Wayne G. Basler Library: Library Services and Resources for Surgical Tech Faculty: Online Journals

Online Databases

You may access any of the over 100 online databases from any Internet computer, twenty-four hours a day, on- or off-campus. Select Online Databases from the Library website. There are five general databases available, including: Academic OneFile and OmniFile Full-Text Mega (mostly full-text articles on general, business, medical, and literary topics), eBook Collection from EBSCO and eBook Central (our largest eBook collections), and Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context (full-text articles on a variety of topics plus some primary sources), as well as numerous databases for specific subject areas.

Online Databases Page

Subject-Specific Databases

CINAHL Complete Users can access a comprehensive scope of content covering over 50 nursing specialties as well as allied health subjects including speech and language pathology, nutrition, physical therapy and much more. Access materials on topics such as biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and more.  Additionally, access health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, over 130 evidence-based care sheets, almost 170 quick lessons on disease overviews, 170 continuing education modules, and 360 research instrument records.
- This link opens in a new window
OvidSP Coverage: 1969 - 2018This database of medical information contains journals, multimedia videos, and images. In addition, results include high quality, peer-reviewed, open access articles from international publishers Medknow Publications with over 190 journals and PubMed Central with over 1,000 journals. The content will not be updated as of June 2018. 
Health Source : Nursing Academic Provides full text articles from scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines including: Nursing & Allied Heath, Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing & Allied Health Collection : Comprehensive Designed for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides full text of journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Articles from journals and books on a variety of topics, including: physical sciences and engineering (chemistry, earth and space sciences, engineering, mathematics and computers, physics and astronomy), life sciences (agriculture, biochemistry, biology, immunology and microbiology, neuroscience), health sciences (nursing, medicine, pharmacology, dentistry, health professions, veterinary medicine), and social sciences and humanities (arts and humanities, business, economics, psychology, social sciences).
Films on Demand: Nursing Video Collection This link opens in a new window 636 titlesThis collection is designed not only to help nursing students excel in their studies and pass licensure exams, but also to prepare them for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system.Includes videos on nursing skills, patient care and interventions, nursing foundations, and diseases, disorders and disabilities. All programs are segmented into multiple pedagogical clips, convenient for intermittent use during classroom lectures or as assigned homework.
- This link opens in a new window

Online Surgical Technology Journals

JOMI - Journal of Medical Insight This link opens in a new window
Journal of Medical Insight is a peer-reviewed surgical video journal / virtual operating theatre. The goal of JOMI is to improve healthcare by creating a window into the practice of the best surgeons around the world.
JOMI films and publishes surgical procedures offering extensive, high-quality, surgeon-narrated didactic experiences. JOMI is used by residents, attendings, medical students, surgical technologists, clinical staff, patients, and others around the world to help them prepare for cases, learn about novel advancements, and otherwise to have a deep and rich learning experience.

Medical Devices & Surgical Technology Week
Available 2001 - Present
Operating Theatre Journal
Available 2009 - Present
Perioperative Nursing
Available 2014 - Present
Journal Of Perioperative Nursing
Available 2011 - Present
BMJ surgery, interventions, & health technologies
Available 2020 - Present
Videosurgery and Other Miniinvasive Techniques
Available 2006 - Present
Use Google Translate to change Polish into English
Medsurg nursing (Online)
Available 199 - Present

Library Services and Resources for Surgical Tech Faculty: Online Journals

Online Databases

Subject-Specific Databases

Online Surgical Technology Journals

Hours and Information