sorting Process management Use of third-party modules
Encyclopedia of Computer Science by
This book presents current research in the field of computer science. Topics discussed include developing soft computing approaches for flood level forecasting; soft computing in astronomy; fuzzy linear goal programming applied to solve assets and liability management problems in banks; computer-assisted teaching on science education; inquiry web-based learning to enhance knowledge construction; new forms of and tools for co-operative learning with social software in higher education; e-technology use and abuse in university classrooms; a strategy for analysing digital epistemic games and exploring the educational possibilities of computer games.
Java 9 Programming by Example by
Get the steps you need to discover the world of Java 9 programming using real-world examplesAbout This Book* We bridge the gap between "learning" and "doing" by providing real-world examples that will improve your software development* Our example-based approach will get you started quickly with software programming, get you up-to-speed with Java 9, and improve your Java skills* This book will show you the best practices of Java coding and improve your productivityWho This Book Is ForThis book is for anyone who wants to learn the Java programming language. You are expected to have some prior programming experience with another language, such as JavaScript or Python, but no knowledge of earlier versions of Java is assumed.What You Will Learn* Compile, package and run a trivial program using a build management tool* Get to know the principles of test-driven development and dependency management* Separate the wiring of multiple modules from the application logic into an application using dependency injection* Benchmark Java execution using Java 9 microbenchmarking* See the workings of the Spring framework and use Java annotations for the configuration* Master the scripting API built into the Java language and use the built-in JavaScript interpreter* Understand static versus dynamic implementation of code and high-order reactive programming in JavaIn DetailThis book gets you started with essential software development easily and quickly, guiding you through Java's different facets. By adopting this approach, you can bridge the gap between learning and doing immediately. You will learn the new features of Java 9 quickly and experience a simple and powerful approach to software development. You will be able to use the Java runtime tools, understand the Java environment, and create Java programs.We then cover more simple examples to build your foundation before diving to some complex data structure problems that will solidify your Java 9 skills. With a special focus on modularity and HTTP 2.0, this book will guide you to get employed as a top notch Java developer.By the end of the book, you will have a firm foundation to continue your journey towards becoming a professional Java developer.Style and approachThroughout this book, our aim is to build Java programs. We will be building multiple applications ranging from simpler ones to more complex ones. Learning by doing has its advantages as you will immediately see the concepts explained in action.
Programming Fundamentals Using Java: A Game Application Approach by
This is a Java textbook for beginning programmers that uses game programming as a central pedagogical tool to improve student engagement, learning outcomes, and retention. Game programming is incorporated into the text in a way that does not compromise the amount of material traditionally covered in a basic or advanced programming course and permits instructors who are not familiar with game programming and computer graphics concept to realize their advantages. The material presented in the book is in full compliance with the 2013 ACM/IEEE computer science curriculum guidelines and provides an in-depth discussion of graphical user interfaces (GUIs). It has been used to teach programming to student whose majors are both within and outside of the computing fields. The companion DVD includes a game environment that is easily integrated into projects created with the popular Java Development Environments (Eclipse, NetBeans, and JCreator) and includes a set of executable student games to pique students' interest by giving them a glimpse into their future capabilities. The material in this book can be covered within one or two courses such as a basic programming course followed by an advanced programming course. Features: Uses an objects-early approach to learning Java. Follows the 2013 ACM/IEEE computer science curriculum guidelines Integrates game programming as central pedagogical tool to improve student engagement, learning outcomes, and retention Includes a companion DVD with projects created with the popular Java Development Environments; also includes a set of executable games, source code, and figures Uses working programs to illustrate concepts under discussion Complete instructor's resource package available upon adoption
JQuery Essentials by
Optimize and implement the features of JQuery to build and maintain your websites with minimum hassleAbout This Book- Build dynamic websites efficiently without any performance issues- Learn to use existing jQuery plugins and or write your own for your websites- This is the most up-to-date book on the market at the moment, packed with detailed explanations and real-world examplesWho This Book Is ForWhether you are a beginner or an experienced developer who is looking for quick answers, you will find what you need in this book.What You Will Learn- Quickly find and modify HTML DOM elements- Use animation to add flair to your site- Create your own events to decouple your application- Measure the performance of your website's JavaScript- Write unit tests to ensure that your application is behaving correctly- Use plugins to to save reinventing the wheel and enhance your site quickly- Use client-side validation on forms to prevent your users from sending bad data to your application- Write your own jQuery plugins in order to encapsulate your company's business logicIn DetailJQuery is still the most popular JavaScript library. It is used in over 60% of the top websites on the Internet. It was written to make DOM manipulation (so, moving things around a web page) easier for developers. It acts through JavaScript to ascribe HTML elements to the DOM attributes. Because it is a library of predefined functions, all you need to start using jQuery is a working knowledge of the syntax and a reference for the functions available to you.This practical guide shows you how to make the most of jQuery to boost the performance of your websites and applications. We start off with a quick glance through the basics of JQuery, followed by the explanation of JQuery selectors, filters, and DOM element manipulation. After this, you will learn how events and animations can be used to create and design beautiful and user-friendly sites. Next, you will be familiarized with Ajax functions to help you send and receive data from your server. Finally, we'll walk you through using built-in plugins and eventually create your own plugins for your websites.By the end of this book, you will be able to to build robust and efficient websites successfully using JQuery.Style and approach This book takes a fast but thorough walk through jQuery. The goal is to get you writing fast and efficient jQuery quickly. It uses easy-to-read, jargon-free text and lots of ready-to-use code examples.
JQuery Pocket Primer by
As part of the new Pocket Primer series, this book provides an overview of the major aspects, the source code, and tutorial videos to use jQuery. DVD with code, videos, and graphics included. Features:* Integrated coverage of CSS3, jQuery and other important JS toolkits * Covers jQuery Mobile and HTML5 hybrid mobile apps * Covers BackboneJS and Twitter Bootstrap * Includes companion DVD with source code, tutorial videos, and 4-color graphics
Responsive Web Design with HTML5 and CSS3 Essentials by
Design and deliver an optimal user experience for all devicesAbout This Book- Get to grips with the core functionality of RWD through examples- Discover how to make layouts, content and media flexible, and explore why a content-first approach is more effective- Maximize the performance of your web pages so that they work across all browsers and devices irrespective of the screen sizeWho This Book Is ForThis book is for web designers who are familiar with HTML and CSS, and want to begin with responsive web design. Web development experience and knowledge of HTML5, CSS3 is assumed.What You Will Learn - Explore various layout options- Understand what can be achieved in the browser, without the use of third-party tools- Executing media queries to benefit responsive designs- Understand the basics of responsive workflow and boilerplate frameworks- Improve performance of responsive web design- Maintain compatibility across various browsers In DetailResponsive web design (RWD) is a web design approach aimed at crafting sites to provide an optimal viewing and interaction experience-providing easy reading and navigation with minimum resizing, panning, and scrolling-and all of this across a wide range of devices from desktop computer monitors to mobile phones. Responsive web design is becoming more important as the amount of mobile traffic now accounts for more than half of the Internet's total traffic.This book will give you in depth knowledge about the basics of responsive web design. You will embark on a journey of building effective responsive web pages that work across a range of devices, from mobile phones to smart TVs, with nothing more than standard markup and styling techniques.You'll begin by getting an understanding of what RWD is and its significance to the modern web. Building on the basics, you'll learn about layouts and media queries. Following this, we'll dive into creating layouts using grid based templates. We'll also cover the important topic of performance management, and discover how to tackle cross-browser challenges.Style and approach This is a practical example-based book which will delve into various elements and benefits of a responsive web design. It will help you understand the essential skills needed to create responsive web sites and guide you through the basics of building responsive web pages for any device. The topics are a blend of theoretical and practical essentials which will assist you to explore more about responsive web design.
Learn Python in 7 Days by
Learn efficient Python coding within 7 daysAbout This Book* Make the best of Python features* Learn the tinge of Python in 7 days* Learn complex concepts using the most simple examplesWho This Book Is ForThe book is aimed at aspiring developers and absolute novice who want to get started with the world of programming. We assume no knowledge of Python for this book.What You Will Learn* Use if else statement with loops and how to break, skip the loop* Get acquainted with python types and its operators* Create modules and packages* Learn slicing, indexing and string methods* Explore advanced concepts like collections, class and objects* Learn dictionary operation and methods* Discover the scope and function of variables with arguments and return valueIn DetailPython is a great language to get started in the world of programming and application development. This book will help you to take your skills to the next level having a good knowledge of the fundamentals of Python.We begin with the absolute foundation, covering the basic syntax, type variables and operators. We'll then move on to concepts like statements, arrays, operators, string processing and I/O handling. You'll be able to learn how to operate tuples and understand the functions and methods of lists. We'll help you develop a deep understanding of list and tuples and learn python dictionary. As you progress through the book, you'll learn about function parameters and how to use control statements with the loop. You'll further learn how to create modules and packages, storing of data as well as handling errors. We later dive into advanced level concepts such as Python collections and how to use class, methods, objects in python.By the end of this book, you will be able to take your skills to the next level having a good knowledge of the fundamentals of Python.Style and approachFast paced guide to get you up-to-speed with the language. Every chapter is followed by an exercise that focuses on building something with the language. The codes of the exercises can be found on the Packt website
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
