Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
If you want to browse the collection, these are some call numbers where you can find books about Radiographic Technology.
This is a list of suggested terms to use in a search for Radiographic Technology resources in the Library Catalog:
These books are in the circulating collection. You may check them out for five weeks at a time. When you click on the book, it will take you to the catalog, where you can check whether the book is currently available, or when it is due back, as well as where it is located.
Medical Imaging
by
A prize-winning medical writer offers an explanation of modern diagnostic medical imaging technologies--and the issues that result from their use and misuse. Medical Imaging describes the discovery and development of diagnostic imaging technologies, explaining how the technologies work and exploring some of the issues that such powerful and expensive technologies create. The book begins with the discovery of X-rays in 1895 and traces the history of imaging technology through today's tools, such as X-ray computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), functional imaging by positron emission tomography (PET), and single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT). The contribution of these expensive technologies to the rising cost of healthcare in the United States and the unequal distribution of imaging diagnostic facilities, particularly in developing countries, is also considered. In addition, the book explores ethical questions that have surfaced in the past, including the reportability of incidental findings during a scan and admissibility of medical images as evidence in courts of law , and such newly emerging issues as the application of imaging tools in lie detection and the mammography guidelines controversy of 2009.
From Anesthesia to X-Rays: innovations and discoveries that changed medicine forever
by
Easy to read and to use, this A-to-Z mini-encyclopedia covers the most important medical innovations of the last 200 years.Medical innovation is an extremely important topic--and one to which relatively little study has been devoted. This volume is designed to introduce readers to the history and development of key advances in the science and practice of medicine. It explores issues in medical history and provides perspective on contemporary scientific research and innovation. It also provides a backdrop against which to evaluate current headlines, such as the discoveries of live samples of smallpox virus in an unused storage room at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and incidents of bubonic plague in China and Colorado.Although the entries in this single-volume resource describe how each innovation works, this is not intended as a technical text. Instead, the focus is on the context in which each innovation was developed and on its lasting importance in the field of medicine. Through these fascinating accounts, readers will be able to trace the evolution and legacy of key innovations and to see how other sectors of society--such as industry and the military--have affected and been affected by advances in the field of medicine.
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology for nursing and healthcare students
by
Comprehensive, illustrated, and perhaps most importantly: applicable in practice. The latest edition of this best-selling textbook proves difficult to put down. The third edition of Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology is a concise yet comprehensive introduction to the structure and function of the human body. Written with the needs of nursing and healthcare students in mind, this bestselling textbook incorporates clinical examples and scenarios throughout to illustrate how the topics covered are applied in practice. Hundreds of full-colour illustrations complement numerous case studies encompassing all fields of nursing practice, alongside learning outcomes, self-assessment tests, chapter summaries, and other effective learning tools. This latest edition has been thoroughly updated by a team of international contributors to reflect the current Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) Standards for Education, with enhanced online learning resources including an image bank, a searchable online glossary, flashcards, interactive multiple-choice questions, and more. Offering a user-friendly introduction to anatomy and physiology, this textbook: Provides a variety of clinical scenarios and examples to relate theory to practice Outlines the disorders associated with each chapter's topic Presents information on medicines management for each body system Is written by an international team Features extensive supplementary online resources for both students and instructors Is available with accompanying study guide, Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology Workbook Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology is the perfect introduction to the subject for student nurses, particularly those in the first year of their course, healthcare assistants and nursing associates, and other allied health students.
Netter's Essential Systems-Based Anatomy
by
Designed for clinically focused, introductory anatomy coverage, Netter's Essential Systems-Based Anatomy provides superbly illustrated core content in anatomy in a concise, easy-to-understand format. This highly visual text contains student-friendly features such as basic information and vocabulary, key systems-based concepts, and interactive practice questions for review-all highlighted by outstanding illustrations by Frank H. Netter, MD, Carlos Machado, MD and other medical artists. Focuses on the most important, clinically relevant structures and anatomic foundations that students need to learn in an integrated clinical curriculum. Organizes chapters by body system, with each chapter covering basic information and vocabulary, explanations of key concepts, clinical relevance of structures, and chapter review questions. Highlights ways that students can visualize and retain hard-to-remember concepts for exams and clinical practice. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Invisible Light: the remarkable story of radiology
by
The book is a developed history of the radiological sciences - covering the back-story to Röntgen's discovery, the discovery itself and immediate reception the early days of radiology leading to classical radiology (the pre-digital world). The 1970s as the 'golden decade' of radiology will be covered in detail, with the development of CT, MRI and modern interventional radiology. It will appeal to interested members of the public, to those working in the field, and to historians of medicine and science.
Imaging Physics
by
Master the critical physics content you need to know with this new title in the popular Case Review series. Imaging Physics Case Review offers a highly illustrated, case-based preparation for board review to help residents and recertifying radiologists succeed on exams and demonstrate a clinical understanding of physics, patient safety, and improvement of imaging accuracy and interpretation. Presents 150 high-yield case studies organized by level of difficulty, with multiple-choice questions, answers, and rationales that mimic the format of certification exams. Uses short, easily digestible chapters and high-quality illustrations for efficient, effective learning and exam preparation. Discusses current advances in all modalities, ensuring that your study is up-to-date and clinically useful. Covers today's key physics topics including radiation safety and methods to prevent patient harm; how to reduce artifacts; basics of radiation doses including dose reduction strategies; cardiac CT physics; advanced ultrasound techniques; and how to optimize image quality using physics principles. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care
by
Using a clear and concise format, Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care, 8th Edition familiarizes you with the imaging sciences and covers the patient care skills necessary for clinical practice. It offers current, comprehensive content that meets the relevant standards set by the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) Curriculum Guide and the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) Task List for certification examinations. This edition includes updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation, providing the essential information and tools you need to master any introduction to radiologic sciences or patient care class. Chapter review questions and lab activities, available online and on tear sheets in the text, give you easy access to study materials for on-the-go learning. In addition to helping you prepare for certification, the content provides useful and practical information that is essential for professional practice and clinical competency. Expanded and updated career content addresses professional development and advancement. Patient care content includes information on biomechanics and ergonomics of the radiologic and imaging sciences professional. Information management coverage provides an overview of health informatics for the radiologic and imaging sciences professional. Step-by-step procedures presented in boxed lists throughout the text supply you with easy-to-follow steps for clinical success. Back-of-book review questions and questions to ponder provide opportunities for further review and greater challenge. More than 300 photos and line drawings help you understand and visualize patient-care procedures. Strong pedagogy, including chapter objectives, key terms, outlines, and summaries organize information and ensure you understand what is most important in every chapter. NEW! Comprehensive coverage encompasses the greater breadth and depth of all primary modalities of the radiologic and imaging sciences as they relate to patient care.
Patient Care in Radiography: with an introduction to medical imaging
by
Learn to master radiography patient care with the book that covers it best! With step-by-step instructions and more than 400 full-color illustrations, Patient Care in Radiography, 10th Edition is the perfect resource to help teach you effective radiography patient care. Each chapter expertly guides you through the latest guidelines, carefully making the connection between the topics being discussed and how they relate to patient care. An emphasis is placed on the skills and procedures that are imperative for quality patient care - including safety, transfer, positioning, infection control, and patient assessment. Also included is information on microbiology, emerging diseases, trans-cultural communication, ECGs, administering medications, and bedside radiography to ensure you are well-versed in both the technical and interpersonal skills needed for professional practice. Coverage of patient care and procedural skills helps provide safe, high-quality patient care and technical proficiency. Step-by-step procedures are shown in photo essays, demonstrated with more than 400 full-color illustrations. Case studies focus on medicolegal terms, standards, and applications and help build problem-solving skills. Coverage of infection control helps emphasize the importance of preventing the spread of diseases. Special Imaging Modalities chapter provides an overview of patient care for a wide range of imaging methods. Chapter outlines, objectives, key terms, summaries, review questions, and critical thinking exercises focus on the key information in each chapter. Answers to the review questions are included in the back of the book. NEW! New images highlight many patient procedures and visually demonstrate how to care for patients. NEW! Updated content covers the most current exams, procedures, and technologies, as well as the most current information from the American Society of Radiologic Technologists.
Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology
by
Now fully aligned with the latest ARRT and ASRT standards, Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology, 10th Edition, by TerriAnn Ryan, helps students develop the knowledge and skills they need to become safe, perceptive, and efficient radiologic technologists. This student-focused text offers a strong illustration program and a logical organization that emphasizes the connections between classroom learning and clinical practice. Designed to keep readers informed and up to date, it covers current trends and advances in the field and offers an unparalleled array of online teaching and learning resources. Contains a new chapter from the ASRT curriculum: Medical Ethics and the Law Incorporates real case studies that demonstrate how radiologic technologists, patient care and ethics are intertwined Features updated content that reflects the latest ASRT curriculum and standards Provides case studies, cultural considerations boxes, and situational judgment sections that build critical thinking skills and give students practice dealing with the types of real-world situations they will encounter on the job Features procedure boxes with accompanying online videos to help students master the steps needed to ensure the safety of both the rad tech and the patient Includes student-focused features such as Learning Objectives, Key Terms, and chapter tests; display boxes that highlight accreditation, competency, or skills information; and call-out and warning boxes that alert students to important facts and common pitfalls help students prepare for practice
Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Radiography
by
Pass the ARRT certification exam on your first try with this all-in-one review! Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Radiography: The Complete Study Guide & Career Planner, 8th Edition provides a complete, outline-style review of the major subject areas covered on the ARRT examination in radiography. Each review section is followed by a set of questions testing your knowledge of that subject area. Three mock ARRT exams are included in the book, and more than 1,400 online review questions may be randomly combined to generate a virtually limitless number of practice exams. From noted educator and speaker William J. Callaway, this study guide is also ideal for use in radiography courses and in beginning your career as a radiographer. More than 2,300 review questions are provided in the book and on the Evolve website, offering practice in a computer-based, multiple-choice format similar to the ARRT exam. Colorful, outline-style review covers the major subject areas covered on the ARRT exam, and helps you focus on the most important information. Formats for ARRT questions include exhibits, sorted list, multiselect, and combined response. Rationales for correct and incorrect answers are included in the appendix. Key Review Points are included in every chapter, highlighting the need-to-know content for exam and clinical success. Mock exams on the Evolve website let you answer more than 1,200 questions in study mode, with immediate feedback after each question - or in exam mode, with feedback only after you complete the entire test. Career planning advice includes examples of resumes and cover letters, interviewing tips, a look at what employers expect, online submission of applications, salary negotiation, career advancement, and continuing education requirements; in addition, customizable resumes may be downloaded from Evolve. Electronic flashcards are included on Evolve, to help you memorize formulas, key terms, and other key information. Online test scores are date-stamped and stored, making it easy to track your progress. NEW! Updated content is built to the most current ARRT exam content specifications, providing everything you need to prepare for and pass the exam. NEW! Coverage of digital imaging is updated to reflect the importance of this topic on the Registry exam.
Merrill's Atlas of Radiographic Positioning and Procedures - 3-Volume Set
by
Perfect your positioning skills with the leading radiography text and clinical reference! Merrill's Atlas of Radiographic Positioning & Procedures, 15th Edition helps you learn to position patients properly, set exposures, and produce the clear radiographs needed to make accurate diagnoses. Guidelines to both common and uncommon projections prepare you for every kind of patient encounter. Anatomy and positioning information is organized by bone group or organ system, and coverage of special imaging modalities includes CT, MRI, sonography, radiation therapy, and more. Written by noted educators Jeannean Hall Rollins, Bruce Long, and Tammy Curtis, Merrill's Atlas is not just the gold standard in imaging - it also prepares you for the ARRT exam! Comprehensive, full-color coverage of anatomy and positioning makes Merrill's Atlas the most in-depth text and reference available for radiography students and practitioners. Guidelines to each projection include a photograph of a properly positioned patient and information on patient position, part position, central ray angulation, collimation, KVp values, and evaluation criteria. Diagnostic-quality radiograph for each projection demonstrates the result the radiographer is trying to achieve. Coverage of common and unique positioning procedures includes chapters on trauma, surgical radiography, geriatrics/pediatrics, and bone densitometry, to help prepare you for the full scope of situations you will encounter. Numerous CT and MRI images enhance comprehension of cross-sectional anatomy and help in preparing for the Registry examination. Frequently requested projections are identified with a special icon to help you focus on what you need to know as an entry-level radiographer. Image receptor and collimation sizes plus other key information are provided for each relevant projection. Bulleted lists provide clear instructions on how to correctly position the patient and body part when performing procedures. Summary tables provide quick access to projection overviews, guides to anatomy, pathology tables for bone groups and body systems, and exposure technique charts. NEW! Updated content reflects the advances and continuing evolution of digital imaging technology. NEW! Revised positioning techniques reflect the latest American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) standards, and include photos of current digital imaging for the lower limb, scoliosis, pain management, and the swallowing dysfunction. NEW! Added digital radiographs provide greater contrast resolution for improved visualization of pertinent anatomy.
Digital Radiography and PACS
by
Gain a full understanding of the basic principles and techniques of digital imaging! Using an easy-to-understand format and style, Digital Radiography and PACS, 4th Edition provides the latest information on digital imaging systems. It offers tips on producing clear radiographic images, and helps you build skills in computed radiography (CR) and digital radiography (DR), as well as picture archiving and communications systems (PACS). Coverage also includes quality control and management guidelines for PACS, CR, and DR. Written by noted educators Christi Carter and Beth Veale, this book provides excellent preparation for the ARRT credentialing exam and for success as a practicing radiographer or technologist. Coverage of digital imaging and PACS is provided at the right level for student radiographers and for practicing technologists transitioning to digital imaging. Chapter outlines, learning objectives, and key terms at the beginning of each chapter introduce the chapter content, and help students organize study and boost their comprehension. More than 200 photographs and illustrations help to illuminate digital imaging concepts. Practical information addresses topics such as working with CR/DR workstations, including advanced image processing and manipulation functions; PACS workstations, archiving solutions, and system architectures; and effective techniques for digitizing film, printing images, and preparing image files. Bulleted summaries recap the main points of each chapter, ensuring that students focus on the most important concepts. Review questions at the end of chapters are linked to the chapter objectives and help students assess their understanding of the material, with answers provided to instructors on the Evolve website. NEW! Latest information on digital imaging systems includes computed radiography (CR), digital radiography (DR), and picture archiving and communications systems (PACS), as well as the data required by practicing technologists who are transitioning to digital imaging. NEW! Updates reflect the latest ARRT and ASRT content specifications. NEW! Full-color design is added to this edition.
The Essential Physics of Medical Imaging Study Guide
by
Ideal for study, review, or self-assessment, The Essential Physics of Medical Imaging Study Guide is an easy-to-use, interactive resource for learning and retaining core information in the physics of medical imaging. Whether used as a supplement to The Essential Physics of Medical Imaging, 4th Edition, or as a stand-alone review tool, this new study guide helps you gain a deeper understanding of this complex field, while preparing you for exams and clinical practice. It's an essential resource for radiology residents and practitioners, medical physicists, and radiation oncologists, as well as radiology technicians and nuclear medicine technicians who need a reliable, up-to-date review of medical physics, federal radiation control standards and regulations, radiation safety, and radiation biology. References between the main textbook and the study guide provide more detailed answers to questions that arise as you study. Provides three helpful sections for study and review: Section 1 distills key concepts for each chapter in textbook in outline format. Section 2 includes more than 1,000 image-rich questions and answers with page numbers from the main text for further detail; eBook questions and answers are interactive. Section 3 consolidates key equations for each chapter with page numbers from the main text where the equation is introduced and discussed.
Understanding Radiation Biology: from DNA damage to cancer and radiation risk
by
This book provides a qualitative and quantitative exploration of the action of radiation on living matter which leads to a complete and coherent interpretation of radiation biology. It takes readers from radiation-induced molecular damage in the nucleus of the cell and links this damage to cellular effects such as cell killing, chromosome aberrations and mutations before exploring organ damage, organism lethality and cancer induction. It also deals with radiological protection concepts and the difficulties of predicting the dose-effect relationship for low-dose and dose rate radiation risk. The book ends with separate chapters dealing with the effects of UV light exposure and risk classification of chemical mutagens, both of which are derived by logical extensions of the radiation model. This book will provide the basic foundations of radiation biology for undergraduate and graduate students in medical physics, biomedical engineering, radiological protection, medicine, radiology and radiography. Features Presents a comprehensive insight into radiation action on living matter Contains important implications for radiological protection and regulations Provides analytical methods for applications in radiotherapy
Chapman & Nakielny's guide to radiological procedures
by
"Chapman & Nakielny's Guide to Radiological Procedures provides a complete guide to all the imaging procedures and techniques that raditiology trainees and advanced practice radiographers might be expected to undertake as part of their routine clinical practice."--From back cover.
Person-Centred Care in Radiography: skills for providing effective patient care
by
A helpful guide to patient and person-centered care in radiography, with a particular focus on interpersonal and communication skills Person-centred Care in Radiography: Skills for Providing Effective Patient Care explores the complex interpersonal skills that are required of practitioners and medical imaging professionals which ensure high-quality service is given to person-centred care in radiography. The textbook is also written by a team of expert authors, and grounded in the team's own research, as well as their involvement with the Heads of Radiography Group, the Association of Radiography Educators, the Collaborating Centre for Values-based Practice in Health and Social Care, and the College of Radiographers. The textbook contains a broad range of additional learning features, including case studies, student exercises, annotated further readings, and chapter summaries. Diagrams and illustrations are used throughout the book to provide visual representation of the concepts presented. Learning activities are also included throughout the book to encourage readers to self-discover and reflect and then apply their learning to their own role. Person-centred Care in Radiography includes detailed information on and discussion of: Values, developing resilience, defining compassion, pain and suffering, and professional behaviors and culture Scenarios developed by service users based on real-life practice, to demonstrate the impact of the professional's behavior on the care received Diversity of service users, the role of carers, conceptual frameworks, interpersonal communication skills and communicating with patients beyond introductions Values-based practice, compassionate practice, theoretical models for patient-centered care in radiography and reflections to help readers move forward Targeted at all staff working within diagnostic and therapeutic radiography clinical departments and educational institutions, Person-centred Care in Radiography, can be used in both radiography education by students and educators and by qualified staff who wish to reflect on their own patient care and develop their skills.
The unofficial guide to radiology: 100 practice abdominal X-rays
by
AI for Radiology
by
Offers an up-to-date, broad, and technical overview of the landscape of AI in radiology. Provides concrete examples of how the radiology community has taken quick and effective action to embrace the new era of AI. Covers the fundamental concepts and terminology associated with machine learning and deep learning, the predominant paradigms of contemporary AI. Discusses the essential role of data in AI solutions for radiology and associated technical challenges and ethical considerations.
Radiation Safety Guide for Nuclear Medicine Professionals
by
The book covers all the radiation safety aspects while working with unsealed radionuclides. Radiation safety plays a significant role in routine nuclear medicine practices and is necessary to protect occupational workers, patients, members of the general public and the environment. A fair knowledge of radiation safety is expected from all nuclear medicine professionals. Chapters include basics of radiation physics, biological bases of radiation protection, planning and design of nuclear medicine facilities, cyclotron and high dose therapy facilities, radiation safety considerations in nuclear medicine, cyclotron while preparing radiopharmaceuticals. It also includes the working mechanism of radiation detectors, quality assurance of positron emission tomography (PET) and gamma camera, including single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), emergency preparedness plan, nuclear medicine and CT dosimetry, transport regulations, the role of national regulatory authorities and radioactive waste management. The last chapter provides probable model questions asked in the radiological safety officer certification examination and includes 250 multiple-choice questions (MCQs), 100 true or false, 60 fill in the blanks, and 40 match the following questions. The book is written in a simple language for a better understanding of the occupational workers of any grade. It serves as reference material for nuclear medicine professionals on radiation safety, related to planning, quality assurance, dosimetry and various regulations pertaining to nuclear medicine. It is a ready reckoner for the students pursuing a degree/diploma in nuclear medicine and preparing for certification courses in radiation safety to understand the subject matter along with options to attempt practice questions.
A Guide to Musculoskeletal Radiology
by
This book covers all the aspects of orthopedic skeletal radiographic imaging or musculoskeletal radiology. It fills the gap and simply presents essential concepts. It emphasizes radiology principles as well as important surgical aspects. It assists readers in understanding the fundamentals of a radiograph and its interpretation. It includes a description of radiographs helpful for students and surgeons. The book is suitable for practicing orthopedic surgeons, radiologists and postgraduate students of orthopedic surgery, FNB students during their specialization fellowship.
Fauber's Radiographic Imaging and Exposure
by
**Selected for 2025 Doody's Core Titles® in Radiologic Technology** With straightforward coverage of imaging principles, Fauber's Radiographic Imaging and Exposure, 7th Edition, describes exposure techniques and how to acquire, process, and display digital images. Not only does this book help you reduce the need for repeat images, but it also includes problem-solving strategies for clinical practice. Written by noted educator Terri L. Fauber, this book also provides the essential knowledge needed to pass the ARRT initial certification exam. NEW! Chapter on Fundamentals of Radiation Production includes the x-ray circuitry to enhance your understanding and comprehension of x-ray production. NEW! Content on imaging pathology includes the five radiographic substances and how they relate to differential absorption and image quality. NEW! Content on exposure technique selection helps improve visualization of soft tissue opacities. Thorough digital radiography coverage explains how to acquire, process, and display digital images, along with important aspects of health information management. Straightforward focus on imaging and exposure provides the knowledge you need to become a competent radiographer. Concise, easy-to-understand writing style makes the content easily accessible. Patient Protection Alerts highlight the variables that impact patient exposure and how radiographers can control them. Important Relationships summarize the connections between radiographic concepts, calling attention to how they relate to one another. Mathematical Applications show how mathematical concepts and formulas are applied in the clinical setting. Bulleted summaries at the end of each chapter offer a quick review of key concepts. Review questions are provided in every chapter, with answers in the back of the book. Convenient appendixes include Important Relationships, Mathematical Applications, and Patient Protection Alerts, providing a quick reference to important concepts and formulas. Glossary of key terms defines need-to-know terminology covered throughout the book.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance: