Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from magazines, journals and reference materials on all aspects of the sciences. Topics include: agriculture, aerospace engineering, architecture, computer-aided design and engineering, electronics, biology and microbiology, physics, botany, psychology, zoology, technology, computing, and more.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowUse this database to find articles on many science subjects such as: astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, environment, food & nutrition, genetics, health & medicine, mathematics, microbiology, oceanography, physics, physiology, zoology, etc. Many articles are full-text. The content in this database is also part of OmniFile Full Text Mega.
This link opens in a new windowContains up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Check out our Microbiology Journals, available online!
These books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
Microbiology by
This reference answers the most important questions that form the foundation of Microbiology within 6 laminated pages. Carry this core material in a handy format to use beyond the course and into higher level and career courses, then even further into your working life as a refresher. With many diagrams in a small package, you will not need to crack the textbook to review. Suggested uses: o Students - especially relevant for those majoring in science or a health care related field o Quick Reference - instead of digging into the textbook to find a core answer you need while studying, use the guide to reinforce quickly and repeatedly o Memory - refreshing your memory repeatedly is a foundation of studying, have the core answers handy so you can focus on understanding the concepts o Test Prep - no student should be cramming, but if you are, there is no better tool for that final review
Industrial Microbiology: Microbes in Action by
This is a collection of twenty different articles from across the globe divided into four basic themes of microbial fertilisers, microbial metabolites, microbes in health and microbial fuels. The first chapter discusses removal of undesirable compounds from soil by a process called rhizoremediation. Sustainability of the ecosystem is greatly needed, which is pertinently covered in the first sub-theme of this volume. The second sub-theme of this collection focuses on diverse types of microbial metabolites with chapters on biosurfactants, carotenoids, organic acids, antibiotics and biosensors, each of which is important and significant in its own way. The third sub-theme of the book is enriched by a discussion on microbes in health with four chapters, each explaining probiotics, direct fed microbials (DFMs), the role of microbes in the production of vaccines, and survival mechanisms of human pathogenic fungi. The chapter on probiotics elucidates the role of microbiota in development of the immune system and their influence on the development of atopic conditions. Finally, the importance of probiotics as a simple but powerful tool that may influence human health by modulating the microbiota is introduced. In the review on DFMs, dissemination and efficacy of Bacillus direct-fed microbial candidates in the gastrointestinal tract of broiler chickens and their effect on health and performance parameters in different poultry diets is discussed as well. Next in this book, vaccines are analyzed, which have reduced the harmful impact of pathogenic microbes on human life. A discussion about long-chain polyunsaturated fatty acids (LC-PUFAs), such as the omega-3 fatty acids eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) that provide significant health benefits is introduced. LC-PUFAs can be recovered from many marine organisms, transgenic plants, fungi and many microorganisms, but the largest amount is currently extracted from fish. Finally, biological fuels like biodiesel and bioethanol, which can be generated by efficient utilization of the biotransforming ability of various microorganisms such as microalgae, cyanobacteria and yeasts, are covered in the fourth sub-theme of this volume with six engrossing chapters. One of the chapters discusses the use of waste water for growth of microalgae. Integration of waste water treatment with microalgae performs nutrient incorporation to algal biomass, and waste water remediation as additional benefit are also presented. Thus, the dual-process system provides the potential for energy and effective waste water treatment at lower costs compared to chemical treatment methods. 
Food Microbiology: Fundamentals, Challenges and Health Implications by
The authors of this book discuss the most recent advancements in food microbiology research. Chapters include a review on the factors which help to choose the conditions that assure food microbial stability and contribute to food safety and quality; an examination of the prevalence of one of the most important food-borne pathogens, L. monocytogenes, particularly in fruits and vegetables; emerging bacteria detection methods in food and culture media using mass spectrometry (MS); detection techniques of Salmonella, of which infections from animal food play an important role in public health and particularly in food safety; and case studies of yeasts in fruit wine fermentations, which can have important implications for developing fruit wine and can contribute to an important advancements in any fermentation products.
Polar Microbiology: Life in a Deep Freeze by
Sheds new light on the microbial ecology and physiology of the Earth's polar regions. Examines the microbial investigations during the International Polar Year of 2008 focusing on the Arctic and Antarctic, along with earlier investigations on critical environmental issues such as climate change, ozone depletion, and elemental cycling. Offers a survey of what is known and unknown about the microbial inhabitants of polar environments, addresses the adaptations and physiology of cold-adapted microorganisms, and explores the ecological role that polar microbial communities play in biogeochemical cycling. Presents the challenges that polar and subpolar microorganisms face and describes the lowest temperatures in which microbial life can exist--and the prospects for life on other planets. Recommended for a general microbiology audience as well as for scientists and students in all areas of biology and geomicrobiology.
A Guide to Cyanobacteria: Identification and Impact by
Blue-green algae (also known as cyanobacteria) and the toxins they can produce pose serious economic, environmental, and public health problems worldwide. Much of the scientific and public interest in these microorganisms arises from their tendency to undergo explosive population growth and form harmful blooms, which have inflicted damage in industries as diverse as health care, public utilities, agriculture, recreation, real estate, and commercial and sport fishing. Until now, water quality professionals and other individuals tasked with finding and eliminating cyanotoxins have lacked an accessible guide to these potentially deadly microorganisms. Written for nonspecialists in a clear and straightforward style, this guide will help students, landowners, and citizen scientists identify different kinds of cyanobacteria and understand their impact on waterways, from neighborhood lakes and farm ponds to major river systems. The central feature of the book is a detailed key that systematically walks the reader through each step of the identification process. This key is linked to an extensive set of photographs and a companion smartphone app to assist readers in confirming their findings. Authors Mark A. Nienaber and Miriam Steinitz-Kannan include an ample glossary to help newcomers to the subject get up to speed as well as an in-depth and current bibliography to aid advanced readers in further research. They also offer instructions on how to correctly collect and analyze cyanobacteria. Altogether, this accessible yet comprehensive resource makes important, complex material available to a wide range of professionals and laypeople engaged in combating harmful cyanotoxins.
ABCs of Microbiology by
This book contains over 1200 multiple choice questions based on biochemistry, environmental microbiology, microbial genetics, general microbiology, cell biology, industrial microbiology, immunology and mycology. As most modern evaluations in science are based on multiple choice questions, this book provides a valuable resource for those studying microbiology and related fields.
The New Microbiology: From Microbiomes to CRISPR by
Microbiology has undergone radical changes over the past few decades, ushering in an exciting new era in science. In The New Microbiology, Pascale Cossart tells a splendid story about the revolution in microbiology, especially in bacteriology. This story has wide-ranging implications for human health and medicine, agriculture, environmental science, and our understanding of evolution. The revolution results from the powerful tools of molecular and cellular biology, genomics, and bioinformatics, which have yielded amazing discoveries, from entire genome sequences to video of bacteria invading host cells. This book is for both scientists and especially nonscientists who would like to learn more about the extraordinary world of bacteria. Dr. Cossart's overview of the field of microbiology research, from infectious disease history to the ongoing scientific revolution resulting from CRISPR technologies, is presented in four parts. New concepts in microbiology introduces the world of bacteria and some recent discoveries about how they live, such as the role of regulatory RNAs including riboswitches, the CRISPR defense system, and resistance to antibiotics. Sociomicrobiology: the social lives of bacteria helps us see the new paradigm by which scientists view bacteria as highly social creatures that communicate in many ways, for example in the assemblies that reside in our intestine or in the environment. The biology of infections reviews some of history's worst epidemics and describes current and emerging infectious diseases, the organisms that cause them, and how they produce an infection. Bacteria as tools introduces us to molecules derived from microbes that scientists have harnessed in the service of research and medicine, including the CRISPR/Cas9 genome-editing technology. The New Microbiology takes us on a journey through a remarkable revolution in science that is occurring here and now.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance: