Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
Articles from journals and books on a variety of topics, including: physical sciences and engineering (chemistry, earth and space sciences, engineering, mathematics and computers, physics and astronomy), life sciences (agriculture, biochemistry, biology, immunology and microbiology, neuroscience), health sciences (nursing, medicine, pharmacology, dentistry, health professions, veterinary medicine), and social sciences and humanities (arts and humanities, business, economics, psychology, social sciences).
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowUse this database to find articles on many science subjects such as: astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, environment, food & nutrition, genetics, health & medicine, mathematics, microbiology, oceanography, physics, physiology, zoology, etc. Many articles are full-text. The content in this database is also part of OmniFile Full Text Mega.
This link opens in a new windowPrepSTEP for Community Colleges is packed with online tutorials, practice tests, quizzes, e-books, articles and flashcards to help you improve your core academic skills, explore careers, build workplace readiness and more. Find entrance and licensure exam practice tests and ebooks to help you in subjects such as Nursing, EMT & Paramedic, Dental Assisting, Social Work, Surgical Technology, Electrician, Plumbing, Law Enforcement, Teaching, and WorkKeys.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Check out our Mathematics Journals, available online!
These books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
Algebra by
The fourth edition of this highly-successful textbook has been fully revised and updated. It covers groups, rings, modules and fields, and exhibits the interplay of both group and field theory by means of Galois theory and shows insolvability of a quantic, in general, by radicals.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics by
With over 4,000 entries, this informative A to Z provides clear, jargon-free definitions on a wide variety of mathematical terms. Its entries cover both pure and applied mathematics, and include key theories, concepts, methods, programmes, people, and terminology.For this sixth edition, around 800 new terms have been defined, expanding on the dictionary's coverage of topics such as algebra, differential geometry, algebraic geometry, representation theory, and statistics. Among this new material are articles such as cardinal arithmetic, first fundamentalform, Lagrange's theorem, Navier-Stokes equations, potential, and splitting field. The existing entries have also been revised and updated to account for developments in the field.Numerous supplementary features complement the text, including detailed appendices on basic algebra, areas and volumes, trigonometric formulae, and Roman numerals. Newly added to these sections is a historical timeline of significant mathematicians lives and the emergence of key theorems. There arealso illustrations, graphs, and charts throughout the text, as well as useful web links to provide access to further reading.
A Dictionary of Statistics 3e by
This wide-ranging, jargon-free dictionary contains over 2,300 entries on all aspects of statistics, including terms used in computing, mathematics, and probability. It also includes biographical information on over 200 key figures in the field and coverage of statistical journals andsocieties. While embracing the whole multi-disciplinary spectrum of this complex subject, information is presented in a clear and practical manner. This edition features recommended web links for many entries, accessible via the Dictionary of Statistics website, which provide valuable extrainformation.This edition features expanded coverage of applied statistics. Entries are generously illustrated with 130 useful figures and diagrams, and include worked examples where applicable. Appendices include a historical calendar of important statistical events, lists of statistical and mathematicalnotation, and statistical tables. It is an invaluable dictionary for statistics students and professionals from a wide range of disciplines, including economics, politics, market research, medicine, psychology, pharmaceuticals, and mathematics, and provides a clear introduction to the subject forthe general reader.
Practice Makes Perfect Calculus by
For students who need to polish their calculus skills for class or for a critical exam, this no-nonsense practical guide provides concise summaries, clear model examples, and plenty of practice, practice, practice. About the Book With more than 1,000,000 copies sold, Practice Makes Perfect has established itself as a reliable practical workbook series in the language-learning category. Now, with Practice Makes Perfect: Calculus, students will enjoy the same clear, concise approach and extensive exercises to key fields they've come to expect from the series--but now within mathematics. Practice Makes Perfect: Calculus is not focused on any particular test or exam, but complementary to most calculus curricula. Because of this approach, the book can be used by struggling students needing extra help, readers who need to firm up skills for an exam, or those who are returning to the subject years after they first studied it. Its all-encompassing approach will appeal to both U.S. and international students. Features More than 500 exercises and answers covering all aspects of calculus. Successful series: "Practice Makes Perfect" has sales of 1,000,000 copies in the language category--now applied to mathematics. Large trim allows clear presentation of worked problems, exercises, and explained answers.
Mathematics in Ancient Egypt: A Contextual History by
Mathematics in Ancient Egypt traces the development of Egyptian mathematics, from the end of the fourth millennium BC--and the earliest hints of writing and number notation--to the end of the pharaonic period in Greco-Roman times. Drawing from mathematical texts, architectural drawings, administrative documents, and other sources, Annette Imhausen surveys three thousand years of Egyptian history to present an integrated picture of theoretical mathematics in relation to the daily practices of Egyptian life and social structures. Imhausen shows that from the earliest beginnings, pharaonic civilization used numerical techniques to efficiently control and use their material resources and labor. Even during the Old Kingdom, a variety of metrological systems had already been devised. By the Middle Kingdom, procedures had been established to teach mathematical techniques to scribes in order to make them proficient administrators for their king. Imhausen looks at counterparts to the notation of zero, suggests an explanation for the evolution of unit fractions, and analyzes concepts of arithmetic techniques. She draws connections and comparisons to Mesopotamian mathematics, examines which individuals in Egyptian society held mathematical knowledge, and considers which scribes were trained in mathematical ideas and why. Of interest to historians of mathematics, mathematicians, Egyptologists, and all those curious about Egyptian culture, Mathematics in Ancient Egypt sheds new light on a civilization's unique mathematical evolution.
Functions, Data and Models: An Applied Approach to College Algebra by
This is a college algebra-level textbook written to provide the kind of mathematical knowledge and experiences that students will need for courses in other fields, such as biology, chemistry, business, finance, economics, and other areas that are heavily dependent on data either from laboratory experiments or from other studies. The focus is on the fundamental mathematical concepts and the realistic problem-solving via mathematical modeling rather than the development of algebraic skills that might be needed in calculus. Functions, Data, and Models presents college algebra in a way that differs from almost all college algebra books available today. Rather than going over material covered in high school courses the Gordons teach something new. Students are given an introduction to data analysis and mathematical modeling presented at a level that students with limited algebraic skills can understand. The book contains a rich set of exercises, many of which use real data. Also included are thought experiments or what if questions that are meant to stretch the student s mathematical thinking.
Calculus DeMYSTiFieD by
LEARNING CALCULUS JUST GOT A LOT EASIER! Here’s an innovative shortcut to gaining a more intuitive understanding of both differential and integral calculus. InCalculus Demystifiedan experienced teacher and author of more than 30 books puts all the math background you need inside and uses practical examples, real data, and a totally different approach to mastering calculus. WithCalculus Demystifiedyou ease into the subject one simple step at a time — at your own speed. A user-friendly, accessible style incorporating frequent reviews, assessments, and the actual application of ideas helps you to understand and retain all the important concepts. THIS ONE-OF-A-KIND SELF-TEACHING TEXT OFFERS: Questions at the end of each chapter and section to reinforce learning and pinpoint weaknesses A 100-question final exam for self-assessment Detailed examples and solutions Numerous “Math Notes” and “You Try It” items to gauge progress and make learning more enjoyable An easy-to-absorb style — perfect for those without a mathematics background If you’ve been looking for a painless way to learn calculus, refresh your skills, or improve your classroom performance, your search ends here.
Business Calculus Demystified by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Take the FEAR OUT of Business Calculus Business Calculus Demystified clarifies the concepts and processes of calculus and demonstrates their applications to the workplace. Best-selling math author Rhonda Huettenmueller uses the same combination of winning step-by-step teaching techniques and real-world business and mathematical examples that have succeeded with tens of thousands of college students, regardless of their math experience or affinity for the subject. With Business Calculus Demystified, you learn at your own pace. You get explanations that make differentiation and integration -- the main concepts of calculus -- understandable and interesting. This unique self-teaching guide reinforces learning, builds your confidence and skill, and continuously demonstrates your mastery of topics with a wealth of practice problems and detailed solutions throughout, multiple-choice quizzes at the end of each chapter, and a "final exam" that tests your total understanding of business calculus. Learn business calculus for the real world! This self-teaching course conquers confusion with clarity and ease. Get ready to: Get a solid foundation right from the start with a review of algebra Master one idea per section -- develop complete, comfortable understanding of a topic before proceeding to the next Find a well-explained definition of the derivative and its properties; instantaneous rates of change; the power, product, quotient, and chain rules; and layering different formulas Learn methods for maximizing revenue and profit... minimizing cost... and solving other optimizing problems See how to use calculus to sketch graphs Understand implicit differentiation, rational functions, exponents, and logarithm functions -- learn how to use log properties to simplify differentiation Painlessly learn integration formulas and techniques and applications of the integral Take a "final exam" and grade it yourself! Who says business calculus has to be boring? Business Calculus Demystified is a lively and entertaining way to master this essential math subject!
Practice Makes Perfect Statistics by
A no-nonsense practical guide to statistics, providing concise summaries, clear model examples, and plenty of practice, making this workbook the ideal complement to class study or self-study, preparation for exams or a brush-up on rusty skills. About the Book Established as a successful practical workbook series with over 20 titles in the language learning category, Practice Makes Perfect now provides the same clear, concise approach and extensive exercises to key fields within mathematics.The key to the Practice Makes Perfect series is the extensive exercises that provide learners with all the practice they need for mastery. Not focused on any particular test or exam, but complementary to most statistics curricula Deliberately all-encompassing approach: international perspective and balance between traditional and newer approaches. Large trim allows clear presentation of worked problems, exercises, and explained answers. Features No-nonsense approach: provides clear presentation of content. Over 500 exercises and answers covering all aspects of statistics Successful series: "Practice Makes Perfect" has sales of 1,000,000 copies in the language category - now applied to mathematics Workbook is not exam specific, yet it provides thorough coverage of the statistics skills required in most math tests.
Statistics: A Very Short Introduction by
Modern statistics is very different from the dry and dusty discipline of the popular imagination. In its place is an exciting subject which uses deep theory and powerful software tools to shed light and enable understanding. And it sheds this light on all aspects of our lives, enablingastronomers to explore the origins of the universe, archaeologists to investigate ancient civilisations, governments to understand how to benefit and improve society, and businesses to learn how best to provide goods and services.Aimed at readers with no prior mathematical knowledge, this iVery Short Introduction/i explores and explains how statistics work, and how we can decipher them.
Philosophy of Mathematics by
The present book is an introduction to the philosophy of mathematics. It asks philosophical questions concerning fundamental concepts, constructions and methods - this is done from the standpoint of mathematical research and teaching. It looks for answers both in mathematics and in the philosophy of mathematics from their beginnings till today. The reference point of the considerations is the introducing of the reals in the 19th century that marked an epochal turn in the foundations of mathematics. In the book problems connected with the concept of a number, with the infinity, the continuum and the infinitely small, with the applicability of mathematics as well as with sets, logic, provability and truth and with the axiomatic approach to mathematics are considered. In Chapter 6 the meaning of infinitesimals to mathematics and to the elements of analysis is presented. The authors of the present book are mathematicians. Their aim is to introduce mathematicians and teachers of mathematics as well as students into the philosophy of mathematics. The book is suitable also for professional philosophers as well as for students of philosophy, just because it approaches philosophy from the side of mathematics. The knowledge of mathematics needed to understand the text is elementary. Reports on historical conceptions. Thinking about today's mathematical doing and thinking. Recent developments. Based on the third, revised German edition. For mathematicians - students, teachers, researchers and lecturers - and readersinterested in mathematics and philosophy. 　 Contents On the way to the reals On the history of the philosophy of mathematics On fundamental questions of the philosophy of mathematics Sets and set theories Axiomatic approach and logic Thinking and calculating infinitesimally - First nonstandard steps Retrospection
Differential and Integral Calculus - Theory and Cases by
Differential and Integral Calculus - Theory and Cases is a complete textbook designed to cover basic calculus at introductory college and undergraduate levels. Chapters provide information about calculus fundamentals and concepts including real numbers, series, functions, limits, continuity, differentiation, antidifferentiation (integration) and sequences. Readers will find a concise and clear study of calculus topics, giving them a solid foundation of mathematical analysis using calculus. The knowledge and concepts presented in this book will equip students with the knowledge to immediately practice the learned calculus theory in practical situations encountered at advanced levels. Key Features: - Complete coverage of basic calculus, including differentiation and integration - Easy to read presentation suitable for students - Information about functions and maps - Case studies and exercises for practical learning, with solutions - References for further reading
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
