Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
Users can access a comprehensive scope of content covering over 50 nursing specialties as well as allied health subjects including speech and language pathology, nutrition, physical therapy and much more. Access materials on topics such as biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and more. Additionally, access health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, over 130 evidence-based care sheets, almost 170 quick lessons on disease overviews, 170 continuing education modules, and 360 research instrument records.
Designed for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides full text of journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
Contains up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Articles from journals and books on a variety of topics, including: physical sciences and engineering (chemistry, earth and space sciences, engineering, mathematics and computers, physics and astronomy), life sciences (agriculture, biochemistry, biology, immunology and microbiology, neuroscience), health sciences (nursing, medicine, pharmacology, dentistry, health professions, veterinary medicine), and social sciences and humanities (arts and humanities, business, economics, psychology, social sciences).
These books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
Radiography in the Digital Age: Physics - Exposure - Radiation Biology
by
Long overdue, this new work provides just the right focus and scope for the practice of radiography in this digital age, covering four entire courses in a typical radiography program. The entire emphasis of foundational physics has been adjusted in order to properly support the specific information on digital imaging that will follow. The paradigm shift in imaging terminology is reflected by the careful phrasing of concepts, accurate descriptions and clear illustrations throughout the book. There are over 700 illustrations, including meticulous color line drawings, numerous photographs and stark radiographs. The two chapters on digital image processing alone include 60 beautifully executed illustrations. Foundational chapters on math and basic physics maintain a focus on energy physics. Concepts supporting digital imaging (such as the interpretation of graphs supporting the understanding of histograms) are more thoroughly discussed. All discussion of electricity is limited to only those concepts which bear directly upon the production of x-rays in the x-ray tube. Following is a full discussion of the x-ray beam and its interactions within the patient, the production and characteristics of subject contrast, and an emphasis on the practical application of radiographic technique. This is conventional information, but the terminology and descriptions used have been adapted with great care to the digital environment. Eight chapters are devoted directly to digital imaging, providing extensive coverage of the physics of digital image capture, digital processing techniques, and the practical applications of both CR and DR. Image display systems are brought up to date with the physics of LCD screens and electronic images. PACS and medical imaging informatics are also covered. Chapters on Radiation Biology and Protection include an unflinching look at current issues and radiation protection in practice. The radiation biology is clearly presented with numerous lucid illustrations, and a balanced perspective on radiation and its medical use is developed. To reinforce mathematical concepts for the student, dozens of practice exercises are strategically dispersed throughout the chapters, with answer keys provided in the appendix. Extensive review questions at the end of each chapter give a thorough, comprehensive review of the material learned.
Johns and Cunningham's the Physics of Radiology
by
The fifth edition of this respected book encompasses all the advances and changes that have been made since it was last revised. It not only presents new ideas and information, it shifts its emphases to accurately reflect the inevitably changing perspectives in the field engendered by progress in the understanding of radiological physics. The rapid development of computing technology in the three decades since the publication of the fourth edition has enabled the equally rapid expansion of radiology, radiation oncology, nuclear medicine and radiobiology. The understanding of these clinical disciplines is dependent on an appreciation of the underlying physics. The basic radiation physics of relevance to clinical oncology, radiology and nuclear medicine has undergone little change over the last 70 years, so much of the material in the introductory chapters retains the essential flavour of the fourth edition, updated as required. This book is written to help the practitioners in these fields understand the physical science, as well as to serve as a basic tool for physics students who intend working as medical radiation physicists in these clinical fields. It is the authors' hope that students and practitioners alike will find the fifth edition of The Physics of Radiology lucid and straightforward.
Digital Radiography in Practice
by
Medical radiography programs will appreciate having an economical textbook that focuses on the practical aspects of digital radiography. Nearly all textbooks to date claiming the title "digital radiography" have dealt primarily with the managerial aspects of the topic at the expense of any practical information on how digital imaging works and its clinical implications for the daily practice of radiography. The goal of this book is to provide an accurate and adequate description of all the aspects of digital images and digital equipment, and their implications for radiographic technique and clinical application in a student-friendly way by providing crisp, clear illustrations along with readable text. Many of the lucid illustrations in this textbook are from the author's comprehensive textbook, Radiography in the Digital Age (Charles C Thomas, 2018), to make digital radiography comprehensible to the student, but in this book the focus is only on digital topics and the facts are stated with such brief explanatory material as each topic will allow. Many digital topics are intimidating, and every attempt is made to reduce these topics to a descriptive, non-mathematical level that can be intuitively understood by the average student. A helpful glossary is included whenever a concise definition is needed for a particular term.
Student Workbook for Radiography in the Digital Age
by
This Student Workbook for Radiography in the Digital Age is specifically designed for in-classroom use with the series PowerPoint Slides for Radiography in the Digital Age. Together with the textbook itself and the Instructor Resources CD, these products complete a full package of educational resources tailored for radiography courses in the Physics of Radiography, Principles of Imaging, Digital Image Acquisition and Display, and Radiation Biology and Protection. The Workbook is organized throughout in a concise "fill-in-the-blank" format, focusing on key words to reinforce students' retention of the material. The wording and sequencing of questions closely mirrors the PowerPoint Slide series for each course. This Workbook strikes a perfect balance between allowing the student to concentrate on the lecture by doing minimal writing while still challenging the student to participate in classroom learning. An effective "note-taking" tool, it also doubles as a reinforcement tool for homework and individual study.
Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology
by
Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology, 9th Edition helps students develop the knowledge and skills they need to become safe, perceptive, and efficient radiologic technologists. The book offers a strong illustration program and a logical organization that emphasizes the connections between classroom learning and clinical practice. Fully aligned with the latest ARRT and ASRT standards, this edition covers current trends and advances in the field and offers an unparalleled array of online teaching and learning resources. NEW ALIGNMENT! Full alignment with the latest ARRT and ASRT standards helps prepare students for certification and successful practice. ENHANCED CASE STUDIES! New and updated case studies with critical thinking questions give students practice dealing with the types of real-world situations they will encounter on the job. SITUATIONAL JUDGEMENT SECTIONS: These sections build critical thinking skills by presenting practical situations and asking students to assess them based on what they have learned. NEW CONTENT: The text reflects new and relevant advances in the field, including updates in pediatric, geriatric, trauma, and mobile imaging. CULTURALLY SENSITIVE: Cultural Considerations boxes demonstrate the importance of being aware of the cultural and ethnic backgrounds of patients. STUDENT-FOCUSED: Learning Objectives and Key Terms that orient students to the chapter; Display boxes that highlight accreditation, competency, or skills information; and Call Out and Warning boxes that alert students to important facts and common pitfalls help students prepare for practice.
Patient Care in Radiography
by
Learn to master radiography patient care with the book that covers it best! With step-by-step instructions and more than 400 full-color illustrations, Patient Care in Radiography, 10th Edition is the perfect resource to help teach you effective radiography patient care. Each chapter expertly guides you through the latest guidelines, carefully making the connection between the topics being discussed and how they relate to patient care. An emphasis is placed on the skills and procedures that are imperative for quality patient care - including safety, transfer, positioning, infection control, and patient assessment. Also included is information on microbiology, emerging diseases, trans-cultural communication, ECGs, administering medications, and bedside radiography to ensure you are well-versed in both the technical and interpersonal skills needed for professional practice. Coverage of patient care and procedural skills helps provide safe, high-quality patient care and technical proficiency. Step-by-step procedures are shown in photo essays, demonstrated with more than 400 full-color illustrations. Case studies focus on medicolegal terms, standards, and applications and help build problem-solving skills. Coverage of infection control helps emphasize the importance of preventing the spread of diseases. Special Imaging Modalities chapter provides an overview of patient care for a wide range of imaging methods. Chapter outlines, objectives, key terms, summaries, review questions, and critical thinking exercises focus on the key information in each chapter. Answers to the review questions are included in the back of the book. NEW! New images highlight many patient procedures and visually demonstrate how to care for patients. NEW! Updated content covers the most current exams, procedures, and technologies, as well as the most current information from the American Society of Radiologic Technologists.
The Unofficial Guide to Radiology: 100 Practice Orthopaedic X Rays with Full Colour Annotations and Full X Ray Reports
by
The Unofficial Guide to Radiology: 100 Practice Orthopaedic X Rays is a companion to the Unofficial Guide to Radiology. This book teaches systematic analysis of Orthopaedic X Rays. The layout is designed to make the book as relevant to clinical practice as possible; the X-rays are presented in the context of a real life scenario. The reader is asked to interpret the X-ray before turning over the page to reveal a model report accompanied by a fully colour annotated version of the X-ray. Uniquely, all cases provide realistic high quality X Ray images, are annotated in full colour, and are fully reported, following international radiology reporting guidelines. This means the X Rays are explained comprehensively, but with clear annotation so that a complete beginner can follow the thinking of the expert. This book has relevance beyond examinations, for post graduate further education and as a day-to-day reference for professionals.
Radiology-Nuclear Medicine Diagnostic Imaging: A Correlative Approach
by
Radiology-Nuclear Medicine Diagnostic Imaging < Radiology-Nuclear Medicine Diagnostic Imaging: A Correlative Approach provides in-depth guidance on applying the principles of radiologic-nuclear medicine correlation to the interpretation of imaging for diagnostic, prognostic, and predictive indications. Describing the clinical implications of all major imaging modalities, this comprehensive professional reference offers one-stop coverage of the common diagnostic applications encountered by nuclear medicine physicians and radiologists in day-to-day practice. The book develops the nuclear diagnostic skills necessary to interpret combined imaging modalities and correlate radiologic findings using a disease and organ-based approach to radiologic interpretation. Thematically organized sections explore a variety of pathologies including diseases of the head and neck, gastrointestinal tract, and pulmonary, endocrine, and central nervous system. Written by internationally recognized experts, this important resource: Helps physicians better understand the clinical and treatment implications of diseases with characteristic radiologic appearances Includes detailed descriptions of nuclear medicine presentations of diseases of most organ systems combined with radiologic correlation Explains refinement of differential diagnoses in various organ systems based on specific imaging features Demonstrates how to correlate scintigraphy and PET images with radiography, CT, MRI, and other imaging techniques Includes a timely review of the application of nuclear medicine-radiology correlative imaging in research Features practical, hands-on clinical imaging references, and more than 600 color illustrations and high-resolution images throughout Radiology-Nuclear Medicine Diagnostic Imaging: A Correlative Approach is a must-have for both trainee and experienced radiologists, nuclear medicine physicians, and specialist nurses.
Orthopaedic Imaging: a Practical Approach
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Trusted by both radiologists and orthopaedic surgeons for authoritative, comprehensive guidance on the interpretation of musculoskeletal images, Orthopedic Imaging: A Practical Approach is an ideal resource at every stage of training and practice. The fully revised seventh edition retains the large images, easy-to-read writing style, and careful blend of illustrations and text that clearly depict all relevant imaging modalities and all pathological entities. Helps you interpret a full range of findings with nearly 4,000 high-quality conventional radiography, ultrasound, CT, 3D CT, dual-energy CT, MRI, PET, PET/CT, PET/MRI, and other imaging techniques--1/3 new to this edition. Contains new coverage of sports injuries and cartilage imaging; clinical features and pathologic correlations of many conditions; and up-to-date references. Provides guidance in choosing the best imaging approach for each patient with discussions of each technique's accuracy, speed, and cost. Features informative diagrams and schematics, as well as "Practical Points" summaries at the end of each chapter for quick review. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Patient Radiation Exposure Monitoring in Medical Imaging
by
Written to assist the implementation in medical imaging practice of the requirements of the IAEA Safety Standards Series No. GSR Part 3, Radiation Protection and Safety of Radiation Sources: International Basic Safety Standards, this publication provides consolidated information and detailed advice for setting and implementing patient radiation exposure monitoring programmes at the local or national level. In medical imaging using ionizing radiation, including X ray diagnostic radiology, diagnostic nuclear medicine and image guided interventional procedures, radiation protection of patients is achieved by selecting the most appropriate imaging procedure for the individual needs of the patient and by keeping exposure to the minimum necessary to achieve the diagnostic and interventional objective. Monitoring of radiation exposure of patients provides critical information for health care professionals and authorities who are responsible for ensuring justified and optimized use of radiation in medicine. This Safety Report provides guidance on recording, collecting and analysing relevant patient exposure data by using manual or automatic means. An aim of the publication is to encourage the future use and development of automatic digital systems to improve access to information about patient radiation exposure and thus contribute to improved implementation of the requirements for radiation protection of patients throughout the world.
Radiology Fundamentals: Introduction to Imaging & Technology
by
This book serves as an introduction to the dynamic field of radiology for medical students, non-radiology house staff, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, radiology assistants, and other allied health professionals and provides information that ranges from basic radiographic principles to advanced imaging techniques. It begins with a discussion of the fundamental concepts underlying the medical use of imaging modalities such as ultrasound, computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, and nuclear medicine. Subsequent chapters are organized by anatomic region and imaging modality that highlight the radiologist's role in diagnosing and treating common disorders. Each chapter offers learning objectives to aid readers in recognizing important points and connecting the basic radiology concepts. The sixth edition is thoroughly updated. The editors and authors introduce the approach to SAFE radiology, explaining the concepts of S-safety in all modalities, A-appropriateness of imaging ordering, F-interpreting films and E-acting expeditiously on significant findings and executing the recommendation of the imaging findings. Easy to learn and easy to remember, SAFE reminds all health care professionals that safety and appropriateness should precede any imaging testing and that all results should be applied expeditiously and thoughtfully.
Selman's the Fundamentals of Imaging Physics and Radiobiology
by
This tenth edition of Selman's The Fundamentals of Imaging Physics and Radiobiology is the continuation of a seminal work in radiation physics and radiation biology first published by Joseph Selman, MD, in 1954 by Charles C Thomas, Publisher, Ltd., Springfield, IL. Many significant changes have been made in this tenth edition. Color photographs and new illustrations have been provided for several existing chapters and for the new chapters in this book. Revisions and updates have been completed for Chapters 1 through 28, whereas Chapters 29 to 33 are all new. The overall style of Doctor Selman is still present, but, with any revision, the style of the present author is also present. In essence, the author's raison d'être in revising this book was to better reflect current radiology practice and to honor the work of Doctor Selman. Topics discussed in this textbook deal with the physics of x-radiation, the biological interaction of radiation with matter, and all aspects of imaging equipment and technology commonly found in the modern radiology department. The chapter on computed tomography (CT) has been heavily revised and updated. Protective measures regarding radiation safety and radiation hazards for workers and patients are thoroughly discussed and new chapters on dual energy x-ray absorptiometry (DXA), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), ultrasound (US), fusion and molecular imaging have been added. This book will be very helpful to students about to take the ARRT (R) registry examination, but it is not a registry review book per se. This book also serves as a good overview of radiologic imaging physics for radiographers and other medical professionals.
Clark's Procedures in Diagnostic Imaging: A System-Based Approach
by
Bringing together conventional contrast media studies, computed tomography, ultrasound, magnetic resonance imaging, radionuclide imaging including hybrid imaging using SPECT-CT and PET-CT, DXA studies and digital interventional procedures into one volume, this definitive book is the essential source of information on the use and application of these imaging modalities in radiography. Taking a systemic anatomical approach, carefully designed to be clear and consistent throughout and mirroring that in the popular and established textbook Clark's Positioning in Radiography, each chapter is highly illustrated and contains sections detailing anatomy, pathologic considerations, procedure methodology, and an evaluation of recommended imaging modalities. Reflecting the latest clinical imaging pathways and referral guidelines including IR(ME)R 2017, the Map of Medicine and RCR iRefer (8E), Clark's Diagnostic Imaging Procedures will quickly become established as the standard textbook for students of radiography and radiographer assistant trainees and an invaluable desk reference for practising radiologists.
X-Ray Contrast Media: Overview, Use and Pharmaceutical Aspects
by
This open access book is an overview on CT/X-ray contrast media designed for radiologists and other medical specialists who use contrast media in imaging and interventional procedures as well as related scientists on the use and pharmaceutical aspects of X-ray contrast media. The overall goal of this book is to provide a comprehensive overview relevant for the optimal use of x-ray contrast media covering next to the historic development, their structure and properties also practical information for handling of contrast media, and explanation of the relevant risks during use and measures for prevention and treatment of potential side effects.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
