Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
If you want to browse the collection, these are some call numbers where you can find books about Cultural Geography & Anthropology
This is a list of suggested terms to use in a search for Cultural Geography & Anthropology resources in the Library Catalog:
The following titles are available on the main (2nd) floor in the Audio/Visual Room:
These books are in the circulating collection. You may check them out for three weeks at a time. When you click on the book, it will take you to the catalog, where you can check whether the book is currently available, or when it is due back, as well as where it is located.
Cultural Geography : a critical dictionary of key concepts by
As geography has been influenced by such themes as postcolonial studies, feminism and psychoanalysis, so students have had to engage with ideas and concepts from outside the traditional boundaries of their subject. This text provides students with an aid to understanding the complexities and subtleties of these new ideas. It presents short essays exploring the key concepts in cultural geography and are written by leading practitioners. The essays range from questions that have recently emerged to more established ideas that warrant critical examination. The book should be useful to students of cultural geography and related disciplines.
The Human Age : the world shaped by us by
Ackerman is justly celebrated for her unique insight into the natural world and our place in it. In this landmark book, she confronts the unprecedented reality that one prodigiously intelligent and meddlesome creature, Homo sapiens, is now the dominant force shaping the future of planet Earth.Humans have "subdued 75 percent of the land surface, concocted a wizardry of industrial and medical marvels, strung lights all across the darkness." We tinker with nature at every opportunity; we garden the planet with our preferred species of plants and animals, many of them invasive; and we have even altered the climate, threatening our own extinction. Yet we reckon with our own destructive capabilities in extraordinary acts of hope-filled creativity: we collect the DNA of vanishing species in a "frozen ark," equip orangutans with iPads, and create wearable technologies and synthetic species that might one day outsmart us. With her distinctive gift for making scientific discovery intelligible to the layperson, Ackerman takes us on an exhilarating journey through our new reality, introducing us to many of the people and ideas now creating--perhaps saving--our future and that of our fellow creatures.A beguiling, optimistic engagement with the changes affecting every part of our lives, The Human Age is a wise and beautiful book that will astound, delight, and inform intelligent life for a long time to come.
First Encounters: native voices on the coming of the Europeans by
A collection comprising a wide variety of accounts of native peoples describing their initial encounters with European explorers, conquerors, and settlers. This extraordinary volume gathers together an astonishing array of voices of those so often overlooked by history. First Encounters: Native Voices on the Coming of the Europeans reaches back to add important overlooked viewpoints to our understanding of history, gathering together accounts describing the initial experiences of indigenous peoples around the world with European explorers, missionaries, traders, soldiers, and settlers. It is the first such volume with a truly global perspective. First Encounters brings together 42 authentic, first-person accounts, organized geographically in sections on Africa, North America, South America, greater Australia, and Asia. Selections, each with editor's notes, provide vivid, detailed accounts of the culture clashes that defined an era. From the Opium Wars to the Indian Wars, from the Aztecs who thought the white intruders were gods to the Japanese who thought them barbarians, readers will encounter a stunning array of voices from the other side of history. * Includes 42 accounts by native peoples describing encounters with European settlers and conquerors * Presents chronologies of important events in the era of European conquest * Offers a bibliography of annotated references to print and online sources
Clashing Views in Anthropology by
This Fourth Edition of TAKING SIDES: ANTHROPOLOGY presents current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. Each issue is thoughtfully framed with an issue summary, an issue introduction, and a postscript. An instructor's manual with testing material is available for each volume. USING TAKING SIDES IN THE CLASSROOM, ISBN 0073343900, is also an excellent instructor resource with practical suggestions on incorporating this effective approach in the classroom. Each TAKING SIDES reader features an annotated listing of selected World Wide Web sites and is supported by our student website, www.mhcls.com/online.
Cultural Anthropology by
Comprehensive, readable and written for the student, Haviland's market-leading text, CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY, is a relevant, high-quality teaching tool. In CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY, Haviland challenges and supports students with a thoughtful look at the diversity of the human condition; an examination into the field of cultural anthropology, its findings, and its relevance; and the continuing role of cultural survival issues.
The Anthropology of Europe by
This is the first study of Europe post-1989 from an anthropological perspective. Thirteen distinguished authors examine the social, cultural and political implications of European integration with particular emphasis on changing European identities, concepts of citizenship and levels of participation. Their aim is to suggest an agenda for future research capable of addressing developing trends in contemporary Europe. The book is divided into two parts. The first deals with major theoretical issues that have characterized the anthropological study of Europe and includes a detailed introductory chapter which charts the history of anthropology in Europe and considers the prospects for an anthropology of Europe. This is followed by key themes in the study of European society and culture including kinship, gender, nationalism, immigration and changing patterns of production. The second section develops these themes further using different theoretical perspectives to explain complex issues such as nationalism, ethnic identities, and sectarian conflicts. Nine case studies cover a wide range of contemporary topics including European integration and Irish nationalism, the transmission of ethnic identity, and identity and conflict in the former Yugoslavia and post-colonial Gibraltar. This book fills a gap in the literature on European integration and will be of interest to anthropologists and sociologists as well as students of Political Science, Communications and European Studies.
The Nehalem Tillamook : an ethnography by
"In 1933 and 1934, Elizabeth Jacobs, advised by her husband, the noted anthropologist Melville Jacobs, conducted fieldwork on the Nehalem Tillamook culture of northwestern Oregon. Working with her extraordinarily able Nehalem Tillamook consultant Clara Pearson, Jacobs recorded extensive ethnographic and folkloric materials that far surpass in quality and quantity the Tillamook research of previous investigators." "The Nehalem Tillamook grew from that unfinished manuscript. In consultation with Elizabeth Jacobs, the manuscript was expanded and extensively edited by William Seaburg. After Elizabeth Jacobs's death in 1983, Seaburg added careful annotations and a detailed historical introduction. The result is a remarkable book that makes a major contribution to our understanding of Nehalem Tillamook culture and will be invaluable for drawing comparisons with other Northwest native cultures."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
The Peoples of Southeast Asia Today : ethnography, ethnology, and change in a complex region by
The Peoples of Southeast Asia Today offers an anthropological treatment of the ethnography and ethnology of Southeast Asia, covering both the mainland and the insular regions. Based on the proposition that Southeast Asia is a true culture area, the book offers background information on geography, languages, prehistory and history, with a particular emphasis on the role of colonialism and the development of ethnic pluralism. It then turns to classic anthropological topics of interest including modes of adaptation, ways of life, and religion, all illustrated with relevant case studies and all brought up to date to show what is happening now. Students will find well-supported discussions of subjects ranging from the development of agriculture and language dispersals, to fantasy and reality in hunter-gatherer studies, to disputed interpretations of Thai Buddhism and Javanese Islam, to ongoing government efforts to manage religion, create proper citizens, resettle and assimilate indigenous populations, end shifting cultivation and promote modernization.
The Trobrianders of Papua New Guinea by
This re-examination of the Trobrianders of Papua New Guinea, the people described in Malinowski's classic ethnographic work of the early 20th century, provides a balanced view of the society from a male and female perspective, including coverage of new discoveries about the importance of woman's work and wealth in the society.
Culture: the story of us, from cave art to K-pop by
What good are the arts? Why should we care about the past? For millennia, humanity has sought to understand and transmit to future generations not just the "know-how" of life, but the "know-why"--the meaning and purpose of our existence, as expressed in art, architecture, religion, and philosophy. This crucial passing down of knowledge has required the radical integration of insights from the past and from other cultures. In Culture, acclaimed author, professor, and public intellectual Martin Puchner takes us on a breakneck tour through pivotal moments in world history, providing a global introduction to the arts and humanities in one engaging volume. From Nefertiti's lost city to the plays of Wole Soyinka; from the theaters of ancient Greece to Chinese travel journals to Arab and Aztec libraries; from a South Asian statuette found at Pompeii to a time capsule left behind on the Moon, Puchner tells the gripping story of human achievement through our collective losses and rediscoveries, power plays and heroic journeys, innovations, imitations, and appropriations. More than a work of history, Culture is an archive of humanity's most monumental junctures and a guidebook for the future of us humans as a creative species. Witty, erudite, and full of wonder, Puchner argues that the humanities are (and always have been) essential to the transmission of knowledge that drives the efforts of human civilization.
These are available on the third floor in the Reference Room. They are for in-library use only, but you can make copies of pages as needed.
Countries and Their Cultures by
A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world. Using a standard entry format for easy comparison, each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations are surveyed -- from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts. Lavishly illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs and more than 200 maps.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by
Examining cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa, these four volumes provide information on history, politics, customs, religion, education, and human rights issues.
Peoples of the World: Eastern Europe and the post-Soviet republics : the culture, geographical setting, and historical background of 34 Eastern European peoples by
This volume provides information on population, location, history, food, holidays and celebrations on both modern and ancient cultures from Eastern Europe. Essays of 5-15 pages discuss the background and modern structure of each, including Albania, Poland, Lithuania, Romania and others.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance: