Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Welcome to the Wayne G. Basler Library at Northeast State Community College
Type in keywords, titles, or authors to find what the library has to offer on your topic.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Check out our Nursing Journals, available online
Nursing, Second Edition : The Ultimate Study Guide by
The key to success in nursing school is effective studying Why not have a concise study guide that conveys all the essential, tested material for each course? Tired of buying study guides for each nursing course? This is the ultimate, all-in-one study guide to the core information nursing students need for success in all of their foundational courses. This is a small study guide that packs a big punch. This guide is also a great tool for new nurse graduates. Presented in a well-organized and easy-to-read style, it contains everything a nursing student needs to know from the first nursing course through the last. The second edition is updated with critical new information about medications, lab values, assessments, emerging disorders, and nursing interventions. It includes three new chapters: "What to Expect in Nursing School," "Decreasing Test Anxiety," and "Emergency Nursing." The guide closely follows the standard nursing curriculum and is designed as a reference for every core nursing course. To facilitate successful exam preparation, the text highlights important material most likely to appear on class exams. Also included are tips on what to expect on the NCLEX-RN√ . NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: New and updated information on medications, lab values, emerging conditions, and nursing interventions A new chapter on emergency nursing A new chapter on anxiety-reducing test-taking strategies A new chapter on what to expect in nursing school
Telehealth Nursing: Tools and Strategies for Optimal Patient Care by
Including all the information necessary for safe, competent practice, this hands-on resource walks nurses through telehealth guidelines and procedures to optimize patient communication, perform assessments, and provide effective care of chronic conditions. Replete with case studies and sample dialogue to mimic real-life telehealth situations, introductory chapters cover patient and nurse perspectives on both sides of the telephone. Other sections cover individual body systems, breaking them down into individual common diseases and disorders that might intersect with telehealth nursing. The text instructs nurses on how to actively listen to the patient "between the lines" in the absence of an in-person examination and discern the right questions to ask and tone to adopt. Chapters provide enhanced communication techniques for performing comprehensive health assessments using only the sense of hearing and resources available through the telephone. Clinical Pearls are scattered throughout the text from those who have been "in the trenches" and cared for a wide variety of patients using the telehealth nursing techniques illustrated in this book. Key Features: Helps nurses understand the keys to successful telehealth nursingTeaches enhanced, specialized communication techniques including "active listening"Guides nurses in assessing patients using only the sense of hearing/active listeningIncludes case studies, algorithms, patient teaching resources, and moreReviews body systems and disease processes with application exercises
Nursing Beyond the Bedside: 60 Non-Hospital Careers in Nursing by
Nursing Beyond the Bedside: 60 Non-Hospital Careers in Nursing introduces nurses and nursing students to career opportunities outside of the hospital setting-in areas where RN job growth is projected to stay strong as patients live longer but with more chronic illnesses. This book provides practicing nurses and those pursuing a nursing career a thorough understanding of the many career options available outside the hospital. Book jacket.
Nursing the Nation: Building the Nurse Labor Force by
Modern health care cannot exist without professional nurses. Throughout the twentieth century, there was seldom a sustained period when the supply of nurses was equal to demand. Nursing the Nation offers a historical analysis of the relationship between the development of nurse employment arrangements with patients and institutions and the appearance of nurse shortages from 1890 to 1950. The response to nursing supply and demand problems by health care institutions and policy-making organizations failed to address nurse workforce issues adequately, and this failure resulted in, at times, profound and lengthy nurse shortages. Nurses also lost the ability to control their own destiny within health care institutions while nevertheless establishing themselves as the most critical part of health care provision today.
Empirical Nursing: The Art of Evidence-Based Care by
This book seeks to provide students and practicing nurses with the tools to better understand and engage in scientific arguments to support quality nursing and evidence-based practice. The nature of nursing and its relationship with science remains an area of ongoing debate, controversy and considerable confusion to both students and practitioners. For a science-based health discipline, it is something of a paradox that most nursing students have limited exposure to scientific philosophy education, which is not covered in depth in many modern university nursing programmes. This work seeks to remedy this: in providing material on modern scientific research methods, with particular emphasis on the context of practice, it presents an alternative theoretical iteration of holistic nursing as scientific inquiry. The author is a passionate advocate for empirical and pragmatic approaches to nursing, and the book provides challenging ideas to support a new wave of critical-thinking in contemporary nursing, confronting postmodern dogma with contemporary scientific critique. In doing so, this text engages readers with the art of progressive empirical client-centred care, appropriate for the development of 21st century holistic nursing practice.
A Dictionary of Epidemiology by
This sixth edition of A Dictionary of Epidemiology -- the most updated since its inception - reflects the profound substantive and methodological changes that have come to characterize epidemiology and its associated disciplines. Sponsored by the International Epidemiological Association, thisbook remains the essential reference for anyone studying or working in epidemiology, biostatistics, public health, medicine, or the growing number health sciences in which epidemiologic competency is now required.More than just a dictionary, this text is an essential guidebook to the state of the science. It offers the most current, authoritative definitions of terms central to biomedical and public health literature - everything from confounding and incidence rate to epigenetic inheritance and Number Neededto Treat. As epidemiology continues to change and grow, A Dictionary of Epidemiology will remain its book of record.
A Dictionary of Nursing by
The new edition of this bestselling and trusted dictionary has been fully revised to take account of recent developments in nursing practice and related fields. Updates to this edition cover many areas, with a particular focus on radiography, public health and the NHS, theoretical conceptsfamiliar in nursing education, and key vocabulary used in the 2018 Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) Standards of Proficiency for Registered Nurses.Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,500 clear and concise entries on nursing theory and practice, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also manyentries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, dentistry, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 16 appendices covering the calculation of drug dosages, religion and nursing practice, recommended alcohol intake, and muchmore, help to make this an essential reference tool for all nursing students and professionals.
Concise Medical Dictionary by
Written by a team of medical experts, this market-leading dictionary offers clear and authoritative definitions for all aspects of medical science. It features up-to-date coverage of public health medicine, medical research and general practice, drugs and pharmacology, endocrinology,cardiology and radiology, among other specialist areas. This new edition has been revised and updated to reflect advancements in medical research and practice, while over 250 new entries have been added, including American Medical Association, burden of treatment, gaming disorder, MERS,person-centred care, and Zika virus. Recommended web links and detailed illustrations complement the text, and extensive appendices offer useful lists and tables on areas such as inherited medical conditions, units of alcohol, and abbreviations and symbols.Selling over a million copies in previous editions, this is an essential A-Z for students and those working in the medical and allied professions, including nurses, pharmacists, physiotherapists, social workers, hospital administrators, and medical secretaries. It is also an invaluable homereference guide for the general reader.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health by
Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Emerging Diseases by
This book is a guide to information on infectious diseases that have either lately appeared for the first time in a population or have recently rapidly increased in incidence such as Ebola, Lassa Fever, MERS, Rift Valley Fever, and Zika virus. The articles avoid medical jargon and use language that laypersons can understand while still providing authoritative, balanced information that addresses the pathogens that are causing and threaten to cause significant health crises.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
This set provides more than 1,230 alphabetically arranged entries, of which about 100 are new, covering topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. It covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:
