Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
If you want to browse the collection, these are some call numbers where you can find books about Literature.
This is a list of suggested terms to use in a search for Literary Criticism resources in the Library Catalog:
In addition, you can search by author or title of the work in which you are interested.
The following titles are available on the main (2nd) floor in the Audio/Visual Room:
The history of world literature
Great Courses 4-DVD series with Guide book.
Call #: Great PN523 .V68 2007 DVD (Great Courses)
Great authors of the western literary tradition
This series presents some of the finest teachers in America, lecturing on some of the greatest literature ever written.
Call #: Great PN86 .G73 2005d DVD (Great Courses)
These books are in the circulating collection. You may check them out for three weeks at a time. When you click on the book, it will take you to the catalog, where you can check whether the book is currently available, or when it is due back, as well as where it is located.
How to Read Literature Like a Professor : a lively and entertaining guide to reading between the lines by
Demonstrates how to make everyday reading more rewarding by helping readers understand the symbols, themes, narrative devices and forms, and contexts of literary works.
Writing Essays about Literature: a guide and style sheet by 
African American Literary Criticism, 1773 to 2000 by 
The Art of X-Ray Reading: how the secrets of 25 great works of literature will improve your writing by 
Introducing Literary Criticism: A Graphic Guide by 
Literary Theory: the Complete Guide by
Bringing together Mary Klages's bestselling introductory books Literary Theory: A Guide for the Perplexed and Key Terms in Literary Theory into one fully integrated and substantially revised, expanded and updated volume, this is an accessible and authoritative guide for anyone entering the often bewildering world of literary theory for the first time. Literary Theory: The Complete Guide includes: ¿ Accessible chapters on all the major schools of theory from deconstruction through psychoanalytic criticism to Marxism and postcolonialism ¿ New chapters introducing ecocriticism and biographies ¿ Expanded and updated guides to feminist theory, queer theory, postmodernism and globalization ¿ New and fully integrated extracts of theoretical and literary texts to guide students through their use of theory ¿ Accessible coverage of major theorists such as Saussure, Freud, Lacan, Foucault, Cixous, Deleuze and Guattari and Bhabha Each chapter now includes reflection questions for class discussion or independent study and a cross-referenced glossary of key terms covered, as well as updated guides to further reading on each topic. Literary Theory: The Complete Guide is an essential starting point for students of critical theory.
Charlotte Perkins Gilman and a Woman's Place in America by
A compelling critical investigation into Gilman's conception of setting and place Charlotte Perkins Gilman and a Woman's Place in America is a pioneering collection that probes how depictions of space, confinement, and liberation establish both the difficulty and necessity of female empowerment. Turning Victorian notions of propriety and a woman's place on its ear, this finely crafted essay collection studies Gilman's writings and the manner in which they push back against societal norms and reject male-dominated confines of space. The contributors present fascinating and innovative readings of some of Gilman's most significant works. By examining the settings in "The Yellow Wallpaper" and Herland, for example, the volume analyzes Gilman's construction of place, her representations of male dominance and female subjugation, and her analysis of the rules and obligations that women feel in conforming to their assigned place: the home. Additionally, this volume delineates female resistance to this conformity. Contributors highlight how Gilman's narrators often choose resistance over obedient captivity, breaking free of the spaces imposed upon them in order to seek or create their own habitats. Through biographical interpretations of Gilman's work that focus on the author's own renouncement of her "natural" role of wife and mother, contributors trace her relocation to the American West in an attempt to appropriate the masculinized spaces of work and social organization. Engaging, well-researched, and deftly written, the essays in this collection will appeal to scholars of Gilman, literature, and gender issues alike.
The Things They Carried - Tim O'Brien by
This collection of stories from Tim O'Brien paints an often-brutal portrait of soldiers' lives during the Vietnam War. More than two decades after its initial publication, this new classic of American fiction is being featured for the first time in the long-running Bloom's Modern Critical Interpretations series. Complete with an introduction from the venerable Harold Bloom, and featuring a chronology of O'Brien's life, a bibliography of his works, and an index for reference, this volume of critical essays is a valuable source for students of literature studying The Things They Carried.
Approaching Emily Dickinson : critical currents and crosscurrents since 1960 by
When Klaus Lubbers's meticulously detailed Emily Dickinson: The Critical Revolution appeared in 1968, examining Dickinson criticism up to 1962, a second revolution in Dickinson criticism was already gathering force, as a new generation of scholars representing a wide spectrum of critical perspectives began reassessing the poet's life and work. In the intervening forty years, approximately 100 books about Dickinson and her oeuvre have appeared, making her one of the most extensively studied American poets in history. Approaching Emily Dickinson provides an objective examination of that vast body of scholarship. It gives detailed attention to the principal trends in Dickinson scholarship during the past half-century: biographical studies; feminist perspectives on the poet's life and work; rhetorical and stylistic analyses; textual studies of the bound and unbound fascicles and the so-called worksheet drafts; studies of Dickinson's social and cultural milieu, including influences on her spirituality, and of her theories of poetry. Fred White also examines Dickinson's artistic reception -- an area of ever-growing fascination, not only among Dickinson scholars but among artists, creative writers, dramatists, and musicians for whom Dickinson's genius has proven to be a powerful conduit for insights into the human condition. A fundamental research tool for both scholars and students, Approaching Emily Dickinson also enables fruitful comparisons both among and within the different critical and artistic perspectives. Fred D. White is Professor of English at Santa Clara University. His studies of Emily Dickinson have been published in College Literature and in the Cambridge Companion to Emily Dickinson.
Literature : an introduction to critical reading by
Appropriate for Introduction to Literature courses, second-semester Freshman Composition courses. This new text takes an interpretations approach to literature and its elements. Covering the genres of short fiction, poetry, and drama, it is appropriate both for literature courses and for composition courses. The goal of this text is to help students read and see literature from a variety of critical perspectives. The student's concerns, responses, and interpretive abilities are fostered by this approach.
Rhyme's Rooms: the architecture of poetry by
From the widely acclaimed poet, novelist, critic, and scholar, a lucid and edifying exploration of the building blocks of poetry and how they've been used over the centuries to assemble the most imperishable poems * "Anyone wanting to learn how to remodel, restore, or build a poem from the foundation up, will find this room-by-room guide on the architecture of poetry a warm companion." --Tomás Q. Morín, author of Machete We treasure our greatest poetry, Brad Leithauser reminds us in these pages, "not for its what but its how." In chapters on everything from iambic pentameter to how stanzas are put together to "rhyme and the way we really talk," Leithauser takes a deep dive into that how--the very architecture of poetry. He explains how meter and rhyme work in fruitful opposition ("Meter is prospective; rhyme is retrospective"); how the weirdnesses of spelling in English are a boon to the poet; why an off rhyme will often succeed where a perfect rhyme would not; why Shakespeare and Frost can sound so similar, despite the centuries separating them. And Leithauser is just as likely to invoke Cole Porter, Stephen Sondheim, or Boz Scaggs as he is Chaucer or Milton, Bishop or Swenson, providing enlightening play-by-plays of their memorable lines. Here is both an indispensable learning tool and a delightful journey into the art of the poem--a chance for new poets and readers of poetry to grasp the fundamentals, and for experienced poets and readers to rediscover excellent works in all their fascinating detail. Portions of this book have appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times, and The New York Review of Books.
How to Read Poetry Like a Professor : a quippy and sonorous guide to verse by
From the bestselling author of How to Read Literature Like a Professor comes this essential primer to reading poetry like a professor that unlocks the keys to enjoying works from Lord Byron to the Beatles. No literary form is as admired and feared as poetry. Admired for its lengthy pedigree--a line of poets extending back to a time before recorded history--and a ubiquitous presence in virtually all cultures, poetry is also revered for its great beauty and the powerful emotions it evokes. But the form has also instilled trepidation in its many admirers mainly because of a lack of familiarity and knowledge. Poetry demands more from readers--intellectually, emotionally, and spiritually--than other literary forms. Most of us started out loving poetry because it filled our beloved children's books from Dr. Seuss to Robert Louis Stevenson. Eventually, our reading shifted to prose and later when we encountered poetry again, we had no recent experience to make it feel familiar. But reading poetry doesn't need to be so overwhelming. In an entertaining and engaging voice, Thomas C. Foster shows readers how to overcome their fear of poetry and learn to enjoy it once more. From classic poets such as Shakespeare, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, and Edna St. Vincent Millay to later poets such as E.E. Cummings, Billy Collins, and Seamus Heaney, How to Read Poetry Like a Professor examines a wide array of poems and teaches readers: How to read a poem to understand its primary meaning. The different technical elements of poetry such as meter, diction, rhyme, line structures, length, order, regularity, and how to learn to see these elements as allies rather than adversaries. How to listen for a poem's secondary meaning by paying attention to the echoes that the language of poetry summons up. How to hear the music in poems--and the poetry in songs! With How to Read Poetry Like a Professor, readers can rediscover poetry and reap its many rewards.
These are available on the third floor in the Reference Room. They are for in-library use only, but you can make copies of pages as needed.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
