Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
If you want to browse the collection, these are some call numbers where you can find books about *The Holocaust* .
This is a list of suggested terms to use in a search for resources about *The Holocaust* in the Library Catalog:
The following DVD titles are available on the main (2nd) floor in the Audio/Visual Room:
--Schindlers List
--Germans and Jews
--Shoah
The library also has a collection of Holocaust photos that may be checked out.
These books are in the circulating collection. You may check them out for five weeks at a time. When you click on the book, it will take you to the catalog, where you can check whether the book is currently available, or when it is due back, as well as where it is located.
The Holocaust by
Designed for secondary school and college student research, this work is a readable history and ready-reference guide to the Holocaust based on the most recent scholarship. It provides the reader with an overview of Nazi Germany's attempt to exterminate world Jewry. Fischel, a leading authority on the Holocaust, combines narrative description, analytical essays, a timeline of events, lengthy biographical profiles, and the text of key primary documents relating to the Nazi plan for the Final Solution to help students gain a comprehensive understanding of the causative factors and major events and personalities that shaped the Nazi genocide. A glossary of key terms, selected tables, and an annotated bibliography of recommended further reading will aid student research. Topical essays designed for the student and general reader provide an accessible historical overview and analysis of Hitler and the Jews, the racial state, genocide, the Final Solution, and resistance to the Nazis. Fischel explains the factors that led to the Holocaust, the implementation of the decision to exterminate the Jews, the response of the free world and the Papacy, the role of righteous gentiles who risked their lives to save Jews, and the resistance of the Jews to their fate under the Nazis. Biographical sketches provide valuable information on the key personalities among both the Nazis and Allies, and the text of key primary documents brings the Nazis blatant plan for genocide to stark reality. In providing valuable information, analysis, and ready-reference features, this work is a one-stop resource on the Holocaust for students, teachers, library media specialists, and interested readers.
Historical Atlas of the Holocaust by
Crafted over the course of four years by the research and production staff of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, the Historical Atlas of the Holocaust provides a unique depiction of Europe between 1933 and 1950. Compiled from archives around the world, the Atlas is based on extensive research into primary sources -- such as period maps captured from the German army, survivor testimony, and aerial photographs taken by American, British, and German forces -- illustrating the Nazi camp system that pervaded Europe. The Museum's researchers have prepared detailed plans and explanatory text for more than 25 Nazi concentration, transit, forced-labor, and extermination camps. In addition to maps of major cities and ghettos, the Atlas charts the destruction of synagogues during Kristallnacht; the movement of Nazi killing squads across eastern Europe; the routes of deportations and forced marches; and the location of Nazi pseudo-scientific experimental facilities. While the main focus is on the Holocaust of Eastern Jewry, the Atlas includes maps and text which document the Nazi persecution and murder of other groups, including the handicapped, Roma (gypsies), homosexuals, Poles, political opponents, and Jehovah's Witnesses.
Children During the Holocaust by
Children during the Holocaust, from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum's Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies, tells the story of the Holocaust through the eyes, and fates, of its youngest victims. The ten chapters follow the arc of the persecutory policies of the Nazis and their sympathizers and the impact these measures had on Jewish children and adolescents--from the years leading to the war, to the roundups, deportations, and emigrations, to hidden life and death in the ghettos and concentration camps, and to liberation and coping in the wake of war. This volume examines the reactions of children to discrimination, the loss of livelihood in Jewish homes, and the public humiliation at the hands of fellow citizens and explores the ways in which children's experiences paralleled and diverged from their adult counterparts. Additional chapters reflect upon the role of non-Jewish children as victims, perpetrators, and bystanders during World War II. Offering a collection of personal letters, diaries, court testimonies, government documents, military reports, speeches, newspapers, photographs, and artwork, Children during the Holocaust highlights the diversity of children's experiences during the nightmare years of the Holocaust.
Deniers of the Holocaust: who they are, what they do, why they do it by 
Elie Wiesel: a Holocaust survivor cries out for peace by
A biography of author, speaker, and Nobel Peace Prize winner Elie Wiesel, focusing on his childhood in a Nazi concentration camp and his efforts to ensure that there will never be another Holocaust.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance: