Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowContains current literary information from more than 650,000 full-text articles, critical essays, and biographies of over 130,000 authors. It also features more than 150,000 full-text poems, short stories, essays, speeches, and plays. This database includes the content of Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers Series, and Twayne's Authors series.
This link opens in a new windowAccess articles from scholarly journals in subject areas such as: history; political science; sociology; mathematics and statistics; African, African American, Asian, Classical, and Middle Eastern studies; philosophy; ecology and evolutionary biology; geography; archaeology; economics; population studies; and the history of science and technology. Also includes Primary Source collections.
Contains centuries of literary analysis, from scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. It includes criticism on works in children's literature, classic and medieval literature, literature from the 1400s to 1800s including the works of Shakespeare, drama, nineteenth- and twentieth-century literature, short stories, and poetry. Covers critical analyses and introductory materials on authors and their works, types of literature, regions, and time periods. This database contains almost the entire scanned content from the following print series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Check out our Literature Journals, available online!
Streaming videos of the BBC's productions of all of Shakespeare's thirty-seven plays. Watch the entire play or individual acts and enjoy the quality productions featuring some of Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent: Derek Jacobi, Sir Anthony Hopkins, Sir John Gielgud, Dame Helen Mirren, John Cleese, Charles Gray, Jon Finch, Martin Shaw, David Gwillim, Anthony Quayle, and many more. Videos recorded between 1978-1985.
This link opens in a new windowThis database contains over 190 performances of leading plays and more than 350 film documentaries. The plays were recorded while performed before a live theatre audience, and the documentaries cover various aspects of theatre. Works by well-known playwrights, directors, actors, and acting companies are represented in Broadway and off-Broadway productions for each decade from the 1950s through the 2020s.
These books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
The Gist of Reading by
What happens to books as they live in our long-term memory? Why do we find some books entertaining and others not? And how does literary influence work on writers in different ways? Grounded in the findings of empirical psychology, this book amends classic reader-response theory and attends to neglected aspects of reading that cannot be explained by traditional literary criticism. Reading arises from a combination of two kinds of mental work: automatic and controlled processes. Automatic processes, such as the ability to see visual symbols as words, are the result of constant practice; controlled processes, such as predicting what might occur next in a story, arise from readers' conscious use of skills and background knowledge. When we read, automatic and controlled processes work together to create the "gist" of reading, the constant interplay between these two kinds of processes. Andrew Elfenbein not only explains how we read today, but also uses current knowledge about reading to consider readers of past centuries, arguing that understanding gist is central to interpreting the social, psychological, and political impact of literary works. The result is the first major revisionary account of reading practices in literary criticism since the 1970s.
Handbook of Arthurian Romance: King Arthur's Court in Medieval European Literature by
The renowned and illustrious tales of King Arthur, his knights and the Round Table pervade all European vernaculars, as well as the Latin tradition. Arthurian narrative material, which had originally been transmitted in oral culture, began to be inscribed regularly in the twelfth century, developing from (pseudo-)historical beginnings in the Latin chronicles of "historians" such as Geoffrey of Monmouth into masterful literary works like the romances of Chrétien de Troyes. Evidently a big hit, Arthur found himself being swiftly translated, adapted and integrated into the literary traditions of almost every European vernacular during the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries. This Handbook seeks to showcase the European character of Arthurian romance both past and present. By working across national philological boundaries, which in the past have tended to segregate the study of Arthurian romance according to language, as well as by exploring primary texts from different vernaculars and the Latin tradition in conjunction with recent theoretical concepts and approaches, this Handbook brings together a pioneering and more complete view of the specifically European context of Arthurian romance, and promotes the more connected study of Arthurian literature across the entirety of its European context.
Handbook of the American Novel of the Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries by
Increasing specialization within the discipline of English and American Studies has shifted the focus of scholarly discussion toward theoretical reflection and cultural contexts. These developments have benefitted the discipline in more ways than one, but they have also resulted in a certain neglect of close reading. As a result, students and researchers interested in such material are forced to turn to scholarship from the 1960s and 1970s, much of which relies on dated methodological and ideological presuppositions. The handbook aims to fill this gap by providing new readings of texts that figure prominently in the literature classroom and in scholarly debate − from James's The Ambassadors to McCarthy's The Road. These readings do not revert naively to a time "before theory." Instead, they distil the insights of literary and cultural theory into concise introductions to the historical background, the themes, the formal strategies, and the reception of influential literary texts, and they do so in a jargon-free language accessible to readers on all levels of qualification.
Literary Theory: A Guide for the Perplexed by
This Guide for the Perplexed provides an advanced introduction to literary theory from basic information and orientation for the uninformed leading on to more sophisticated readings. It engages directly with the difficulty many students find intimidating, asking 'What is ''Literary Theory''?' and offering a clear, concise, accessible guide to the major theories and theorists, including: humanism; structuralism; poststructuralism; psychoanalytic approaches; feminist approaches; queer theory; ideology and discourse; new historicism; race and postcolonialism; postmodernism. The final chapter points to new directions in literary and cultural theory.
Literary Explorations: Contemporary Fiction and Poetry by
A collection of seven of Dr. Pandey's essays on contemporary fiction and poetry, written between 2014 and 2019. They either developed out of his Doctorate of Philosophy dissertation or cover subjects that fascinate him. The topics explored include: Evolutions in Magical Realism in America and India, the Problem of Voice in some of Sylvia Plath's Poems, the Post-Modern Hero as conceived by Michael Ondaatje and Gautam Malkani, the Masculine World of The Kite Runner, Narrative Skills in Londonstani, the Post-Truth World in relation to Culture and Language, and the Biographical and Autobiographical in poems by Margaret Atwood and Michael Ondaatje. These essays are intended to assist college students with furthering their understanding of literature. They might also interest a general reader of literary texts.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
