Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Fundamentals of Pharmacology for nursing & healthcare students by
All registered nurses must have a thorough understanding and a strong knowledge of pharmacology, medicines administration, and the ability to recognise and react to the effects of medicines. Fundamentals of Pharmacology helps nursing and healthcare students develop the skills and confidence required to apply the fundamental principles of pharmacology and to offer safe, competent and compassionate care. Concentrating on the medicines that students are most likely to encounter in real-world practice, this textbook provides concise coverage of pharmacology, essential medicines management principles, legal and ethical issues, drug formulations, analgesics, immunisations, and much more. Clinically focused chapters feature defined learning outcomes, multiple-choice questions, practical examples, and full-colour illustrations to aid readers' comprehension of the complexities of pharmacology and care provision. The book utilises a straightforward, student-friendly approach to present 'must-have' information, with contributions from experienced clinicians and academics. Describes how to use pharmaceutical and prescribing reference guides Stresses the role and importance of compassionate care throughout Contains a full range of pedagogical tools which enhance learning and recall Aligns with current NMC Standards and Proficiencies for Registered Nurses and Nursing Associates Supplemented and supported by a wealth of online extras and resources Fundamentals of Pharmacology is essential reading for all nursing students, trainee nursing associates, post-registration nurses taking 'nurse prescribing' or 'non-medical prescribing' modules, and newly qualified nurses and nursing associates looking to better understand pharmacology.
Nursing 2024 Drug Handbook by
The #1 Drug Guide for nurses and other clinicians...always dependable, always up to-date! Now in its 44th edition, Nursing2024 Drug Handbook delivers the most current nursing-focused information on more than 3,800 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs in an easy-to-use A-Z format. NEW! Includes 21 brand-new FDA-approved drugs--tabbed and conveniently grouped in a handy "NEW DRUGS" section for easy retrieval NEW! Thousands of clinical updates--new dosages and indications, FDA boxed warnings, genetic-related information, adverse reactions, nursing considerations, clinical alerts, and patient teaching information Special focus on U.S. and Canadian drug safety issues and concerns Photoguide insert with images of 415 commonly prescribed tablets and capsules Plus FREE access to additional resources available on Lippincott NursingCenter® at https://www.nursingcenter.com ➤Monthly FDA updates and news Newly approved drugs New indications and dosages Drug warnings Drug news abstracts ➤Medication safety information Types of medication errors, including causes and common errors Preventing and reducing medication errors Reporting medication errors Real-life stories of medication errors
Infection Prevention and Control Guide for Health Care Professionals by
Are you a health care professional or someone interested in disease control? If yes, then, this book is for you. The author provides a simplistic guide on how to prevent and control the spread of infections in both health care and non-health care environments. The book represents a handy tool for quality patient care and infection control best practices.
Clinical Ethics: a practical approach to ethical decisions in clinical medicine by
Trust the proven "Four Box" method to formulate ethically appropriate recommendations for patient care A Doody's Core Title for 2021! Clinical Ethics teaches healthcare providers how to effectively identify, evaluate, and resolve ethical issues in clinical medicine. Using the author acclaimed "Four Box Method" and numerous illustrative case examples, this book enables practitioners to gain a better understanding of the complexities involved in ethical cases and demonstrates how to reach resolution to ethical problems. Clinical Ethics goes beyond theory to offer a decision-making strategy applicable to real-world practice. Readers will learn an easy-to-apply system based on simple questions about medical indications, patient preferences, quality of life, and contextual features that clearly explain clinical ethics and help them formulate a sound diagnosis and treatment strategy. The case examples have been selected to demonstrate how principles apply to real-world everyday practice. The co-authors, a bioethicist, a physician and a lawyer/ psychoanalyst /philosopher, draw on more than forty years respectively of clinical experience to select exemplary cases of ethical problems and to reflect on how moral principles and concepts can guide clinicians in formulating ethically appropriate recommendations for patient care. A unique chapter organization: Each chapter of the book begins with some general considerations about the topic, and the ethical principle relevant to that topic. The clinical situations that generate ethical problems are then described and illustrated by clinically realistic medical cases. A short distillation of current opinion from the bioethical literature is provided, followed by an analysis of the cases.. The authors conclude with recommendations that the three authors have formulated from their extensive experience as bioethics consultants.
Clinical Skills for Healthcare Assistants and Assistant Practitioners by
Clinical Skills for Healthcare Assistants and Assistant Practitioners is an accessible, easy-to-read guide, outlining the fundamental and core skills integral to clinical practice. Fully updated in its second edition, this book is divided into three sections; the first looks at fundamental skills applicable to all staff, such as accountability, communication and record keeping. Section two explores core clinical skills such as respiratory care, pulse, blood glucose management and catheter care. Section three outlines complex clinical skills that require more in-depth training, such as medication and intravenous cannulation. An invaluable resource for healthcare assistants and assistant practitioners, this book will also be of use to newly qualified practitioners, and students in health and social care.
MA Review Notes: Exam Certification Pocket Guide by
A DAVIS'S NOTES BOOK! Certification means a professional edge--better job security and more career advancement opportunities. Here's the only pocket-sized review guide for the CMA (AAMA), RMA, and CMAS exams that also includes a mini CD-ROM. The content outline encompasses all areas of must-know information, with space to add your own notes. Plus, almost 1,000 questions on the bonus CD that emulate the real tests. Get the professional edge--get certified and get ahead!
Delmar's Comprehensive Medical Assisting: administrative and clinical competencies by
This new medical assisting learning system provides comprehensive coverage of administrative and clinical procedures and skills. The full-color text integrates the competencies identified in the new AAMA Role Delineation Study throughout, using a simulation approach to enhance learning by using characters from the Medical Assisting Videos throughout the case studies and examples in the textbook, workbook and student disk. Two Study Guide Software Disks packaged with the text provide a comprehensive review of administrative, clinical and general content areas. Step-by-step, detailed procedures and an innovative, open text design clearly illustrate standard and advanced medical assisting skills. End-of-chapter review questions with a critical-thinking emphasis reinforce learning of material covered. Unique topics covered include managed care, coping skills, therapeutic approach to patients, cultural diversity applications, preparation for the Examination (both CMA and RMA), and professional career success strategies. Supplements Workbook 0-8273-6765-1 - 8 1/2 x 11, 832 pages, 4 color, casebound Instructor's Manual 0-8273-6763-5 - 8 1/2 x 11, 832 pages, 4 color, casebound Computerized Testbank (3.5" Windows) 0-8273-8415-7 Instructor's Resource Kit 0-768-0146-2 M.A. Video Series 2E 0-8273-8304-5 M.A. CD-ROM 0-8273-8404-1
Davis's Pocket Clinical Drug Reference by
The best pocket drug guide yet! Rely on this handy reference for at-the-bedside guidance on the safe administration of medications to adult, pediatric, and geriatric patients, as well as pregnant and lactating women, and those with renal impairments. Every detail is designed to make it easy for you to find the information you need-- in a snap. It's small enough to fit in your pocket, but large enough to be easy to read at a glance. And you can count on it for accuracy because it's drawn from Davis's Drug Guide database.
An Illustrated Guide to Infection Control by
"This guide is useful for nursing students as well as those in practice."--Doody's Medical Reviews This all-encompassing volume assists nursing students and beginning-level RNs in developing a practical understanding of infection control issues as they relate to many different areas of health care. The Illustrated Guide to Infection Control covers every infection control topic, from basic hand washing, immunizations, infection control in critical care, infection control in labor and delivery, and medical waste disposal, to methods of surveillance, and everything in between-all in one volume. Written by experts in the respective fields, each chapter offers important insights on protecting patients, families, visitors, volunteers, and health care providers from infection. Illustrations are provided to help demonstrate the topics presented, and chapters contain questions and answers with rationales for students to reflect upon. Key features: Eliminates the need for multiple infection control resources by covering all essential topics in one volume Encompasses all of the important infection control topics, from basic issues such as hand washing, to specialty area-specific measures such as prevention measures for critical care nursing Covers multiple clinical areas of expertise, including acute care, dialysis, TB control, physician's offices, and more Includes pre-test and post-test questions for each chapter, with answers provided at the end of the book
Fundamentals of Infection Prevention and Control by
Reviews of first edition: "This book tells every healthcare professional all they need to know about infection control... A user-friendly, valuable source of knowledge on a subject that can be confusing and complicated." Nursing Standard "A valuable contribution within any health or social environment." Journal of Community Nursing Infection prevention and control is an essential component of nursing care, and a crucially important subject area for both nursing students and qualified nurses. Fundamentals of Infection Prevention and Control gives readers a firm grasp of the principles of infection control, how they relate to clinical practice and the key issues surrounding the subject. It provides a comprehensive guide to the prevention, management and control of healthcare associated infections, and the basic elements of microbiology, immunology and epidemiology that underpin them. Thoroughly revised in line with current policy, this new edition contains brand-new chapters on a range of topics including the role of the Infection Prevention and Control Team, audit and surveillance, and the management of outbreaks. Also incorporating a range of case studies and examples as well as additional online content, it is essential reading for all nursing students as well as qualified nursing and healthcare professionals. Explores both principles and practice of a crucial subject area Accessible and user-friendly, with a range of features to help study including key definitions, links back to clinical practice, and chapter learning outcomes and summaries Accompanied by an online resource centre featuring MCQs, weblinks, case scenarios and downloadable fact sheets Features an increased clinical focus, with more application to practice This title is also available: as a Wiley E-Text, powered by VitalSource: an interactive digital version of the book featuring downloadable text and images, highlighting and note-taking facilities, book-marking, cross-referencing, in-text searching, and linking to references and glossary terms instantly on CourseSmart at www.coursesmart.co.uk/9781118306659. CourseSmart offers extra functionality, as well as an immediate way to review the text. For more details, visit www.coursesmart.com/instructors or www.coursesmart.com/students
Principles of Pharmacology by
This new resource introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of pharmacology using easy-to-understand language, to provide a solid background, and help readers develop a deeper understanding and appreciation of this important and evolving subject. Pharmacology is a branch of biology that studies the interaction of drugs and living organisms to better understand how they can affect biochemical function. Today, pharmacologists rely on genetics, molecular biology, and biochemistry in the quest to develop effective, personalized medicine. In over 120 articles arranged in A to Z order, Principles of Pharmacology addresses a variety of topics in this field. Entries related to basic principles and concepts include fields of study related to the topic; an abstract that provides a brief, concrete summary of the topic; key concepts important to a proper understanding of the topic; text that gives an explanation of the background and significance; illustrations that clarify difficult concepts via models, diagrams, and charts; and further reading lists that relate to each entry.
Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy by
Ready to master the medication process? Tap into the go-to resource for nursing pharmacology basics, with the fully updated new fifth edition of Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy!®. Offering clear, concise descriptions of crucial nursing pharmacology concepts and procedures, this easy-to-follow, colorfully illustrated guide offers step-by-step guidance so to can grasp the fundamentals in enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. From initial assessment to safe medication administration and patient care plans, this is the perfect supplement to class materials, offering solid preparation for NCLEX®, as well as a handy refresher for experienced nurses. Learn the ins and outs of nursing pharmacology care, with the latest data and protocols: NEW chapters on patient education, sensory drugs, and dermatologic drugs NEW chapter on medication safety, including abbreviations to avoid and a review of dosage calculations NEW content on current approved medications, and dosages, and expected versus adverse effects NEW content on emergency drugs, herbs/supplements, immunization schedule, and more Hundreds of colorful diagrams, drawings, and charts that illustrate core concepts, with easy-to-retain definitions and clear direction on administering drugs; drug distribution, absorption, and metabolism; drug classes and their uses; and potential drug interactions Quick-scan outline format offers up-to-date guidance on areas including: Nursing pharmacology fundamentals Concepts of pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, and pharmacotherapeutics Pain drugs, autonomic nervous system drugs, neurologic and neuromuscular drugs Psychotherapeutic, anti-infective, anti-inflammatory, anti-allergy, and immunosuppressant drugs Antineoplastic drugs, drugs for fluid and electrolyte balance Ways a drug may affect patients of different ages and other warnings Content reflects the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model - guidance from initial assessment to evaluating outcomes "Practice Makes Perfect" end-of-book practice exam - approximately 100 new NCLEX®-style questions, to increase your exam confidence Chapter features include: Prototype pro - Actions, indications, and nursing considerations for common prototype drugs A three-step process is provided throughout the chapters to help you care for individuals taking commonly prescribed medications Pharm function - Explains and illustrates how drugs act in the body, and addresses how to recognize and treat adverse reactions Before you give that drug - Warnings to consider before you administer a drug Education edge - Information to share with your patient Black Box Warnings boxes draw attention to life-threatening concerns Lifespan Lightbulb boxes highlight information about how a drug or drug class may affect patients of different ages Quick quiz - End-of-chapter questions with answers/explanations, to help you remember the essentials Nurse Joy and Jake illustrated characters offer tips and insights throughout About the Clinical Editors Cherie R. Rebar, PhD, MBA, RN, CNE, CNECI, COI, FAADN, is a Professor of Nursing at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio Nicole Heimgartner, DNP, MSN, RN, CNE, CNECI, COI, is a Nursing Faculty member at Galen College of Nursing in Louisville, Kentucky Carolyn Gersch, PhD, MSN, RN, CNE, is a Professor of Practice in the Nursing Program at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio
Therapeutic Nutrition: A Guide to Patient Education by
This reference provides essential information on therapeutic nutrition and contains 135 patient education handouts that health care providers can reproduce and give to patients. Included within the handouts are ones on recommended dietary allowances, the latest food pyramid, prediabetes, glycemic index, mercury and fish safety, food allergy, and 16 specific diets for medical conditions. Each patient education handout is prefaced by an overview that offers guidelines on nutritional interventions and patient education. The book also includes discussions on nutritional controversies and eating disorders and a list of additional resources. The spiral binding and flip-chart format enable health care providers to find and reproduce patient handouts quickly.
Building the Case for Health Literacy by
The field of health literacy has evolved from one focused on individuals to one that recognizes that health literacy is multidimensional. While communicating in a health literate manner is important for everyone, it is particularly important when communicating with those with limited health literacy who also experience more serious medication errors, higher rates of hospitalization and use of the emergency room, poor health outcomes, and increased mortality. Over the past decade, research has shown that health literacy interventions can significantly impact various areas including health care costs, outcomes, and health disparities. To understand the extent to which health literacy has been shown to be effective at contributing to the Quadruple Aim of improving the health of communities, providing better care, providing affordable care, and improving the experience of the health care team, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine convened a public workshop on building the case for health literacy. This publication summarizes the presentations and discussions from the workshop, and highlights important lessons about the role of health literacy in meeting the Quadruple Aim, case studies of organizations that have adopted health literacy, and discussions among the different stakeholders involved in making the case for health literacy.
Advances in Patient Education by
This book provides an integrative analysis of new advances in patient education, and the current state of the field. Written by one of patient education's foremost experts, the book focuses on the following important areas: learning theory; ethics; measurement & outcomes; preparation for self management of chronic disease; mode of delivery; and mental health. The growing importance of patient-centered care, and the large number of persons with one or more chronic diseases offers patient education the opportunity to grow as an independent and fundamental part of the health care system.
Medical Ethics: a Very Short Introduction by
Issues in medical ethics are rarely out of the media and it is an area of ethics that has particular interest for the general public as well as the medical practitioner. This short and accessible introduction provides an invaluable tool with which to think about the ethical values that lie at the heart of medicine. Tony Hope deals with the thorny moral questions such as euthanasia and the morality of killing, and also explores political questions such as: how should health care resources be distributed fairly? Each chapter in this book considers a different issue: genetics, modern reproductive technologies, resource allocation, mental health, medical research, and discusses controversial questions such as:· Who should have access to reproductive technology? Who should pay?· Is it right to fund expensive drug treatment for individuals?· Should active euthanasia be legalized?· Should treatment for mental illness be imposed on patients without their consent?· Who should have access to information from genetic testing?· Should we require consent for the use of dead bodies or organs in medical research?
Patient Safety Ethics: How Vigilance, Mindfulness, Compliance, and Humility Can Make Healthcare Safer by
Developing best practices and ethical systems to protect and enhance patient safety. Human errors occur all too frequently in medical practice settings. One sobering recent report claimed that medical errors are the third leading cause of death in the United States. Hoping to reverse this disturbing trend but wondering why it is that things usually go well despite errors, John D. Banja's Patient Safety Ethics lays out a model that advocates vigilance, mindfulness, compliance, and humility as core ethical principles of patient safety. Arguing that the safe provision of healthcare is one of the most fundamental moral obligations of clinicians, Banja surveys the research literature on harm-causing medical errors to explore the ethical foundations of patient safety and to reduce the severity and frequency of medical error. Drawing on contemporary scholarship on quality improvement, risk management, and medical decision making, Banja also relies on a novel source of information to illustrate patient safety ethics: medical malpractice suits. Providing professional perspective with insights from prominent patient safety experts, Patient Safety Ethics identifies hazard pitfalls and suggests concrete ways for clinicians and regulators to improve patient safety through an ethically cultivated program of "hazard awareness."
Electronic Health Records for Dummies by
The straight scoop on choosing and implementing an electronic health records (EHR) system Doctors, nurses, and hospital and clinic administrators are interested in learning the best ways to implement and use an electronic health records system so that they can be shared across different health care settings via a network-connected information system. This helpful, plain-English guide provides need-to-know information on how to choose the right system, assure patients of the security of their records, and implement an EHR in such a way that it causes minimal disruption to the daily demands of a hospital or clinic. Offers a plain-English guide to the many electronic health records (EHR) systems from which to choose Authors are a duo of EHR experts who provide clear, easy-to-understand information on how to choose the right EHR system an implement it effectively BR> Addresses the benefits of implementing an EHR system so that critical information (such as medication, allergies, medical history, lab results, radiology images, etc.) can be shared across different health care settings Discusses ways to talk to patients about the security of their electronic health records Electronic Health Records For Dummies walks you through all the necessary steps to successfully choose the right EHR system, keep it current, and use it effectively.
