Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
We value your input!
We encourage you to request materials for the collection by using the Suggest a Purchase option under Quick Links on the Library’s website (https://library.northeaststate.edu).
Renewing:
You may renew materials through your library account (accessible from the Library’s website – go to the catalog), or by contacting the Circulation Desk at extension 3429 (or 354.2429).
You may request that Library materials such as books, instructional videos, and DVDs be sent to you in Kingsport. Please contact the Circulation Desk at extension 3429 (or 354.2429) at least several days in advance to arrange the delivery. You can also place requests yourself through the Library Catalog. Log n to your account (same as logging in to Okta) to see the request option for physical items in the library.
Supplement to NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses : definitions and classification, 2018-2020 : new things you need to know by
NANDA-I supplement provides in-depth insights on current and upcoming nursing diagnoses This supplement to the NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions and Classification, 2018-2020 (11th Edition) is a succinct, generously illustrated companion to the comprehensive textbook by T. Heather Herdman and Shigemi Kamitsuru. The 11th edition is the definitive guide on nursing diagnoses, as reviewed and approved by NANDA International (NANDA-I), the leading professional organization that develops, researches, disseminates, and refines nursing taxonomy. This book is designed to give current users of the full text a "quick glance" into what is new in the latest edition and more in-depth information on key changes, including new diagnoses. Four chapters provide insightful commentary on changes, new categories, revisions, and taxonomy deletions; core issues that impact diagnoses; three types of clinical reasoning models: problem-focused, risk nursing diagnosis, and health promotion diagnosis; and 17 new nursing diagnoses. Key Features Explanation of standardized terminology changes used in nursing diagnostic indicators, including defining characteristics, related factors, and risk factors The addition of visual flow charts enhances understanding of the essential steps required to make accurate diagnoses Discussion of conceptual issues the authors anticipate will require additional clarification in the upcoming 12th edition, including recommendations for modification The must-have supplement enhances understanding, supports education, and facilitates implementation of important diagnostic changes in daily practice. All practitioners, including nursing students, professional nurses, nurse educators, nurse informaticists, and nurse administrators, who utilize the primary text will benefit from reading this companion piece.
Introductory Maternity and Pediatric Nursing by
Awarded third place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Award in Maternal-Child Health/Prenatal Nursing/Childbirth Category Created specifically for today's LPN/LVN students, Introductory Maternity & Pediatric Nursing, 5th Edition, delivers clearly written, vibrantly illustrated, clinically relevant coverage of pregnancy, birth, and pediatrics to help students master key clinical and critical thinking skills and prepare for success on the NCLEX-PN® exam and in clinical practice. Focusing on essential concepts and approaches for safe, effective practice, this proven text integrates case studies, in-patient scenarios, and outlines of appropriate nursing care focuses, outcomes, interactions, and rationales to help students best understand each patient's overall nursing care plan. A convenient built-in workbook reinforces comprehension and practical application with engaging review questions, study activities, and critical thinking exercises at the end of each chapter, and an accompanying suite of comprehensive online resources includes NCLEX-PN-style review questions and video clips to ensure confidence on exams and a smooth transition to clinical practice.
Successful Advanced Practice Nurse Role Transition: a structured process to developing professional identity through role transition by
This book is designed to help APN students and new APNs understand the process of role transition through the exploration of the Concept Analyses for APN Role Transition and Professional Identity. APN role transition from a generalist nurse to a graduate prepared Advanced Practice Nurse (APN) can be a challenging and emotional as the APN student progresses through graduate education, clinical experiences and during the first year of APN clinical practice. Precise steps that individuals can take to gain an in-depth understanding of the development of APN professional Identity through the personal process of role transition are provided. Role transition is complex, this book provides knowledge and skills on four levels of role transition based on the facilitators and barriers of macro, meso, micro, and personal levels. A critical aspect of role transition is gaining a personal insight of one's identity as person and as professional nurse. Professional identity changes significantly through the graduate education process and first year of clinical practice. This book emphasizes personal introspection and forethought to augment successful APN role transition and personal growth through a series of questions to guide personal thoughts while setting plans for the future as an APN. This unique book allows readers to gain the skills to help them progress through role transition to APN practice through the development of their professional identity by providing activities with journal space within the book. In addition, precise steps for developing a personal role transition plan include a framework to identify personal values, visions, mission, and goal statements. As the reader completes the activities provided throughout the book, they will have a valuable personal resource as they understand their role transition from generalist nurse to the APN role. An enhanced understanding of this role transition will result in a higher of degree of success in defining their personal and professional identity. This volume is intended for students in APN programs, new graduates, nurses changing roles where there is role transition confusion, and APNs seeking to understand their professional identity and /or gain insights into the multiple facets of the APN role.
Fundamentals of Pharmacology for nursing & healthcare students by
All registered nurses must have a thorough understanding and a strong knowledge of pharmacology, medicines administration, and the ability to recognise and react to the effects of medicines. Fundamentals of Pharmacology helps nursing and healthcare students develop the skills and confidence required to apply the fundamental principles of pharmacology and to offer safe, competent and compassionate care. Concentrating on the medicines that students are most likely to encounter in real-world practice, this textbook provides concise coverage of pharmacology, essential medicines management principles, legal and ethical issues, drug formulations, analgesics, immunisations, and much more. Clinically focused chapters feature defined learning outcomes, multiple-choice questions, practical examples, and full-colour illustrations to aid readers' comprehension of the complexities of pharmacology and care provision. The book utilises a straightforward, student-friendly approach to present 'must-have' information, with contributions from experienced clinicians and academics. Describes how to use pharmaceutical and prescribing reference guides Stresses the role and importance of compassionate care throughout Contains a full range of pedagogical tools which enhance learning and recall Aligns with current NMC Standards and Proficiencies for Registered Nurses and Nursing Associates Supplemented and supported by a wealth of online extras and resources Fundamentals of Pharmacology is essential reading for all nursing students, trainee nursing associates, post-registration nurses taking 'nurse prescribing' or 'non-medical prescribing' modules, and newly qualified nurses and nursing associates looking to better understand pharmacology.
Wong's Essentials of Pediatric Nursing by
As the #1 title in the pediatric nursing market for over 40 years, Wong''s Essentials of Pediatric Nursing, 11th Edition continues to leverage its trademark developmental approach as it equips readers with the very latest research and guidelines for treating children today. The text utilizes a highly-readable writing style and encourages a whole-body approach - beginning with child development and health promotion to better understand the later chapters on specific health problems. This new eleventh edition also features Next Generation NCLEX®-style case studies and questions, a new chapter covering all systems cancers, additional case studies within the nursing care plans, and updated and expanded evidence-based content throughout to best reflect the latest standards and trends impacting pediatric nursing care today. Developmental approach clearly identifies developmental tasks and influences at each stage of a child''s growth. Emphasis on wellness features health promotion chapters for each developmental stage of childhood. Critical thinking case studies with answers are found throughout the text. Quality patient outcomes are highlighted within nursing management discussions for major diseases and disorders. Drug alerts draw attention to potential safety issues, reflecting QSEN safety initiative. Family focus includes a separate family chapter as well as family content and Family-Centered Care boxes integrated throughout the text. Community Focus boxes provide resources and guidance on caring for children outside the clinical setting. Evidence-Based Practice boxes focus attention on the application of research and critical thought processes to support and guide the outcomes of nursing care. Chapter on complementary & alternative therapy cover timely topics to aid in providing complete, comprehensive care. Nursing care plans provide a model for planning patient care and include rationales that provide the "why." Research Focus boxes highlight current studies that impact pediatric nursing today. Cultural content and Cultural Considerations boxes are integrated throughout the text to draw attention to customs and beliefs of different cultures that influence childcare. Atraumatic Care boxes contain techniques for care that minimize pain, discomfort, or stress. Nursing tips offer helpful hints and practical, clinical information of a non-emergency nature. Nursing alerts feature critical information that MUST BE considered in providing care. Emergency Treatment sections provide a quick reference in critical situations. Nursing care guidelines provide clear, step-by-step instructions for performing specific skills or procedures. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX®-style case studies and questions are included in the text and on the companion Evolve website. NEW! Pediatric Quality Indicator boxes present a bigger picture of hospitals and how they look at quality and safety. NEW! Applying Evidence to Practice boxes outline up-to-date procedures to reinforce best practices. NEW! Concept lists have been added to the beginning of chapters to aid programs using a concept-based curriculum. NEW! Separate chapter on cancer focuses on best-practices within this specialized area of pediatric care. NEW! Expanded information on the Zika virus ensures you are grounded in the latest evidence-based information. NEW! Updated genetics content keeps you up to date in this always evolving area of medicine. NEW! Expanded content on the different roles in pediatric nursing reflect nursing responsibilities and the most common pediatric nursing subsets utilized in practice today. UPDATED! Content on autism spectrum disorders has been updated to keep you in the know on the latest practice standards used in this rapidly expanding area of pediatric care. NEW! Information on Narcan reinforces how to properly apply the injection. UPDATED! Translating Evidence into Practice boxes have been updated to focus attention on application of both research and critical thought processes to support and guide the outcomes of nursing care.
Fundamental Concepts and Skills for Nursing by
Learn all the basic concepts and fundamental skills that an LPN/LVN needs! Fundamental Concepts and Skills for Nursing, 6th Edition prepares you for nursing practice in a number of care settings, including hospitals, long-term care facilities, medical offices, clinics, surgery centers, and home care agencies. Illustrated, easy-to-read guidelines ensure that you gain a thorough understanding of the nursing process and problem solving, addressing topics such as the physiologic and psychosocial needs of the patient, critical thinking and clinical judgment, communication, collaboration with the health care team, patient teaching, and cultural competence. Written by noted educator Patricia Williams, this text prepares you to pass the Next Generation NCLEX-PN® Exam and succeed in any care setting. Concept maps help students visualize concepts addressed in the text and show how a condition or response can affect more than one body system, relating to symptoms, treatments, and side effects. QSEN and Safety information highlights the knowledge, skills, and attitudes needed to continuously improve the quality and safety of patient care. More than 110 Skills and Steps present step-by-step procedures in an action/rationale format, including sample documentation examples and Home Care boxes, as appropriate. Clear, easy-to-understand readability level (11.65) makes the book accessible for LPN/LVN students, accommodating both beginning students and those speaking English as a second language. Get Ready for the NCLEX Examination! section at the end of each chapter reinforces learning with key points, review questions, critical thinking activities, and additional learning resources. Life Span Considerations: Older Adults highlight changes that occur with aging and how these affect LPNs and LVNs working with older adults in community and long-term care. More than 20 nursing care plans illustrate each step of the nursing process, and include critical thinking questions. Nursing process framework features the application of the nursing process and nursing care plans, reinforcing application of the nursing process in the clinical setting. Health Promotion and Patient Teaching boxes include guidelines to promote health, prevent illness, and develop self-care strategies. Think Critically boxes encourage students to synthesize information and apply concepts to practice. Communication boxes provide examples of nurse-patient dialogues and therapeutic communication techniques. Home Care Considerations boxes highlight the adaptation of nursing skills and techniques for the patient in the home care setting. Key Terms include phonetic pronunciations, which are helpful for ESL students, and text page references to find the definition. Numbered objectives begin each chapter, and are divided into a framework of theory and clinical practice. Clinical chapters give students a refresher in anatomy and physiology, with an overview of Structure and Function, and include a section on aging. Cultural Considerations cover biocultural variations as well as health promotion for specific ethnic groups, so students can provide culturally competent care. NEW! Coverage of the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model introduces students to the testing model used on the Next Generation NCLEX® Exam. NEW case studies and Next Generation NCLEX Exam-style questions give students practice and prepare them for the Next Generation NCLEX Examination. NEW photos and illustrations show critical skills and procedures. NEW! Updated guidelines include those from the American Heart Association, The Joint Commission, National Pressure Ulcer Advisory Panel, Dietary Guidelines, and more. NEW! Expanded Evidence-Based Practice boxes and best practices are highlighted throughout the book.
Calculating Drug Dosages : a patient-safe approach to nursing and math by
Master math concepts. Ensure patient safety. Conquer your fears and understand the most common math concepts used in nursing practice today. Color-coded, step-by-step guidance shows you how to accurately calculate drug dosages using all four methods. You'll begin with a basic math assessment and then explore in-depth coverage of complex topics, including intake and output, parenteral intake, NG tube feeding strength, and labeling IVs.
DeWit's Medical-Surgical Nursing : concepts and practice by
Get the solid foundation you need to pass the NCLEX-PN® exam and succeed in practice! deWit's Medical-Surgical Nursing: Concepts and Practice, 4th Edition builds on the fundamentals of nursing with complete coverage of adult medical-surgical conditions, including roles, settings, health care trends, and all body systems and their disorders. It provides special attention to care of older adults, those with chronic illnesses, and residents in long-term care settings. Written by nursing educator Holly Stromberg, deWit's Medical-Surgical Nursing makes exam prep easier with NCLEX-PN® review questions, and reflects national LPN/LVN standards with an emphasis on evidence-based practice and patient safety. Safety alerts emphasize safety precautions to protect patients, family, health care providers, and the public from accidents, spread of disease, and medication-related accidents. Older Adult Care Points address the unique care issues of gerontologic nursing, and describe assessment and interventions for long-term care patients. Nursing care plans show plans of care based on patient history, including patient goals and outcomes, with critical thinking questions allowing you to assess your understanding of nursing care concepts. Assignment Considerations cover task delegation from the RN to the LPN/LVN and from the LPN/LVN to unlicensed assistive personnel, as allowed by each state's nurse practice act. Get Ready for the NCLEX® Examination! section at the end of each chapter covers key points and includes review questions to help you prepare for class tests and the NCLEX-PN examination. Focused Assessment boxes show how to collect patient data, including history, physical, and psychosocial assessment. Home Care Considerations focus on adapting medical-surgical nursing care to the home environment after discharge. Cultural Considerations promote understanding of various ethnic groups and sensitivity to differing beliefs and practices. Communication boxes help in developing therapeutic communication skills in realistic patient care situations. Patient Teaching boxes provide instructions and guidelines for educating patients on post-hospital care. Legal and Ethical Considerations describe legal issues and ethical dilemmas that may face the practicing nurse. Think Critically encourages you to synthesize information and apply concepts to practice. Nutrition Considerations emphasize the role nutrition plays in disease and nursing care. Medication tables provide quick access to dosages and side effects of commonly used medications. Key terms include phonetic pronunciations and text page references, making learning easier with terms listed at the beginning of each chapter, appearing in blue at first mention or where defined in the text, and defined in the glossary. NEW! Concepts boxes and concept maps help you visualize how a disorder and its treatment can affect each of the body systems. NEW Normal Male and Female Reproductive System Findings chapter includes LGBTQ content, focusing on understanding and nursing care of these individuals. NEW! Additional photos and illustrations show new equipment, procedures, and patient care.
Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health : a resource for advanced practice psychiatric and primary care practioners in nursing by
Research has shown that a range of adult psychiatric disorders and mental health problems originate at an early age, yet the psychiatric symptoms of an increasing number of children and adolescents are going unrecognized and untreated--there are simply not enough child psychiatric providers to meet this steadily rising demand. It is vital that advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) and primary care practitioners take active roles in assessing behavioral health presentations and work collaboratively with families and other healthcare professionals to ensure that all children and adolescents receive appropriate treatment. Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health helps APRNs address the mental health needs of this vulnerable population, providing practical guidance on assessment guidelines, intervention and treatment strategies, indications for consultation, collaboration, referral, and more. Now in its second edition, this comprehensive and timely resource has been fully updated to include DSM-5 criteria and the latest guidance on assessing, diagnosing, and treating the most common behavioral health issues facing young people. New and expanded chapters cover topics including eating disorders, bullying and victimization, LGBTQ identity issues, and conducting research with high-risk children and adolescents. Edited and written by a team of accomplished child psychiatric and primary care practitioners, this authoritative volume: Provides state-of-the-art knowledge about specific psychiatric and behavioral health issues in multiple care settings Reviews the clinical manifestation and etiology of behavioral disorders, risk and management issues, and implications for practice, research, and education Offers approaches for interviewing children and adolescents, and strategies for integrating physical and psychiatric screening Discusses special topics such as legal and ethical issues, cultural influences, the needs of immigrant children, and child and adolescent mental health policy Features a new companion website containing clinical case studies to apply concepts from the chapters Designed to specifically address the issues faced by APRNs, Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health is essential reading for nurse practitioners and clinical nurse specialists, particularly those working in family, pediatric, community health, psychiatric, and mental health settings. *Second Place in the Child Health Category, 2021 American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Awards*
Handbook of Geropsychiatry for the Advanced Practice Nurse: mental healthcare for the older adult by
Offers a wealth of information and insight geared specifically for APRNs providing holistic mental health care to older adults Addressing the most commonly-encountered mental health disorders, this practical, evidence-based resource for advanced practice nurses, nurse educators, and graduate nursing students delivers the knowledge and tools needed to effectively assess, examine, diagnose, treat, and promote optimal mental health in the geriatric patient. Written by recognized experts in the field of geropsychiatry, this handbook encompasses updated DSM-5 diagnoses and criteria, psychopharmacology, the psychiatric exam, and systems-level approaches to care. It also considers the relationships of the geriatric patient to family, community, and health care providers as they contribute to successful treatment. This handbook examines the biological changes associated with aging and addresses common mental health disorders of older adults. It presents clear clinical guidelines and demonstrates the use of relevant clinical tools and scales with illustrative examples. Additionally, the text delves into cultural differences that impact treatment and addresses the distinct needs of patients during a pandemic such as COVID-19. Key Features: Written specifically for APNs and students who work in the geropsychiatry field Presents evidence-based content within a holistic nursing framework Links psychopharmacological content with psychotherapy Describes cultural considerations in assessment and treatment during a pandemic such as COVID-19--in assessment and treatment Delivers key information on interprofessional approaches to patient care Includes Case studies with discussion questions Interprofessional Boxes contain key information on partnerships that can enhance care Evidence-Based Practice Boxes focus on proven strategies and resources Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers.
HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination by
Get ready to pass both the HESI exit exam and the NCLEX-RN® exam! HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 6th Edition provides a complete, all-in-one review of the information you need to know. Written in an easy-to-read outline format, this study guide reviews content by concepts and clinical areas. Along the way, valuable tips from HESI help you apply principles of clinical decision-making and critical thinking. With more than 900 practice questions in both study and exam formats, the Evolve companion website lets you practice test-taking in the same electronic format you will experience on your nursing school exit exam and on the NCLEX-RN exam. Over 900 NCLEX practice questions on the Evolve website include alternate item formats, simulating the experience of taking the nursing school exit exam and the NCLEX-RN exam. HESI Hint boxes highlight important clinical information and concepts commonly tested on the NCLEX-RN exam. Critical thinking study questions include answers and rationales, reinforcing your understanding of key concepts and content. Fill-in-the-blank and prioritizing questions mirror the alternate item format item types included on the NCLEX-RN exam. Chapters organized by clinical area make it easier to search for review topics. Consistent chapter format makes it easy to find the topics within each chapter. Pharmacology tables summarize the need-to-know drug therapy content emphasized on the NCLEX-RN exam. NEW! UPDATED content includes clinical updates and reflects the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Additional 300 NCLEX practice questions on the Evolve companion website help you prepare more effectively for the HESI exit exam and for the NCLEX-RN exam. NEW! Clinical Judgment Scenario includes practice Next Generation NCLEX question types.
Conceptual Foundations : the bridge to professional nursing practice by
Get an in-depth look at the nursing profession! Conceptual Foundations: The Bridge to Professional Nursing Practice, 7th Edition gives you the foundation you need to prepare for becoming a professional nurse. Expert educator Elizabeth E. Friberg assembles the best minds of nursing for a unique in-depth look at the profession's major theories, practices, and principles. Complete with two new chapters, this seventh edition has been fully revised throughout with content that challenges you to think critically and conceptually. In addition, new Evolve resources means you can do more online than ever before! Case studies throughout the text provide you with opportunities to develop your analytical skills. Objectives at the beginning of each chapter provide a framework for study. Profile in Practice scenarios at the beginning of each chapter introduce real-life situations that accompany the professional behaviors covered in the text. Key points at the end of each chapter reinforce learning objectives and help you to focus on important information. Critical reflective exercises at the end of each chapter help you use and apply what you have learned. Chapter Introduction explains the approach and summary of the chapter content. Key terms presented in italics and definitions embedded in the text make it easier to understand. NEW! Two all-new chapters bring you the latest information on end of life/palliative care and resilience and compassionate care. NEW! Emphasis on professional role development includes focus within the Interdisciplinary team. NEW! Updated information about the Affordable Care Act includes coverage of the current legal and policy environment. NEW! Extensive revision of Pathways of Nursing Education chapter reflects current focus on Academic Progression
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by
Get the tools and skills you need to prepare for the NCLEX®! Often called the ''the best NCLEX® exam review book ever,'' Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 8th Edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect the most recent test plan. This new edition includes 5,200 NCLEX examination-style questions in the book and online. A companion Evolve website includes thousands of questions that allow you to decide how you want to practice! Don''t make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only Silvestri includes the kinds of questions that consistently test the clinical judgment skills necessary to pass today''s NCLEX exam. Even better, all answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices and test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question. Written by the most trusted name in NCLEX review, this is THE book of choice for NCLEX preparation. But don''t just take our word for it - read any customer review or ask your classmates to see why there''s nothing else like it! Over 5,200 practice questions in the text and online offer ample testing practice. 75-question comprehensive exam covers all content areas in the book in the same percentages that they are covered on the actual NCLEX-RN test plan. Inclusion of all alternate item format questions covers multiple response, prioritizing [ordered response], fill-in-the-blank, figure/illustration [hot spot], chart/exhibit, video, and audio questions to give students practice with mastering prioritizing, decision-making, and critical thinking skills. Presents introductory chapters on preparation guidance for the NCLEX-RN, nonacademic preparation, test-taking strategies, the CAT format, and the NCLEX-RN from a new graduate''s experience. UNIQUE! Audio review summaries on pharmacology, fluids and electrolytes, and acid-base balance are found on the Evolve companion site. Expanded coverage of delegation, prioritization, and triage/disaster management in the practice questions reflect the areas of increased emphasis on the NCLEX exam. UNIQUE! A detailed test-taking strategy and rationale is included for each question, offering clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option UNIQUE! Priority concepts call-outs highlight specific concepts related to nursing practice. Concepts have been updated to reflect the latest Giddens: Concepts for Nursing Practice text. UNIQUE! More Priority Nursing Action boxes communicate new and pertinent content. Question categories by cognitive level, client needs area, integrated process, and content area give you completely customizable exams or study sessions when using the companion Evolve site. UNIQUE! Pyramid Alert! boxes spotlight important nursing concepts and procedures, and include tips and shortcuts for remembering key information. Mnemonics included where appropriate throughout the text. NEW! Thoroughly updated content incorporates clinical updates and reflects the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Clinical Judgment Situations test critical thinking skills and feature Next Generation NCLEX item types to assist in applying the skill of clinical judgment. NEW! UPDATED! Bioterrorism content includes information on nuclear radiation. Several NEW prioritizing questions test prioritizing skills. NEW! Pharmacology classifications code with practice questions helps you to focus on specific medication classes. NEW! Special Populations chapter focuses on nursing care of special and vulnerable populations. NEW! Complex Care chapter includes information on sepsis, shock, sedation, critical care nursing interventions, and more. NEW! Health Problem code with every practice question helps you to focus your study on particular topics. NEW! Anemia section added to the Oncological and Hematological Problems chapter. NEW! Systematic case scenario helps you focus on applying health and physical assessment concepts.
How to Treat People: a nurse's notes by
As a teenager, Molly Case underwent an operation that saved her life. Nearly a decade later, she finds herself in the operating room again--this time as a trainee nurse. She learns to care for her patients, sharing not only their pain, but also life-affirming moments of hope. In doing so, she offers a compelling account of the processes that keep them alive, from respiratory examinations to surgical prep, and of the extraordinary moments of human connection that sustain both nurse and patient.In rich, lyrical prose, Case illustrates the intricacies of the human condition through the hand of a stranger offered in solace, a gentle word in response to fear and anger, or the witnessing of a person's last breaths. It is these moments of empathy, in the extremis of human experience, that define us as people. But when Molly's father is admitted to the cardiac unit where she works, the professional and the personal suddenly collide.Weaving together medical history, art, memoir, and science, How to Treat People beautifully explores the oscillating rhythms of life and death in a tender reminder that we can all find meaning in being, even for a moment, part of the lives of others.
Health Care in Crisis : hospitals, nurses, and the consequences of policy change by
An inside look into how hospitals, nurses, and patients are faring under the Affordable Care Act More and more not-for-profit hospitals are becoming financially unstable and being acquired by large hospital systems. The effects range from not having necessary life-saving equipment to losing the most experienced nurses to better jobs at other hospitals. In Health Care in Crisis, Theresa Morris takes an in-depth look at how this unintended consequence of the Affordable Care Act plays out in a non-profit hospital's obstetrical ward. Based on ethnographic observations of and in-depth interviews with obstetrical nurses and hospital administrators at a community, not-for-profit hospital in New England, Health Care in Crisis examines how nurses' care of patients changed over the three-year period in which the Affordable Care Act was implemented, state Medicaid funds to hospitals were slashed, and hospitals were being acquired by a for-profit hospital system. Morris explains how the tumultuous political-economic changes have challenged obstetrical nurses, who are at the front lines of providing care for women during labor and birth. In the context of a new environment where hospital reimbursements are tied to performance, nursing has come under much scrutiny as documentation of births--already laboriously high--has reached even greater levels. Providing patient-centered care is an organizational challenge that nurses struggle to master in this context. Some nurses become bogged down by new processes and bureaucratic procedures, while others focus on buffering patients from the effects of these changes with little success. Morris maintains that what is most important in delivering quality care to patients is the amount of interaction time spent with patients, yet finding that time is a real challenge in this new environment. As questions and policies regarding health care are changing rapidly, Health Care in Crisis tells an important story of how these changes affect nurses' ability to care for their patients.
Culturally Competent Compassion : a guide for healthcare students and practitioners by
Bringing together the crucially important topics of cultural competence and compassion for the first time, this book explores how to practise ¿culturally competent compassion¿ in healthcare settings ¿ that is, understanding the suffering of others and wanting to do something about it using culturally appropriate and acceptable caring interventions. This text first discusses the philosophical and religious roots of compassion before investigating notions of health, illness, culture and multicultural societies. Drawing this information together, it then introduces two invaluable frameworks for practice, one of cultural competence and one of culturally competent compassion, and applies them to care scenarios. Papadopoulos goes on to discuss: how nurses in different countries understand and provide compassion in practice; how students learn about compassion; how leaders can create and champion compassionate working environments; and how we can, and whether we should, measure compassion. Culturally Competent Compassion is essential reading for healthcare students and its combination of theoretical content and practice application provides a relevant and interesting learning experience. The innovative model for practice presented here will also be of interest to researchers exploring cultural competence and compassion in healthcare.
Caring Matters Most : the ethical significance of nursing by
Through an exploration of the ethical nature of nursing, Caring Matters Most asserts that the act of nursing itself embodies goodness. Nurses can develop this moral character in themselves by cultivating five habits: trustworthiness, imagination, beauty, space, and presence. Practicing thesehabits will sustain nurses as they meet the challenges of the workplace, the threat of automation, and the incivilities that arise within the nursing community. The volume concludes with thought-provoking discussion questions and exercises designed to help nurses apply concepts in the classroom orin practice. Each chapter combines highly readable explanations of moral theory with real-life examples that can guide nurses in day-to-day practice. Caring Matters Most is an ideal resource for academic or practicing nurses interested in healthcare ethics or philosophy.
301 Careers in Nursing by
Written for nurses of all education and experience levels, 301 Careers in Nursing highlights the exceptional array of diverse opportunities available to those interested in a career in nursing. Each of the carefully selected and researched careers described in this book embraces the core dimensions of nursing: caring, competence, and commitment to excellence in caring for others at all stages of life. If you are considering a career in nursing, if you know someone who is considering a career in nursing, if you are a guidance counselor, or if you are already a nurse but considering a change, you will benefit from this resource to the most prominent careers in nursing today. This edition features 100 additional career options, with an emphasis on those available to the growing number of advanced practice nurses. Also new to this edition are 25 interviews from nurses practicing in a multitude of areas. These snapshots give you an inside look at opportunities in academia and practice settings that might be unfamiliar. Each career entry includes: Career descriptionEducational requirementsCore competencies and skillsRelated websites and professional organizations
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals by
In the current healthcare climate, it is more important than ever to be able to select and find the right evidence for your practice to ensure patients receive safe, high quality care. The fully updated new edition of this comprehensive book helps nurses and healthcare professionals understand how to use evidence in all aspects of care, with plenty of examples and activities to help relate concepts to practice. The new edition features: * Explanation of what values-based practice means and how it fits alongside evidence-based practice * A new chapter on innovation and improvement to help you make a difference in your practice * Even more examples from a range of professions to understand how different professions work together * Learning features to make it easier to learn, including word puzzles, chapter summaries and a glossary It is essential reading for all pre-qualifying and qualified nursing and allied health students who are exploring evidence-based practice for the first time. Janet Barker was formerly Associate Professor of Nursing at the University of Nottingham. Paul Linsley and Ros Kane are both Principal Lecturers at the University of Lincoln.
Cardiovascular Nursing Demystified by
The fun, fast, and easy way to learn the core concepts and skills of cardiovascular nursing Whether you're a student seeking to excel in a course or a professional nurse transitioning into care of cardiovascular patients, this is the book you need to quickly and easily understand the key concepts and advanced protocols in cardiovascular nursing - and how to apply them in real world situations. Cardiovascular Nursing DeMYSTiFieD is your step-by-step guide to learn how to successfully identify patients' signs and symptoms, accurately interpret medical test results and perform the nursing interventions that will assist in restoring your patients to good cardiovascular health. In order to make the learning process as effective as possible, each concise chapter features learning objectives, key terms, brief overview of topics, content summaries, chapter-ending review questions, and explanatory tables and diagrams. The book concludes with a comprehensive final exam comprised of NCLEX®-style questions.
EKG's for Nursing Demystified by
The quick and easy way to master EKG procedures and use your knowledge in real-world situations If you're looking for a fun, fast review that boils EKGs down to the most essential, must-know points your search ends here! EKG for Nursing Demystified is a thorough yet concise overview of this medical test, complete with time-proven techniques, facsimiles of EKG strips, and numerous clinical cases. You will learn how to interpret hypertrophy and enlargement, arrhythmias, conduction blocks, Pre-excitation syndromes, myocardial infarction and more, so you have the knowledge to help your patients as a student and as a nurse once you start your career. This fast and easy guide offers: Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter A foundation in EKG topics A final exam at the end of the book A time-saving approach to performing better on an exam or at work Simple enough for a student, but comprehensive enough for a professional, EKG for Nursing Demystified is your shortcut to mastering this critical topic.
Dosage Calculations and Basic Math for Nurses Demystified, Second Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The fun, fast, and easy way to learn basic math skills and how to accurately calculate dosages Calculating the correct dose to administer to the patient can be very challenging - unless you follow the proven approach taught in Dosage Calculations and Basic Math for Nurses Demystified. Topics are presented in the in the order in which many nurses and nursing students need to learn them - starting with the basics and then gradually moving on the techniques used in our nation's leading medical facilities. The 2nd Edition also includes 4 new chapters covering basic math skills essential for daily nursing practice, including equations, percentages, proportions, decimals, and fractions. Written by a graduate nurse and top instructor, Dosage Calculations and Basic Math for Nurses Demystified consists of chapters that follow a time-tested formula that first explains techniques in an easy-to-understand style and then shows you how you can use it in a real-world healthcare environment. Hundreds of examples help you absorb the material, and NCLEX®-style practice questions reinforce learning. This self-teaching guide offers: Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter Tips for avoiding common errors when using MAR charting systems Details on IV therapy Coverage of how to calculate a pediatric, Heparin, and Dopamine dose Three final exams Measurements in SI units Details on tube feeding Overview of basic math skills needed by nurses for daily practice Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for an advance student, Dosage Calculations and Basic Math for Nurses Demystified is your key to learning these essential nursing skills.
TEAS V Study Guide 2015
Think all TEAS version 5 study guides are the same? Think again Redesigned for 2015, this study guide is better than ever. With easy to understand lessons and over 450 practice test questions (includding 2 full practice tests ) designed to maximize your score, you'll be ready. While there is no official passing or failing with the TEAS V, you don't want to waste time - and money - having to study all over again because your score was too low to be accepted by your school of choice. You want to accelerate your education, not miss opportunities for starting your future career Every year, thousands of people think that they are ready for the TEAS Version 5 Exam, but realize too late when they get their score back that they were not ready at all. They weren't incapable, and they certainly did their best, but they simply weren't studying the right way. There are a variety of methods to prepare for the TEAS Version 5....and they get a variety of results. Trivium Test Preps TEAS V Study Guide 2015 provides the information, secrets, and confidence needed to get you the score you need - the first time around. Losing points on the TEAS V exam can cost you precious time, money, and effort that you shouldn't have to spend. What is in the book? In our TEAS V study guide, you get the most comprehensive review of all tested concepts. The subjects are easy to understand, and have over 450 fully-explained example questions to ensure that you master the material. Best of all, we show you how this information will be applied on the real exam. 2 full length TEAS Version 5 practice exams are included so that you can know, without a doubt, that you are prepared. Our study guide is streamlined and concept-driven - not filled with excess junk, silly attempts at humor, or confusing filler - so you get better results through more effective study time. Why spend days or even weeks reading through meaningless junk, trying to sort out the helpful information from the fluff? We give you everything you need to know in a concise, comprehensive, and effective package.
NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses by
Fully updated and revised by editors T. Heather Herdman, PhD, RN, FNI, and Shigemi Kamitsuru, PhD, RN, FNI, NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions and Classification 2018-2020, Eleventh Edition is the definitive guide to nursing diagnoses, as reviewed and approved by NANDA International (NANDA-I). In this new edition of a seminal text, the authors have written all introductory chapters at an undergraduate nursing level, providing the critical information needed for nurses to understand assessment, its link to diagnosis and clinical reasoning, and the purpose and use of taxonomic structure for the nurse at the bedside. Other changes include: 18 new nursing diagnoses and 72 revised diagnoses Updates to 11 nursing diagnosis labels, ensuring they are consistent with current literature and reflect a human response Modifications to the vast majority of the nursing diagnosis definitions, including especially Risk Diagnoses Standardization of diagnostic indicator terms (defining characteristics, related factors, risk factors, associated conditions, and at-risk populations) to further aid clarity for readers and clinicians Coding of all diagnostic indicator terms for those using electronic versions of the terminology Web-based resources include chapter and reference lists for new diagnoses Rigorously updated and revised, NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions and Classification 2018-2020, Eleventh Edition is a must-have resource for all nursing students, professional nurses, nurse educators, nurse informaticists, and nurse administrators.
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing Practice by
Get 12 months FREE access to an interactive eBook* when you buy the paperback! (Print paperback version only, ISBN 9781473938465)Drawing together the best of text, video and interactive material for the complete A&P learning resource for nurses. Effective, holistic nursing is impossible without a firm grasp of how the human body functions but knowledge of the scientific theory on its own is not enough. Using the person-centred practice framework as a guiding principle, this book brings anatomy and physiology to life combining the best of print and online learning into one integrated package. Key features Connects theory with nursing practice exploring the science from the perspective of a fictional family Supported by a rich array of video material including interactive figures, animations and mini-tutorials - perfect for visual learners Full of engaging activities designed to complement self-directed learning A bank of 170 online multiple choice questions and over 800 flashcards - ideal for revision and consolidating knowledge Written with the needs of nurses firmly in mind, focusing on the essential information More than just a book! Each purchase includes 12 months access to an interactive eBook version which seamlessly blends the traditional textbook format with the best of online learning. Students can study when and how they want and make use of additional tools including search, highlighting, annotation note sharing and much more. The book is also supported by a SAGE Edge website containing complete access to videos, animations, student revision material and action plans. Lecturer resources to support your teaching, including downloadable figures from the book and a test bank of questions for assessment use, are also available. Visit https://edge.sagepub.com/essentialaandp to find out more. *interactivity only available through Vitalsource eBook
Critical Care Nursing : monitoring and treatment for advanced nursing practice by
Providing an easy-to-use reference, Critical Care Nursing outlines best practice for the assessment, monitoring and treatment of critically ill adult patients. Each chapter includes research and evidence-based strategies for treating commonly-seen conditions. Initial chapters introduce ICU set-up and operation, the rapid response team, vitals measurement and shock management strategies. Subsequent chapters, structured by organ system, focus on care relating to specific organ function and dysfunction, including the respiratory, cardiovascular, neurologic, renal and gastrointestinal systems. Key information on monitoring for overdoses, special considerations in traumatic injury and end-of-life concerns is also included. Critical Care Nursing is a comprehensive and informative resource for experienced staff nurses and advanced practice nurses working with critically ill patients on ICUs, PCUs, transitional care units and within emergency care departments.
TEAS V Study Guide 2015
Think all TEAS version 5 study guides are the same? Think again Redesigned for 2015, this study guide is better than ever. With easy to understand lessons and over 450 practice test questions (includding 2 full practice tests ) designed to maximize your score, you'll be ready. While there is no official passing or failing with the TEAS V, you don't want to waste time - and money - having to study all over again because your score was too low to be accepted by your school of choice. You want to accelerate your education, not miss opportunities for starting your future career Every year, thousands of people think that they are ready for the TEAS Version 5 Exam, but realize too late when they get their score back that they were not ready at all. They weren't incapable, and they certainly did their best, but they simply weren't studying the right way. There are a variety of methods to prepare for the TEAS Version 5....and they get a variety of results. Trivium Test Preps TEAS V Study Guide 2015 provides the information, secrets, and confidence needed to get you the score you need - the first time around. Losing points on the TEAS V exam can cost you precious time, money, and effort that you shouldn't have to spend. What is in the book? In our TEAS V study guide, you get the most comprehensive review of all tested concepts. The subjects are easy to understand, and have over 450 fully-explained example questions to ensure that you master the material. Best of all, we show you how this information will be applied on the real exam. 2 full length TEAS Version 5 practice exams are included so that you can know, without a doubt, that you are prepared. Our study guide is streamlined and concept-driven - not filled with excess junk, silly attempts at humor, or confusing filler - so you get better results through more effective study time. Why spend days or even weeks reading through meaningless junk, trying to sort out the helpful information from the fluff? We give you everything you need to know in a concise, comprehensive, and effective package.
Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery by
Gain the knowledge and skills you need to provide safe, effective perioperative nursing care! Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery, 17th Edition is the definitive resource for nurses and surgical technologists training for a career in the operating room. Illustrated, step-by-step instructions cover patient care in more than 400 surgical interventions, including patient positioning, instrumentation, and postoperative care. Along with the latest on robotic surgery and a review of evidence-based guidelines, this edition includes new coverage of COVID-19 and gender affirmation surgery. From well-known educator Jane C. Rothrock - and with every chapter authored by an expert nurse - Alexander's gives you the tools you need to pass the CNOR© certification exam and succeed in the surgical setting. Comprehensive coverage includes basic perioperative nursing principles, such as patient and environmental safety, infection prevention, patient positioning, anesthesia and pain management, and the unique needs of special populations such as pediatric and geriatric patients. Coverage of more than 400 general and specialty surgical interventions includes minimally invasive and robotic-assisted surgical procedures, whether performed in a hospital, ambulatory surgery setting, or in a doctor's office. Perioperative nursing considerations are presented within the nursing process framework and include assessment, nursing diagnosis, outcome identification, planning, implementation, evaluation, discharge planning, and patient and family education. More than 1,000 full-color photos and illustrations show surgical anatomy, procedures, methods, and equipment. Sample plans of care include nursing diagnoses, outcomes, and interventions. Research Highlight and Evidence for Practice boxes discuss recommendations for applying current scientific research to patient care. Robotic-Assisted Surgery boxes highlight a rapidly expanding surgical modality. Enhanced Recovery After Surgery boxes promote protocols to improve outcomes, reduce the length of stay, and reduce the patient's cost of care. Patient Engagement Exemplar boxes optimize surgical outcomes by addressing AORN guidelines on the issues of patient care and involvement of the patient's family. Patient Safety boxes highlight practices and initiatives for patient safety in the surgical setting. Patient, Family, and Caregiver Education boxes include specific guidelines for preprocedural and/or postprocedural care, potential complications, home care, discharge instructions, and psychosocial care. Ambulatory Surgery Considerations boxes highlight patient selection criteria, special anesthesia considerations, and patient assessment implications for outpatient surgical procedures. Surgical Pharmacology tables summarize the drugs most commonly used for each surgical specialty, including generic and trade names, indications, and pharmacokinetics. Critical Thinking questions at the end of each chapter let you assess your understanding of important material. Exam-style practice questions on the Evolve website include answers and rationales. References to AORN Guidelines and toolkits are discussed as relevant to the topic. NEW! Additional content on infection prevention includes coverage of Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2), Candida auris. NEW! Coverage of discharge planning and gender affirmation surgery is added to this edition.
Maternal-Child Nursing by
Build your skills in the science and art of maternity and pediatric nursing! Maternal-Child Nursing, 6th Edition makes it easy to understand the essentials of women's health, maternity, and children's nursing care. It simplifies the steps of the nursing process and relates them to care, helping you develop clinical judgment skills and provide safe, effective care in evidence-based practice. This edition adds case studies preparing you for the new Next Generation NCLEX® examination. Best of all, active learning tools and features make it fun to master nursing concepts, offering plenty of opportunities to apply your knowledge to the practice setting. Nursing Care Plans help students apply the nursing process to plan individualized care in the most common maternity and pediatric situations. Clinical Reference sections in pediatrics chapters provide basic information on disorders and their related anatomy and physiology, differences in body systems between children and adults, commonly used drugs, lab values, diagnostic tests, and procedures. Clinical Judgment boxes highlight situations designed to test clinical judgment skills. Health Promotion boxes highlight information needed to perform a comprehensive assessment of well infants and children at various ages. Safety Alerts emphasize what is important to remember when providing safe and optimal quality care. Pathophysiology boxes present an illustrated overview of illnesses and how to manage them. Want to Know boxes provide teaching guidelines, including sample answers for questions that are likely to be asked or topics that need to be taught. Communication Cues offer practical tips for verbal and nonverbal communication with patients and families. Glossary at the end of the book gives students quick access to all key terms and definitions. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) examination-style case studies expose students to how content will be tested in the exam; case studies are either single-situation or unfolding studies. NEW! Updated Drug Guides summarize the latest information on medications.
Nursing Care Plans: diagnoses, interventions, & outcomes by
Get everything you need to create and customize effective nursing care plans, now with evidence-based ICNP® diagnoses! Covering the most common medical-surgical nursing diagnoses and clinical problems, Gulanick & Myers' Nursing Care Plans: Diagnoses, Interventions, and Outcomes, 10th Edition features more than 200 care plans, each reflecting the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international treatment protocols. It also features highlighted QSEN competencies and a clear differentiation of nursing and collaborative interventions. New to this edition are ICNP® diagnoses, care plans on LGBTQ health issues and on electrolytes and acid-base balance, and a new Online Care Planner that makes it easier than ever to customize care plans. Written by noted educators Meg Gulanick and Judith L. Myers, this #1 care planning book will help you learn to think like a nurse! 61 patient problem care plans include the most common/important patient problems, providing the building blocks for you to create your own individualized care plans. 164 disorder care plans cover virtually every common medical-surgical condition, organized by body system. Patient problem care plan format includes a definition/explanation of the diagnosis, related factors, defining characteristics, expected outcomes, ongoing assessment, and therapeutic interventions. Disorder care plan format covers synonyms for the disorder (for ease in cross referencing), a definition, common related factors, defining characteristics, expected outcomes, ongoing assessment, and therapeutic interventions for each relevant nursing diagnosis. Prioritized care planning guidance internally organizes care plans from "actual" to "risk" diagnoses, from general to specific interventions, and from independent to collaborative/interprofessional interventions, to help you select the most important, priority interventions for your particular patients. NEW! Updated care plans are now based on the evidence-based, complete, and internationally accepted International Classification of Nursing Practice (ICNP®) nursing diagnoses. NEW! 19 all-new care plans are featured in this edition. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the most current evidence-based practice and national and international guidelines. NEW! Online Care Planner on the Evolve website allows you to easily generate customized care plans based on the book's content. NEW! Improved focus on core content includes several care plans that have been moved from the book's Evolve website.
Transition to Professional Nursing Practice by
Provides final year nursing students with comprehensive guidance on how to make the leap from student to registered nurse, helping you to master the skills needed to progress from supervised to professional practice.Packed with key information, theory and advice, this book covers essential topics such as leadership and management, decision-making, professional development, assessment, law and ethics. It also provides you with an insightful overview of global nursing, exploring the issues of nurse migration and outlining the specific requirements for registering as a nurse in countries outside of the UK. To further support your learning, the book includes engaging activities that encourage you to use critical reflection, real-life example scenarios to help improve your decision-making, and references to the author's personal experiences of professional development.
Wound Care Essentials : practice principles by
Awards Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Awarded First Place in the 2020 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Medical-Surgical Nursing Category Awarded Second Place in the 2020 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Advance Practice Nursing Category. Looking for an up-to-date, how-to, evidence-based wound care reference? The newly revised Wound Care Essentials, 5th Edition is the comprehensive seminal resource, offering the latest evidence, guidelines and information to assist the interprofessional skin and wound care team translate knowledge into practice. A crucial guide for all skin and wound care professionals, this essential resource provides authoritative science and practical instruction on wound care best practices. This must-have guide offers the latest, skin and wound care research-backed insights on prevention and management strategies... Three New Chapters--Skin, Challenging Skin Conditions and Lymphedema More chapter contributions from global wound care opinion leaders More (now 50) helpful color photos in the wound gallery Comprehensive end-of-book certification practice exam, including new review questions Chapter features that include: All chapters have been updated with the latest available research and educational enablers Visual aids, mnemonics, tables boxes, diagrams. and charts to highlight key concepts Practice Point Boxes - quick summaries of knowledge for best practices that assist in retaining knowledge Show What You Know - review questions at the end of each chapter and answers with explanations at the end of the book Patient Scenario - case studies that illustrate clinical data and discuss application of information Skin and Wound Care Concepts--every chapter has been updated with the most current international guidelines especially for pressure injuries and skin tears Essential content for training staff at wound centers and in every healthcare practice setting - ideal for updating skin and wound care policies and procedures About the Authors Sharon Baranoski, MSN, RN, CCNS-APN, CWCN, MAPWCA, FAAN, is a Board-certified, Advanced Practice Nurse specializing in skin & wound care. Her experience crosses all health care setting. She is a well-known consultant, lecturer, author and educator. She is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing. She is a former President of the International Skin Tear Advisory Board and the National Pressure Injury Advisory Panel and remains an active member of both organizations. Sharon has received numerous accolades and awards for her 35 plus years of work in the field of wound care. Elizabeth A. Ayello, PhD, MS, BSN, RN, CWON, ETN, MAPWCA, FAAN, is a Board-certified wound and ostomy nurse who believes in the interprofessional team approach to skin and wound care practice and education. A fellow in the American Academy of Nursing, she is an internationally known prolific author, editor, researcher, consultant (including to CMS) and innovative, interactive educator who is the current Co- Editor in Chief of Advances in Skin and Wound Care, President of the World Council of Enterostomal.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance: