Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Nine Pints: a journey through the money, medicine, and mysteries of blood
by
An eye-opening exploration of blood, the lifegiving substance with the power of taboo, the value of diamonds and the promise of breakthrough science Blood carries life, yet the sight of it makes people faint. It is a waste product and a commodity pricier than oil. It can save lives and transmit deadly infections. Each one of us has roughly nine pints of it, yet many don't even know their own blood type. And for all its ubiquitousness, the few tablespoons of blood discharged by 800 million women are still regarded as taboo: menstruation is perhaps the single most demonized biological event. Rose George, author of The Big Necessity, is renowned for her intrepid work on topics that are invisible but vitally important. In Nine Pints, she takes us from ancient practices of bloodletting to the breakthough of the "liquid biopsy," which promises to diagnose cancer and other diseases with a simple blood test. She introduces Janet Vaughan, who set up the world's first system of mass blood donation during the Blitz, and Arunachalam Muruganantham, known as "Menstrual Man" for his work on sanitary pads for developing countries. She probes the lucrative business of plasma transfusions, in which the US is known as the "OPEC of plasma." And she looks to the future, as researchers seek to bring synthetic blood to a hospital near you. Spanning science and politics, stories and global epidemics, Nine Pints reveals our life's blood in an entirely new light. Nine Pints was named one of Bill Gates recommended summer reading titles for 2019.
Blood: an epic history of medicine and commerce
by
"Essence and emblem of life - feared, revered, mythologized, and used in magic and medicine from earliest times - human blood is now the center of a huge, secretive, and often dangerous worldwide commerce. It is a commerce whose impact upon humanity rivals that of any other business - millions of lives have been saved by blood and its various derivatives, and tens of thousands of lives have been lost. Douglas Starr tells how this came to be, in a sweeping history that ranges through the centuries."
The Morphology of Human Blood Cells
by
This atlas, which portrays the morphologic characteristics of normal and pathologic cells in blood and bone marrow, is published for the use of medical students, student medical technologists, and other health science students who are learning to identify the various types of blood cells. This monograph also is an aid for teachers of morphological hematology and for technologists who are responsible for the examination of smears by manual and automated methods. A knowledge of morphology is also useful for residents in clinical and anatomic pathology, pediatrics, and medicine. Major emphasis is placed on the anatomical characteristics of individual cells in the various stages of their maturation as revealed by light microscopy, employing an oil-immersion objective. Unless otherwise stated, the cells that are described and visually pictured by the artist, Dorothy Sturm, are those present in thin, air-exposed, dried smears or marrow imprints that have been stained by Wright stain.
Five Quarts: a personal and natural history of blood
by
"We're born in blood. Our family histories are contained in it, our bodies nourished by it daily. Five quarts run through each of us, along some sixty thousand miles of arteries, veins, and capillaries." -from Five Quarts In the national bestseller Sleep Demons, Bill Hayes took us on a trailblazing trip through the night country of insomnia. Now he is our guide on a whirlwind journey through history, literature, mythology, and science by means of the great red river that runs five quarts strong through our bodies. Profusely illustrated, the journey stretches from ancient Rome, where gladiators drank the blood of vanquished foes to gain strength and courage, to modern-day laboratories, where high-tech machines test blood for diseases and dedicated scientists search for elusive cures. Along the way, there will be world-changing triumphs: William Harvey's discovery of the circulation of the blood; Antoni van Leeuwenhoek's advances in making the invisible world visible in the early days of the microscope; Dr. Paul Ehrlich's Nobel-Prize-winning work in immunology; Dr. Jay Levy's codiscovery of the virus that causes AIDS. Yet there will also be ignorance and tragedy: the widespread practice of bloodletting via incision and the use of leeches, which harmed more than it healed; the introduction of hemophilia into the genetic pool of nineteenth-century European royalty thanks to the dynastic ambitions of Queen Victoria; the alleged spread of contaminated blood through a phlebotomist's negligence in modern-day California. This is also a personal voyage, in which Hayes recounts the impact of the vital fluid in his daily life, from growing up in a household of five sisters and their monthly cycles, to coming out as a gay man during the explosive early days of the AIDS epidemic in San Francisco, to his enduring partnership with an HIV-positive man. As much a biography of blood as it is a memoir of how this rich substance has shaped one man's life, Five Quarts is by turns whimsical and provocative, informative and moving. It will get under your skin.
The Circulatory System
by
Describes the anatomy and functions of the human circulatory system and how it responds to increased activity, the microgravity of space, and other changes.
WHO Guidelines on Drawing Blood: Best Practices in Phlebotomy
by
Phlebotomy uses large, hollow needles to remove blood specimens for lab testing or blood donation. Each step in the process carries risks - both for patients and health workers. Patients may be bruised. Health workers may receive needle-stick injuries. Both can become infected with bloodborne organisms such as hepatitis B, HIV, syphilis or malaria. Moreover, each step affects the quality of the specimen and the diagnosis. A contaminated specimen will produce a misdiagnosis. Clerical errors can prove fatal.
The new WHO guidelines provide recommended steps for safe phlebotomy and reiterate accepted principles for drawing, collecting blood and transporting blood to laboratories/blood bank
Venepuncture and Cannulation: A Practical Guide
by
Venepuncture and Cannulation – A Practical Guide offers an easy-to-read, comprehensive account of the practical procedures of venepuncture and intravenous cannulation. It provides the underlying theory and underpinning knowledge required, as well as a step-by-step approach that will enable healthcare practitioners to carry out these procedures safely, efficiently and with confidence. This book is intended as a supplementary resource for those involved in practising or teaching these procedures, for healthcare practitioners wishing to update their knowledge, and for novice practitioners learning these skills for the first time. Each chapter contains intended learning outcomes and points for practice. Some chapters also include helpful illustrations and practical activities, and the book ends with two self-assessment checklists.
Blood Collection: A Short Course
by
"The authors provide some excellent tools for teaching a venipuncture class though small, is complete in its coverage of topics related to phlebotomy. The unit on blood collection and venipuncture equipment is very thorough. . . "--Respiratory Care, review of the 1st Edition. Perfect for intensive one- or two-day phlebotomy courses! This user-friendly text concentrates on the crucial skills of blood specimen collection. . . making it a cost-effective, compact learning tool for cross training and continuing education.
Quick Review Cards for Medical Laboratory Science
by
A complete study guide Use these handy cards for course review now...and exam prep later. More than 500 cards deliver concise, but complete coverage of the major disciplines on the Board of CertificationOCOs content outlineOCogeneral lab practice; hematology; immunology/serology; immunohematology; clinical chemistry; body fluids; clinical microbiology; and management and education."
Essential Guide to Blood Groups
by
Essential Guide to Blood Groups is the only pocket sized guide to provide essential information on blood group systems. The main aim of the blood transfusion laboratory is to promote safe blood transfusion. The avoidance of errors, from sample receipt and laboratory testing through to the release of blood for transfusion, is of paramount importance. Knowledge of immunohaematology theory and its application to blood transfusion together with the principles of good laboratory practice are essential. This handbook helps to address these important issues and also covers: * the serology, inheritance, biochemistry, and molecular genetics of the most important blood group systems * their clinical importance * techniques used in blood grouping, troubleshooting, and quality assurance This unique and practical guide: * is written by leaders in the field, including the author of the best seller Human Blood Groups * provides the basic knowledge of blood groups needed by all those working in the important fields of transfusion medicine and science. * helps in resolving commonly encountered problems Essential Guide to Blood Groups will be valuable for undergraduate medical laboratory scientists and for postgraduate scientists and medical practitioners training to specialise in transfusion and transplantation. As a pocket edition, it will also be a useful addition to other reference works on blood groups for quick access to information for medical practitioners and in red cell immunohaematology laboratories.
Human Blood Groups
by
Human Blood Groups is a comprehensive and fully referenced text covering both the scientific and clinical aspects of red cell surface antigens, including: serology, inheritance, biochemistry, molecular genetics, biological functions and clinical significance in transfusion medicine. Since the last edition, seven new blood group systems and over 60 new blood group antigens have been identified. All of the genes representing those systems have now been cloned and sequenced. This essential new information has made the launch of a third edition of Human Blood Groups, now in four colour, particularly timely. This book continues to be an essential reference source for all those who require clinical information on blood groups and antibodies in transfusion medicine and blood banking.
Platelets
by
Platelets - winner of a 2013 Highly Commended BMA Medical Book Award for Internal Medicine - is the definitive current source of state-of-the-art knowledge about platelets and covers the entire field of platelet biology, pathophysiology, and clinical medicine. Recently there has been a rapid expansion of knowledge in both basic biology and the clinical approach to platelet-related diseases including thrombosis and hemorrhage. Novel platelet function tests, drugs, blood bank storage methods, and gene therapies have been incorporated into patient care or are in development. This book draws all this information into a single, comprehensive and authoritative resource.