Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
This link opens in a new windowUsers can access a comprehensive scope of content covering over 50 nursing specialties as well as allied health subjects including speech and language pathology, nutrition, physical therapy and much more. Access materials on topics such as biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and more. Additionally, access health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, over 130 evidence-based care sheets, almost 170 quick lessons on disease overviews, 170 continuing education modules, and 360 research instrument records.
This link opens in a new windowContains up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowProvides access to authoritative content including full-text titles supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management and all aspects of the nursing profession, including topics such as: emergency care, working with AIDS and elderly patients, dealing with accident and trauma victims, neonatal care, cardiovascular surgery, records management, policy development, and more.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowHealth and Wellness is a comprehensive consumer health database offering access to authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Features include topic portals with curated content on diseases and conditions; drugs; diagnostics and tests; and therapies, treatments, and surgeries; as well as a broad collection of premier full-text reference works, including Gale exclusives such as The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, and The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowProvides full text articles from scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines including: Nursing & Allied Heath, Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowThese books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
Oxford Handbook of Dental Nursing by
The Oxford Handbook of Dental Nursing serves as a practical, easily accessible, informative, and up-to-date quick reference guide that a dental nurse can use throughout their career, from the initial training stage to qualification and beyond. It enables users to find relevant information quickly, and will support dental nurses in their everyday work and provide easy access to information they may require in clinical sessions. As well as the basics it highlights the corecompetencies and contains further information which is of use to qualified dental nurses working in general dental practice, in the NHS or private sector, dental hospitals, and community dental services. The book is aimed primarily at dental nurses and will also be valuable to dental surgeons, tutors, andassessors to facilitate the learning and development of their students.
Dental Anatomy by
Loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated structures of the human dental anatomy and the surrounding systems that support its function, clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification. Illustrations by award-winning and best-selling medical illustrator Vincent Perez, whose life mission is cataloging the beauty and detail of our complicated body systems for the medical professional, the formative student and the inquisitive layperson. Suggested uses: o Dental Students & Hygienists - handy and incredibly thorough reference that is compact and easily reviewed on a daily basis o Dentists - what any professional office needs for reference while consulting patients, also leave guides in offices to look over while patients wait o Parents - can show kids where their adult teeth are hiding when losing teeth, plus to emphasize the importance of taking care of their mouth and teeth o Patient - use guide to locate sources of pain for reporting to your dentist
The ADA Practical Guide to Effective Infection Control by
Provides dental staff traininig in current infection control procedures with 110 page workbook + 40 minute DVD. Covers prinicples and fundamentals of infection control, actual clinical procedures, the difference between sterilization and disinfection. Includes March 2016 CDC guidelines on repiratory hygiene and cough etiquette in dental practice settings. Earn 3 hours CE credits.
Managing the Regulatory Environment: Guidelines for Practice Success:Best Practices by
Provides an overview of the federal regulations from the DEA, CDC, OSHA, HIPAA, EPA and ACA-1557 that impact the dental office. Includes quick overviews, checklists, do's and don'ts, tip sheets and FAQ on how to comply with the most common regualtions that impact a dental practice.
Professionalism and Ethics: A Guide for Dental Care Professionals by
This book contains guidance for all dental care professionals, especially dental nurses. It also provides explanations of the implications of General Dental Council guidance on the Standards for Dental Care professionals, case study examples and ...
Teeth: The Story of Beauty, Inequality, and the Struggle for Oral Health in America by
'Show me your teeth', the great naturalist George Cuvier is credited with saying, 'and I will tell you who you are'. In this shattering new work, veteran health journalist Mary Otto looks inside America's mouth, revealing unsettling truths about our unequal society. Teeth takes readers on a disturbing journey into the role teeth play in our health and our social mobility. Muckraking and paradigm-shifting, Teeth exposes for the first time the extent and meaning of our oral health crisis.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
