Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
For instructions on how to use the Library Catalog and databases, please visit the Resource Instructions on our Library Tutorials page.
You can find millions of articles from magazines and journals in the library catalog. After conducting your initial keyword search, you can limit your results by selecting Articles under resource Type on the left side of your search results. You can also limit to articles from peer-reviewed journals by also selecting Peer-reviewed Journals under Availability, also to the left of your search results.
Instead of searching in the Library catalog, which can be overwhelming in the number and variety of results, you can search directly in the Databases. A database is simply a collection of sources that can be accessed online. Our databases offer mostly full-text articles. You can access a full list of them on our A-Z Databases page. If you know the name of a database you would like to use, you can use the letters across the top to find it by first letter of the title. If you don't know which database to use, there are a couple of options. You can use one of the Broad Coverage Databases, found in a box on the left side of the page. These databases cover a wide range of topics, and can be a goo place to start your search. You can also use the All Subjects drop down menu to choose the subject that best fits your topic. This will take you to a page that lists Best Bet databases, ones that librarians recommend for the subject, as well as additional databases that may be of use to you.
The library also subscribes to two services that offer full eMagazines that you can read cover to cover. They even include the ads! OverDrive/Libby offers thousands of titles, on almost any subject you can imagine. Flipster has 12 digital magazines available. You can find a list of them, as well as links to both services, on our eMagazines page.
You can find thousands of eBooks in the Library Catalog. After conducting your initial keyword, title, or author search, you can limit your results by selecting books under Resource Type and Available Online under Availability, both to the left side of your search results.
Instead of searching in the Library Catalog, you can go directly to the eBook collections in the Databases. These include eBook Collection from EBSCO (our largest collection), eBook Central, O'Reilly for Higher Education (not just eBooks) and OverDrive/Libby (also includes eAudiobooks and eMagazines). We also have access to several open access eBook collections. Visit our eBooks page for a full listing.
You can finds a large number of streaming media in the Library Catalog. After conducting your initial keyword or title search, you can limit your results by choosing Videos or Audio under Resource Type, and Available Online under Availability to the left of your search results.
You can also search specifically for videos by using the Search Everything drop down menu next to the search box to choose Videos (DVD and Streaming). After conducting your search, you can limit to streaming video by selecting Available online under Availability to the left of your search results.
Instead of searching in the catalog, you can go directly to the online collections to search for streaming and downloadable media. Our main streaming video collections are Films on Demand and Academic Video Online. There are additional collections that contain streaming video, and you can find a list of them with descriptions on our Streaming Video Page.
In addition to streaming video, we also have downloadable eAudiobooks available through OverDrive/Libby.