Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
We value your input!
We encourage you to request materials for the collection by using the Suggest a Purchase option under Quick Links on the Library’s website (https://library.northeaststate.edu).
You may request that Library materials such as books, instructional videos, and DVDs be sent to you in Kingsport. Please contact the Circulation Desk at extension 3429 (or 354.2429) at least several days in advance to arrange the delivery. You can also place requests yourself through the Library Catalog. Log n to your account (same as logging in to Okta) to see the request option for physical items in the library.
Renewing:
You may renew materials through your library account (accessible from the Library’s website – go to the catalog), or by contacting the Circulation Desk at extension 3429 (or 354.2429).
Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery
by
Gain the knowledge and skills you need to provide safe, effective perioperative nursing care! Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery, 17th Edition is the definitive resource for nurses and surgical technologists training for a career in the operating room. Illustrated, step-by-step instructions cover patient care in more than 400 surgical interventions, including patient positioning, instrumentation, and postoperative care. Along with the latest on robotic surgery and a review of evidence-based guidelines, this edition includes new coverage of COVID-19 and gender affirmation surgery. From well-known educator Jane C. Rothrock - and with every chapter authored by an expert nurse - Alexander's gives you the tools you need to pass the CNOR© certification exam and succeed in the surgical setting. Comprehensive coverage includes basic perioperative nursing principles, such as patient and environmental safety, infection prevention, patient positioning, anesthesia and pain management, and the unique needs of special populations such as pediatric and geriatric patients. Coverage of more than 400 general and specialty surgical interventions includes minimally invasive and robotic-assisted surgical procedures, whether performed in a hospital, ambulatory surgery setting, or in a doctor's office. Perioperative nursing considerations are presented within the nursing process framework and include assessment, nursing diagnosis, outcome identification, planning, implementation, evaluation, discharge planning, and patient and family education. More than 1,000 full-color photos and illustrations show surgical anatomy, procedures, methods, and equipment. Sample plans of care include nursing diagnoses, outcomes, and interventions. Research Highlight and Evidence for Practice boxes discuss recommendations for applying current scientific research to patient care. Robotic-Assisted Surgery boxes highlight a rapidly expanding surgical modality. Enhanced Recovery After Surgery boxes promote protocols to improve outcomes, reduce the length of stay, and reduce the patient's cost of care. Patient Engagement Exemplar boxes optimize surgical outcomes by addressing AORN guidelines on the issues of patient care and involvement of the patient's family. Patient Safety boxes highlight practices and initiatives for patient safety in the surgical setting. Patient, Family, and Caregiver Education boxes include specific guidelines for preprocedural and/or postprocedural care, potential complications, home care, discharge instructions, and psychosocial care. Ambulatory Surgery Considerations boxes highlight patient selection criteria, special anesthesia considerations, and patient assessment implications for outpatient surgical procedures. Surgical Pharmacology tables summarize the drugs most commonly used for each surgical specialty, including generic and trade names, indications, and pharmacokinetics. Critical Thinking questions at the end of each chapter let you assess your understanding of important material. Exam-style practice questions on the Evolve website include answers and rationales. References to AORN Guidelines and toolkits are discussed as relevant to the topic. NEW! Additional content on infection prevention includes coverage of Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2), Candida auris. NEW! Coverage of discharge planning and gender affirmation surgery is added to this edition.
Surgical Technology: principles and practice
by
Deliver the best patient care before, during, and after surgery with this straightforward, step-by-step guide to surgical skills and operating room procedures. It provides comprehensive coverage of all the updated AST Core Curriculum, 6th Edition components - health care sciences, technological sciences, patient care concepts, surgical technology, and surgical procedures. A mentoring approach makes even complex skills and techniques easy to understand. User-friendly features such as full-color illustrations, chapter outlines and summaries, review questions, critical thinking exercises, and technique boxes help you focus on the most important concepts and make it easier to retain and recall critical information. Chapter objectives correspond to the latest AST Core Curriculum objectives to ensure you have access to the most reliable information in the operating room. Enhanced critical thinking scenarios at the end of each chapter help you strengthen your critical thinking and clinical decision-making skills and highlight practical applications of key concepts. Additional information on special populations, including bariatric, pregnant, physically or mentally challenged, isolation, trauma, language barrier, and substance abuse patients, highlights important considerations for the surgical technologist regarding transfer, preparation, and procedure set up. Expanded coverage of surgical lasers keeps you up to date with the latest technology so you can effectively assess the function, assembly, use, and care of equipment in the surgical suite. UPDATED! Coverage reflects the new AST Core Curriculum, 6th Edition to keep you current. NEW! Chapters on Disaster Preparedness and Response and Transplant Surgery offer cutting-edge information on these key topics. Coverage of the Assistant Circulator role, as well as a break down of first and second scrub roles, help you better understand the responsibilities of each member of the surgical team.
Core Curriculum for Surgical Technology
by
Wound Care Essentials : practice principles
by
Awards Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Awarded First Place in the 2020 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Medical-Surgical Nursing Category Awarded Second Place in the 2020 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Advance Practice Nursing Category. Looking for an up-to-date, how-to, evidence-based wound care reference? The newly revised Wound Care Essentials, 5th Edition is the comprehensive seminal resource, offering the latest evidence, guidelines and information to assist the interprofessional skin and wound care team translate knowledge into practice. A crucial guide for all skin and wound care professionals, this essential resource provides authoritative science and practical instruction on wound care best practices. This must-have guide offers the latest, skin and wound care research-backed insights on prevention and management strategies... Three New Chapters--Skin, Challenging Skin Conditions and Lymphedema More chapter contributions from global wound care opinion leaders More (now 50) helpful color photos in the wound gallery Comprehensive end-of-book certification practice exam, including new review questions Chapter features that include: All chapters have been updated with the latest available research and educational enablers Visual aids, mnemonics, tables boxes, diagrams. and charts to highlight key concepts Practice Point Boxes - quick summaries of knowledge for best practices that assist in retaining knowledge Show What You Know - review questions at the end of each chapter and answers with explanations at the end of the book Patient Scenario - case studies that illustrate clinical data and discuss application of information Skin and Wound Care Concepts--every chapter has been updated with the most current international guidelines especially for pressure injuries and skin tears Essential content for training staff at wound centers and in every healthcare practice setting - ideal for updating skin and wound care policies and procedures About the Authors Sharon Baranoski, MSN, RN, CCNS-APN, CWCN, MAPWCA, FAAN, is a Board-certified, Advanced Practice Nurse specializing in skin & wound care. Her experience crosses all health care setting. She is a well-known consultant, lecturer, author and educator. She is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing. She is a former President of the International Skin Tear Advisory Board and the National Pressure Injury Advisory Panel and remains an active member of both organizations. Sharon has received numerous accolades and awards for her 35 plus years of work in the field of wound care. Elizabeth A. Ayello, PhD, MS, BSN, RN, CWON, ETN, MAPWCA, FAAN, is a Board-certified wound and ostomy nurse who believes in the interprofessional team approach to skin and wound care practice and education. A fellow in the American Academy of Nursing, she is an internationally known prolific author, editor, researcher, consultant (including to CMS) and innovative, interactive educator who is the current Co- Editor in Chief of Advances in Skin and Wound Care, President of the World Council of Enterostomal.
Surgical Instruments : a pocket guide
by
Find descriptions and photos of a wide spectrum of instruments - including new coverage of endoscopic instruments and a new section on sets for common surgical procedures!
Public relations guide for AST members
by
Gray's Anatomy: the anatomical basis of medicine and surgery
by
The most trusted name in anatomy! Readers will benefit from 2100 superb, high-quality illustrations, thorough coverage of important topics such as the structure and function of each body system, anatomical aspects of common surgical techniques, cross-sectional imaging, the anatomy encountered during endoscopic surgery, and more. "Stands alone as the greatest single reference in anatomy." (Radiology, review of a previous edition of Gray's Anatomy). Spanish version also available, ISBN: 84-8174-384-4
Principles of Anatomy and Physiology
by
The thirteenth edition of the phenomenally successful Principles of Anatomy and Physiology continues to set the standard for the discipline. The authors maintained a superb balance between structure and function and continue to emphasize the correlations between normal physiology and pathophysiology, normal anatomy and pathology, and homeostasis and homeostatic imbalances. The acclaimed illustration program continues to be refined and is unsurpassed in the market. The thirteenth edition is fully integrated with a host of innovative electronic media, including WileyPLUS (access purchased separately.) No other text and package offers a teaching and learning environment as rich and complete.
Sterilization Technology for the Health Care Facility
by
This Second Edition is a comprehensive resource on sterilization and disinfection of reusable instruments and medical devices
Perioperative Nursing
by
This text defines the perioperative role and its implementation based on national standards established by professional organizations. The use of care plans in the operating room and general aseptic techniques are explored. In addition to detailing the basic skills needed preoperatively, intraoperatively, and postoperatively, such as gloving, gowning, asepsis, and techniques to promote wound healing, the author takes a look into the future and sees perioperative nurses in roles as independent practitioners, including case managers, nurse consultants, and corporate clinical nurse educators.
PeriOperative Nursing Practice
by
From developing a budget to maintaining a sterile field, PERIOPERATIVE NURSING PRACTICE presents detailed and comprehensive coverage of perioperative nursing roles and responsibilities. This readily accessible reference includes NANDA-approved nursing diagnoses and integrates the nursing process throughout.
Patient Care During Operative and Invasive Procedures
by
This comprehensive reference reflects the latest AORN standards of practice. Focusing on the perioperative nursing continuum as an organizational framework, it presents sections on home health care, discharge planning, minimally invasive procedures, electrosurgery, and much more!@:
Berry and Kohn's Operating Room Technique
by
For 46 years Berry & Kohn's Operating Room Technique has been the text of choice for understanding basic surgical principles and techniques. It is commonly used as a text for either surgical technology or perioperative nursing courses or an educational reference for practicing surgical technologists, perioperative nurses, and in-service training for perioperative professionals. It covers the foundations of surgical techniques in a step-by-step format to enable the perioperative learner to effectively apply basic principles to practice, and focuses on the physiologic and psychologic needs of the patients to provide guidelines for planning and implementing comprehensive, individualized care. It also reviews the most commonly performed surgical procedures to help the reader see and apply surgical techniques and emphasizes teamwork among perioperative caregivers to encourage cooperation in attaining positive patient care outcomes. Covers the foundations of surgical techniques in a step-by-step format to enable the perioperative learner to effectively apply basic principles to practice. Focuses on the physiologic and psychologic needs of the patients to provide guidelines for planning and implementing comprehensive, individualized care. Reviews the most commonly performed surgical procedures to help the learner see and apply surgical techniques. Discusses perioperative patient care for both inpatient and ambulatory procedures to highlight considerations based on the setting as well as the surgical procedure. Emphasizes teamwork among perioperative caregivers to encourage cooperation in attaining positive patient care outcomes. Provides detailed information about the fundamentals of perioperative nursing and surgical technology roles in practice. The Surgical First Assistant (Chapter 5) provides an understanding of this increasing role in surgical practice for both the Surgical Technologist and the Perioperative Nurse. Surgical Pharmacology (Chapter 23) focuses on the most common drugs and their interactions encountered during surgical procedures. Expanded content on PeriAnesthesia Care and Endoscopic Surgery, including minimally invasive and minimal access surgical procedures. Dedicated website to provide educational links to perioperative resources for instructors and to provide learning resources for students such as Critical Thinking Case Studies and Activities designed to test content knowledge and critical thinking skills.
Instrumentation for the Operating Room : a photographic manual
by
Handbook of Local Anesthesia
by
and Medicine, Univ. of Southern California School of Dentistry, Los Angeles, CA range of topics. Part I describes drugs and how they work, both as general classes and as specific agents. Part II presents armamentaria - syringes, needles, cartridges, etc. - and how to select and handle them. Part III, Techniques of Regional Anesthesia relates the general injection procedure to specific techniques for both the maxilla and mandible. The book concludes with chapters on complications, future trends and questions. New to this edition: a second color highlights key information, printed end sheets, supplemental injection techniques, and 200 new illustrations.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
by
Experience Taber's 21! To thrive in the ever-changing world of health care, you need a respected, trusted, and cutting-edge, cyclopedic resource. In hand, online, or on a mobile device, turn to Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, 21st Edition...anytime, anywhere! Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, 21st Edition Taber's 21 is today's most comprehensive health science dictionary. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants, representing every branch of health care, works with the Taber's in-house editorial staff to ensure that the content reflects the state of the art. Cyclopedic entries that offer more than just definitions. More than 60,000 reader-friendly definitions, including 3,000 brand-new terms and 7,000 revised terms. Over 1,000 full-color illustrations in the book and DVD combined. FREE Taber'sPlus DVD, Mac and PC compatible - A multimedia toolkit offering a wealth of interactive activities, clinical tools, and resources. More than 600 Patient Care Statements. Caution Statements with new, easy-to-find icon. Dozens of Allied Health and Nursing Appendices So much more!
Surgical Technology for the Surgical Technologist: a positive care approach
by
This new text is written by surgical technologists and surgical technology educators with over 50 years of combined experience in the field. the only text written specifically for the surgical technologist, it focuses on the knowledge and cognitive skills required of the surgical technologist. It introduces the A Positive Care Approach, a systematic approach to intraoperative problem solving that focuses on the ability of the surgical technologist serving in the traditional role called "first scrub" to predict the surgeon's and patient's needs. Features: *Meets the Association of Surgical Technologists Core Curriculum for Surgical Technology, 4th edition *Surgical procedures are presented by surgical speciality in a consistent illustrative format throughout the text that helps students develop a patter for learning procedures *Objectives reflect the CARE and APOS acronyms; memory tools for systematic problem solving *Case studies and questions for further study in each chapter apply concepts learned and stimulate critical thinking *The color insert provides an overview of select anatomic systems and illustrates practical aspects of surgical technology *Pearls of Wisdom (tips from the author's experience) help the student maintain a practical focus on the procedure Supplements Computerized Testbank 0-7668-0665-0 Instructor's Manual 0-7668-0663-4 Student Workbook 0-7668-0664-2
Empire of the Scalpel: the history of surgery
by
From an eminent surgeon and historian comes the "by turns fascinating and ghastly" (The New York Times Book Review, Editors' Choice) story of surgery's development--from the Stone Age to the present day--blending meticulous medical research with vivid storytelling. There are not many life events that can be as simultaneously frightening and hopeful as a surgical operation. In America, tens-of-millions of major surgical procedures are performed annually, yet few of us consider the magnitude of these figures because we have such inherent confidence in surgeons. And, despite passionate debates about health care and the media's endless fascination with surgery, most of us have no idea how the first surgeons came to be because the story of surgery has never been fully told. Now, Empire of the Scalpel elegantly reveals surgery's fascinating evolution from its early roots in ancient Egypt to its refinement in Europe and rise to scientific dominance in the United States. From the 16th-century saga of Andreas Vesalius and his crusade to accurately describe human anatomy while appeasing the conservative clergy who clamored for his burning at the stake, to the hard-to-believe story of late-19th century surgeons' apathy to Joseph Lister's innovation of antisepsis and how this indifference led to thousands of unnecessary surgical deaths, Empire of the Scalpel is both a global history and a uniquely American tale. You'll discover how in the 20th century the US achieved surgical leadership, heralded by Harvard's Joseph Murray and his Nobel Prize-winning, seemingly impossible feat of transplanting a kidney, which ushered in a new era of transplants that continues to make procedures once thought insurmountable into achievable successes. Today, the list of possible operations is almost infinite--from knee and hip replacement to heart bypass and transplants to fat reduction and rhinoplasty--and "Rutkow has a raconteur's touch" (San Francisco Chronicle) as he draws on his five-decade career to show us how we got here. Comprehensive, authoritative, and captivating, Empire of the Scalpel is "a fascinating, well-rendered story of how the once-impossible became a daily reality" (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).
Gray's Anatomy: the anatomical basis of clinical practice
by
In 1858, Drs. Henry Gray and Henry Vandyke Carter created a book for their surgical colleagues that established an enduring standard among anatomical texts. After more than 150 years of continuous publication, Gray's Anatomy remains the definitive, comprehensive reference on the subject, offering ready access to the information you need to ensure safe, effective practice. This 41st edition has been meticulously revised and updated throughout, reflecting the very latest understanding of clinical anatomy from field leaders around the world. The book's traditional lavish art programme and clear text have been further honed and enhanced, while major advances in imaging techniques and the new insights they bring are fully captured in new state-of-the-art X-ray, CT, MR, and ultrasonic images. The completely reconfigured accompanying eBook version is richly enhanced with additional content and media, covering all the body regions, cell biology and embryogenesis. This unlocks a whole new level of related information, interactivity and understanding, in keeping with the spirit of innovation that has characterized Gray's Anatomy since its inception. Presents the most detailed and dependable coverage of anatomy available anywhere. Regional organization collects all relevant material on each body area together in one place, making access to core information easier for clinical readers. Anatomical information is matched with key clinical information where relevant. Numerous clinical discussions emphasize considerations that may affect medical care. Each chapter has been edited by experts in their field, ensuring access to the very latest evidence-based information on that topic. More than 1,000 completely new photographs, including an extensive electronic collection of the latest X-ray, CT, MR, and histological images. The downloadable Expert Consult eBook version included with your purchase allows you to search all of the text, figures, references and videos from the book on a variety of devices. Carefully selected electronic enhancements include additional text, tables, illustrations, labelled imaging and videos - as well as 24 specially invited 'Commentaries' on new and emerging topics related to anatomy. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary (Thumb-Indexed Version)
by
Taber's 22 brings meanings to life! In hand, online, or on your mobile device--anywhere and everywhere, Taber's 22 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants, representing nearly every health care profession, ensures that the content reflects the most current healthcare information. A wealth of resources puts the language of nursing, medicine and the healthcare professions at your fingertips... FREE, 1-year subscription to Taber's Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, and now with annual updates--puts all of the knowledge of Taber's at your fingertips. FREE, Taber's Flash, a flash card app--simplifies studying. Web, mobile, and print platforms--ensure access in any setting. Crossword puzzles, flashcards, and listen-and-learn activities--meet the needs of visual, kinesthetic, and auditory learners. Over 30,000 audio pronunciations--build speaking confidence.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance: