Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Getting Started with Research

Learn about the research process from topic to writing and citing. Find information about locating sources such as books, articles, and films.

A-Z Database List

Databases A-Z logo from website

If you know which database you want, use the dropdown menu above to choose it. If you want to browse the databases by subject, click on the link on the left and use the filters to explore our subscription databases! 

Look at other Subject guides to see which databases the Subject Librarians recommend for that discipline/major.

Finding Articles

Library databases (sometimes called indexes) are like search engines but search scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources.

Many library databases provide the full text of articles. Look for a full-text link next to your article, or use the   icon in the database to connect to the complete article.

Some databases are multi-disciplinary, and are useful for all kinds of topics:

Not sure where to start? Try using one of these...

Some databases focus on a specific subject or discipline.  See the dropdown list of databases at the top of the page.
Searching for a specific article?

Some databases contain unique materials such as dissertations, primary sources, images, music, videos, and government documents. Browse library databases for more suggestions.

Searching Databases (Video Tutorial)

Watch this video from Yavapai College Library to learn how to search library databases.

Strategies for Narrowing your Search to get Better Results

Below are 4 top strategies to narrow your search:

  1. Use AND between keywords to find articles where two or more keywords appear together

Aspirin AND Children AND Reye's Syndrome = Venn Diagram showing overlap between all three terms indicating search results will include all three.

Image from University of Minnesota Libraries

  1. Use the filters/narrowers in the search interface to limit your search results to a specific date range or resource type (format: book, journal article, news article, etc.)

A catalog search for aspirin AND children AND "Reye's Syndrome" and limited to the dates of 2010 - 2020.  The “Subject” filter limits to just those search results, in this case articles,  that have been “tagged” with one of these  labels, indicating the article is about this topic or subject.

  • Add a Subject Term (found in a database's Index or Thesaurus) to your search to find results that are "tagged" with that term to indicate they are "about" that topic/idea. Tip: Use just 2 or 3 Subject Terms per search so you don't get too narrow too quickly and end up with too few results.

Browse the thesaurus in EBSCO databases for subject terms.  Once you find the one you want, click the check mark next to it and click on Add. 

After adding a Subject Term to your search, click "Search" and then combine with additional keywords using AND. Note where the Subject Term shows up in your results:

Subject terms added through the thesaurus will show up in the Subjects area of the article record.

  1. Choose a database that is limited to your major, subject, or discipline. Use the link below to find a research guide with database recommendations for your discipline!

Finding the Full Text of an Article in a Database

Follow the steps shown in these screenshots to locate or request the full text of an article from a database like OmniFile Full Text Mega (EBSCO).

You can use the limiter on the left sidebar to narrow to results that only include access to the full text, or just look for the results that include a PDF or HTML option.

A search for southeast AND conserv* ANDUnited States in Omni File Full Text Mega.  Checking the box next to Full Text limits your results to those items that are available to you in full text in either HTML or PDF.

When the full text is not available as a PDF (or HTML format) in a database, you still have options to get it at no cost to you.  See Interlibrary Loan for more information and to access request forms. 

 

Google Scholar Search Widget

Google Scholar Search

Finding the full text of an article using Google Scholar Library Links

When you search Google Scholar on your personal computer, you can configure your settings so that Northeast State Basler Library resource links appear in your results. Then you can click the Get it @ NeSCC link to access a library item.

(TIP: If you're at a temporary computer and don't want to activate these settings, you can access Google Scholar via our Databases page (Library Home Page > Databases A-Z > G > Google Scholar). 

Google Scholar search results for Shark Conservation.  Two citations have Get it @ NeSCC highlighted.

To configure your Google Scholar Library Links, click on Settings. in the upper left of the search page.

Click on the button in the upper left corner of the page to open a menu.  Choose settings.

Then select Library Links and search for "Northeast State Community College." Check the box and click "Save."

Click on Library Links.  Search for Northeast State Community College.  Check the box next to Northeast State Community College and click on save.

Citation Chaining in Google Scholar (Video Tutorial)

Citation chaining (or chasing) is the name for a process in which you use an information source to find other work that is cited within the first source (backwards chaining) or cites to the first source (forward chaining). 

Below is a YouTube video on how citation chaining works in Google Scholar. Keep in mind that you should never have to pay for an article while you are at Northeast State. Contact your Librarians for help locating materials. In this video, look for a "fluff word" that the researcher uses when searching.