Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dual Enrolled Students - Library Services and Resources: Online Resources

Students who are dual-enrolled through local high schools are entitled to full library services through Northeast State! This guide will provide you with information about what is available and how to access it.

 

     Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for assistance:

Online Databases

stack of three magazines

You may access any of the over 100 online databases from any Internet computer, twenty-four hours a day, on- or off-campus.  In addition to the databases provided through T.E.L. with which you may be familiar through your school, you also have access to many additional databases as a Northeast State student.

To access the list of databases, select Online Databases from the Library website.  There are four general databases available, including:  Academic OneFile and OmniFile Full-Text Mega (mostly full-text articles on general, business, medical, and literary topics), Opposing Viewpoints in Context (full-text articles on a variety of topics plus some primary sources), and SIRS Knowledge Source (full-text articles on general and arts and humanities topics, government documents, and select websites), as well as numerous databases for specific subject areas. 

 

Accessing the Databases

To use the databases off campus, you will need to log in when prompted.  Your username is the same as your D2L username, and your password is your 6-digit birth date (ex: February 18, 2001 = 021801).

**If you have any difficulty accessing the online resources, please contact the Northeast State library (354-2429) and ask to speak to a librarian.**

Assignment Calculator

The Assignment Calculator is a tool for completing writing assignments, especially those involving research.  Users enter the due date of the assignment and the calculator provides steps in the process with suggested dates by which to have each completed.  The steps also provide links to additional resources to assist the student in the process.

eBooks

stack of three books

You may access the full-text electronic books (e-books) from any Internet-connected computer or device, twenty-four hours a day, on- or off-campus. 

Go to the Library website (https://library.northeaststate.edu), then choose eBooks, next to the catalog search box. Select eBook Collection (EBSCO), Gale Virtual Reference Library, National Academies Press, Oxford Reference Online, O'Reilly Books Online, LearningExpress Library, or Testing & Education Reference Center.

 

Accessing eBooks

To use the eBooks off campus, you will need to log in when prompted.  Your username is the same as your D2L username, and your password is your 6-digit birth date (ex: February 18, 2001 = 021801).

**If you have any difficulty accessing the online resources, please contact the Northeast State library (354-2429) and ask to speak to a librarian.**

 

eBooks on Mobile Devices

To view eBooks from OverDrive on smartphones and tablets, you will need to download and install a free app.  For more information, see our directional guide:

Handouts and Research Guides

The Library has research guides on a variety of topics, as well as a handout on plagiarism, and MLA and APA style citation guides and tip sheets.  All of these materials are available on the Library website under Library Resources. Additionally, you can find a quick fact sheet and floor plans under Library Information - About the Library