Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowArticle abstracts since 1929 and selected full text since 1997 offer access to an international coverage of art, including advertising, antiques, architecture, crafts, computers in art, interior and industrial design, art history and criticism, fashion design, photography, and more. The content in this database is also part of OmniFile Full Text Mega.
This link opens in a new windowFind information on arts-related topics from over 150 journals with over 5 million articles. Search for topics in architecture, art, dance, film, music, and theatre, covering a broad range of styles, periods and movements.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowUse this database to find articles on many subjects in the humanities such as: archaeology, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, etc. Many articles are full-text. The content in this database is also part of OmniFile Full Text Mega.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Check out our Art and Art History Journals, available online!
These books are available online - clicking on the book will take you to it. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your login information to access the books.
Art and Resistance in Germany by
"In light of the recent rise of right-wing populism in numerous political contexts and in the face of resurgent nationalism, racism, misogyny, homophobia, and demagoguery, this book investigates how historical and contemporary cultural producers have sought to resist, confront, confound, mock, or call out situations of political oppression in Germany, a country which has seen a dramatic range of political extremes during the past century. While the current turn to nationalist populism is global, it is perhaps most disturbing in Germany, given its history with its stormy first democracy in the interwar Weimar Republic; its infamous National Socialist (Nazi) period of the 1930s and 1940s; and its split Cold-War existence, with Marxist-Leninist Totalitarianism in the German Democratic Republic and the Federal Republic of Germany's barely-hidden ties to the Nazi past. Equally important, Germans have long considered art and culture critical to constructions of national identity, which meant that they were frequently implicated in political action. This book therefore examines a range of work by artists from the early twentieth century to the present, work created in an array of contexts and media that demonstrates a wide range of possible resistance."
Gothic Art by
Gothic art finds its roots in the powerful architecture of the cathedrals of northern France. It is a medieval art movement that evolved throughout Europe over more than 200 years.Leaving curved Roman forms behind, the architects started using flying buttresses and pointed arches to open up cathedrals to daylight. A period of great economic and social change, the Gothic era also saw the development of a new iconography celebrating the Holy Mary - in drastic contrast to the fearful themes of dark Roman times. Full of rich changes in all of the various art forms (architecture, sculpture, painting, etc.), Gothic art paved the way for the Italian Renaissance and International Gothic movement.
Romanesque Art by
In art history, the term 'Romanesque art' distinguishes the period between the beginning of the 11th and the end of the 12th century. This era showed a great diversity of regional schools each with their own unique style. In architecture as well as in sculpture, Romanesque art is marked by raw forms. Through its rich iconography and captivating text, this work reclaims the importance of this art which is today often overshadowed by the later Gothic style.
Art in England: The Saxons to the Tudors: 600-1600 by
Art in England fills a void in the scholarship of both English and medieval art by offering the first single volume overview of artistic movements in Medieval and Early Renaissance England. Grounded in history and using the chronology of the reign of monarchs as a structure, it is contextual and comprehensive, revealing unobserved threads of continuity, patterns of intention and unique qualities that run through English art of the medieval millennium. By placing the English movement in a European context, this book brings to light many ingenious innovations that focused studies tend not to recognize and offers a fresh look at the movement as a whole. The media studied include architecture and related sculpture, both ecclesiastical and secular; tomb monuments; murals, panel paintings, altarpieces, and portraits; manuscript illuminations; textiles; and art by English artists and by foreign artists commissioned by English patrons.
Pencil Art Workshop: Techniques, Ideas, and Inspiration for Drawing and Designing with Pencil by
In Pencil Art Workshop, well-known artist and illustrator Matt Rota demonstrates several techniques in graphite, then ties it together with an international gallery of artists for inspiration. The humble pencil is the world's most flexible and forgiving drawing material. Pencil Art Workshop is the platform for artist and educator Matt Rota (author of The Art of Ballpoint) to show you key techniques that every artist should know. Following along with Matt is easy as he explores the pencil's phenomenal, and sometimes surprising, range. Turn to any chapter--Drawing with Line, Drawing with Tone, Drawing Quickly, Photorealism, Adding Color--and you'll discover, through step-by-step instructions and illustrations, how to choose the right pencil for your specific project, and how to use it to its fullest in every drawing style. Each chapter in Pencil Art Workshop also includes a gallery of edgy and inspiring works by contemporary pencil artists to enjoy and to receive inspiration from.
Art Worlds: Artists, Images, and Audiences in Late Nineteenth-century Shanghai by
The growth of Shanghai in the late nineteenth century gave rise to an exciting new art world in which a flourishing market in popular art became a highly visible part of the treaty port's commercialized culture. Art Worlds examines the relationship between the city's visual artists and their urban audiences. Through a discussion of images ranging from fashionable painted fans to lithograph-illustrated magazines, the book explores how popular art intersected with broader cultural trends. It also investigates the multiple roles played by the modern Chinese artist as image-maker, entrepreneur, celebrity, and urban sojourner. Focusing on industrially produced images, mass advertisements, and other hitherto neglected sources, the book offers a new interpretation of late Qing visual culture at a watershed moment in the history of modern Chinese art. Art Worlds will be of interest to scholars of art history and to anyone with an interest in the cultural history of modern China.
Art of India by
The Mughal dynasty, which ruled most of the Indian subcontinent during the 16th and 17th centuries, was a great promoter of arts and architecture, especially painting and decorative art. While the Taj Mahal is Mughal art’s flagship, there is much more to be discovered beyond this iconic mausoleum.
The Everything Art Handbook: A Comprehensive Guide to More Than 100 Art Techniques and Tools of the Trade by
The Everything Art Handbook is an all-inclusive, go-to resource for artists of any skill level. A refreshing, accessible compendium of materials and techniques, The Everything Art Handbook is the perfect all-inclusive resource for beginning artists wanting to experiment and play with a variety of art mediums and techniques. The Everything Art Handbook is divided into sections focusing on different art mediums, such as drawing, pastel, watercolor, acrylic, oil, calligraphy, mixed media, color, composition, and more. Each section includes a basic overview of the technique, instructions for selecting and working with the right tools and materials, step-by-step sample artwork, and helpful sidebars with advice from professional artists. Using clear, informative explanations and tips for selecting the right tools and achieving the best results, The Everything Art Handbook is an approachable reference guide for contemporary artists of any skill level.
Art of the 20th Century by
The 20th century was a revolutionary period in art history. In the span of a few short years, Modernism exploded into being, disrupting centuries of classicalfigurative tradition to create something entirely new. This astoundingly thorough survey of art's modern era showcases all of the key artistic movements of the 20thcentury, from Fauvism to Pop Art, featuring illustrative examples of some of the most renowned works of the era along with illuminating companion essays byexpert critics and art historians. A vivid window into the collective psyche of the modern world's great artists, Art of the 20th Century is a must-have for any fan ofcontemporary art.
Renaissance Art in Venice: From Tradition to Individualism by
Art and architecture have always been central to Venice but in the Renaissance period, between c.1440 and 1600, they reached a kind of apotheosis when many of the city's new buildings, sculpture, and paintings took on distinctive and original qualities. The spread of Renaissance values provided leading artists such as Gentile and Giovanni Bellini, Giorgione, Palladio, Titian, and Tintoretto with a licence for artistic invention. This inventiveness however also needs to be understood inrelation to the artists and artworks that still conformed to the more traditional, corporate, and public values of "Venetianness"' (VenezianitA). By adopting a chronological approach, with each chapter covering a successive twenty-five year period, and focusing attention on the artists, Tom Nichols presents a vivid and easily navigable study of Venetian Renaissance art. Through close visual analyses of specific works from architecture to illuminated manuscripts, he puts the formative power of art back at the heart of this remarkable story.
The Lost Treasure: Persian Art by
Housed in the Hermitage Museum along with other institutes, libraries, and museums in Russia and the republics of the former Soviet Union are some of the most magnificent treasures of Persian Art. For the most part, many of these works have been lost, but have been catalogued and published here for the first time with an unsurpassed selection of colour plates. In a comprehensive introduction, Vladimir Loukonine, Director of the Oriental Art section of the Hermitage Museum, and his colleague Anatoli Ivanov have broadly documented the major developments of Persian Art: from the first signs of civilisation on the plains of Iran around the 10th century BCE through the early 20th century. In the second part of the book they have catalogued Persian Art giving locations, origins, descriptions, and artist biographies where available. Persian Art demonstrates a common theme which runs through the art of the region over the past three millennia. Despite many religious and political upheavals, Persian Art - whether in its architecture, sculpture, frescoes, miniatures, porcelain, fabrics, or rugs; whether in the work of the humble craftsmen or the high art of court painters - displays the delicate touch and subtle refinement which has had a profound influence on art throughout the world.
Art Deco by
Art Deco style was established on the ashes of a disappeared world, the one from before the First World War, and on the foundation stone of a world yet to become, opened to the most undisclosed promises. Forgetting herself in the whirl of Jazz Age and the euphoria of the "Ann#65533;es Folles", the Gar#65533;onne with her linear shape reflects the architectural style of Art Deco: to the rounded curves succeed the simple and plain androgynous straight line... Architecture, painting, furniture and sculpture, dissected by the author, proclaim the druthers for sharp lines and broken angles. Although ephemeral, this movement keeps on influencing contemporary design.
The Art of Understanding Art: A New Perspective by
Have we completely missed the point of the modern western revolution in the arts? Hugh Moss thinks so, and here he presents a refreshingly original and thought-provoking new approach to understanding art. It not only makes sense of western art over the past century or more, but applies equally to the art of any culture at any time, all within one enlightening framework that, well ... works. This new perspective is impossible to ignore - a theory that places art right at the centre of the evolution of human consciousness, as a key driver of the process. Argued with intelligence, panache and wit,The Art of Understanding Art provides a delightfully entertaining read that will change the way you think about and look at art, whether you are a collector (or would like to be), a connoisseur, an academic, a student or of course an artist (or would like to be). It is illustrated with intriguing skill, depth and humour by Peter Suart.
Chinese Art by
This book is an encyclopedia of Chinese classical art, giving an informative overview of all forms of Chinese art and providing the keys to understanding contemporary art in China. This book is a great way for beginners to better acquaint themselves with China, while specialists will appreciate the global perspective.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance: